OLIVET BAPTIST CHAPEL
was clearly a serious division amongst the Lineholme members in
1859, the exact nature of which is unknown, because 50 men and women
as well as 79 Sunday School scholars left the Church to form a breakaway
group at Lydgate which is no more than a few hundred yards away.
Presumably there was some kind of doctrinal difference because the
first entry in the record of Lydgate expresses the hope that "strifes
and divisions might be over-ruled for the furtherance of the Gospel."
in rented rooms, in cottages, and ARCH VIEW PICKER WORKS, the Chapel on
the hillside was dug out by the members themselves from 1865.
The building was remarkable in one respect: only the gallery
had pews for worship, the ground floor holding forms for the
Sunday School. Preaching must have been an odd experience
A strong Church with numerous activities and a particular reputation
for music was built up. Lydgate also strongly supported foreign
missions. Marshall, Greenwood, Barker, Helliwell, Newell and Clegg
are frequently occurring names amongst the membership. The 1909
Jubilee Souvenir contained intricate detail of the relationships
between the members. (One would have to contact the Baptists at
Roomfield or various archives to locate a copy of this now.)
The usual pattern of decline ensued in the 20th century and from
1946-60 pastorates were shared with Vale, and from 1964 with Roomfield.
In 1966 the Church was closed and the members absorbed into Roomfield.