History of Hickory County, Missouri

1970

B. B. Ihrig



THE TOWNS

Wilson & Ihrig


Avery. -This village is situated on a line between the counties of Hickory and Benton in Section 9, Township 38, Range 22. The first stock of goods brought there was by Wright and Rash, February 10, 1890. This store was opened in one room of George W. Wright’s residence, about one mile east of the present site of the village. Sometime in the summer of 1889, a post office at the residence of John M. Breshears was established, and he was the first post master. This was on the Benton County side of the line. It was kept there about a year when George W. Wright was appointed post master and the office was moved over into Hickory County side of the line, into the Mr. Wright’s store. John A. Breshears was later appointed post master and moved the post office over into Benton County. In 1897, William A. Byrum built the first store building on the present site and was appointed post master, and the post office was again moved into Hickory County. A little later, Thomas S. Heath, then doing business in Cross Timbers, built a store house a little over in Benton. He put in a stock of goods with John A. Jones as manager, which later burned. One store is all there has ever been on this site on the Hickory County side. Five or six years ago, Andy Breshears put in a store on the Benton County side of the line, and has since built a roomy building and has done a good business. There is another store there now owned by Josiah Ketchum, and he is doing a prosperous business. A. B. Butler has a blacksmith shop there and is doing a great deal of work.
Henry Breshears moved from Tennessee in 1859 and set up a shop in what was afterwards known as “Breshears Valley". The little town of Avery, Missouri, sprang up here later as a trading point. It is just off the Pomme de Terre branch of the Lake of the Ozarks and sixteen miles south of Warsaw. From this vigorous blacksmith in after years, five hundred Breshears people inhabited the valley.
Its 6,000 acres are hemmed in on every side by hills. There was only one entrance. Fossils discovered there indicate that prehistoric animals inhabited the valley. Mastodon bones have been found there almost intact. A mastodon skeleton (alleged to be 20,000 years old by scientists) was discovered near Avery in 1839 and was sold and shipped to a British Museum in 1844.
Henry Breshears built his home of oak logs, firmly wedged
-page 139-
together with wooden pins. It was two stories high and contained eight rooms. He built with the expectations of a family and built well. His expectations were fulfilled and other homes were built.
The home of Henry survived him and the ravages of weather and the deterioration of time. With the advent of the saw mill, it had been clothed in lumber, which became weatherbeaten and belied the strength Henry had built, but the many Breshears families who were sheltered in it felt its security. It was said for many years none but a Breshears and his family could live in the valley. The ownership of the land maintained the tradition largely when a good road was built over the hill to admit motor cars. Even bad economic conditions little disturbed the security of the valley.
In January, 1933, a tornado dipped into the Breshears ancestral valley, and the little town of Avery, and wrecked houses rich in memories of the descendants of Henry Breshears. Little by little, other changes occurred. The old stores are no more, the school consolidated with the Wheatland school, the voting precinct was removed and so it remains a town that is a town only in the memory of its inhabitants.
The area in which this valley is located will be mostly covered by the waters of the Kaysinger Dam Reservoir when it is completed and this change in the geographical aspect will bury forever this beautiful valley and its treasures of the past.
Almon. -This village is not laid out and platted as a town. It is in the northeast quarter of Section 14, Township 37, Range 20, on Little Niangua Creek. The land on which it is situated was entered August 9, 1853. The first men who sold goods there were George C. Dunn and George W. Mabary, about 1870. Afterwards, Daniel J. Parks, Alex. Gregory, Dock Burris, Sherman Vaughn, Samuel P. Gregory, Geo. Cook, Allen Hall, Geo. W. McDowell & Co., and G. W. Pennell. The present merchants (1908) are Henry R. McCain and Sons, James K. Parks, and Martha Parks Pennell.
A water mill was built about 1854 by William or Amos Paxton. It passed into the hands of Asa Johnson and was repaired or rebuilt about 1856, has been operated by Daniel J. Parks, Cebron Bennett, and George C. Dunn, John D. Young, and Herbert K. Porter, M. N. and Daniel R. Jones, and Peter
-page 140-

Almon

Gillispie. and is owned at the present time by William Mitchell and Marshall Green. A post office was established in 1868, with William J. Parks as post master and the name given to it was "Goose Neck". Post masters that have been there since then: Alex. Gregory, Dock Burris, Sherman Vaughn, Samuel P. Gregory, Geo. Cook, Charles Green. The present post master is Henry R. McCain. The Missionary Baptist Church has a strong membership in the neighborhood. A church organization was effected in 1858, or earlier, called "Little Niangua Baptist Church". Some of the leaders were Alex McHuffman and George P. Epley. The first built a church in 1870. Previous to this they held meetings at private residences and in green groves. In 1888 a more commodious church building was built about a mile southwest of the business part of the village.
No data is available on this place as the little town ceased to exist many years ago.
-page 141-
Cross Timbers. -The original survey of this town was made in 1871 by Isaac R. Clark on the southwest fourth of the southwest quarter of Section 22, Township 38, Range 21. James D. Donnell entered the original 40 acres, July 29, 1853, but in 1871, it, with other lands adjoining, belonged to Elisha Kirby. As early as 1865, Mr. Kirby owned this 40 acres and the farm now owned by Virgil S. Williams and sold goods in the two-story frame building just north of the town survey, now the Williams Hotel. The store of Kirby was kept in the room which is now the dining room in this Hotel. The other rooms in the Hotel had not been ceilinged or floored. Mr. Kirby and his family lived in log houses about 50 feet further west until about 1867. About the time Mr. Kirby had the town surveyed and platted, he sold the farm and lands about town to Virgil Williams and built a residence on the town survey near where the residence of Mrs. W. H. Scruggs now stands. (The Virgil S. Williams farm was in the north end of town. The public school building stands on the southwest corner of the farm and it extended north, northeast, and east from there. The Hotel has long since been torn down, and it was found that the walls were insulated with mud put there by slave labor.) Mr. Kirby old out and moved to the state of Texas about 1874. The plat of the survey was recorded; the record was burned in the courthouse January 6, 1881,

Cross Timbers
VIEWS OF CROSS TIMBERS 1907

-page 142-

Cross Timbers
VIEWS OF CROSS TIMBERS 1907

and it has not been re-recorded, which mikes it difficult to trace title to lots in the old survey or additions. The first store in town was owned by John C. Brown and William S. Pickett. Later, ther firm was John C. Brown and John Winfrey. The store building was built by John C. Brown and stood about 80 feet west of where the new building now stands, recently built by the Bank of Cross Timbers. Dr. Campbell of Warsaw and a firm by the name of Brickey sold goods in a building built by Mr. Kirby just within the town survey south of the Williams barn lot near the northwest corner of block 6. James Johnson and Matthias Jenkins in 1873 built a steam mill down north of town where there is a ford across Turkey Creek where the Warsaw and Buffalo roads crossed. Later, Charles H. Scruggs and Alanson H. Doak rebuilt or built another mill at this location. Thomas S. Heath's father, Callaway Heath, was also in the mercantile business at the Campbell-Brickey place about 1872-73. Perhaps it was Mr. Heath who brought the Campbell-Brickey store there. Thomas S. Heath, who in past years did an extensive business at Cross Timbers, Avery, and Weaubleau, clerked in one or more of those old stores at the Campbell-Brickey stand. About 1874, Elisha T. Condley and Asa Johnson engaged in the mercantile business in a building at the northwest corner of the south half of block 5. They were followed by Mr. Condley and William Y. Bennett. Later came R. G. Mitchell, James Whillock, Heath-

Cross Timbers
SOUTH SIDE OF SQUARE, Cross Timbers, 1907

Noland & Co., Heath-Noland & Doak, Heath & Barnett, Heath & Spickart, Halbert & Manuel, Burris & Crudginton, George W. Crudginton, Condley & Halbert, John Spickart and others, no doubt, forgotten by the author of the sketch. Mr. Vigil S. Williams has kept Hotel at the present place since about 1872, and at one time had a very large trade. But of late years, has about quit the business. Burdette Daniel kept Hotel in a building that was rolled away from the place where the Graves Hotel now stands. Mr. Francisco was also in the Hotel business at that place. The first blacksmith shop, except one run by Mr. Kirby, was perhaps that of Jenkins, an Indiana man, who came there about 1871. He had a shop on the northwest corner of Block 5, about 80 ft. west of the J. M. Crawford building; just south of this in 1872-73, William L. Duvall had a saloon. Up to about 1874, the children in and about town had to go to school in an old church known as the "Halbert" old church that stood at the edge of the timber near a mile and a half north and west of town. About 1876, a reasonably good two-story frame schoolhouse was built in the southeast part of town just north of the present site of the Christian Church. In 1905-06, the school district (mainly the town) built a magnificent two-story brick school, the best in the county, on a piece of land purchased from Virgil S. Williams a short distance north of the northwest corner of the town survey, the main rooms being 24 x 56 feet and it fronts the south, with a space cut off downstairs for cloakroom, stairway, etc., 28 x 14 feet. There are two entrances, the main entrance
-page 144-

Cross Timbers Band
CROSS TIMBERS BAND IN 1900's: (Left to Right) L. Dean Sands, band instructor; John Crawford, Hurd Martin, Ezra Harvey (little fellow), Willie (Bill Dad) Dickerson, Willie Smith (with clarinet), Malchom Dickenson, Perry Bliss (little fellow), Pete Rose, snare drummer, and Ralph Gregory, bass drummer.

on the south and one from the east. Two of the rooms in the building are large enough to make four rooms for school if needed. The town had no church until 1885 when the M. E. South people procured an acre of land from Virgil S. Williams on the east side of the northwest fourth of southwest quarter of Section 22 within less than a fourth of a mile of the town survey, and on this acre built a very handsome church, which was later moved up into town and now stands on the northwest corner of the public square. In 1895-96, William W. Graves built on the south side of the public square his well- furnished three story frame, forty-two room Hotel, much the best Hotel in the county. The Bank of Cross Timbers was organized May 2, 1893, by George W. Crudington, Joseph H. Hartman, William Bradshaw, William McCracken, The Hickory County Bank, then of Hermitage, John Crudington and J. Houston Childers. It was incorporated for fifty years with a capital stock of $10,000-three-fourths paid up, it grew and prospered,
-page 145-

Cross Timbers Group
CROSS TIMBERS BOUP-(Left to Right) Minnie Drennon, Henry Kugler, Jessie Graves Bliss, Zadie Sally Owsley, May Driskill. Bertha Downs, B. B. Ihrig, Grace Graves Robertson.

and in 1905, Geroge Crudington, President of the Bank, built a new building across the street from the southwest corner of the Public Square. The building is 42 x 66 feet, fitted with a modern fireproof vault 8 x 10 feet and a Mosler Patent Screw Door Bank Safe with triple time lock. The building room is occupied by Mitchell Brothers general store. There are 130,000 lbs. of cement in the building.
The Farmers and Merchants Bank was organized August 26, 1905, by John Spickart, Asa B. Wilson, J. E. Harvey, George A. Bliss, Fritz Muller, L. H. Davis, Henry G. Bliss, Granville C. Smith, Eli S. Williams, Elijah Crawford, John C. Brown, C. T. Dais, Hoyt E. Brown, William W. Graves, J. E. Scruggs, Herman Ritter, Herman Pfitzner and John Sally. It incorporated for a term of fifty years with a capital stock of $10,000 half paid up. This substatial bank is located on the south side of the square.
-page 146-

Cross Timbers Group
CROSS TIMBERS GROUP 1905-Bottom Row (left to right): Henry Kugler, Lona Gregory Harvey, Willie Gist, Neeta Hickman Scruggs; top row-Fay Hickman, Jessie Williams, B. B. Ihrig, Lola Crawford Dickenson, Lula Gist Kugler.

The merchants of the town at this time (1908) are: Gregory and Thomas, General Store; Joel B. Halbert, General Store; Mitchell Brothers, General Store; James M. Crawford, General Store; John T. Ihrig, Hardware and Implements; J. E. Harvey, Groceries and Confectionery; T. H. Jenkins, Groceries and Restaurants; J. W. Newton, Furniture; Dr. A. C. Curl, Drugs, who was one of the early physicians to locate in the town. Other physicians have been: Alfred E. Ruby, George W. Griffin, M. G. Witter, George N. White, John White (a brother of George N.), Johnson Williams, J. M. Havely, John W. Mowell, J. B. Harris, and H. C. McHaffie. Mr Graves owned the first drug store in town, built the first two-story house after the town was surveyed, built his three-story (42-room) Hotel, and has since built the bank building in which the Farmers and Merchants Bank of Cross Timbers is now located.
-page 147-

Condley Store
ELISHA T. CONDLEY STORE BUILDING 1890's

Cross Timbers was first called Garden City. The name was changed when the post office was established there. The townspeople were very much dissatisfied with the new name and many continued to call it Garden City for several years afterward. The flouring mill, which was located on the north side of Turkey Creek on the old road running north out of Cross Timbers to Warsaw, advertised many years under the name Garden City Flouring Mill. There was also a woolen mill operated by a man named Hague at the same location but on the south side of Turkey Creek. It is said that the name Cross Timbers originated from the name of an old settler whose name was Cross. He settled and built a log cabin on the edge of the prairie in the vicinity of where the village is now located.
People traveling from Boonville or Warsaw to Springfield often inquired for a stopping or rest place between the two cities and they were told that an old settler named Cross lived on the edge of the prairie in a log house surrounded by timber and that he would provide food and lodging. Later in answering the question his residence was referred to as the Cross timbers. The name became familiar and the town has since been recognized by that name.
Naturally the town had a substatial growth for several years
-page 148-
due to its location on the highway between Warsaw and Springfield. The Missouri Pacific Railroad was extended to Warsaw from Sedalia in 1881. This resulted in increased transportation thru this area. It was finally decided to extend the railroad from Warsaw to Springfield and a survey was made running just east of Cross Timbers. New business places were built. W. W. Graves built a three-story, 42-room hotel and a large livery bam to take care of the “Freighters” and others who traveled that way. The railroad was not built, business of all kinds decreased, and the Seed Tick mines, which had operated for many years west of Cross Timbers closed down due to transportation expense. In 1889 the town contained 240 people. The 1960 census shows a population of 186. For many years Cross Timbers was alively town. The citizens had many kinds of amusements. They produced local plays in the city hall, masquerade parties, box suppers which caused spirited bidding between the young men for the fancy boxes decorated by the young ladies and which held a lunch of pastries, sandwiches and other "goodies". The town was musical from the town band organized by Dean Sands with their red bandwagon to the church choirs. The Methodist and Christian young people united in their work and joined talents to make for a better community. The annual Halloween parties found lots of fun and frolic but none of the damage and trouble side found in some communities.
Special days of the year always brought the townspeople together to celebrate the occasion. Christmas was marked by a large program in which all participated with real cedar and pine Christmas trees decorated with popcornand homemade trinkets in one of the churches. Easter was a time when eggs were secretly taken from the hen’s nests a few at a time by the children and hid away until after the Easter Church Service when the members had an annual “egg roast” in a nearby picnic ground. On Memorial Day, flowers were brought from home gardens to decorate the graves,a memorial talk was given by a minister or other person in the cemetery grounds and small flags placed on the soldiers graves. Other special days thru the year were observedinsome way arranged by leaders in the community. One must not forget the patriotic expressions on the 4th of July. Flag poles of much height were not available in those days and on one occasion the town blacksmith bolted poles together, graduating from a large one at the bottom to a small one at the top, and this pole flew the flag high above the buildings. The Fourth was also observed by parades of men on horseback in pairs carrying small flags (the leader carried a large flag). The parade would form in
-page 149-
Cross Timbers, ride to Preston and on to Hermitage and then back to Cross Timbers.
The McCubbin Brothers were experts in organ music and were asked many times to entertain at socials.
It may be said that Cross Timbers young people were contended, happy, resourceful, and closely knit together and many of them went out into the world and contributed much in many ways.
But along with the good there was some evil, tragedies and feuds came to Cross Timbers and some of its people. Many people were involved in one way or another. Murder, cruel words, hasty decisions and dangerous guns brought sorrow to relatives and friends. Some of these people are still living and even though these incidents would be interesting to the readers, they will not be written in these pages. Since there were no hospitals or rest homes available to the community the people in the homes and neighbors attended the sick. Weddings were usually in the homes and an old fashioned charivari followed in the evening with the couple treating the guests with cigars, cider, candy or other refreshments prepared. In early days telephones were few and far between, reports on the weather were not issued daily as there was no immediate news media. However, W.W. Graves had access to a telephone and did receive daily weather news. He also used a system of flags sent out by the government weather bureau to indicate weather conditions and each day a certain flag telling the weather story was raised on a pole high over the three story hotel to tell the towns people what they might expect as to weather conditions that day. Traveling artists came thru often during summer months and furnished entertainment under their tents with plays, music, etc., for several days at a time. This was a real treat for the country town which had very little contact with people outside Hickory County.
Some of the Superintendents and teachers in Cross Timbers from 1933-1951 were: Perry Edde, Wayne Doughty, Cecil L. Pitts, Elmer D. Harpham, L. T. Utterback, Dwight Condren, Loren Murray, George H. Lott, M. H. Lewis, Earl Robinson, Beulah Poindexter, Mrs. Opal Murray, Clinton Smith, Cleatis Headlee. Brockus Armstrong. Edra Cox. Lillianwubbena. Alvin Boyd, Clinton Coonrod, John Owen, Etna Louise Moore, Dorothy Robinson, Robert Thomas, Dorothy Kneeland, Elizabeth Maxey, Edna Jones, Mrs. Josephine Little, Fred Umstead,
-page 150-
Mrs. Pauline Smith, Mrs. Edith Roberts, Mrs. Hazel Condren, Yvonne Waddell.
Some of the resident physicians not mentioned in earlier history were Dr. W. S. Woodford, Dr. Wallace W. Simonds, Dr. John White, Dr. Leak, and Dr. Monroe Kneeland, 0. D. Merchants additional to earlier history were Ed Rose, grocery; Luther Rose, saddle and harness work; Allie Ligget, Ben and Desha Pickett, drugs; Jennie Nease, millinery shop; Mrs. Admire and Warstadt Upholstery, ----- Schreckler, Charles Rose, butcher shops. Others were Sam Gregory, Don P. Miller, C. O. Little, D. G. Oldfield, Jesse Miller, Ira Maxwell. Garage operators, Joe Scruggs, John Crawford, E-ual Johnson, Paul Ryan, Robert Lear and J. D. Hull. Merchants at present time are: W. C. Little, groceries and feed; Richard Riddle, hardware; Archer Feed Store; Beulah Bybee Upholstery Shop; Harold Moore, druggist; Bert & Gladys McCubbin, tavem; Wilma’s Beauty Shop; Wm. Jenkins, filling station; Gene Lake, filling station; George Owen, welding shop.
Postmasters serving Cross Timbers down to present time have been: Lemuel Dickenson, R. H. Jenkins, Herd Martin, C. 0. Little, Nannie Kugler, and May Stoner.
In a short time (1971) Cross Timbers will have reached the century mark. Through these years as a country town it has served a useful and continuing service to hundreds of people, not only in the town itself, but, to a large area in all directions. It has provided educational facilities for its children, products necessary to home living from its stores, religious instruction in its churches, family services, hospitality and many other conveniences needed as a community base. Through these years it has also lost many of the things it supported and thought necessary. The local school building is now unused and the children sent by bus to Preston and Skyline Schools. Many other changes could also be mentioned. Only time will be able to answer whether all the changes made, the old versus the new, will be an improvement over many things the people in early years marked so hardto obtain. It has been said “the first 100 years is the hardest.” At the beginning of a new century there is a new challenge that the citizens of the town and surrounding area will strive to surpass the old and keep Cross Timbers on the map, a treasured and everlasting memory to the people who grew up in its environment and continue to call it home.
-page 151-
Cornersville. Little is known of this little “farmer” post office which existed way back in the 1880's. This store and post office was located south and east of Weaubleau along, or near, what is now known as Highway H between Weaubleau and Elkton. Its exact location was moved two or three times but in the same general area. Its last location was just a little red brick building which was also the home of Uncle Billie Grimes, the postmaster, and Aunt Annie, his wife. There were no rubber stampers in those days and letters and other mailed articles were cancelled by writing the name of the post office across the end of the envelope. A spring near the store furnished water for the household. Now in later years the spring has been cleaned out and an old bathtub makes a good watering tank for stock. The country store. in connection with the post office, held only meager supplies of the actual necessities. Sugar, coffee, spices, salt, dry meats, a small amount of dry goods and sewing supplies. From one source, we learn the mail was carried on horseback by John Gentry, the son-in-law of Uncle Billie, from Collins, Missouri, where it was brought by the Kansas City, Springfield and Clinton railroad. This railroad was also referred to as “The Lealgv Roof”. There is another possibility that the mail (at least part of it) came by way of Quincy, then known as Judy’s Gap. The Butterfield Stage route travelled south from Judy's Gap following what is now known as Route 83 and angled in a southwestwardly direction past the old Union Hill school to Comersville, Beatem School, and on south to Bolivar and Springfield. ln later years the post office was moved to Elkton. Another post office, Bledsoe, had a short life about the same time and was located fora while about four miles north of Wheatland near what was known as the Walker Springs.
The many years since the days of Cornersville and Bledsoe have taken their toll, the people, dwellings, and other material man made things have all perished with time and yet, the Good Earth with its hills and streams and rock and trees is still there. True they are changed somewhat but still they stand firm and silent. Man’s weak efforts riseand shine temporarily and then fade out of existence. Soon new faces, industries and ideas advance and the pendulum swings back and forth into a new era.
Elkton. -The lands on which this village stands has never been surveyed and platted as a town. The land where stands the
-page 152-
store building of Kelley and Williams was entered December 30, 1839 by Samuel H. Arbuckles. There are a number of buildings on the east side of the road. There are also buildings owned by Archibald Blue, entered on June 15, 1840, and Edward S. Whitehead, entered March 28, 1839; James Brown a long time ago kept a store something like a quarter of a mile north of the business part of town on the west side of the public road and afterwards moved up to near where the Kelley and Williams store building now is and sold goods there. The date when the first store building was built on the northeast corner of Section 26, where the Kelley and Williams building now stands is not certainly known, but it was as early as 1865. Mr. Grimes had a store further north as early as 1865. It probably stood where the Brown old store building stood. The first house on the town site was probably built by Dr. Archibald Blue. Alex. McFarland was there in business as early as 1854, and sold out to a man named Glazebrook who did business there. Joshua Hartzell was there in business in 1869-70, and James K. Estes in 1872-73, and he was succeeded by Frank V. B. Thomas who was succeeded by Judge William L. McCaslin in 1875, and he and Charles Czarlinsky, now a merchant in Wheatland, sold goods there in 1875-76. Mr. Czarlinsky drove over the country and bought furs. James Vaughn was there in business in the early 80’s and as late as 1886. His brother, Sherman, followed him in business and remained there for quite a while, moving to Almon, and in those years, Marion C. Rule bought the farm northeast and north of town, improved the farm, and built a handsome residence north of town. (Marcellus B. McCracken was a partner of Rule.) Mr. Rule was followed by William C. Kelley and Samuel L. Williams, and that firm has been in business there since, except that the widow of Mr. Williams succeeded him, at his death, about four years ago. Lincoln Hackleman came there from Cedar County in the 80’s and did a drug and notion business and was succeeded by Dr. Charles V. and Andrew Steward who are yet there in business. The village now has a good roomy frame schoolhouse, a Baptist church built in 1888, and good business firms and people, among whom are William C. Kelley and his daughter, Annis A. Williams, with a large stock of General Merchandise, the Steward Brothers, and a stock of Hardware and Farm Implements, and an up-to-date stock of Drugs, Cigars, and Notions. J. Henry Bass also has a full General Store and is doing a prosperous business. W. P. Blackwell deals in Produce, and Leonard McCracken has a nice stock of Groceries. William Walters and A. F. Hastain are the village blacksmiths. Mr. Hastain has been at and around Elkton for a little less than a hundred years.
-page 153-
Samuel Emery keeps Hotel for the accommodation of the traveling public.
Some of the resident Physicians who have been there are Archibald Blue, J. B. Remington, George N. White, Charles V. Stewart.
The Elkton Christian Church organized October 8, 1898, at Prairie Valley School with seventeen members. The Elkton Church was built in 1907 just north of the main part of town.
Elkton got its name from an Elk Lick that was once there. Some of the businessmen not mentioned in earlier Elkton history were blacksmiths --- Stonicker and Jake Walker. Jim Yoast also ran a blacksmith shop there at one time. Carlos Palmer was mail carrier from around 1900 for about 50 years. Homer Coon was a patron on his route when Mr. Palmer made his first and also his last delivery. Willa Jean Blackwell was the last postmaster at Elkton and Annis Williams was among the first. There are now two stores in Elkton, one operated by Mr. & Mrs. Wayne Brenner and the other by Mr. & Mrs. Erven Blackwell and son Jerry. Each is a grocery and gas station.
Elkton has a new Baptist Church built in 1968 to replace the old one built in 1852. There is also a good Christian Church located there. It will be remembered that Elkton was one of the stations on the Butterfield Stagecoach Route. The above information was given by Mrs. Chloe Bain Breshears.
Galmey. -Galmey is a trading point, not surveyed for a town, situated near the northeast corner of the northwest quarter of Section 9, Township 36, Range 22. The first business there was a blacksmith shop run by William T. Bennett, who now has a shop in Hermitage. James A. Hooper, who now lives near Pittsburg, put in a stock of goods there about nine years ago. Erasmus J. Kelley succeeded Mr. Hooper in the Mercantile business, and Elijah Parkhurst succeeded Mr. Kelley. William McCown is now selling goods there. H. Schoof succeeded Mr. Hooper in the Mercantile business, and Elijah Parkhurst succeeded Mr. Kelley. William McCown is now selling goods there. H. Schoof succeeded Mr. Bennett in the blacksmith business and is there now. A post office was established there in 1888 and Erasmus J. Kelley was the first postmaster. A concrete church building was built in 1901, and
-page 154-
is a great convenience to the community for church services, or any other kind of respectable gathering.
Note: We are indebted to Mrs. Lucile Dorman of that locality for the information concerning later history of the Galmey area.
The first Galmey Church was a concrete building but was eventually torn down and the present Church was built on the same foundation in about 1925 by the Christian Church folk and well-wishers. This building was falling into disrepair, so was renovated in 1967 and 68 by interested members of Galmey as well as other communities, and, may be used by any denomination for services.
The Dooly Bend Church and cemetery east of Galmey is well kept and is an attractive landmark.
The Dooly Bend School, also east of Galmey, has been bought by the Wheatland School, moved to the town, and is being used as a Home Economics Building.
The Galmey Store was built in 1901 by George Martin for Elijah Parkhurst, according to Eric Agee who is the oldest living native of the Community. Eric, at 89 years of age, has a very clear mind and memory.
The Store had been run by several different individuals over the years including Elijah Parkhurst, Willie Cowan,Eric Agee, V. A. Rush, Sr., Roy Worthington, Lewis Burchett, Joe Dooly, Lloyd Floyd, Emmitt Burchett, and perhaps others. It had always experienced good business and was owned and operated by Emmitt Burchett at the time that it was destroyed by fire in 1956. This was about five years before the Pomme de Terre Dam was completed.
In the early 1900s a Blacksmith Shop was opened by William Bennett and later taken over by l-1. Shoof, and others followed him in managing it and also it was moved several times, and eventually abandoned.
A telephone exchange office was run at this time by Margaret and Fayette Dooly, husband and wife, in their home east of the Galmey store, but this also was abandoned.
Many changes have occurred since the U. S. Government put in a dam across Pomme de Terre River and inundated many acres of farm ground which they bought from the owners.
-page 155-
Consequently, instead of seeing farms and houses, we see good roads, businesses, lovely motels, trailer courts, and subdivisions.
The Store was never rebuilt at the original site, but other businesses have sprung up since the new lake has been opened up to tourist and local business. In 1962, Wesley Dorman built a Cafe, known as the Galmey Cafe, on Highway 254 jist west of the corner where the Galmey Store stood, and for two years, it was the only business inthe Communiw. However, there now are several on the north side of the road including the Wagon Wheel Motel, Lakeway Market, Bennie Dorman’s Station and Boat Storage, Wesley Dorman’s Bait and Tackle Shop, Laundry and Trailer Court, and Dorman’s Trailer Sales. There is an insurance oifice owned by Donald Hunt on the corner of 254 highway and the old Galmey Road which runs north. Also, there is a real estate otfice and trailer court on the south side of the road built by Wesley Dorman on the Josh Cowan place, but is now owned and operated by Albert Quick and son Alan.
There is a pizza and taco parlor just east of Galmey, also on Highway 254.
So, from a trading point for the quiet surrounding farm community, to a place of much activity, Galmey has been called the fastest growing community in Hickory County. Though never having been surveyed as a town, growth here continues and much progress is expected as tourists continue to come to the Lake to swim, ski, fish, camp and sight see. Retirement homes are springing up as people continue to
Mrs. Lucile Dorman
Hermitage. -Hermitage, the county seat, was surveyed and platted in 1847, and included the northwest fourth of the southeast quarter of Section 23, Township 37, Range 22, and is within sixty rods of the center of the county. William E. Dorman (Buck) moved his groceries and liquors and the log house in which he had kept his store in Pittsburg to what is now Hermitage, before it was surveyed as a town, and it is not certain as to the time Aaron Trippett came, but he and William Waldo were in business here shortly after the town was surveyed. The exact date of when the town was surveyed is not known, as the certificate made by the Surveyor, who
-page 156-

Morgan Hotel
MORGAN HOTEL, HERMITAGE, M0

surveyed, is not dated. The land on which it was located was entered by Thomas Davis, but was not entered until January 30, 1847. He probably settled in the southeast fourth of the southeast quarter of Section 23, Township 37, Range 22, which corners with the town forty at the southeast corner in 1843, or, early in 1844, and built and lived in the log house now standing there, as early as 1844. One room of that house standing there is at least 64 years old, and in it, Mr Davis kept the first Hotel and gave room for the courts. The second Hotel or boarding place was opened by William E. Dorman at what is now the Ephraim F. Halbert property which was then outside the survey of town. Mr Dorman was a single man and managed to run a Hotel for three years before he married. In 1860-61, he built a new Hotel where the Morgan Hotel now stands on Lot 4, Block 8. In 1847, William Waldo built a new business house on the north end of Lot 4, Block 2, near where the barber shop now is. John Lawrence, who was a brother-in-law of Mr. Dorman, built on the northwest corner of Block 1 where Mrs. Nancy F. Blair's residence now stands. Oliver Edwards built where John H. McCas1in’s residence now stands on Lot 1, Block 3, and it was his daughter, Mary E. Edwards, who became the wife of Williamson Dorman. Mr. Dorman put up his second saloon building on Lot 3, Block 2, and dug a cellar under it, some of the rubbish that was in this cellar being found when Charles Manuel and Slavens and Coon & Company dug the trenches for the foundations for their buildings fifty years later. John C. Dollarhide kept a saloon in town at the same
-page 157-

Buggy
HORSE AND BUGGY DAYS. Shown are D. V. Goodman and Angel Ihrig.

place in 1859-60 and sold out to Alex. Hall. The Donnell boys, Thomas, and another one, built the first business house on the southeast corner of Lot l, Block 4, and George W. Blackwell, Sr., and Charles M. Welchel were keeping store there in 1865; it stands there yet. Mr. Dorman built a store house where the first courthouse stood, after it burned. The houses where C. M. Bentley lives was built by George B. Alexander two or three years before the Civil War. William M. Dorman, the father of Williamson E. Dorman, bought the lot and built a log house where Mrs. Minnie McCaslir1 now lives, about 1848, on Block 1, and that log house is now a part of the residence that stands there. Along in those years, mills were scarce and Mr. Dorman built a mill run by oxen tramping a tread wheel and could grind about 80 bushels of grain a day It stood about 40 feet south of where Albert Pitts lives. Later, he and others built a steam mill near the south ford of Pomme de Terre about a quarter of a mile from the public square. This mill did a good business but was about worn out at the close of the Civil War, but continued to run until about 1874. About 1883, Mr. Dorman and his son, Oliver L. Dorman, and Joseph S. Hartman built a new steam mill on Block 13, in the north part of town; this continued to be run until it was superceded in 1902 by a new mill built by Eugene Belknap of Urbana, Missouri, which was burned June 28, 1906. Two weeks after the burning July 12, 1906, the stone store building
-page 158-

Morgan Brothers
THE MORGAN BROTHERS AND NEPHEW, JOHN HENDERSON MORGAN with their wives, Left to right are John Morgan and his wife, Matilda whom he wed in 1872, John lived from 1848 to 1933; Achilles and Samantha Morgan, wed in 1872, Achilles life span 1843-1924; John Henderson Morgan and wife, Nancy whom he wed in 1882, His life span was 1858-1929. The latter operated a hotel and livery stable at Hermitage for many years.

and warehouse of Slavens and Coon & Company, situated on Lot 3, Block 3, was destroyed by fire. The store and warehouse probably oontained $l5,000 worth of goods, of which $2,000 worth was saved. They had insurance to the amount of $8,000, most of which was paid to them, The main store building was 23 x 100 feet, and the frame warehouse south of it was28 x 42 feet. The town has had many disastrous fires. In 1881, the people in and about the town built a substantial church of brick with the second story for the Masonic Hall on Lot 2, Block 4, and it is now used as a union church-Christian and Methodist, below, and the Lodge, of course, is still above. The main protection given to the town from 1862 to January 1, 1865, was largely given by Company “C", 60th Regiment, enrolled Missouri Militia, commanded by Capt. William H. Liggett, many of whom lived in this county at this time for years but have been greatly thinned out by death. They used the courthouse as quarters.
-page 159-
In 1887, the School District, (mainly, the town), built a new two-story brick school building which cost $2,400 which is yet in fairly good shape.
In 1889 the Missionary Baptist built a substantial frame church on the west side of the street running to the south bridge and near the river bluff.
The first newspaper in town was edited and run by James R. Wilson and James W. Richey. Its publication was commenced in 1869 and it was named “Hermitage Enterprise". I went into the hands of Harry H. McKee, and in a short time, went out of business. ln 1875, John D. Pitts, then County Collector, bought the plant of the “Hickory County Mirror", which was being run in Wheatland and moved it to Hermitage. This plant was bought by F. Marion Wilson, late in 1876, and with it, Wilson and Ernest P. Baldwin published the "New Era" until sometime in 1880, when Wilson sold the plant to Courtney M. Wilson and it was taken to Stockton, Cedar County, Missouri. In 1882, Alex. Humble, an Illinois man, came with a new plant and started the “Hickory County Herald", which he continued to publish until after the November election in 1886. In July in 1885, William McCracken and F. Marion Wilson bought a plant from Charles L. Curtis, at Buffalo, Missouri, and in that month commenced the publication of the "Index". In December, 1885, McCracken sold his interest to Al R. Miller, and Wilson sold his interest to Alanson M. Halbert; Miller in 1887 or 1888 sold his interest to Charles M. Bentley, and later Bentley bought the interest of Halbert and became the sole owner, but soon sold an interest to Alanson H. Dent, who remained only a short time, when he sold his interest to Bentley, who continued to publish the paper until he sold out to Luther J. Slavens, who had it in June, 1895, commenced the publication of the “Hermitage Gazette", and afterwards purchased a Prouty Power Press. The consolidation of the two papers under the name of the “Index-Gazette" which Slavens sold to William U. Morton, who had been formerly interested in the “Index” and in 1906, he sold the plant to Paul Murphy, and he has published it since that time.
Early in 1898, John W. Armstrong bought a newspaper plant and established the “Hickory County Democrat", ran it about three years, and sold it to Wilson and Creed, who changed the name to the “Hickory County Republican", ran it something like two years and sold it to Hazen Green, who sold it early in 1906 to Newton Franklin, who moved the office to Urbana, Dallas County, Missouri, and has since been using the plant to publish the "Dallas County Republican".
-page 160-

Harryman Family
DON HARRYMAN FAMILY, One of the largest family groups stemming from pioneers and still living in the county, descend from William D. Harryman. Left to Right-3rd row from front, are the Harrryman children and mother: Barbara, W. D., Irene, Rees, Mrs. Harryman,`Eugene, Anna May, Don (who died April 19, 1945), Kathryn and Vivian. The husbands and wives stand in the back row, the grandchildren in the two front rows.

The Hickory County Bank was organized here January 26, 1889, by William H. Liggett of Wheatland, James Vaughn of Hermitage, Andrew J. Tillery and William Q. Paxton of Humansville, and continued to do business here until it was removed to Wheatland about April, 1894. It had a capital stock of $5,000 paid up and was not incorporated.
In June, 1894, Joseph S. Hartman, William L. Pitts, Arthur L. and Sarah A. Fisher organized the Hermitage Bank and commenced business June 30, 1894, with a capital stock of $5,000 paid up. It was not incorporated, It continued to do business and prospered until deposits reached more than $100,000 and in October, 1906, William L. Pitts, who had become sole owner, sold to the Citizens Bank of Hermatage.
The Citizens Bank was organised August 7, 1906, by John H. McCaslin and Leroy Mansfield of Wheatland, William J. Edde
-page 161-

Ihrig Family
JOHN BENTON IHRIG FAMILY JANUARY 7, 1906: The occasion being a surprise dinner honoring their mother, Mary C. Ihrig with all present except one son, Benton M. lhrig of Denison, Texas. Photographer was Mr. Fryette. Children (front row) Buel and Earl Thompson, sons of Ada Thompson and Wendell lhrig, son of W. L. lhrig; back row, Cecil Thompson, son of Ada; Marieta lhrig Hickman, daughter of W. L. Ihrig; Anna Lane lhrig Apolius, daughter of Anna Lane Ihrig; Margerite Thompson, daughter of Ada. Front Row Standing: Grace Graves Robertson, Ada lhrig Thompson, Cora Selby Ihrig, Herman Leon lhrig, Bernice lhrig Hartnett, Minnie Dent Ihrig, Genevieve Graves Robertson, Jessie Graves Bliss, Esther Kugler Ihrig, Grace Holmes lhrig. Back Row: Herman Leon Ihrig, Mrs. Mary Condley Ihrig, Buel Byron Ihrig, Luther Ihrig, Homer G. lhrig, John T. lhri". John Benton Ihrig, husband of Mary Condley lhrig, died in 1893.

of Preston, William F. Coon and John W. Montgomery of Hermitage with a capital stock of $5,000 all paid up. It is not incorporated. The bank is mainly under the management of John H. McCaslin, Cashier, and is doing aprosperous business.
In the early 90’s Joseph S. Hartman and J. Houston Childers >br>-page 162-
bought from George S. Selvidge a set of abstract books and commenced an abstract and loan business which has been continued through all the years since it was established by Messrs. Childers and Hartman, Childers and Bentley, and C. M. Bentley, who have run it very successfully. The abstract books and the abstract business are now owned and run by Dr. Alva Fisher, a very careful and painstaking businessman. During Mr. Bentley’s connection with the Abstract and Loan business, he was also postmaster for about eight years, but voluntarily retired from the position in 1906 and was succeeded by Roscoe C. Coon.
The mercantile business of the town consists of the General Stores of Edgar H. Bandel and Albert Pitts, the Grocery, Clothing, and Notion store of Ira Dooly, the Harness Shop of Fred Tillery of Flemington, Missouri, the Drug Store of Bandel and Richards, the Feed Store of Ira Dooly. John H. Morgan owns and runs the Hotel on the east side of the square, and James K. Moore owns and runs the livery and feed stable south of the Hotel. The town at this time has about 200 inhabitants.
The Hermitage Lodge, I. O. O. F. #670, was organized under charter dated May 19, 1904, and was granted to F. Marion Wilson and a number of others. The first elective officers were Moses N. Neihardt, N. G.; Austin F. Pack, V. G.; F. Marion Wilson, Secretary; Henry C. Brookshire, Treasurer. This lodge has long since been discontinued.
Hermitage Lodge A. F. & A. M. #288, commenced work under Charter dated October 15, 1866. The Charter members and officers were: John W. Snyder, W. M.; Ephraim Dent, St., W.; William J. Snyder, Jr., W.; Samuel Miller, Treasurer; L. J. Tatum, Secy.; Perry J. Snyder, Sr., D; and John A. Morton, J. D. The present officers are William L. Pitts, W. M.; David E. Hitson, Sr.,W.; J.T. Amlin, Jr., W.; Henry F. Blair, Treas.; and Thomas J. Taylor, Secy.
Hermitage Camp N. W. of A. #3544, was organized May 19, 1898. They, too, have been discontinued.
Physicians who have been residents of the town are: Benj. F. Barnes, Samuel L. Coble, Madison Maxwell, William Moore, Wm. J. Snyder, James R. Pack, Henry C. Brookshire, R. G. Scroggs, Zenis L. Slavens, Geo. W. Pack, B. F. Cox, Henry S. Kelley, and John Oakes.
-page 163-
Hermitage has the unique distinction of having perhaps the most picturesque location of all the towns in Hickory County. Situated in the hills surrounded on two sides by the Pomme de Terre River on her doorstep with the Pomme de Terre Reservoir a few miles beyond and two large bridges spanning the River to the south and to the east, it is a place that invites tourists and then turns some of them into poets. Here is one poem written by Patricia Banner who, with her traveling husband, used to stay at the Brazeale Hotel in the early part of the century.
Hermitage-In-the-Hills
When I’m burned out, I sometimes go
To a little town—perhaps you know-
of Hermitage.
Such a peaceful place where the noonday sun
Beams upon your face as you sit on a bench
On the courthouse lawn and watch the squirrels
As you stretch and yawn;
And you feel at peace as you scan the ridge
That encircles the town
of Hermitage.
In a small hotel you can cozy be
As sweet hickory logs crackle merrily:
At a small cafe, simple meals you get
Served by Mom and Dad.
Always with regret, I leave this town;
As I cross the bridge, I wave farewell
To Hermitage.

Ihrig Family
OLD HILL East of Hermitage 1918. Shown are Mrs. W. N. Heard, Mrs. B. B. Ihrig, Angel lhrig (Reynolds) and a C.M.S.C. representative.

-page 164-
Prior to 1898, Hermitage held what was known as The Hermitage Reunion, which was later expanded into The Hickory County Fair. This was held in an area directly East of the property owned by Bernie Coon, or around and north of where the Public School building now stands. After the organization of the Fair, the grounds were extended to the southeast. The entrance was near where the school entrance is now and on entering, one passed a bandstand and going south, the concessions lined the main walk way leading south to a raised seating arrangement to watch the races on the race track which was in an area on the west part of the main grounds and north of these seats. This land was owned by the Liggett family of Wheatland. The horse and cattle barns were south and east of the race track. The exhibits at that time were small in comparison with Fairs of today but they were an incentive to the farm people to improve their livestock and other farm products and provided a few days of relaxation, entertainment, and social contacts. Many people camped in tents or covered wagons and on one of these occasions, a heavy storm occurred at night causingthe Pomme de Terre to rise, and six people were drowned while returning to their homes the next morning. They were of the families of Rad Kelly, George Moore, and John Mason. Lack of leadership and interest finally overtook this organization, the cattle and horse barns burned, and the Fair was discontinued some time during the early 1900's.
Since the county offices are located in Hermitage, in a sense, it belongs to the whole county, and a good percentage of its citizens are connected in one way or another with county affairs. The only newspaper in the county is located here, as well as the only Bank.
The Hermitage School System has made progress along with other factors leading to a better and more modern
-page 165-
community. The two-story brick building built in 1887 has given way to an up-to-date High School and Grade Building in the east part of town located on a part of the land where the Fair Grounds were situated in the early l900’s. (Dates and changes in the buildings and additions are given elsewhere inthis history.) A few of the Superintendents and teachers who taught in Hermitage from 1932 to 1951 are given below. Hobart H. Bybee, B. B. Ihrig, R. B. Hastings, Dean Dobbins, H. H. Bybee, Devoy Ryan, Henry W. Harlan, Paul W. Stephens, Karl Akars, Cal Thompson, Jack Farnham, Charles Evans, Edith Whitby, Merton Wheeler, Mrs. Hobart Bybee, Mrs. Irl Chrisope, Esther Pickett, Victor Peterson, Norryn Glover, Marita lhrig, Erma Bower, Russell Sage, Erma Bowen, Lela Owen, Mrs. H. H. Bybee, Fred Marsh, Frances Gladson, Lois Church, Mrs. Edde Pope, Leon E. Ricker, Mrs. Kathryn Watkins, Mamie Lou Robertson, Inwell Breshears, Elva Blackwell, Mrs. Opal Murray, Mrs. Anna M. Wilson, and Erma Bybee.
Businesses in Hermitage at this date, 1969, are: Chapman Brothers Furniture & Appliances; Family Shoe Store -Gambles Store; Denny's Service Center; Smitty's Welding Shop; Bank of Hermitage; Lightfoot Hardware; Farmer's Mutual Insurance Company of Hickory County; The Index; Cox Super Market; Byrd's Cafe; Phillips 66 Station (Wilson Brothers); Ethel’s Beauty Shop; Joy Spradling Rotary Drilling Company; Hermitage Clinic (Spillers, D. 0.); Liedtkes Standard Service (including AAA); Hermitage Beauty Shop (Nell Corwin); Lightfoot Hotel; A. S. C. Office; County Health Center; Welfare Office; Post Office; King’s Novelty Store; Ernie's Food Store; Payne’s Recreation Room and Coffee Shop; Clark’s Jewelry Shop; Extension Office; Bob's Barber Shop; Farm Bureau Office; Bob McCoy's Realty Company; Boller Realty Compaiiv;F.H. A. Office; Car Lincense Bureau; Ralph B. Nevins, Atty.; Irl R. Chrisope, Atty.; Bentley Title Company; Chicago Title Insurance Company; Hermitage Locker Plant; McCoy Motel; Southwest Regional Library; Vickers Service Station; Salee Lumber Company; Teen Town; City Hall and Fire Department; Boller Enterprises; Redwood Gables Motel; Stroud’s Laundry; Long's Plumbing Shop; Selective Service Office; Lukehart Termite Service; S. P. Gas Service; Hickory County Insuror’s; C. D. Pace, Contractor; “We Have It” Antique Shop; Deaton Bird Drillmg Company; Driftwood Cafe, Motel, and Service Station; Dr. S. A. McC00l, Dentist.
The following article written by Bev Chamberlain in the
-page 166-
August, 1962, issue of the Missouri Conservationist concerning Hermitage and the Pomme de Terre Reservoir Area hearby is included for the detailed report it gives concerning the town of Hermitage and vicinity.
Pomme de Terre Lake was fashioned, aptly enough, from the Pomme de Terre River when floodgates of a 4,630-foot dam were closed last fall. It is Missouri's newest large impoundment. The dam and an auxiliary dike 2,790 feet long back up the Pomme de Terre River and its tributaries, Lindley Creek and Decker Branch, to make a reservoir that will contain 7,820 surface acres, or 243,000 acre-feet, if you like acre-feet. lt was built for flood control, and these size figures are for the lake at its normal, or conservation pool, level. At this level, where it will be maintained most of the time, the shoreline will be 105 miles and the average depth will be 29 feet. From the dam about a mile and half south of Hermitage the lake will reach 18 miles up the Pomme de Terre and ll miles up Lindley Creek.
Hermitage is the town that will be most affected by the new lake. It is the largest town in the lake area. The “Pommey” River, as it is known to the locals, enters the Osage River at the upper end of Lake of the Ozarks. This part of the Osage inspires arguments over whether it actually is Osage River or Lake of the Ozarks.
Hermitage is a place of some 328 souls, accordingtothe 1960 census. It should contain many, many more by the time the 1970 census is taken. The developers are already moving into the area and the price of land near the lake is skyrocketing. Hermitage, a matter-of-fact county seat, soon will be a byword among anglers, boaters and other aquamaniacs, along with towns like Eldon, Camdenton, Warsaw and Branson. The lake will be quite a shot inthe arm for a town like Hermitage whose most obvious attraction, aside from the lake, is a small red brick courthouse which, with wilting defiance, exhibits the date I896 over one of its doors.
I saw Hermitage for the first time early on a Sunday afternoon. It was quiet, as any town should be when the temperature is barely avoiding the 90s. Two Highway Patrol cars, just pulling away from the courthouse, created the only island of motion inthe otherwise ghost-town atmosphere. A half-dozen of the local gentry idled on the courthouse lawn. On all four sides of the town square, which could have been put together by a Hollywood set designer for a small-town movie, the shops and ofifices were closed and still.
-page 167-
The sign that read, “O P E N” could hardly be trusted in the Sabbath Stillness. Yet, lights were on inside the corner office and another sign advertised maps of the lake—free. The coolness inside was tinged with the smell of new plywood and fresh paint and the office showed signs of recent redecorating.
The office was the Don G. Freeman Realty Office and presiding at the moment was a man named F. M. (Kelly) Wilson. Wilson launched into a description of the lake and readily answered questions about it.
He provided maps of the lake area and advertising brochures explaining the benefits of living on Pomme de Terre Lake. He pointed out the locations of existing and future public use areas and explained that two organizations have been formed to publicize the new lake. These are the Pomme de Terre Dam and Playground Association and the Lake Pomme de Terre League. Hermitage has no chamber of commerce, Wilson said, but the local Lions Club has worked hard toward promoting the lake and its “gateway” town.
Wilson pointed the way to picnic grounds near the dam and, if anything, undersold them. The Federal govemment has built a picnic facility on a tract overlooking the dam and lower portion of the lake. The area has running water, rest rooms, picnic tables and an observation deck. More such development is planned, however, by the Army Corps ofEngineers, builders of the lake and while the area will increase in popularity as a recreation spot the proposed facilities should go a long way toward accommodating the crowds.
Timber along most of the I05 mile shoreline has been cut back to three feet beyond the conservation pool level, but in many places in the shallower upper end of the lake the trees have been left standing in the water as a fishing attraction. The shoreline is deeply cut with coves and branches that will make excellent hiding places for large fish. The Pomme de Terre River is known as a fertile river and a source of good fishing, and fishinginthe new lakeis expected to be among the best in Missouri.
Plans for recreational development on the new lake include seven federal and two state areas. The state areas will be parts of the state park occupying two peninsulas or points. Among the features in the state park areas will be approved
-page 168-
water systems, 180 ovemight camp sites, 20 housetrailer sites, an activity building, open shelter houses, fire places, picnic tables, fishmg docks, boat docks with a total of 260 slips, a floating fuel and repair shop, six boat launching ramps, a swimming pool, a 20-room lodge, 24 rental cabins and an air strip.
The Federal areas, in addition to the 60-acre dam site area, will be the outlet area below the dam, 30 acres; the Nemo area, 85 acres; the Lightfoot area, 175 acres; and the Pittsburg and Adonis areas of 120 acres each. These areas will have approved water systems, launching ramps, shelter houses, picnic tables and fireplaces, and rest room facilities. In addition to these facilities, three commercial boat docks will be built under contract with the Corps of Engineers. The Corps of Engineers owns the lakeshore and will give permission to individuals and resort operators to build roads to the lake. The roads will then become public property and will be open to public use. If for some reason public use is denied, the Corps will close the road to all including the builder.
Some roads in the area have been rebuilt and remnants of the old roads lead into the water. These old pavements are being used as boat launching ramps. With few shady spots existing near the water in this early stage of development, tourists are even using the slight shade beneath the new bridge over the Lindley Creek arm near Nemo. They drive their cars right in between the piers and spread picnic lunches.
According to the Conservation Agent of Hickory County, the Corps of Engineers will restrict water skiing on the lake, prohibiting such activity within 100 yards of the shore. The exceptions, of course, are the access points where skiers enter and leave the water. This rule will give fishermen many miles of undisturbed shoreline where they may fish in safety. Buoys will be used to mark the restricted areas. Of course, there are some roads planned for the vicinity which have not yet been built or are still in an unimproved condition. Some of these are on maps of the lake. Ifyou should try to follow these roads you may end up oilpan deep in weeds or faced by an outcrop of bedrock with no place to turn around. Nevertheless, exploring the lake country can be interesting for those whose spirits demand adventure of a rather mild sort.
-page 169-
The creeks and branches that contribute to Pomme de Terre Lake, like all creeks and branches in remote parts of the Ozarks highlands, have fanciful names. Most counties in the hill country have a Dry Fork, and in many places among the dolomite ridges there are creeks called Sinking Creek. This lake is the first flood-control reservoir to be built in this state on the Missouri River drainage system. It was designed to reduce flooding along the Pomme de Terre and the Osage Rivers. It was built at a cost of about $16,100,000. Although it was not built as a power dam, the Pomme de Terre dam has the features of one. Power generating facilities will not be installed until and unless the need is approved by the Federal Power Commission.
The Pomme de Terre is scheduledtobeone of the Midwest's outstanding recreational lakes, and Hermitage, along with other nearby towns, is expected to flourish as development of the area continues.
Lake Pomme de Terre is located in Hickory County three miles south and west of the county seat, Hermitage, Missouri. The lake has proven to be one of God's blessings to the poor County with a low income.
"This lake filled with water the winter of 1962 and '63, and has proven to be a tourist attraction, as millions of people have found their way to its clean, shady shores. Manyof these people have liked what they found, retumed, purchased lake lots, and built summer homes. Other folks have come and built permanent homes for their retirement where the scenery is beautiful, restful, and fishing unexcelled. They catch bass, cat, jacks, crappie and drum, also many other species.
The swimming beaches, that have been sanded and roped off, are filled to overflowing.
The parks are crowded each weekend with campers. These parks are equipped with modern rest rooms, showers and fountains; also, some have play equipment, ball parks, riding trails for saddle horses.
Also, there are a number of modern motels and several stores, gift shops and many nice cafes and sandwich bars
-page 170-
located on the lake roads. There are also air strips to accommodate any small craft wishing to land. The farm people who owned the land inthe valleys of Pomme de Terre and Lindley Creek were paid many times what the land would have sold for before the plan of the lake was formed. Town lots and farm land close by have increased much in value.
Pomme de Terre Lake has placed Hickory County on the map in many ways. Every town within its boundaries has profited.
Anice Chaney McKinley
THE HISTORY OF HERMITAGE INDIAN TRIBES AND EARLIEST SETTLERS
(Material provided by Nannie Jinkens)
Perched atop a high bluff overlooking the Pomme de Terre River is the quiet county seat town of Hermitage. If we look far enough back into its history, we learn that the first people who lived here were probably the Ozark Bluff Dwellers who wove beautiful baskets from the willows growing alongside of the streams. These were followed by the l-lopewellian Indians. They made crude pottery decorated with cord markings. These people probably lived here before the time of Columbus. The Osage Indians later took control ofthis part of the country and held it until 1819 when our government made a treaty with them which caused them to move away peacefully, leaving it in the possession of the white people. The first houses were built of logs and when a man wanted to bufld a home, he invited all his neighbors for miles around to come and help. Some of the men cut logs, some hewed them, notched them, and laid them, while others split shingles for the roof. The fireplace was made of field stone put together with a slacked lime and sand mixture. The floors at first were hard clay. The women cooked over open fires. Some of the delicacies not known to modern times were corn light bread, barbecued venison, dried pumpkin, etc.
The first school in Hermitage was a small log house located near where the locker plant now stands. The brick school was built in 1886 north of Highway 54 where locker plant is. There was also a negro school with twelve children in southeast part of town. The brick building was torn down in 1939. The new high school was begun in 1923.
-page 171-
Jordan. -This is a trading post started in 1904 by the building of a steam flouring mill. The main promoter being Geo. W. Jordan of Drakeville, Iowa, who was assisted by Geo. T. Pulliam and W. P. Clifford of Appanoose County, Iowa, formed a joint stock company with $5,000 or 50 shares of $100 each. The members of the joint stock company who subscribed lived in the neighborhood of the projected mill and were James C. Stark, Thomas L. Stark, Alfred Stark, James M.Stark, Obediah Driskill, Marion Driskill, Clement S. Ashley, Henry Ashley, Charles Ashley, William Owsley, Elijah Owsley, David M. Gates, Charles Astrom, Claus Nelson, Ole Nelson, John Johnson, Thomas S. Hall, and Fritz Muller. It is situated near Stark Creek near the southeast corner of Section 20, and the southwest corner of Section 20 about 5 miles directly east of Cross Timbers. At this time, the mill is owned and operated by James M. Stark and Geo. W. Huffman, and they manufacture flour, meal, and chops, buy corn and wheat, cattle, hogs, and horses, and are doing a prosperous business.
There are two general stores, one kept by J. J. Bradbury, and the other by William H. Ashley, and both are doing a nice business.
Jordan as a town has passed out of existence. The last business there was operated by Homer Bartshe until a few years ago.
Nemo. -This is a trading post and post office, seven miles southeast on Hermitage and Buffalo road, at the crossing of the Warsaw and Bolivar road. A good district school was built near the crossroads in 1888, and a good roomy church building was built by the Baptist people in 1892. A blacksmith shop was built there several years ago, but we have no date. The first store was run by Thomas Bridges in 1896. He sold goods for quite a while and sold out to Charles Parker, who, in turn, sold to James A. Bush. Mr. Bush gave place to Allen M. Huckaby, the present County Treasurer, and was followed by J. W. Hooper and G. M. Dryer. Mr. Dryer sold his interest to John T. Ferguson, a former County Treasurer of this county. Harrison Reser eventually secured the store and operated it for a number of years.
The first record that I have found on “Nemo”, which began first by the name of “Cross Roads”, as it is located seven
-page 172-
miles southeast of Hermitage on what was known then as the intersection of the old Hermitage to Buffalo Road and the Warsaw to Bolivar Road. Later in years known as Highways K and D and NN from Nemo to Highway 65 just north of Urbana about two miles, and now Highway K has been changed to Highway 264 to the Dam Site and onto Highway 83 near Wheatland.
The first beginning of Cross Roads was the building of a nice little one-room country schoolhouse in 1888, which was called “Cross Roads School" and some of the first teachers were Miss Henretta Wilson, Mr. Tom Taylor, Mr. Charley Hogg, Misses Osa and Effie Sanders, and Miss Mary Duncan. The next notable event took place at the Cross Roads school house on August 30, 1890, when Brother A.H. Dent, Missionary for Old Path Association, met with fifteen other Baptist people and organized what was known as Cross Roads Bethel Baptist Church. Those charter members were J. T. Fergerson, C. Y. Hitson, E. M. Taylor, G. W.Fergerson, W. F. Campbell, John Wrinkle, J. M. Taylor, F. C. Fergerson, W. B. Jones, W. S. Jones, A. J. Taylor, Elizabeth I-litson, Lucy A. Campbell, Florence M. Campbell, and Sarah J. Jones. They held church on one weekend of every month at the school house until they raised enough money to build a church house on two acres of land donated by AaronDarby located on the southeast corner of where these two roads intersected and lefta large area on the north side of church for the cemetery. Two pie suppers were given at the school house to start the “building fund” for the church house and several others donated money, logs for the lumber, teams and wagons to haul the logs and other necessary things and nearly all the men in the community donated their work, and it was finally finished in the Spring on 1892, and the same building is still there and in use although it has had several repair and redecorating jobs since 1892.
A part of the two acres given to the church was put in use for a cemetery just east and north of the church house and in 1893, a Mrs. Tolivar, Miss Para Lee Fergerson and a Mr. Crawford and his son were the first ones to be buried there. There are approximately 250 or more graves here at the present time.
The Post Office was established in 1894 and then was discontinued in 1914. The home of Mr. and Mrs. Dick Cross and family located almost a mile north and west of the cross roads
-page 173-
was where the first Post Office was located, and Mr. Cross was appointed in the Garfield administration as Postmaster. Since there was another Post Office in Missouri with the name of Cross Roads, the Post Office Department gave this Post Office the name of “Nemo”, which is the Latin word for “Nobody” and believed to mean “little”. Only three other American towns in Illinois, South Dakota, and Texas, bear this nwsterious name, which may have been borrowed from Captain Nemo, the hero of the enormously popular romance by Jules Verne, TWENTY THOUSAND LEAGUES UNDER THE SEA (1870). When the Post Office was first established there wasn't any postal route and mail was only delivered direct to the Post Office once or twice a week and everyone had to come to the Post Office for their mail and to send out their letters and parcels. The rural route was organized in 1912 and was first operated in 1913 by the late Alva Fisher, then by Scott Bentley in 1918-19, with Earnest Johnson as substitute carrier for two years before his permanent appointment in 1919, and Earnest has carried it now for the past fifty years up until he underwent a serious operation this past winter and since then his substitute carrier, Mr. Bill Dickerson, has been on the job. Many of the older folks can remember Earnest when he first began this job and his enclosed buggy equipped with a small wood stove with its little stove pipe sticking out a hole in the side during the winter months to provide heat for his all-day trek through the cold, snow, and muddy roads, up one hill and down another, fording all the creeks and branches and sometimes not getting home until after dark.
The first store building was built and operated by Mr. Tommy Bridges onthe southwest corner of the road intersection and just a little north and west of the church house in 1896. Tommy had previously rented one room in the Ben Jones home about two miles east of the Cross Roads and operated a small store there for about a year, then moved his stock of merchandise to the new building. He later sold his building and stock of goods to Mr. Charles Parker, who soon sold his business to James A. (Bud) Bush, who later traded the business to Mr. Allen Huckaby for a plot of land known as “The Old Milligan Place” located in Haver Stick Hollow. Mr. Huckaby remained in the store business several years and also held an office at the courthouse in Hermitage at the same time. He later sold out to J. T. Ferguson who in turn sold out to Eppie Carder. During the time, Mr. Dan Hooper built a blacksmith shop on the corner in front of this store building and ran it for some time until he sold out to Harrison Reser. Sometime during this changing of businesses,
-page 174-
Mr. George Dryer and Mr. Robert Meadows built another store building just west of the first one on the south side of the road in approximately 1903-04. They operated this business until Will Hooper traded a place (now the Hoyt Adkins farm) to Robert Meadows for his part in store business and then bought out George Dryer. Mr. Dave Lindsey bought out the business of Mr. Eppie Carder, then sold to Mr. Tom Hitson. Mr. Harrison Reser and Mr. John Taylor purchased the business of Mr. Hitson in about 1912; then Harrison bought out John’s interest and also purchased the blacksmith shop from Mr. Kinsey Hooper, who had taken over his father’s business. In 1922, Mr. Arthur Nelson moved there and established a produce business in partnership with Harrison Reser in a small building just south of Harrison’s store, and it caught fire from an oil stove and burned down. In about 1927, Harrison and Mabel purchased land on north side of road near corner and built a new store building of metal, also put in gas pumps and oil. In about 1927-28, Mr, Henry Hooper moved the former Quincy Dobbs residence up the corner on the south side of the road and opened up a grocery and feed and produce business which he and Dona operated until about 1933-34, when he sold out to Mr. & Mrs. Noah Richards. Mr. & Mrs. Richards sold out in about three months to Mr. & Mrs. Velzie Fisher, who stayed in business a year or more and sold out to Mr. & Mrs. Romey Reser. Mr. & Mrs. Reser operated the business about a year and sold to Mr. & Mrs. Russel J. McKinley on February ll, 1937, and they remained in business there for over 21 years and finally closed the store in December, 1958, because of their age and the lack of business due to the competition of the larger towns and better transportation. Mr. & Mrs. Harrison Reser had closed their business place across the road in 1943 by having an auction sale before they left to find employment in California where they worked a few years before coming back here to retire. With the closing of McKinley's Store in 1958, there wasn't any business places in Nemo until 1961,
On March 1, 1961, Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Tipton purchased an acre of land from Mr. & Mrs. Al Sawyers on the north side of Highway K (now Highway 264) and west of the school house and grounds. The Tiptons built a small store and service station and later added sporting goods, a bait shop and several boat storage buildings after purchasing more land on the north of the present acre. Raymond also added plumbing business and installed several pumps and plumbed several homes with the help of his stepson, Mr. Robert Breshears, who has taken over the plumbing business completely because
-page 175-
of Raymond’s health. On February 26, 1968, the Tiptons sold their complete business place and boat storage to Mr. & Mrs. Russel Groves and family of Kansas City. lnthe latter part of 1968 and the first of 1969, the Groves added on more room to their grocery and sporting goods store and added several more boat storage stalls and changed the location of their gas pumps to the west end of the building due to the new highway being built.
In 1962, Mr. & Mrs. King Reser built and operated the first cafe that was ever had here. They also opened the former store building of their father's for a shop and garage and service station and used part of it for living quarters in the back. In about a year, they leased the cafe, shop, and station ani living quarters to Mr. & Mrs. Ivan Wray and family, thento Mr. & Mrs. Herman Lemley, then later on to Mr. & Mrs. Doc Weaver, and then to Mr. & Mrs. B. N. (Wimpy) Winfrey of Sweet Springs, who operated the business imtil the fall of 1968 and were forced to close because of the state highway buying most of the property for the new highway being built. In June, 1963, Mr. & Mrs. Earl Berry and son, Bruce, of St. Joseph, purchased 22 acres of land from Mr. &Mrs. Herbert Wilkerson about one-half mile west of the intersection in Nemo, and on July 21st, they opened a grocery, sporting goods, and packaged liquor store, built out of cement blocks, with a dwelling under the same roof. Later, they addeda 20-stall enclosed boat storage building just west of the store building.
Mr. & Mrs. Joy Spradling and two children of Philipsburg moved their mobile home and well-drilling equipment on to a small plot of land joining the Tipton's business placeon the west side sometime in 1963-64. They lived at this location about two years, drilled several wells here in the lake area as well as surrounding communities, and then they purchased a small acreage of land from Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Wilkerson just south of the Wilkerson home and built a lovely three bedroom home. They also sold their small well drill and bought a large rotary well drill, which is much faster and better, and they do a very good business.
Mr. & Mrs. John Henry Turner and three children of Urbana purchased two acres of land from Al Sawyers just west of the Spradling’s first location near Tipt0n’s, and built a large cement block building in the fall of 1963 and spring of 1964, and in April, 1964, they opened up a business called “The
-page 176-
Hickory House Barbeque”, which specializes in barbequed ri s and steak with John Henry being the “chief cook”. In 1966, they built a nice home on the east side of their business establishment.
In the fall of 1964, Mr. & Mrs. Don Carter and two boys purchased part of the old school house yard and spent the winter and early spring months building a Dairy Queen. In May, 1965, their business opened up and isknown as “Nemo Drive In”. They usually open every spring in May and then close sometime in September or October.
In 1965, Mr. & Mrs. Gordon (Jake) Jacobson of Michigan purchased two acres of land from R. J. McKinley on the south side of Highway K (Highway 264) joining the Al Sawyers home on the east side and just across the road from the “Nemo Drive In”. The Jacobsons live in a nice mobile home there and Jake built a mechanic shop near the highway which he operates himself. In the fall of 1968, they had to close his shop because of the new road right-of-way taking a large part of the building. He purchased the building back and moved it back several feet and put on another concrete floor and ro- opened for business in the spring of 1969.
In the spring of I966, Mr. & Mrs. Carl Reser and daughter came back here from California and purchased 27 acres of land on the north side of Highway K (Highway 264) from R. J. McKinley, and by the middle of July, they were in business which added the first beauty shop known as “Nemo Beauty Mart” and Reser’s Real Estate Office. In 1967, Carl builta large 53-stall boat storage building just north of the beauty shop. In the spring of 1968, he built and opened a car wash and added 18 more boat storage stalls to his boat storage building.
In 1966, Mr. & Mrs. Ed Ginnings and family of Pittsburg purchased two acres of land from R. J. McKinley that joins the Jacobson’s on the east side. They builta large cement block building in which they put in a grocery store, bait shop, and service station, and were doing good business until the fall of 1968 when the new highway right-of-way took all of their frontage and the gas pumps, too. They had an auction sale in the fall of 1968 and sold all of their stock of goodsand equipment. They have living quarters in back part of business building and are living there waiting until the highway is completed before remodeling and reopening for business. Mr. & Mrs. Ronald Kirby of Kansas City purchased an acreage
-page 177-
of land from Al Sawyers on the west side of the Hickory House Barbeque properly in the winter of 1964 or spring of I965 and built a ll)-unit motel on the north side of Highway K, now Highway 264, and named it “Highway K Motel”; later, they built a dwelling at the west end of it. They sold itto some people by the name of Van Buskirk from Iowa, and they had it one season and sold to Mr. & Mrs. Murl Stephens of Stockton. They were here one season and during that time, Mr. Stephens suffered an apparent heart attack while fishing on the lake and passed away, so Mrs. Stephens turned it back to the real estate office and it was resold and opened in the spring of 1969 by Mr. & Mrs. Dick Willis of LaComb, Illinois.
I failed to mention that in approximately 1962-63, Mr. & Mrs. Wallace French of Illinois purchased about two acres of land from Al Sawyers between the Tipt0n’s Groceryand Bait Shop and the Hickory House and built a nice home and a shop where Mr. French did electrical work on small appliances, and then later worked at various jobs in large cities in electrical wiring. Mrs. French (Inga) was a native of Germany and a natural born artist and desigier, and she purchased a kiln and held classes on doing ceramic work in her basement of her home until they sold their home and acreage back to Al Sawyers and moved elsewhere in the fall of 1968. Mr. Sawyers moved intothe home in 1968 as the Highway right-or-way had purchased his old home, and he was forced to move to a new location. Al's daughter and husband, Mr. & Mrs. Sam Girard, purchased the old home of Al's and had it moved to a lot several hundred feet west of the old location and remodeled it for their home.
In approximately 1964, Mr. & Mrs. Charles Kingand boys purchased several acres of land from Mr. & Mrs. Herbert Wilkerson on the east side of Highway K (Highway 264) and built a lovely home there where they now live. In 1967, they sold two acres onthe south end of it to Mr. & Mrs. Charles White who moved a mobile home there. Mr. White passed away in 1968, and Mrs. White has just recently moved away, taking her mobile home with her.
Mrs. Marjorie Darby
Pittsburg. —This place was no doubt named Pittsburg because a number of the Pitts family settled near it before the county was organized.
-page 178-
The first man who sold goods there was Chas. F. Friend, and he kept his store in a small log house that he built near where the east end of the Creed Hotel now stands. He was there until 1846, for he was appointed Justice of the Peace of that Township in 1846. A more substantial store building was built by John L. Hall a short distance north of where Friend's building stood, probably as early as 1844. John L. Hall was afterwards elected Judge of the County Court of this county and was later a wholesale merchant inSedalia, Missouri. Andrew J. Pitts came to the neighborhood in 1845 with the family of his father, Burrell Pitts, from the State of Mississippi, near Vicksburg. Dillard Pitts and Young Mirns Pitts, sons of Jack Pitts, had been there four or five years. Lewis Edwards then lived onthe high hill south of Pittsburg, and Charles livedinthe log house mentioned and sold goods in one room of it. William M. Dorman had made a settlement and lived near a spring on what is now the Joseph Davis farm a little northwest of town. A man by the name of Beavers lived about a quarter of a mile west of where the business part of town now is. The first schoolhouse in the neighborhood was south of the road at the John Jump old place about a mile south of where the town now is. Isaac Goodson was there in business in the 40's. Jonas Brown lived about two miles north of where the town is and had at that time the following children: William Brown, Preston Brown, James Milton Brown, Josiah Brown, Columbus (Muns) Brown, Sarah Ann Brown, who married a man named Foster and went to Wet Glaize in Camden County, Missouri, and Jane Brown who was the first wife of Michael W. Dorman. William E. Dorman had a small log building there in which he kept what then was called a “Grocery”, the principal goods kept being sugar, coffee, spice, and pepper, and white whiskey. When the excitement arose about the county seat going to be located at Hermitage in 1846, Mr. Dorman hauled his house, store, and all, to Hermitage, and after clearing away the post oak brush where the residence of Mrs. Nannie F. Blair now stands in Hermitage, rebuilt his house and ran his grocery store. The store building built by Mr. Hall was repaired and added to and used perhaps as late as 1880. Ben L. Mallonee, now the leading merchant of the town, and his brother, Leonard G. Mallonee, now of St. Louis, Missouri, sold goods inthe Hall old building in 1867-68; Ben L. Mallonee, now of St. Louis, continued his business later. Edward J .Kendall was in business in the houseat that place in the early 70's. John T. Ferguson, now a merchant at Nemo, was there in business inl878. William H. Houser did business there later. Judge Ben L. Mallonee erected a new store building north and west of the
-page 179-
Hall building or where it once stood, about 1889, and again went into business; has since built a new and better building and is still in business. In 1886 and later, Abel Benson ran a blacksmith shop on the east side of the road north of the business part of the town about where the public road crosses a little branch and bridge. He lived in that neighborhood as early as 1852. The largest and most convenient building to strike in 1870, and for several years thereafter, when a man was hungry, was a three or four room building, one story, situated about where the building stood where Charles Friend kept the first store near where the Creed Hotel now stands. The zinc mining business in the town and around it sprung up in 1894, gave the town a boom, but owing to the distance that the mineral must be hauled over rough roads with no bridges between there and the nearest point on the railroad, work has been almost abandoned. A hotel building was built a number of years ago, but was destroyed by fire in 1901. A new hotel was built by John Lightfoot in 1900 and is now kept by Herschel Creed. A steam flouring mill was built in 1894 by John M. Gourley and William H. Houser and has been repaired and improved and is now owned and operated by John Hobson. A public house is near a quarter of a mile away to the northwest of town and was built about 1881. In 1894 several of the good citizens of the town and vicinity formed a stock company and built a nice, large, two-story building in the east part of town to be used for religion and other meetings, and societies meetings. The first story now belongs to the M. E. Church South and the second story to the M. W. of A.
The Pittsburg Camp M. W. of A. was organized June 7, 1898, with eighteen charter members. It has now passed out of existence.
Some of the resident physicians are: B. F. Barnes, William C. Gentry, Jasper Millikan, George W. Pack, B. F. Cox, S. W. Igou, and Thomas D. Wrinkle.
The steam flour mill recalled in the early history of Pittsburg was discontinued in the early 1930s. A store building owned by George P. Miller burned in 1916, and another store owned by Edde Miller also burned. The old school building burned in 1921. A new school building was built and used until the district was consolidated with the Hermitage district. The school building is now used for Community programs of
-page 180-
various types. The Bank of Pittsburg closed about 1928. The population, which at one time was around 100, has dropped to 40. The business places in the town are as follows: Gideon Grocery, Moore's Variety Store, Davis Filling Station and Grocery, E. and L. Package Store, Weaver Cafe, Amlin Filling Station, Post Office. Ben Mallonee and Mrs. Mallonee have been residents of Pittsburg since early years and Ben L. Mallonee, his father, was a businessman and postmaster in Pittsburg in 1867. The Pomme de Terre Reservoir area has not contributed to the growth of the town, but its neamess has stimulated some business interests and provided close recreation for its citizens.
Preston. -The town survey of this town is situated on the southwest fourth of the northeast quarter of Section 22 and the southwest fourth of the northwest quarter of Section 24, Township 37, Range 21. It is about l8 feet over five miles and one-eighth mile east of Hermitage, the south line being with the north line of the town of Hermitage. The main street in the town running north is on the line of the town of Hermitage. It is between Sections 22 and 23. The east side was entered by Richard I. Robertson, February 20, 1855. The west side of the street was entered by Joshua Owen, December 7, 1849, but Silas C. Howard was ownerinl857. On the 8th of December, I857, Silas C. Howard and Richard I. Robertson caused the town to be surveyed and platted by Daniel D. Davis, and Deputy County Surveyor, under Benjamin H. Massey. It was laid out into eight blocks, block #8 being designated church lot, and block #7 was not divided into lots. Blocks 7 and 8 are 211 1/ 3 feet square. The deed to the public for the streets, etc., was made January 21, 1858, and was acknowledged before Amasa Curtis, J. P. Silas. C. Howard was the first man to put in a store, and he and Richard M. Robertson werein business there before the town was surveyed and afterwards up to the Civil War. RobertsonandStaten did business together and .Trentham also did business there. In 1860, William R. Rains, who was afterwards Second Lieutenantin Company “B”, 8th Missouri State Militia, had a wood shop there. By 1861, the town had grown to be an important business point, but at the commencement of the Civil War, nearly all its inhabitants sympathized with the Confederacy and went South so that the town was almost deserted in 1862. Early in 1861, the people of the town and that section of the county became greatly excited about the issues of the Civil War. John Mabary, an ex-sheriff and collector and a highly respected citizen,
-page 181-

Edde Family
MR. AND MRS. JOE EDDE OF PRESTON

with the assistance of others, enlisted in a Company of State Guards, at the insistance of Claiborne F. Jackson, then Governor of the State, and in a very short time, Union men became so stirred up that Lycurgus Lindsey, Thomas S. Morgan, Aaron Darby, William H. Liggett, then a young school teacher, and others, raised Company “D” Osage Regiment Missouri Home Guards, under an order of General Nathaniel Lyon, who was then in command of Federal troops in the state, and who was killed in the Battle of Wilson Creek, August 10, 1861. Lycurgus Lindsey was Captain of Company "D" and Aaron Darby was a Lieutenant. After serving six months, most of these men went into service of the United States for a term of three years. Capt. Mabary died in 1863. Some of his men went South and were in General Sterling Price's army; some of them quit the service after a short time and came home or went elsewhere; some even went into the Federal army later. Richard I. Robertson lived north of town about where Wash F. Reser's residenee now stands. His residence and al] the business houses and other buildings in town were burned during the war except a little frame building that stood near where Thomas W. Stewart's residence now stands; a small log building on Block 7 and a double log building were burned a few years ago where Alfred Lindsey’s Hotel now stands. In 1865, Benjamin A. Reeder, who had been Captain of Company "I" 8th M.S.M., sold goods in double log buildings, and in 1866, Alfred Lindsey and his brother, Anthony W. Lindsey, brought their store there
-page 182-

Bandel Family
LEOPOLD AND NANCY DENNIS BANDEL FAMILY, Picture thru courtesy of Hickory County Historical Society. Left to Right in front of rail fence: James Bandel, Nancy Dennis Bandel holding Infant Eddie Bandel, Nancy Bandel, George A. Bandel, Leopold Bandel, Amea Bandel, Cora Bandel. Behind the fence are Mary, Frede G., Edgar, Lois C. and William A. Bandel.

from Buffalo and continued in business in these log buildings until Anthony W. Lindsey bought the farm where Theodore Lindsey now lives east and northeast of the Fisher Cemetery, and moved it, and Alfred Lindsey built the present post office building and continued in business until about 1896. Since that time, Joseph Edde, Sr., A. H. Crouch, T. H. Camp, Wash F.. Reser, Samuel P. Inks, Edde and Lewis, George W. Inks, Hu1et: Shumate, William J. Edde, Jr., James R. Marsh, S. P, Gregory, and others, have done business there. The leading businessmen of the town are: George W. Inks, Winer D. Reser, Anthony W. Bowcher, and A. E. Tiderman, blacksmith shop, wood work shop, and flouring mill. The blacksmiths have been: Newberry Hobbs, Joel Hobbs, Martin Hobbs, Theodore C. Piper, John B. Cross, Thomas Humphrey, Calvin Cook, George
-page 183-

Morgan Family
JOHN MORGAN FAMILY Lived east of Preston. In 1890's (left to right) they were: Arthur, Vora, John, Raymond, Tom, Ora, Lyman, Matilda, Nora and Eathen.

C. Cook, D. W. Hartnett, and A. E. Tiderman. In 1867 or a year earlier, an old hewn log schoolhouse stood about 200 yards above the mill, but was probably never used after 1866. A frame schoolhouse was erected on the present school ground, probably about 1877. The bond given by T. C. Piper for deed for the lot to the school district was dated 1876, but no title to the lot was had until it was decreed by the Circuit Court in 1883. The old schoolhouse was removed and the present school built, probably in 1895. The church on Block 8 was built in 1873, for a union church, but those of the Baptist persuasion perhaps took more interest in the building of it than any other denomination. Members of the Masonic order built the second story, but the order never got title to the property. The Methodist Protestant Church east of town was built in 1899 for the use of the Methodist Protestant Church members of that church; many others not members of that church contributed liberally. That division of the Methodist has a large following in the town and neighborhood.
The steam flouring mill, about 80 rods south of town, was built by James A. Brakebill about 1891, and although it has
-page 184-

Morgan Family
ACHILLES MORGAN HOME EAST OF PRESTON IN 1900. Left to Right-John Andrew Johnson 1868- 1926, Eva Brooky Johnson 1896-1954, Nancy Eliza Morgan 1872-1951, Homer Hamilton 1899- (held by mother), John O. Hire 1887- , Achilles Morgan 1843-1923, Samantha Morgan 1839-1923, Cora E. Morgan 1877-1966, Elmer H. Johnson 1893-1946, Thos. W. Morgan 1871-1961.

changed hands many times, it has always done a good business. It now belongs to A. E. Tiderman, who hammered out enough money to buy it in his blacksmith shop, and chief miller is James A. Brakebill, a son of Judge James A. Brakebill, who built the mill.
In 1881, Preston Lodge #432 A. F. & A. M. was organized in the hall in the second story of the old church. Sometime after 1889, the organization was broken up and the members went to other lodges.
Preston Lodge #131 I.0.0.F. was organized about July 1, 1888, with George W. Pack as N. G.
Preston Lodge #8675 M. W. of A. was organized in September, 1901.
-page 185-

Reser Store
WASH RESER STORE AT PRESTON 1890. Front Row (left to right)-Tom Stewart, Sam Inks, Henry Brakebill, Washington Fain Reser, Dr. Milikan, Alf Lindsey, Dan Lopp, Joe Edde, Tom Humphrey, and son, Claud Humphrey; Second Row-Emil Tiederman, Mr. Tiederman, (unknown), Bruno Brakebill, Winer Reser, Earnest Brakebill, James Brakebill, John Brakebill, Sam Selby and Ott Reser (behind post).

The following physicians have been residents of the town: Richard I. Robertson, Justice A, Powers, Alfred E. Ruby, A. H. Crouch, George W. Pack, George S. Millikan, Byron Ferguson, Thomas Reser, and William S. Woodford.
Preston was first called Black Oak Point, but in its early life, the name was changed to Preston because of another post office named Black Oak Point in Missouri. It is thought that the name Preston was selected in honor of Gen. Preston, a Union general in the Civil War. The post office is now located south of Highway 54 across from the square. Mrs. Loren (Ada Edde) Lynch is the postmaster. Some of the older business places not mentioned were: W. D. Reser, who ran a general merchandise store in the early days. He kept an
-page 186-

Morgan Family
MR. AND MRS. THOMAS W. MORGAN Of near Preston. Picture made in 1953.

open barrel of candy and one of crackers by the side of the aisle through the center of the store, and the children of the customers were invited to help themselves on their visits to the store. Trading stamps were unknown then, but the customers also received a gift of candy with their purchases. This was good advertising and, no doubt, increased sales. W. V. Bonner, groceries and produce; Preston Roller Mills, Bandel Edde, produce; Bank of Preston, Farmers Bank of Preston, Bill Dalton, blacksmith shop; J. M. Robertson, drug store; Patterson Garage, Richard Kittel Garage, George Helms, barber shop; Fay Smith, barber shop; Margaret’s Beauty Shop, Lindsey Hotel, Robbins Hotel, also Doctors Losey, Hodges, and Parrish. N0 dates on these were available. Business places in Preston in 1968 are Mitchell's Market, general store; B & W Auto Parts; The Bargain Spot, proprietor, Paul Reser; Ozark Antique and GiftShop, Mrs. Walter Marriot; United Methodist Church, nearly a century old; Bible Baptist Church, and Skyline Grade Schools.
The junction of the primary highways 65 and 54 is a short
-page 187-

Morgan Family
CLIFFORD AND BETH MORGAN with their children, Tommy and Kathy.

distance east of Preston and new buildings have been erected between Preston and this junction, and also in each direction from the junction, business places there are The Paradise Doughnut Shop, Sinclair Station, The Mustang Cafe, Pete's Diner, Sutts Garage and Salvage, King Motel and Texaco Station, Warner's Court and Angus Farm, proprietor, Mamie Lou Robertson; Highway DepartmentState Barn, R.E. A. South- west Missouri Co-op., Phillips 66 Station, D-X Station, Pete's Beauty Shop, Hook's Court, Conoco Service Station, Blakes United Realty, and Blackrnore Realty.
Some Superintendents and teachers in Preston from 1935 to 1951 were Delbert L. Wheeler, Forest Moore, Byron Rea, Selby King, Olin H. Boatright, Helen Harris, Edward J. Morgan, Marita Hickman, Betreria Watt, Rugh Harris, Ruth King, Mrs. Pauline Smith, Inks Mabary, Mamie Lou Robertson. James
-page 188-
L. Long, Ruth Boatright, R. W. Moore, Mrs. Edna Smith, Deborah Claxton, Mrs. Esther R. Morgan, Ralph D. Thompson, Marie Browns, Alma Jo Rile, and Otis Jackson.
Some notes taken from “The Index” of Hickory County:
June 3, I886 - Preston, a small village of 75 has two dry goods stores, drug store and a blacksmith shop.
October 1, 1887 - Preston has three general stores, a drug store, two blacksmith shops, a wagon and general woodwork shop, picture gallery, hotel, church and school.
December 15, 1887 - “Preston population 100." Another item of same date: “Preston large cattle raisers, W. F. Reser, 200 head, A. Lindsey, 40 head, T. W. Stuart, 60 head, Pleasant Wilson, 200 head, Joe Edde, 250 head."
January 2, 1908 - “The mail route from Preston to Almon has been discontinued and a R. F. D. has been established. Sam Edde as the carrier who will make his first trip Thursday.”
January 22, 1970 - Hickory County Water District No.1 declared in working order and reach’ for users to hook on.
Quincy. -The land on which this town is situated was entered by Isaac M. Cruce, October ll, 1843, but the place was settled ten years or more before that time. William Kirkpatrick entered the west half of the northwest quarter of Section 32, Township 38, Range 23, January 6, 1843, which lies less than a quarter of a mile west of town. Gladis Nowell and Ephraim Jamison entered tracts north and northwest of town in Sections 19, 29, and 30, as early as 1842. James Atkisson and Ira Tilford entered the land northeast of town in Section 15, December 30, 1843. The place before it was surveyed and platted in the name of “Judy's Gap”, because Samuel Judy had a blacksmith shop there, and operated it for several years, and there was a gap or opening near this point between Hogle’s Creek prairie and twenty-five mile prairie. Mortimore Payne succeeded Judy, and about this time, Aaron Ripetoe put up a country store and secured the appointment as post- master. He was, no doubt, the first postmaster within what is now Hickory Counw. He kept his store and post office for several years, and in I843, John Hunter succeeded him in
-page 189-
business and it was quite prosperous until some time after 1852. He was there in 1852, and received a deed from Isaac Cruce dated May 8, 1852, conveying lots 7 and 8 in Block 1 to him as Trustee for the school district for schoolhouse and church purposes. There was a man in partnership with Hunter or in business there alone by the name of Armstrong. The town was evidently platted and surveyed at the insistence of Isaac M. Cruce in 1848, as he owned the land at that time The deed to the first lot was made by Isaac M. Cruce and his wife to Murry, dated February 3, 1849. The date of the survey of the town cannot be given because the Deed Record containing the plat and the Surveyor’s certificate was burned in the Court House fire January 6, 1881. Mr. Hunter sold out his business to Whitlow & Miller, who carried on a successful business until 1861. In the meantime, William Eastwood ran a stage line on the old “Military Road”; Charles Madden and George McGowan ran a saloon; and William Bird had a stock of drugs and groceries; and old man Raymond put up the first mill. John McDowell had a carding machine run on the same plan. Then, that destructive Civil War came up and put a stop to business, and most of the citizens of the town and surrounding country went into the Union Army or went South, and the town was almost vacated. About 1863, James H. Raymond was discharged from the army to take charge of the post office, and he came home and ran a little store, and it was robbed when Captain Rafter, a guerilla officer, was killed here, and John T. Thomas killed, and William B. Charlton and Thomas Wilson seriously wounded. Until the war was over, a number od persons ran “dives” and small businesses here. After the close of the war, William Thomas and Dr. William S. Swicegood set up and ran a general store, and Bennett Wellman and a Mr. St. John ran stores for a while. After this, William Flesher ran a general store here. A steam saw and gristmill were built on the creek half a mile west of town, but was sold out and moved to the east side of the county, and the machinery fina11y bought and moved back again about 1874. A log house stood about a half-mile north of the town in which there was a school from four to six months in the year. In 1866 or l867, there was a woolen mill built in the southwest part of town that carded, spun, and wove some of the coarser cloths, and exchanged cloth for wood. Somewhere about 1874, Marmaduke E. Ferguson, James B. Brent, and Lyman Stiltz built a steam saw and grist mill in Quincy, and soon after it was erected, a very good schoolhouse in which a public school is kept up from seven to nine months in the year. In 1908, the flouring mill was operated by J. E. Discus: a general store and post
-page 190-
office run by Bert E. Lord; a general store and harness shop by Hally Amrine; a blacksmith shop by L. W. Baldwin and William Stiltz; a grocery store by Samuel Estes; dry goods, clothing, etc., R. C. F. Cagle; a drug store by Lyman Stiltz; a millinery shop by Miss Rena Stiltz and Mrs. E. E. Cagle; and Samuel Estes has a steam saw mill with corn burr attachment.
The A. F. &. A. M. owned a fairly good hall in the town in which Hogle’s Creek Lodge met for years, but was later moved to Wheatland.
M. W of A. Camp was organized March 13, 1896. It has long since passed into history.
The town has no church building, but services are held in lower room of the Masonic building by Methodist, Baptist, and Christians. The members of the Christian Church are more numerous.
Some of the resident physicians have been: ----- White, William S. Swicegood, James A. Sisler, Benj. F. Stephens, Jeff J. Stephens, T. C. Hatton, Thos. J. Sheldon, W. E. Miles, Geo. W. Dalgliesh, and J. B. Harris.
Time is a robber in many ways, and the little town of Quincy has suffered loss of various kinds in the past sixty years. Some of the things missing are: the blacksmith shop, tread wheel mill, drug store, steam saw and grist mill, carding mill, woolen mill, flour mill, harness business, dry goods store, millinery shop, jewelry store, school house, lodges, hotel, physicians, and post office. All of these were a necessity during that period, and the people who made up the population were busy and provided much that was a benefit to all the county. It would be an interesting volume if a record of the pioneers who lived there at the time could be procured, con- cerning the everyday, business, social, and spiritual lives of the men and women and youth of those days; but that,too, like a thousand other happenings, is buried with the people who are there no more.
Perhaps the last resident physician there was Dr. J. W. Murray who lived at one time in what was originally a hotel on the west side of what is now Highway 83 running south from town. Vinson Cunningham had a general store for several years prior to 1920. Some postmasters and merchants in the past were Lyon Nowell, Ray Creed, and others who com- bined the office with their stores. Rena Stiltz served as
-page 191-
postmaster before and after the year 1914. Later, Eula V. Gilbert was commissioned as postmaster and served until the early 1940s. Ardith D. Scott became Military Acting Postmaster but retired in 1959. Following her retirement, Mrs. Minnie M. Taylor and then Mrs. Lucille McCaslin served as acting postmasters until March, 1962, when Mrs. Kathryn Gilbert was commissioned as postmaster and served until April, 1969, when she was transferred to the position as clerk in the Weaubleau office. Quincy still has a postoffice and a short rural route. The population is 23. There is a hall building used for community programs of various kinds. Raymond and Lucille Scott have a feed house, also a grocery store and gas station.
Weaubleau. -This town is situated on lands in Section 11, Township 36, Range 24, entered by William Hawkins October 23, 1840. It was the earliest land entry in the township, except two, east halt of the northeast quarter of Section 1, and the other a part of the N. M. Durnell old farm southeast of town. These entries were made in 1838 and 1839. The first town survey was made at the insistence of Rev. Emerson Barber, by Patrick Chancellor, County Surveyor, December 3, 1880, on the northeast fourth of the southwest quarter of Section 11, and the name given to it was “Haren”. The first addition to the town was caused to be surveyed by A. A. John, August 20, 1883, by Patrick Chancellor. The survey was an addition to “Haren", and was not described as being on any forty acres, but was said to be south of "Haren". The next addition was made by Robert Dey, who caused lots to be surveyed on the southwest fourth of the southeast of the northwest quarter of Section 11, May 29, 1886, by Patrick Chancellor. This was also named as an addition to “Haren”, and on the same date, William D. Harryman and Calvin Hartley caused to be surveyed twenty-two lots on the southwest fourth of the southeast fourth of the northwest quarter of Section 11 lying south of Dey's addition, and described as the south half of blocks 5 and 8 of college addition was surveyed and platted on the southeast fourth of the northwest quarter of Section 11, July 28, 29, 1893. Gentry's addition was surveyed and platted June 10, 1898, by P. M. Burns, Surveyor out Polk County, and is described as being a part of the northwest fourth of the southeast quarter and part of southwest fourth of the northeast quarter of section 11. Upton & Leonard's addition made by Joseph B. Upton and Ben F. Leonard was surveyed by Patrick Chancellor, March 8-11, 1898, and was located on the south two-thirds of
-page 192-
the north half of the southeast quarter of Section 11. Broadway Heights addition was made by Ben. F. Leonard and B. T. Perriman, and was surveyed by Rev. Green M. Botts, County Surveyor of Polk County, June 2, 1904, and is located on the northwest fourth of the southwest quarter of Section 12, Township 36, Range 24.
The first man who sold goods in Weaubleau, or what is now Weaubleau, was Jeff Sharp. He had a little store building and store there as early as 1871. It stood west or northwest of the Institute building. About that time,the first brick College building was erected in the tall grass where it now stands, and is used for a Christian Church and other purposes. The principal contributors to the College building were John Whitaker, Joseph Whitaker, Thomas Whitaker, Sr., William Swink, Francis Yoast, Dr A. C. Marquis, Hon. Samuel S. Burdette, Thomas J. Tucker, C. M. Largent, Geo. W. Durnell, Sr., and Monroe Durnell. After the walls of the building were up, a wind storm blew the second story down, and that made quite a hitch about getting it rebuilt and ready for school. The Principals of the school in the old institute building were Prof. John Whitaker, ----- Wingfield, Rev. Emerson Barber, and Rev. Joel Myers. In 1880 or l881, Thomas Phipps and Daniel Rogers built a saw mill at the old mill place on the southwest fourth of the northwest quarter of Section 11, and a little later, Mr. Phipps and Joseph J. Conn and his son put up a steam flouring mill. This mill passed into the hands of William D. Harryman and Calvin Hartley, and was moved to Collins, St. Clair County, about 1889. A. A. John built a store building where the town now is near where Dr. Wm. C. Gentry built the two-story building where the store of James A. Hawkins now is. Mr. John continued in business until 1894. L. D. John built and went into business in 1886 at or near where he is now doing business. There were built about 1881 or 1882 two buildings near the old mill place, perhaps on the southeast corner of the northwest Quarter of Section 10, and in one of them, Wm. D. Harryman and Calvin Hartley sold goods, and in the other, a Hotel was kept by an old man by the name of Hardy, father- in-law of William E. Crouch. Harryman and Hartley quit business there about 1885 and built a business house with I.O.O.F. Hall in the second story about a quarter of a mile east of there. An I.0.0.F. Lodge was organized in 1883, but it was organized in the second story of the college building. The first public school building stood north and near where the old College building stands, and a larger and better school building was built tn 1884, in the northwest part of town. Perhaps Charles G. Mchiahan first kept hotel in town, but John
-page 193-

Weaubleau Depot
OLD WEAUBLEAU RAILROAD DEPOT

Baynham was there in a hotel where Mr. Pruett now runs Commercial Hotel about 1882. Robert Orr and John 0. James were also there in the hotel business, and not far from that time, before perhaps, William E. Crouch kept hotel east of the old mill place. August W. Doerman came there about 1884, and went into business and continued in business until about the first of the year 1887. Along about these years, Thomas H. Bird, Patrick Chancellor, and James J. Ramsey, were in the mercantile business there. Had not A. A. John, L. D. John, and Weaubleau Christian Institute been there after the flouring mill was removed and other men whom we have named went out of business, the town would have been almost abandoned. The conditions were very discouraging for the school for some time. There were not a great many such prosperous farmers and large well-cultivated farms in the neighborhood of the town in those years, and not a railroad nearer than Appleton City and Clinton. But this was not allowed to be continued. In 1892, enterprising citizens of the town and neighborhood laid plans and determined to awaken an interest in the high school and put new life into the town. This was carried out in 1893 by laying out the College addition to the town into lots, streets, and alleys on July 28-29, 1893; and the building of the present commodious and convenient College building at the north end ot town, away from the
-page 194-
business center. The association that represented the builders was incorporated by the Circuit Court of Hickory County, November 23, 1893, with William E. Crouch, Robert Dey, Thomas J. Tucker, C. M. Largent, and Thomas H. Houser as Trustees. Before the completion of the new College building, the town began to grow, new residences and new business houses were built, and the town put on a great amount of new life but only gradually, until the Kansas City, Osceola, and Southern Railroad, now Frisco, came in August 13, 1898. This put entirely new life and many new people in the town. Prior to the coming of the railroad, the Baptist people had erected a commodious church building in the west part of town. The residences and business houses built in anticipation of the coming of the railroad, and immediately after the arrival of its trains are too numerous to mention. August 13, 1898, was a boom day for Weaubleau. In the spring or early summer of 1898, the T. A. Miller Lumber Company put in a lumber year, and in the fall of 1898, B. F. Tucker, an enterprising and wealthy young man, who was born, raised, and educated there, put in a lumber yard and is there in business now, he having purchased the stock of T. A. Miller Co. In 1904-05, Mrs. Margaret Forshe, who had been in the hotel business almost from girlhood, erected a handsome, roomy hotel on the northside of main street leading from the main business part of town to the depot, which she sold to Thomas J. McCracken in 1906. Also in the years 1904-05, William H. Nichols, with the assistance of others, erected near the Frisco depot, a fine large, steam, full roller process flouring mill which has done a large business since its erection. It has now passed into the hands of John P. Monroe & Son, the large stock feeders of Weaubleau Township. A large convenient brick public school building was built in 1902, and the Methodist Episcopal church people and the people at the Christian Church (sometimes called Campbellites) have nice, commeodious church buildings, while the other Christian Church (sometimes called New Lights) keep in repair and use the lower story ol the old institute building as ea place of worship.
July 25, 1899, the Bank of Weaubleau was organized by Joseph Whitaker, Laura 0. Whitaker, Thomas H. Whitaker, Della Whitaker, Ida Whitaker, and George Clinton Hardy. It has a capital stock of $5,000 all paid up and is a substantial, convenient and safe institution. In 1906, Thomas H. Whitaker, Cashier of the Bank of Weaubleau, and Prof. John Whitaker, who has represented the county in the lower house of the State Legislature, built a large, magnificent brick building
-page 195-
of two stories with two rooms below suitable for any sort of store rooms, one of which is now occupied by Mason & Robbinett, Druggists, and the other is occupied by William U. Morton, General Merchandise.
The business and the businessmen ofthe town are as follows: L. D. John, General Store; Ben F. Tucker, Assignee for T. S. Heath & Son, General Store; William U. Morton, General Store; William S. Goans, Dry Goods and Groceries; and L. L. Roberts, Groceries and Meat Market; Allee andSon Harness; Famous Clothing House, Clothing and Gents Furnishing; Weaubleau Pharmacy, Drugs; Charles D. Tharp, Dentist; W. B. McCord, Dentist; W. C. Gentry, Physician; W. J. Mason, Physician; Marlow Brothers, Second Hand and Racket Store; T. A. Griffin, Produce; J. C. Lowe, Produce; Hartley & Davis, Barbers; Knight & Son, Hardware and Implements; E. D. Brown, Groceries and Restaurant; R. G. Klttel, Photographer and Jeweler; N. E. Estes, Books and Stationery; Thomas J. McCracken, Hotel; W. E. Pruett, Hotel; Owens Brothers Livery, Feed, and Sale Stable; T. S. Durnell, Livery, Feed and Sale Stable; W. W. Tharp, Marble and Granite Works; J. J. Ashinhurst, Blacksmith; Howard Buckalew, Blacksmith; Chas. Fields, Wagon Maker; Mrs. L. D. John, Millinery; Mrs. W. J. Mason, Millinery; T. J. Tucker, Dairyman and Ice Dealer; B. F. Tucker, Lumber; John P. Monroe & Son, Flouring Mills; Bank of Weaubleau; C. C. Brookshire, Real Estate; Weaubleau Telephone Compamr. Some of the resident physicians have been: Emerson Barber, A. L. Fisher, Zachariah Barnes, Geo. B. Viles, E. L. Burke, L. B. Selvidge, William C. Gentry, H. C. Brookshire, Wm. J. Mason, and Byron Ferguson.
Weaubleau Camp, M. W. of A. #3886 was organized April 2, 1898. Present officers are: J. E. Bradley, V. C.; E. W. Fentress, W. A.; 1. 0. John, E. B.; W. W. Tharp, Clerk; W. C. Durnell, Escort; F. C. McCarney, Watchman; LA. Knight, Sentry.
Hickory Camp, W. 0. W. #505 was organized April 25, 1906, with the following officers: J. A. Jamison, C. Com.; J. McNabb, A. Lt.; J. D. Sims, Banker; Guy Robinett, Clerk; W. A. Leach, Escort, D. Wilson Whitson, Watchman; H. Nelson, Sentry. Present officers are J. A. Jamison, P. C. C.; Guy Robinett, C. C.; J. W. Thompson, A. Lt.; J. D. Sins, Banker; W. A. Leach, Watchman; W. J. Fitzhugh, Sentry; T. J‘. McCracken, Escort; and G. M. Priest, Clerk.
-page 196-
Weaubleau Dist. Court #655 Court of Honor was organized April 13, 1900, with the following officers: Theo. Pruett, Chan.; Mrs. S. C. Gentry, V. C.; Mrs. N. E. Estes, P. C.; M. J. Morton, Recorder; Mrs. E. A. Cox, Chaplain; B. I. Lively, Cond.; Wm. C. Cox, Guard; A. Wilkins, Sentinel. Present officers are S. E. Hendrickson, Chan.; Mrs. L. Tharp, V. C.; N. J. Mitchell, P. C.; L. L. Roberts, Recorder; Mrs. Frances Roberts, Chap.; W. W. Tharp, Cond.; E. W. Ryan, Guard; Mrs. S. E. Hendrickson, Sentinel.
The following item taken from the December, 1939, Index is a good summary of Weaubleau's progress at that period.
Weaubleau has undergone several changes during 1939. In addition to its transformation due to the construction of highway 54 through the main part of town, its widening of streets and cutting back of buildings, etc., the Knight hardware company has erected a fine new brick building, which they now occupy. Swicegoods have remodeled their brick store building (the old Citizens Bank building) which is soon to be occupied by Muman & Orr for groceries and cafe. Mr. Phillips has about completed his filling station which is convenient and modern just across the street from Crithfield’s garage. Ashcroft is building a btmch of tourist cabins a-top the hill east end of town, same to be equipped with light, water, shower bath, etc., and drilling a deep well to make sure of water supply. The Baptist Church moved, remodeled and full basement added. Many changes and improvements are constantly taking place and the remark that “everything looks so different" is common even among residents of the town. We are optimistic enough to believe that other changes and improvements are coming inthe way ofadditional dwellings and business houses and even the cement paving of highway 54 which means a mile of paved street for Weaubleau, the value of which cannot be overestimated for so small a village. Every old time citizen of Weaubleau, who lefthere a few years ago, has a real surprise coming to him when he returns to his old home town for a visit.
We are indebted to Eugene Harryman, local historian of Weaubleau, for the following articles.
The town of Weaubleau is located in the southwest part of Hickory County in the state of Missouri and has a name all its own.
-page 197-
At one time, Weaubleau supported as many as three hotels, several rooming houses, dry goods, grocery, and racket stores, blacksmith shops, wheel makers, livery stables and feed barns, millinery and ladies ready-to-wear, photo shops, a flour and saw mill, scale lot, and elevator, and two banks. For many years now, hitch racks, stomping of horses’ feet and passenger trains have disappeared. Old families, too, are disappearing, and a new breed is taking their place. Instead of the old passenger depot, a new freight depot has taken its place since the fall of 1967. This is quite a contrast to what it was in the days of the railroad, and when Weaubleau had several trains a day to take care of both freight and passenger traffic between Kansas City and Springfield, where now the freight runs each way every other day. Weaubleau, like many small towns, has had its ups and downs, and now after many years, it has had water and sewage since December, 1967, and is looking forward to a better day. People in retirement are on the move: they are looking for retirement homes away from the city's humdrum of life; they are looking for property where they can build a modern home with all the modern facilities.
Weaubleau is coming to the front as exchanges of property are being sought, and many new homes are being built.
WEAUBLEAUS BUSINESS FIRMS OF TODAY Today, as of many years ago, most businesses will be found along the main right-of-way. As of yesterday, so it is today. So, as one follows Highway 54 east, the following businesses are: Texaco Gas Station, Charles Keith, Prop.; Frosty Freeze, Mr. and Mrs. Alton Wamer, Owners; The General Telephone Company Booth is next door; Glen's Gift and Georgia Ruth's Beauty Shop, Mr. and Mrs. Glen Jennings, Owners; Groceries and Meats, Alfred White, Prop.; Antiques and Fixit Shop, Mr. and Mrs. W. E. Surrite; Woblo Wood Works, Mr. and Mrs. Art Ussery; Weaubleau Locker Plant, Mr. and Mrs. LeRoy Higgins; Sallee Lumber Company since 1967; Weaubleau Cemetery; Cong’l Christian Church, U. C. C.; Baptist; Methodist; Disciples of Christ and Assembly of God Churches; Gail R. Easton Clinic; '64 Grade and High School; built December 5, 1968; Chiropractic Clinic, June 1, 1969; Welding Shop, Herb Buckner, ProD.; Red's Tavern, Red Leagon, Prop.; Phillips 66 Garage and Filling Station, D. O. Fugate and Sons; Knight and Hardy were agents for the Model T. Ford here
-page 198-
at one time, and on a later date, Harry Ashcroft had the agency. He dropped it and took the agency for the Durant and Star. In 1925, my father, Don Harryman, who had the Ford Agency in Wheatland and Holden on earlier dates, came to Weaubleau with his family and was agent for Henry’s Model T. through 1927 and continued the garage business through 1931.
Other businesses in the town of Weaubleau are M. F. A. Insurance Agency, John Endley, Agent; Weaubleau Laundry Mat; House of Antiques; Knight Hardware Company, May Carpenter, Mgr.; Henton Vauglm’s Drygoods Store, Dorris Cunningham, Mgr.; Drugs and Sundries, Leonard Hart, Prop.; Grocery and Meats, C. E. Stephenson, Prop.; Lion's Club and Fire Department, Standard Oil Compaxw Office, W. W. Parke, Mgr.; Malone Building; Used Clothing and Shoes; Carpenter’s Insurance Agency, Fred Carpenter, Agent; Barber Shop, Charles Hemphell, Prop.; Lois’ House of Beauty, Lois Scott, Owner; United States Post Office, Elvin Meredith, Post Master.
EARLY DAY BUSINESS PLACES
Feed and Livery Stables, W. E. Crouch; Weaubleau Hack Lines, S. Helton; Weaubleau Emporium, A. A. John; Berry Selvidge, M. D.; General Merchandise, A. W. Doermann; City Drugs, James & Orr; Drygoods, Notions, Groceries, and Stationery, Steve Helton; Student Headquarters and Post Office, W. E. Crouch; Drugs, Books, and Groceries, J.J. Ramsey & Company; Drugs and Groceries, James & Hire; Weaubleau Star Store, Ladies Hats, Notions, Hardware, Tinware, Harness, Saddles, etc., Stationery, Furniture, and Undertaking Supplies, L. D. John; Hardware, We sell Queensware, Old Hickory Wagons and Farm Equipment, B. F. Tucker & Company; T. A. Miller Lumber Company, A. B. Weir, Mgr.; Books and Stationery, W. S. Knight; Steam Laundry, E. P. Rimer; General Merchandise, Lively & Son; Theodore Pruett, Attomey at Law; Blacksmith and Repair; G. W. Mason, M. D..; Monroe Swafford, Dentist; Cash Produce, F. H. Claypool; W. J. Mason, Mason; The World, W. C. Collins, Editor and Publisher; Weaubleau Mills, J. A. Murray; Weaubleau Druggists, H. C. Brookshire & Son; Forshee House, Mrs. M. Forshee; City Barbers, Shaving, Hair Cutting, Shampooing, Sea Foam, Dying of Mustaches and Beards done in latest styles; Bank of Weaubleau, Joseph Whitaker, Pres., T. H. Whitaker, Cashier; Stockholders, T. Ii. Whitaker, Joseph Whitaker, Laura and Della Whitaker, G. C. Hardy, and Ida Whitaker.
-page 199-
WEAUBLEAU BUSINESSES IN MIDDLE AND LATER YEARS
Hotel Operators—Wm. Pruett, W. T. Moreland, Mrs. Wm. (Essie Bennett) Glazebrook, Harry Ashcroft, Mr. & Mrs. Harry Kenney, Mr. & Mrs. Fred Dorman, Mr. & Mrs. Elmer Bell. General Store and Mercantile Businesses—W. U.Morton; i Redman; Marshall Morton; Wm. S. Goans; C.O. Vaughn; Sig. Jondrow etl. Barbers-Hartley & Davis; Harry Hartley & Son; Harry Hartley & Ben Brown; Horace Black; Johnmr Allen. Hardware Merchants-B. F. Tucker; I. A. Knight& Son. Groceries and -Meats-Orval R. Magnuson; J. R. Luelw; E. D. Brown; Clyde Edde; Marsh & Fellers; C. E. Miller; Melvin Brown; Oliver Hunt; Murnan &Orr; Clarence Blackwell; Tom Hudson; Coxie Franklin. Variety Stores-Bart Owens; Euna Franklin. Drugs and Sundries—Guy Robinett and wife, Madge; Elmer Looney; Ray McDaniel; Neil Morton. Attorney at Law-Oscar L. Rogers. Millinery and Ladies Ready-to- wear-Mrs. L. D. John, Mrs. A. F. Kuykendall; Mrs. Lee (Elsie Fentress) Brookshire. Cafes and Restaurants—E. D. Brown; Ed. Starkey; Eb. Durnell; Glen's Diner; Jennings Cafe; Williams & Hartley Cafe; Moreland Restaurant. Furniture Stores-Marlow Brothers, Harrison and Lee; John C. and C. O. Vaughn; Bernie Carter; Leonard McCracken. Elevator-Crit Edde. Scales and Stock Pins. Dentists-Charles D. Tharp; Horace Reser. Undertaker-Horace Reser; —— drove Horse Hearse. Produce Houses-Swift Produce, E. C. Wheeler, Mgr., T. A. Griffin, A. W. Vanderfond; Farmer's Exchange, Jess Monroe etl. Shoe Shops—T. R. Alley &Son, Harness and Shoe Repair; Roy Mason & Ernest Route; Eb. Durnell et. Photographers—Richard G. Kittel, Photographer and Jeweler; A. F. Kuykendall, Photographer, Cabinet Maker. Hatchery, Feeds—Mr. & Mrs. Bart Owens; Clyde Edde; Livery, Feeds & Sales Stables, Owens Bros.; T. S. Dumell; C. C. Brookshire etl. Marble & Granite Works-John Barnes; W. W. Tharp. I.0.0.F. and M.W.A. Lodges. Doctors-W. J. Mason; H. C. Brookshire; Wm. C. Gentry; W. U. Hodges; Dr. Bowerman; Dr. Wolf; C. C. Slaughter. Doctors of Osteopathy-I-I. R. Taylor; Dr. Abel; G. R. Easton. Chiropractic Doctors-Dr. Clara Majors. Blacksmith Shops-A. L. Davis; Tom Hudson and Son; Howard Buckalew; Charley Jennings; Damon Hudson had one at his residence for a while, and as the years passed, blacksmithing and forging disappeared from the scene. Lumber Yards-Hurley Tucker Lumber Company, later R. J. Hurley Lumber Company. Weaubleau Telephone Company-Operators: Charles D. Tharp; Effie (Pruett) Downs; Mary Delozier; Cora Bowman; Rena Elliot; Zoe Lloy; Mary Durnell.
WEAUBLEAU ROLLER MILLS
It has been mentioned elsewhere that my Grandfather
-page 200-
William D. Harryman and Calvin Hartley had owned and operated a mill in the town of Weaubleau on the west side, but in 1904-05, the first steam roller flour mill was built along the Frisco tracks near the depot by William H. Nichols and later came into the hands of John P. Monroe and Son, large cattle feeders in the Weaubleau Township. Cullen Messer had it for a while; Jess Monroe, Jim Samples, and Joe Fugate all had ownership of it; and during this time, Emmet Goodnight and Bill Horn were the millers.
On a later date, the Farmer's Exchange bought the mill and Jess Monroe became manager. The mill burned under this ownership, and again the property changed hands. Under the new ownership, Mr. Lee Fitzpatrick, a new mill was built in 1935. George Stump of Humansville, Missouri, was the millwright, and the carpenters were Arlie Richter and Paul Vanderford.
A young man by the name of Singer operated the mill for a short time; then, after Mr. Fitzpatrick's death, the Farmer's Exchange once again became the owner in the fall of 1960, and it has been used for storage since that time. Weaubleau Bakeries—Owsley and Replogle; George Biles. Weaubleau Draymen-Fellers and Marsh; Wick Shockley. U. S. Post O£fice—Nadine Estes; Charles C. Brookshire; Charles 0. Vaughn; Fay B. Swicegood; Gene Hammond. Rural Carriers- Will Roman; Vtalter Foster; Gene Hammond. Substitute Carriers-Don l-larryman, my father; Elvis Samples; Kenneth Breshears. Standard Oil Bulk Station—W. R. Parke. Sinclair Bulk Station-Lee Brookshire and Earl Swicegood. Weaubleau Cleaners-Eamest (Skeet) Malone. Kittel Radio and Tvservicr Sidney Kittel. Jessie Lee's Beauty Salon-Jessie Magnuson. Knight Sales Company-International Harvester Products, Parts, etc., Paul Firestone and W. C. Owens, Managers. Rooms- Dot Halbert. John Deere and lmplements—C. E. Stephenson. Filling Stations-D-X, Ernest Martin, George Atwood, C. A. Blair; other, Tommy Baldwin etl. Weaubleau Locker—Marsh & Fellers; Will Leiber. Carpenters-A. F. Richter, Ed. Richter, Ross Vaughn; Paul Vanderford.
THE FRISCO RAILROAD
The freight runs each way every other day. The passenger had its last run May 27, 1954. A new freight depot was built in the fall of 1968, and the old passenger depot was put up for sale.
-page 201-
In October, 1968, the building became the property of the town of Weaubleau, providing it would be moved within one year from that date. The Lion's Club is now in the process of getting the building ready to move to its new location in the near future. It will be used for historical and meeting purposes when completed.
WEAUBLEAU SCHOOLS
Weaubleau has had several schools, but there is one, a frame building, which was once built on what is now the property of Mr. & Mrs. E. C. Wheeler. The old school well in the front yard has furnished water for the household for many years. Miss Eva Wiggins, before her marriage to Mr. P. V. Vanderford, taught the last term of school here in the fall and winter of 1902-03. The term was finished in the new two-story brick building which was ready for use in thatyear with Ezra Devins as Superintendent.
And again, I find where my Grandfather Wm. D. Harryman and Calvin Hartley had a hand in another land transfer in the early days of the town of Weaubleau.
An Abstract and Title which is in the hands of Mr. & Mrs. E. C. Wheeler reads as follows:
W. D. Harryman and Nancy M. Consideration $50.00
Calvin Hartley and wife Jane
To Weaubleau School District No. 1
Transacted October 5, 1883
Filed October 15, 1883
Weaubleau School District by
G. C. Hardy, Pres. W. J. Mason, Sec.
To W. A. Lively Consideration $216.00
Dated 1903
The school building was moved later and became a part of the old Commercial Hotel. The top story of the building was taken away many years ago, and the building was used for a Cafe, Laundry Mat, Barber Shop, and other purposes as years passed.
The two-story brick school building mentioned above was sold along with the lots to the highest bidder in February, 1960, bringing a total of $1,300.00. Lots are being sold today and new homes are being built on this property.
-page 202--
Such were the historical sites and has-beens of the past; they had their purpose, and we today should be thankful that these things truly happened and may we as men and women today trust God in what He may bring to the future generations, and may they look back on this small village as something to be proud of.
WEAUBLEAU CHRISTIAN INSTITUTE AND CHRISTIAN COLLEGE 1867-1969
Soon after the Civil War, a young man by the name of John Whitaker, who lived with his widowed mother near what was once known as “Haren", became a minister, and he, with a few followers, held meetings in his mother’s home.
(There is little trace of Haren today, but its location is at the western edge of Weaubleau's city limits, and near here was once a house and the home of Mrs. Whitaker and her minister son, John.)
Through these meetings, Rev. John Whitaker proposed the building of a house for religious and educational purposes. So, in the year 1867, he, through the will of God and the small Christian group which followed him, built a house of brick two stories high to be used by the church and for the benefit of man. The first story was used for a chapel and the second for an academy. The building had a square roof with four gables and a belfry. This formed some sort of an attic or room that was used for a boys dormitory at one time. The upper rooms were approached by an outside stairway which many people will remember was a common sight in the early days. When the walls of the building were up, the second story blew down in a windstorm causing quite a hitch in rebuilding and getting ready for school. The cornerstone was laid in Jubf, 1869, and in October, l871, a school was started by the same pastor with six students. Such was the beginning of the Weaubleau Christian College. For several years, the old Christian Institute, sometimes called “the old brick", struggled for existence. Yet for twenty years, the school honored God and benefited man. The school was patronized by persons of all religious beliefs and all were made to feel at home without any attempt to proselyte for the school was designed to be Christian and not sectarian. More and more students were coming to this great school and after twenty years, a new commodious structure containing 10 rooms was finished and reaqy for occupancy by the fall term of 1893. It was just 400 yds. northwest of the old brick and away from the business center. Before the college was finished, the
-page 203-
town began to grow and expand, but only gradually until the Kansas City, Osceola, and Southern Railway, later called Frisco, came in August, 1898. This put new life and brought new people into the town. The iron horse with its magic speed came and went with cargoes of mail, passengers and merchandise twice daily.
Another ten years had been added and a total of thirty years had passed since the doors of the school were thrown open to the youth of the country. Another generation was to supercede the one which founded the school; yet the school survived and prospered.
Almost two thousand students had received instruction here. Twenty-three classes with an aggregate of nearly eighty young men and women graduated from the school. Weaubleau College had furnished superintendents and principals for many grade and high schools besides college and acaderrw instructors, not only throughout Missouri, but Oklahoma Territory, Arkansas, Nebraska, and Iowa.
The various professions and business colleges had among their leading representatives students from the Weaubleau Christian College. John Whitaker, the founder, was President of the Board of Trustees 25 of the 30 years of the school's progress.
Back in the days of few railroads, the town of Weaubleau, described as being the only village by that name in the world, was located on the spot of the old Christian Institute which was built on a beautiful prairie in the southwest part of Hickory County. It was 115 miles southwest of Jefiferson City.
After the railroad was built, Weaubleau was described as being sixty miles north of Springfield and 150 miles southeast of Kansas City on what is now the Frisco Railroad. The Weaubleau Christian Institute, once known as the “old brick", was located in the southwest part of Hickory County on a beautiful and wild prairie in a well-watered locality. When the house was built, there was but one near it. The school was begun when but one dwelling was nearer than half a mile.
Since then, the school village grew up around the brick and was called Weaubleau. but was known on an earlier date
-page 204-
as Haren. Weaubleau was an exceptional and thriving school village of three hundred progressive people with no dram shops or other dens of vice such as were often found in other towns and cities.
There was no railroad through Weaubleau, but the Kansas City, Clinton, and Springfield had a station at Collins about five miles west and was connected by a hack line which met the lines twice daily. The Kansas City, Osceola Railroads was expected to come through Weaubleau at an early date.
During Weaubleau Christian College's 3lst year, 1902, 1903, the active members of the Board of Trustees were William R. Davies, Pres., J. 0. Ware,Sec., I.J. Tucker, W. E. Crouch, T. Dumell, I Wiggins, John Monroe, John Whitaker, and S. W. Whitaker.
Some of the faculty included John Whitaker, Pres. and Prof. of Mental Philosophy; W. D. Weber, Prof. of Latin and Greek, Mrs. Lulu Wilson Whitaker, Prof. of Mathematics, S. W. Whitaker, Prof. of Education and Pedeg., Martin C. Schricker, Inst. in Instrumental Music and Voice Instructor, and J. B. (Book) Orr, Inst. in Vocal Music.
Mr. Whitaker returned to Weaubleau and took over the school through 1913-14. The building then stood idle until about the year 1918, then was used for ahigh school until the winter of 1931, when it was destroyed by fire, the school year being finished in the various churches about town. In 1910, the Weaubleau Christian Institute, sometimes called “The Old Brick”, was razed and replaced by a beautiful church building known as the Christian (brick) Church. The original title, Christian “Connexion”, Bible Christian, or New Light. The church merged with the Congregationalists in 1936, and in 1963, another merger caused another slight change and is known today as Weaubleau Congregational Christian Church (United Church of Christ).
The Congregational Christian Church U. C. C. has gone through many changes, not from outside appearance so much, but within: within heart and spirit of the people themselves. Olivar B. Whitaker was paster of the church for many years, but as years passed, others took his place. One might recall Rev. Frank Rafe, a graduate of Drury College, Springfield, Missouri, when in the early stages of its history.
There were also Jessie M. Kauffman. Pat Chancellor, John D.
-page 205-
Simms, Albert Goodby, Dr. Frederick Cooper, Thomas V. Crance, -—— Suiter, ——- Garland, Marvin Williams, J. R. Moore, and on later dates, many Drury College smdents who were studying for the ministry. Others in recent years were C. A. Hughes, Rev. Z. Willard Gunckel, Wm. Bradshaw, Dr. C. H. Evers, Rev. Joan R.Jonas, Henry F. (Hank) Liebeck, Wm. Burger, Robert Shank, Rev. Forrest Brown, and at the present time, Charles Gilespie, Humansville, Missouri. Officers as of January 1, 1969, are as follows: Church Clerk (1937-1969), Eugene Harryman; Church Treasurer, Mrs. W. A. (Virginia) Murnan; Pianist, Mrs. W. A. Muman; Board of Trustees: Mr. Paul Vanderford, Pres. and Moderator; Elva Durnell; Arthur Moore; and Eugene Harryman.
The college grounds were eventually turned over to the Weaubleau School District, and a new one-story structure was built and ready for the fall and winter term 1932-33. This building also burned December 5, I957, and the students again had to finish the school term in the town’s churches. Just a year later, and on the same date, the school was again restored by a- new modern structure, housing both grade and high school students.
—Eugene Harryman
Superintendents and teachers in the Weaubleau school system from 1933 through 1951 were Cecil T. Snow, Joe Howard, Edde B. Pope, Russell Payne, Sam Prock, Thera Avender, Bessie Nickel, Nine T. Dittmars, Pearl Hopkins, Virginia Ann Kratti-Murnan, Elmer Manka, KathrynMarksberry, James Halsey, Lucille Wormington, Mary Frances Vaughn, Pearl Wheeler, Carl Hayward, Mrs. Edna Firestone, Mrs. Blanche Remington, Gerald F. Page, Betty Lee Bainter,Mary1inn Reser, Roy Reichert, Doris Simms, Charles G. Foster, Mrs. Marian F. Vaugtm, Eva Louise Schreiber, Cecil Pitts, Gerald F. Pitts, Bernita Sherman, Mrs. Don Mankin, Ross Allen, and Loretta Parker.
Wheatland. -In December, 1869, Frederick Kern and Joseph S. Naffziger caused to be surveyed and laid off into a town with streets, alleys, and a public square, the greater part of the South quarter of Section 24, Township 37, Range 23, exactly four and one-half miles west of Hermitage. Fred Kern built a dwelling in 1866 where the Wilson Hotel now stands. Melville
-page 206-

Czarlinsky Store
CHARLES CZARLINSKY STORE In Wheatland. Czarlinsky who started business as a dry goods peddler is shown at left with Henry Staten, Charles Gist, George Holmes, Fred Gist and W. P. Dent.

H. Cooper, perhaps, was about the first to build a business house, but not far from the same time, William M. Dixon, Perry G. Snyder, Newman & Mendenhall and John Sutter built business houses. Removing the prairie grass and the sod went on in a hurry, and it is difficult after a lapse of thirty seven years to remember who was the first or third. A steam flouring mill was built about a quarter of a mile north of town in 1870 by Joseph S. Naffziger, and after being several times repaired, stands there now, and is doinga fairly good business. It was not long after the town was laid out until there were almost complete blocks of frame business buildings on the east and south sides of the square, and the town has the best public well in the county, in the street at the southeast corner of the public square. In 1871, aplain comfortable public school building was built, but was succeeded byanew two-story frame building in 1884 or 1885, and in it some of the most noted teachers of the county have taught school. The town had no church building until 1888 when a comfortable, roomy Union church building was built in the southwest part of town, and
-page 207-
since that time, the Methodist Episcopal people have built a fine and well-furnished church building in the south center part of town; the Methodist Episcopal Church South people have built a new and handsome building in the northwest part of town, and people of the Christian Church have purchased the large stone building on the east side of the public square, the second story of which is used for church purposes. The town has a number of splendid residence buildings and every one has a well of nice, clear, pure water.
The first newspaper in the town was published by Dr. Moore in 1869; it was the “Hickory County Mirror". Dr. Moore ran it for a few years and then transferred it to his son, Henry Almont Moore, who ran it until about December, 1875, and sold the outfit to John D. Pitts. F. Marion Wilson soon became the owner of it, and it was with that he and Ernest P. Baldwin published the “New Era" at Hermitage. In 1876, a company was formed and bought an office and published the “Wheatland Enquirer", managed by Walker Woodburry and John Davidson in succession. The name was changed to "Wheatland Star" about 1882, and Henry A. Moore ran it for a while and moved it to Humansville. Early in 1886, Alex. Humble moved the plant of the “Hickory County Hera1d” to Wheatland and leased it to some parties who established and ran the “Hickory County Democrat” for about a year. Then, Mr. Humble took the office and ran the “Harpoon” a while, and in 1888, moved it to Collins, Missouri, but returned that year or early in 1889 and established the “Wheatland Headlight” with Abraham Lincoln Smith. The light soon went out on the “Headlight” and Humble moved away.
Hogle's Creek Lodge #279 was organized at Quincy, Missouri, in October, 1868, with Lyman Stiltz, W. M.; James B. Brent, Secretary; John Ragner, Albert A. Crouch, James A. Scrivener, Peter Stoll, Jacob P. Stoll, James R. Wilson, Hugh B. Combs, and William D. Harryman, as members. The present officers are C. P. Scrivener, W. M.; William H. Roman, Sr. W.; John B. Taylor, Jr. W.; Chas. Czarlinsky, Treasurer; Don Harryman, Secretary; Oliver J. Watkins, S. D.; William D. Crates, J. D.; Roy Mansfield, S. S.; H. P. Liggett, J. S.; N. F. Meador. Tyler.
Wheatland Lodge I.0.0.F. #634 was organized March 24, 1903 The first officers were William D. Harryman, N. G.; Howard Buckalew, V. G.; John B. Taylor, Secretary; John G. Crutsinger, Treasurer; James K. Moore, Conductor; H. B. Wilson, Warden; Clyde Stover, I.G.; Abe Sandage, 0. G.; J. R. Campbell,
-page 208-

Needy
GATHERING FOOD FOR NEEDY Is this Wheatland group in the Great Depression of early 1930’s. A community sponsored group, those shown above are (left to right) Helen Weigand, Pauline Jinkens, Alex Weigand, Eva Owsley, Carolyn Terhune, C1eo Bennett, Cora Goodman, Elvin Nance, Lou Heard, Dr. Joe Johnston, Rena Glazebrook, Mae Lafaver,Anthia Rice, Iva Goodrich.

R.S.N.G.; Wm. B. Quigg, L.S.N.G.; H. P. Liggett, R.S.V.G.; William Miller, L.S.V.G.; Russell H. Jenkins, R.S.S.; James Breshears, L.S.S.; J. K. Moore, Chaplain. Present officers, Clyde Stover, N. G.; John W. Diener, V. G.; William D. Harryman, Secy.; William F. Crates, Treas.
Old Hickory Camp #3596 M. W. of A. was organized on the --- day of --- with the following officers: E. E. Buzzard, V. C.; William H. Kern, W. A. W.; H. Bailey, E. B.; Harry Kinney, Escort; C. V. Gist, Watchman; H. P. Liggett, Clerk. The present officers are: C. P. Scrivener, V. C.; George C. Bartshe, W. A.; William Miller, E. B.; A. B. Heard, Watchman, W. F. Crates, Sentry; Charles A. Gist, Escort; John W. Powell, Clerk.
About April 1, 1894, the Hickory County Bank was moved from Hermitage and filed banking contract April 9, 1894, and commenced business in a splendid new two-story brick building which stood east of the public square where the stone store building now stands. In about a year after the removal, the bank building and all the furniture were burned, but the
-page 209-

Wheatland Mail
WHEATLAND MAIL CARRIERS IN 1915. Left to right beside their conveyances are Bob Breshears, Will Hargiss, G. W. Britton and Don Harryman. The first mail was dispatched from Wheatland on rural routes in 1908.

bank vault and the safe saved the records, papers, and funds from destruction. In a short time, William H. Liggett, President of the bank, built the brick building now used by the bank, and the business was moved there where it remains. The bank now has a capital stock of $10,000 and its present officers are H. P. Liggett, Pres.; Mrs. M. L. Jackson, V. P.; and J. B. Crowley, Cashier.
Present business: General Stores of Williamson and Garrett, Charles Czarlinsky and John W. Powell, Hardware and Implements, LeRoy F. Mansfield, Drug Stores, William L. Powell, and W. F. Crates, Grocery Stores, Wilson & Heard and Joseph Dent, Barber Shop, Clyde Stover. Hotels are kept by J.S. Wilson and Mrs. Margaret J. Forshe, Blacksmiths, William Miller and John Harryman, Resident Dentist, C. P. Scrivener, W. D. Harryman, Proprietor of Wheatland Roller Mills, Furniture Store, S. E. Marston, Millinery Store, Miss Maggie Marston.
This town now has a population of about 250.
Some of the resident physicians have been John H. Newman,
-page 210-

Quigg House
JOHN W. QUIGG RESIDENCE BUILT IN 1860's North of Wheatland.

Ira N. Mendenhall, John Messick, Zachariah Barns, Sylvester Redfield, William Moore, William J. Snyder, L. B, Selvidge, John W. Clayton, Henry C. Brookshire, George N. White, Arthur L. Fisher, Albert S. Johnston, and Alva Fisher.
Through one hundred years the town of Wheatland has stood on the Prairie that has watched the town make many changes. No direct record has been made of the past sixty years so we can only piece together the scraps and hope they will blend into a picture of some of the highlights ofthe events, the happenings, and the people who made history through those years..
The old flour mill built in 1870 that served the farmers and provided flour and other products for the Wheatland area has long since passed away and instead of the wagons bringing the wheat and corn or the boy or man on horseback with a sack of grain, the people drive fast cars to the markets and pick up flour and meal from the grocery shelves shipped from miles away, or they buy the bread and pastries, freshly baked the night before, a hundred or more miles away. The chease and cracker age has also passed by as the farmers of earlier days had to spend a day on town visits, due to the bad roads and slow moving transportation. A snack of cheese and crackers was about the only food available in town.
-page 211-

Mansfield and Powell Store
ROY MANSFIELD AND BILL POWELL STORES of Wheatland. Burned in 1914.

The old dwellings built by the early settlers have also given way to new modern homes and only the ghost of Old Wheatland is there today. The two-story frame school building lives only in the memories of the pupils who passed through the eight grades taught there. Incidentally, the first primary teacher who taught there was Miss Letta Marston. Among her pupils were Daisy Johnston, Tilden Shoemaker, Ernie Liggett, and Alva Fisher.
It is well to record at this time that Wheatland had the first High School organization (1913) in the county. Classes were held in the old Blue Front Building on the South side of the square, owned by Kaiser Powell, while the buildings of native stone was being built at a cost of approximately three thousand dollars. largely by donations, in the southeast part of the town. The first graduation class (two year) was in 1914. The members of the class were James A. Scrivener, Lacy Morton, LaMonte Gist, Floyd Robertson, Gladys Leffler, Ola Beets, Curtis Dent, Pearl Ihrig, and Lemuel Gist. The Commencement exercises were held in the M. E. Church, North, on April 17th, 1914. In 1917, the third year was added to the school, and the fourth year in 1918.
Some of the superintendents in the earlier years of the high school (from 1913 to 1951) were L. M. Speaker, Paul D.
-page 212-

Wheatland
BUILDINGS ON EAST SIDE OF SQUARE Which replaced the Mansfield and Powell Stores.

Martin, D. Ray Owsley, Logan Britton, J. M. Frost, C. F. Sherman, E. E. Walker, C. C. Birch, Harry Britton, B. W. Bradley, Ed. St. John, Perry Edde, Roy E. Lytle, James Roy Dinwiddie, Cyrus Glover, W. L. Boyd, R. Clark Morton, Dwight Condren, and Oscar Erickson.
Other high school teachers during these years (1913 to 1951) were Ollough Bailey, T. B. Fulbright, Helen Largent, Ruth Crone, E. H. Nance, Estella James, Elsie Walker, Henry Dixon, Winifred Barker, Zerva Colman, Wallace Wilson, Mary S. Devin, Sally Jo Harper, Joe Toalson, Daisy Lee, W. H. Coulter, Icel Stewart, Ruth Duvall, Charlene Pugh, J. L. Evans, Wallace Sapp, Harold Corder, Ruth Brunk, Loren Murray, Grace Jones, Kenneth Rogers, Mrs. John W. Ragland, L. J. Dykeman, Mrs. Lenore Howery, Mrs. Alba Jenkins, David Howery, Cecil Shelton, P. G. Hutchings, W. Clarence Newland, Sydney Bramwell, Ora Merle Troyer, Robert B. Skidmore, Harold Haas, Mrs. Edith Roberts, Mrs. Hazel Condren, Yvonne Waddell, and Margaret Weddle.
Some elementary teachers through the years from 1913 to 1934 were: B. B. Ihrig, Mabel Paxton, Bertha Beets, Arletta Meador, Mrs. L. M. Speaker, Ivy Sutt, Floyd Robertson, Noel Gist, Rowena Boone, Paul Robertson, Hobart Sherman, Mae Bradley, Leona Tucker, L. H. Morton, Pauline Smith, Winnie Hargiss, Eula Selvidge, Helen Edde, Fern Powell,
-page 213-
Lola Sherman, Anthus Bandel, Lola Rorer, Nellie Thompson, Beulah Wilson, Mrs. Lucy Breshears, Nell Heard, Mrs. C. C. Birch, Pearl Ihrig, Ney Smith, Cecil Hemphill, Mrs. Grace Tilford, Floyd Huffman, Nannie Bandel, Fisher Murphy, Vivian Harryman, Virginia Glazebrook, Frances Devin, VergieSmith, Jewel Hinkle, Leta Holley, Irvin Wheeler, Wilbert Boyd, Letha Knight, Lorene Gist, Pauline Murphy, Winnie Swicegood, John Stroud, Evagene Gist, Leon Toalson, Delbert Wheeler, Ray Williams, Dortha Skidmore, G. Lindsey, and Mrs. Loren Murray.
The original rock building has been surrounded and enlarged into a modern up-to-date building and buses carry students over hard surfaced roads in comfort, and the school gives opportunity for hot lunches that were never thought of in the early days of their ancestors and so time marches on. The new Highway 54 across the county runs along the north part of Wheatland and the old mud roads of yesterday, when the Butterfield Stage Coach trail came through the areain 1858-61 from Quincy and continued on through Elkton and Bolivar, are forgotten by the elders and unknown to the youth of this generation. Perhaps it is wistful thinking to hope that the old Butterfield Trail may sometime be revived as a super direct highway connecting the Kaysinger and Pomme de Terre areas with south Missouri and the Ozarks. The Old Hickory County Bank and The Wheatland Bank are gone and other old landmarks, such as the barber shop and the office once used by Doctors Johnston and Brookshire, and perhaps others, are no longer in the public square. The old “Square”, the scene of numberless 4th of July celebrations (both in the pastand the present) is filled with a grove of trees and under the shadows one can feel the atmosphere of the days when the horses were tied to the hitching posts around it and the merry- go-round competed with the pink lemonade stands and around the edge of the square, the women spread a banquet on checkered tablecloths laid on the grass.
Sometime prior to 1892 there was a building erected on the south side of the square directly across the street from the public well. R. J. Robertson bought this building inl892 and ran a drug store there until 1904 when he sold to W. F. Crates who also had a drug store there for many years. This building was torn down in 1968.
An early record shows that Joseph Burge owned the two story building on Main Street east of the square. The members
-page 214-

Forshee Hotel
FORSHEE (Later Gist) HOTEL, WHEATLAND

of the Christian Church bought this building about 1906. The upper part was used for public gatherings and later for worship services until about 1919 when it was sold to Dr. A. S. Johnston and Chris Kleck. They hada storein the lower part and rented the upper part to the church. Prior to this, however, A. J. Williamson and a Mr. Garrett had rented the lower part from the church and ran a general store for a number of years. At some time during the period of these exchanges, Ellis Morton also occupied this building and the Post Office was located in a part of his store. Clara Dent served as his assistant part of the time. Morton later sold to R. J. Robertson and Creed. Creed stayed only a few months and sold his interest to Mr. Robertson. No report is available on tenants later but the building burned January 4th, 1962. At that time, Dale Costelow was using it as an office and a show room. Don Harryman established the first garageinwheatland about 1915 in a tin building on the east side of the square and adjacent (north) to the building referred to above. Later, this building was moved down north of the Ilighway 54 (as now located) and Mr. llarryman built a rock building in place of it. This Ford Garage provided the stage for a school operetta in the late teens of that period. It was the only place in town at the time large enough to accommodate a community event
-page 215-

Liggett
HICKORY COUNTY BANK OFFICIAL HENRY LIGGETT is shown above with L. M.Speaker, superintendent of Wheatland schools in 1914, and Lewis Hogg, Hickory County Sheriff.

of that size. Several fires in the past have destroyed business buildings and residences but this has resulted innew and better buildings and renewed effort in improvement. Mr. Harryman later sold his business to Wallace Parker who sold it in 1928 to Frank Reser. “Nig” Williams worked for Mr. Parker a while and then bought half interest in the business. In 1938, Bill Darby bought the garage. His first day’s business was reported to be $2.50. In 1941, Ford came out with the Ford Ferguson tractor and he started selling tractors also. In 1955, he sold all the tractors, machinery, and parts, and moved
-page 216-

White Cloud Store
WHITE CLOUD STORE EARLY IN 1900's. John Cunningham family.

his car business to another location on Highway 54. Other things and people perhaps linger in the minds of some of the older residents. The blacksmith shop about a block down the north road from town was run by William Miller for many years. Dr. Scrivener had a dental office on the north side of the square, later on the east side, andanother building housed the telephone office also on the north side. Most of these older buildings have been moved, torn down, or completely remodeled. Another old landsite, the Gist Hotel, where Charley Gist and wife Susie provided food and lodging for the “drummers” of that day and also a “sample room” where salesmen’s wares were displayed for the wholesale buyers to select goods for sale in their stores is also gone. Another one of the older stores, the Charles Czarlinslgv Store, which stood southeast of the square, has also gone the way of many of the other business places and has been replaced by a new and up-to-date modern structure which houses a super- market.
Some of the business people who have been in Wheatland in the past (and not mentioned elsewhere in this history) are Clyde Stover, Charles Black, barbers; Roy Mansfield, Norris
-page 217-

White Cloud School
WHITE CLOUD SCHOOL 1910: B. B. Ihrig, teacher. Back Row-Neva Heard, Sarah Payne, Lula Payne, Myrtle Cook, unknown, Vedus Quigg Allen, Addie Southard, Ethel Goodman Heard, Myrrhl Crates, Eda May Cunningham, Ward Duncan, Jess Wright, Vernon Wright, Jim Wright. Front Row—(alternate with second) 1 to 7 Zelma Holt, Jimmie Payne, Lola Payne, Chloa Crates, Buel Breshears, Ruby Breshears, Jewel Quigg, Foy Cook, Violet Burge, Clenn Bennett, Sylvia Heard, Sidney Wright, Edna Cunningham, Ernie Crates.

Holloway, hardware; Kaiser Powell, general merchandise; William L. Powell, drugs; S. E. Marston’s Fumiture and Millinery; W. W. Walter, blacksmith; Dr. Wente, Dr. Carter, Dr. W. N. Heard, dentists; Dr. A. L. Fisher, Dr. Roscoe Nevins, M. D.’s; John Williams and Carpenter, furniture and general store; Henry Liggett, Ben Crowley, Minnie Jackson, and Alva Fisher, bankers; Charles Gist, Joseph Dent, and Alfred Heard, groceries and general store; Professor Schrieker, private music instructor.
The business places in Wheatland in 1969 are as follows: Hathaway Funeral Home; Li1ian’s Beauty Shop; The Doctors Fulton; Jackson Implement Company; Mabel’s Restaurant; Bill Abernathy’s Station and Car Sales; Lightfoot and Sons Hardware; Darby Motor Company; Perry Reno; Tank Wagon Service; Garrett's Skelly Service and Bottle Skelgas Dealer; Martin's Lakeside Lots for Sale, Cabins and Boats for Rent;
-page 218-
Karyol’s Drive Inn; Dorman’s Sinclair (Mercury Motors Sale Service); W. W. Henry, Town and Country Market; WA—WE-G0- Duplex Apartments; Denm/’s Triangle (Live Bait - Tackle - Ice); Pomme de Terre Lumber Company (Ralph Tolliver); 0le’s Cafe and Service Station; Dr. Briggs; Neal's T. V. Shop; Lois Gist’s Beauty Shop.
Wheatland, its environment, and location was the locale chosen by Carl Withers of New York state for the background and setting of his book PLAINVILLE U.S.A. a few years ago. Wheatland’s cultural interests were manifested in their desire for entertainment back in the early days when summertime brought chautauquas and other outside attractions.
The last few decades have seen Wheatland make still further progress and the citizens unite in projects to better the community. All homes have electricity; city water is available to all, and organizations have been effected to raise the social and economic status of the people.

Wheatland
WHEATLAND 1900 looking northwest from the top of the old frame school building.

-page 219-


If anyone visiting this page has any information to share, please contact me.

email me!


Return to Home. 氼湩敲㵬猢祴敬桳敥≴琠灹㵥琢硥⽴獣≳栠敲㵦栢瑴㩰⼯浩条獥爮潯獴敷⹢潣⽭獣⽳⽨⹨獣≳ਾ猼牣灩⁴祴数∽整瑸樯癡獡牣灩≴ਾ†映湵瑣潩敳牡档湏求牵⠱笩 †††瘠牡猠慥捲䉨硯㴠搠捯浵湥⹴敧䕴敬敭瑮祂摉✨楆獲却慥捲䉨硯⤧਻††††晩猨慥捲䉨硯瘮污敵㴠‽∢਩††††੻††††††††敳牡档潂⹸瑳汹⹥潦瑮瑓汹⁥‽渢牯慭≬਻††††††††敳牡档潂⹸瑳汹⹥潣潬⁲‽⌢㤹㤹㤹㬢 †††††††猠慥捲䉨硯瘮污敵㴠∠楆獲⁴慎敭㬢 †††素紊昊湵瑣潩敳牡档湏潆畣ㅳ⤨੻††††慶⁲敳牡档潂⁸‽潤畣敭瑮朮瑥汅浥湥䉴䥹⡤䘧物瑳敓牡档潂❸㬩 †††椠⡦敳牡档潂⹸慶畬⁥㴽∠楆獲⁴慎敭⤢ †††笠 †††††††猠慥捲䉨硯献祴敬昮湯却祴敬㴠∠潮浲污㬢 †††††††猠慥捲䉨硯献祴敬挮汯牯㴠∠〣〰〰∰਻††††††††敳牡档潂⹸慶畬⁥‽∢਻††††††††੽੽†映湵瑣潩敳牡档湏求牵⠲笩 †††瘠牡猠慥捲䉨硯㴠搠捯浵湥⹴敧䕴敬敭瑮祂摉✨慌瑳敓牡档潂❸㬩 †††椠⡦敳牡档潂⹸慶畬⁥㴽∠⤢ †††笠 †††猠慥捲䉨硯献祴敬昮湯却祴敬㴠∠潮浲污㬢 †††††††猠慥捲䉨硯献祴敬挮汯牯㴠∠㤣㤹㤹∹਻††††††††敳牡档潂⹸慶畬⁥‽䰢獡⁴慎敭㬢 †††素紊昊湵瑣潩敳牡档湏潆畣㉳⤨੻††††慶⁲敳牡档潂⁸‽潤畣敭瑮朮瑥汅浥湥䉴䥹⡤䰧獡却慥捲䉨硯⤧਻††††晩猨慥捲䉨硯瘮污敵㴠‽䰢獡⁴慎敭⤢ †††笠 †††††††猠慥捲䉨硯献祴敬昮湯却祴敬㴠∠潮浲污㬢 †††††††猠慥捲䉨硯献祴敬挮汯牯㴠∠〣〰〰∰਻††††††††敳牡档潂⹸慶畬⁥‽∢਻††††††††੽੽⼼捳楲瑰ਾ搼癩椠㵤刢潯獴慂湮牥匭慥捲坨慲灰牥㸢 㰠⁡摩∽睲扥栭獯≴挠慬獳∽睲扥渭略牴污•牨晥∽瑨灴⼺眯睷爮潯獴敷⹢湡散瑳祲挮浯∯琠瑩敬∽潒瑯坳扥挮浯ⴠ䠠浯⁥慐敧愠摮䤠摮硥琠敓癲捩獥㸢⼼㹡 㰠楤⁶摩∽潒瑯即慥捲⵨牗灡数≲挠慬獳∽汣慥晲硩㸢 †㰠⁡摩∽睲扥愭潣≭挠慬獳∽捡浯渭略牴污•牨晥∽瑨灴⼺眯睷愮据獥牴⹹潣⽭㍳㈳㘱琯〱㠹⼹牧摩〱〰爯⹤獡硨•楴汴㵥䄢据獥牴⹹潣‭瑓牡⁴潹牵䘠浡汩⁹牔敥漠⁲敓牡档漠牵䌠汯敬瑣潩獮㸢⼼㹡 †㰠楤⁶汣獡㵳匢慥捲䙨牯⵭潃瑮楡敮≲ਾ†††猼慰汣獡㵳栢慥敤卲慥捲≨匾慥捲⁨楢汬潩獮漠⁦敲潣摲⁳湯䄠据獥牴⹹潣㱭猯慰㹮 ††㰠潦浲愠瑣潩㵮栢瑴㩰⼯睷⹷湡散瑳祲挮浯猯㌳ㄲ⼶䕓剁䡃术楲ㅤ㐰⼳摲愮桳≸洠瑥潨㵤朢瑥•汣獡㵳爢潯獴潆浲㸢 †††㰠楤㹶 †††㰠湩異⁴祴数∽楨摤湥•慮敭∽獧≳瘠污敵∽潲瑯睳扥㸢 †††㰠湩異⁴摩∽楆獲却慥捲䉨硯•慮敭∽獧湦•祴数∽整瑸•楳敺∽㘱•慶畬㵥䘢物瑳丠浡≥猠祴敬∽潣潬㩲㤣㤹㤹㬹•湯汢牵∽敳牡档湏求牵⠱∩漠普捯獵∽敳牡档湏潆畣ㅳ⤨㸢渦獢㭰ਊ††††椼灮瑵椠㵤䰢獡却慥捲䉨硯•慮敭∽獧湬•祴数∽整瑸•楳敺∽㘱•慶畬㵥䰢獡⁴慎敭•瑳汹㵥挢汯牯⌺㤹㤹㤹∻漠扮畬㵲猢慥捲佨䉮畬㉲⤨•湯潦畣㵳猢慥捲佨䙮捯獵⠲∩☾扮灳਻††††椼灮瑵椠㵤匢扵業䉴瑵潴≮琠灹㵥猢扵業≴瘠污敵∽敓牡档•瑳汹㵥挢汯牯⌺晦晦晦※慢正牧畯摮›愣扦㉣㬲㸢 †††㰠搯癩ਾ†††⼼潦浲ਾ††⼼楤㹶 㰠搯癩ਾ⼼楤㹶㰊楤⁶摩∽獵牥潃瑮湥䙴≐猠祴敬∽慰摤湩㩧㠠硰∻ਾ⼼楤㹶㰊慴汢⁥摩∽灦晟牴•汣獡㵳昢彰敮瑵慲≬挠汥獬慰楣杮∽∰挠汥灬摡楤杮∽∰戠牯敤㵲〢㸢 ††㰠牴ਾ††††琼⁤摩∽灦江杯≯ਾ†††††愼挠慬獳∽湡彣潬潧•牨晥∽瑨灴⼺眯睷愮据獥牴⹹潣⽭㍳㈳㘱琯ㄱ㘵⼴牧摩〱㌰爯⹤獡硨•楴汴㵥䄢据獥牴⹹潣‭敌牡楮杮䌠湥整Ⱳ䜠瑥楴杮匠慴瑲摥愊摮吠瑵牯慩獬㸢⼼㹡 †††㰠琯㹤 †††㰠摴ਾ ††††㰠楤⁶摩∽湡彣湬獫㸢 †††††㰠⁡牨晥∽瑨灴⼺眯睷愮据獥牴⹹潣⽭㍳㈳㘱琯ㄱ㘵⼵牧摩〱㌰爯⹤獡硨㸢敃獮獵删捥牯獤⼼㹡簠 †††††㰠⁡牨晥∽瑨灴⼺眯睷愮据獥牴⹹潣⽭㍳㈳㘱琯ㄱ㘵⼶牧摩〱㌰爯⹤獡硨㸢楖慴敒潣摲㱳愯‾੼††††††愼栠敲㵦栢瑴㩰⼯睷⹷湡散瑳祲挮浯猯㌳ㄲ⼶ㅴ㔱㜶术楲ㅤ〰⼳摲愮桳≸䘾浡汩⁹牔敥⁳愦灭※潃浭湵瑩敩㱳愯‾੼††††††愼栠敲㵦栢瑴㩰⼯睷⹷湡散瑳祲挮浯猯㌳ㄲ⼶ㅴ㔱㠶术楲ㅤ〰⼳摲愮桳≸䤾浭杩慲楴湯删捥牯獤⼼㹡簠 †††††㰠⁡牨晥∽瑨灴⼺眯睷愮据獥牴⹹潣⽭㍳㈳㘱琯ㄱ㘵⼹牧摩〱㌰爯⹤獡硨㸢楍楬慴祲删捥牯獤⼼㹡ਊ††††††猼慰摩∽牢㸢㰠猯慰㹮 †††††㰠⁡牨晥∽瑨灴⼺眯睷愮据獥牴⹹潣⽭㍳㈳㘱琯ㄱ㜵⼰牧摩〱㌰爯⹤獡硨㸢楄敲瑣牯敩⁳愦灭※敍扭牥䰠獩獴⼼㹡簠 †††††㰠⁡牨晥∽瑨灴⼺眯睷愮据獥牴⹹潣⽭㍳㈳㘱琯ㄱ㜵⼱牧摩〱㌰爯⹤獡硨㸢慆業祬☠浡㭰䰠捯污䠠獩潴楲獥⼼㹡簠 †††††㰠⁡牨晥∽瑨灴⼺眯睷愮据獥牴⹹潣⽭㍳㈳㘱琯ㄱ㜵⼲牧摩〱㌰爯⹤獡硨㸢敎獷慰数獲☠浡㭰倠牥潩楤慣獬⼼㹡簠 †††††㰠⁡牨晥∽瑨灴⼺眯睷愮据獥牴⹹潣⽭㍳㈳㘱琯ㄱ㜵⼳牧摩〱㌰爯⹤獡硨㸢潃牵ⱴ䰠湡⁤愦灭※牐扯瑡㱥愯‾੼††††††愼栠敲㵦栢瑴㩰⼯睷⹷湡散瑳祲挮浯猯㌳ㄲ⼶ㅴ㔱㐷术楲ㅤ〰⼳摲愮桳≸䘾湩楤杮䄠摩㱳愯ਾ ††††㰠搯癩ਾ†††††猼慰摩∽業彮摷桴㸢㰠猯慰㹮 †††㰠琯㹤 ††㰠琯㹲 †㰠琯扡敬ਾ