Social, Industrial and Biographical Record
First Quarter Sheboygan, Wis. 1909
A Word Preliminary
This Journal, as its name implies, is to be of especial local interest,
although it will contain other matter well worth having and preserving. To some it may appear that the history
of a county can possess but little value or not much that a person cares to know about. This, however, is
erroneous. To tell of the development of the industries of Sheboygan County would make a most interesting
chapter. Then there are the schools, the early settlements, the growth of cities and towns, the men and women
who made possible the favorable conditions noticeable on every hand, and the improvements which add to the
comforts and embellishments of life.
Who will say that it is not worth knowing how 500 square miles of territory
was changed from a wilderness to a region which bounteously supports a population of about 54,000?
As a preparation for the study of history, in general, a knowledge of local
history furnishes a stimulant as well as a key. A keener interest can be aroused in events in which those we
know or who our friends were intimately acquainted with than in men who lived or events which happened far
away or in the distant past. Those who wish to acquaint themselves more fully with the history of far away parts,
consider it a privilege to visit them. It is an inspiration to move among the scenes in which great dramas of
human life were enacted. This is why the historian is also a traveler. It also explains in part the interest usually
taken in events which took place near one's home.
On this subject we have no less an authority than Prof. H.B. Adams of
Johns Hopkins University, who said: "History, like charity, begins at home. The best students of universal
history are those who know some one country or some one subject well. The family, the hamlet, the
neighborhood, the community, the parrish, the village, the town, the city, county and state are historically the
ways by which men have approached national and international life."
While it will be the purpose of the publishers to go back into the past
and give the steps by which Sheboygan County has been so splendidly developed in the principal human
activities and interests, it will be equally their aim to record the important current events. These will not only
have a present interest but ought to make entertaining reading many years hence when another period of
growth and improvement shall have made the things we enjoy the present day seem crude in comparison.
It will be the further aim of the publishers to do full credit to the persons
who have had the larger share in upbuilding the industries of the county, and have promoted its best interests
and in general have done most to make it a desirable place of residence. Nor shall we forget to mention those
who have sacrificed themselves and their own interests for the general welfare.
Many of us have the impression that Sheboygan County is one of the
newer parts of Wisconsin in point of development, that the greater portion of the southern half of the state
had been settled before this county and that the settlers were simply pushing their way north from Milwaukee
and south from Green Bay and sort of met here. This, of course, is not the true idea. Aside from the French
settlements at Green Bay, Prairie du Chien and a few intermediate points and here and there in the
southwestern part of the state, an occasional small settlement, Wisconsin was pretty much a wilderness, when,
in 1834, William Paine came from Chicago and built a mill on the Sheboygan River about three miles from its
When in 1835, Henry F. Janes, the founder of Janesville, went from
Milwaukee to Green Bay to secure a title of some land of which he desired to possess himself in Rock
County, he saw only one building and that was the saw-mill which Mr. Paine had built the year before, but which
had already passed into possession of another by the name of William Farnsworth. Mr. Janes found few, if
any signs of civilization in his trips from Racine county to Rock county. When he went to Racine county in
1835, he found just on white family. Mr. Janes further tells us that at that time, "there was not a house, not any
sign of civilization between Grove Point, twelve miles north of Chicago, and Skunk Grove, now Mount
Pleasant, in Racine county." One log cabin the present site of the city of Racine. The first settlement in Rock
County was made in 1835.
There are other facts which indicate how new our state was in 1834 and
1835. We have it from good authority that there were only ten private schools and no public schools in
Wisconsin in 1836. These schools were attended by only 275 pupils, while the entire white population of the
state was only 9000. One of the ten schools was at Sheboygan and was taught by F.M. Rublee in a private
room. The school was supported by subscription.
When we are told about Indian Solomon and Indian Joe, we are likely to
think that there were but few of the red men in this part of the country, but that too is an erroneous idea. When
Col. Abram Edwards of Detroit made a coasting trip from Green Bay to Chicago in 1818, he saw many Indians
where Sheboygan now stands, the shore was lined with the redskins, some of whom were spearing white fish.
It may have been mere chance that Sheboygan county happened to be
among the first to be settled when t he active development of the state began, but it is more likely that there
was something here which attracted settlers. The rapids and falls in the Sheboygan River must have looked
good to those who wanted an available agent to turn the wheels of mills which were to cut up the fine growth of
white pine in the eastern part of the county. The mouth of the river afforded a harbor on Lake Michigan, which,
with the other Great Lakes, was becoming an important commercial route. A few years later the rich soil in many
parts of the county must have attracted people here. Its location on one of the Great Lakes, its harbor, its
waterpower, its abundance of pine and its excellent soil, all no doubt, account for its early settlement and
As was stated before the settlement of Sheboygan county began in 1834,
when Mr. Paine built a saw-mill on the Sheboygan River at the first rapids. He came here from Chicago. He
saw the value of the pine which was found here in abundance. In the spring of 1835 the mill was completed. It
stood at the mouth of what was known as Follette Creek. In the fall of 1835 Paine sold the mill to William
Farnsworth, who came here from Green Bay, in the vicinity of which he traded in furs. The mill was placed in
charge of Jonathan Follett. Very late that fall the government completed its survey in this vicinity and the lands
were placed on sale. The mill and adjoining claim were bid in by Mr. Farnsworth at Green Bay, where the
sale was conducted.
The reader of history will recall that the years just preceding the crisis of
1837 was a time of the wildest speculation. Sheboygan was settled during that period. The place was not
started as one might imagine, by a few settlers who had come here with the hope of gaining a livelihood by
tilling the soil or by lumbering or fishing. The spirit of speculation was rife, and those who came here originally
were persons who hoped to make their fortune in the building up and growth of a city. Had they taken hold of
the matter in the right way there is no doubt that they would have succeeded. There certainly was room for a
city or village as there was no other between Milwaukee and Green Bay. There was, however, not even a
settlement and consequently there was no immediate use for a city, although there was something which made
it reasonable to think of having some center to trade there in the future, which could not be said of hundreds of
other places laid out in t hose days by persons overcome by the speculation fever.
Among those who sought to enrich themselves quickly were George
Smith, Daniel Whitney, William Bruce and Seth Rees. They bought the land on which Sheboygan now
stands and had it platted in the winter of 1835 and 1836, Wm. S. Trowbridge, who subsequently resided in
Milwaukee, being the surveyor. It may be said for the four original proprietors that they did more than most of
the speculators of that day. Stores and dwellings were erected and it immediately had the appearance of a
Of course, like the many other places that started at the time, its founding
was based on the get-rich-quick fallacy. For forty to fifty miles west there was not a settler, the wilderness being
unbroken. Nor was there a single other white settler between Green Bay and Milwaukee. Without industries,
without people it was proposed to build and maintain a city, and people gave the subject such slight
consideration and were so extravagantly hopeful for success in their baubles, that they invested their means in
building sites, paying as high as $500,000 for lots, which in less than two years could be bought but not sold for
fifty dollars. The financial crash of 1837 proved disastrous to all such unsubstantial means of getting rich in
haste. It was a sudden awakening for the founders of Sheboygan as well as all the other speculators of the day.
They now not even saw a way of acquiring a living and they left their possessions here, houses and lots and
store buildings, to seek a livelihood in other parts. Those who came shortly after the exodus were surprised to
find a number of new frame buildings without occupants.
We are informed that the first sale of Sheboygan lots was held in
Chicago in 1836. They were sold at auction and brought many times their instrinsic values. The old Sheboygan
House was the first frame building erected in this city and stood for a number of years until destroyed by fire. It
was built and owned by those who originally possessed the land on which the city stands.
It was in 1836 also, in August, that Charles D. Cole came with his family
and settled here. This was the first white family to come to Sheboygan to live. Several other families soon
followed and some young men full of the spirit of adventure. Buildings arose as if by magic, and despite the
almost entire absence of any immediate need of a populous center, a remarkable activity prevailed. During
the winter of 1836 to 1837 a school was taught by F. M. Rublee.
It was at this time that the new settlement suffered hardships; all kinds of
provisions were high, and the merest necessities could hardly be obtained. The money of the settlers had
given out, and this necessarily increased their troubles. There was no navigation of the lakes
during the winter, the only communication with the outside world was by mail which was
brought once a week from Milwaukee carried over an Indian trail. Then the crisis came, but
the people were not entirely discouraged because hope sprang in them as it does eternally in
all human breasts, and spring acted as a tonic; but is was not long ere they were made to
realize how baseless their hopes were. No new immigrants, no new purchasers of lots, not a
sign of a revival of activity in the place which they had hoped might in some way prove to
them an Eldorado came to arouse their drooping spirits. They were undeceived at length and
they were not long in deciding that they must got to find some ways at earning a living.
They did not all leave the vicinity for some saw that by labor something could be gotten from
the soil and moved a few miles back and began to clear the land, while others left for older
settlements; and all forsook the place in which only a few months before they had built such
Scarcely had the pines on the site of the village of Sheboygan begun to
echo and re-echo the sounds of the hammer and axe, when men began to settle Sheboygan Falls. The two
earliest settlers were Silas Steadman and David Giddings, and they came for reasons, which
determined them to remain so that in point of permanency. Sheboygan Falls is as old a
settlement as Sheboygan. A saw-mill, which gave employment to several men was the first
industry in the village and gave the place its start.
In 1839 Alvah Rublee came to the county. He was the father of Horace
Rublee, who became distinguished as an editor and writer. He contributed to the Wisconsin Historical
Collections, and it was from his contribution on the subject of the early history of Sheboygan
county that we draw for some of the facts related in this article. Mr. Alvah Rublee at once
turned his attention to lumbering. The following year his family came, and his son, whose
editorials in the Old Milwaukee Sentinel later gave that paper a standing among the best
journals in the country, obtained his first glimpse of the wilds of Sheboygan county. Mr.
Rublee gives as an illustration of the hardships borne by the early settlers an experience of his
own father. He said: "While in the woods one day, a limb of a tree fell, striking upon my
father's shoulder and dislocated his arm. There was no surgeon nearer than Milwaukee. His
companions endeavored to set it, but in vain. Their efforts only increased th4e inflammation
of the bruised and dislocated limb. This was near evening, and the following morning he was
compelled to set out for Milwaukee, on foot and alone, for surgical aid. There was no road
except an Indian trail, and no settlement until he reached Port Washington. The weather was
cold and there was considerable snow on the ground. He was two days in reaching
Milwaukee, suffering all the time from torturing pain, and when he arrived there, the
dislocated joint had become so swollen and inflamed that is was only with the greatest
difficulty that it was restored to its place."
In 1840, five years after the stir and bustle which characterized the first
attempt at a settlement, there were only three families living on the present site of the city. It must,
indeed, have been an odd sight to those who came here later to find the deserted buildings of a
few years before. In regard to that Mr. Rublee furnishes us information as follows: "Only
small coasting vessels, engaged in carrying lumber south touched at Sheboygan. Our family
came around the lakes by steamer to Milwaukee. Thence we proceeded by small schooner.
This, after a passage of about sixteen hours, anchored off Sheboygan; and, an hour or two
before dawn, one beautiful summer night, in the latter part of June, we were transferred to a
scow-boat, which was soon rowed in at the mouth of the river, and landed. The morning
showed a strange spectacle scattered about through the pleasant groves of second-growth pine
and oak, which covered the plot, were well-built dwelling houses, neatly painted, and new;
and along several streets, were a number of buildings designed for stores, all abandoned. Now
and then a straggling Indian might, or the tinkling of his pony's bell be heard, but of other
inhabitants there was neither sight nor sound." The families that did live nearby were those
of Joshua Brown, Hugh Ritter and Horace Stone.
At this time according to the account of Mr. Rublee, there were the
following settlers in the county besides the families above mentioned. Samuel Farnsworth, a young man living
at Sheboygan and John Johnson who owned a farm about where Wildwood Cemetery is.
Johnson had three grown-up sons, George, John and Michael, who were employed at the
Farnsworth mill mentioned in the early part of the article. The mill itself was in charge of A.
Farrow and Alvah Rublee. The only post office was at Sheboygan Falls and Charles D. Cole
was the postmaster. Other residents of that village were David Giddings, Mr. McNish, Mr.
Bragg, Elihu Thorpe, John Arnold and Quincy Hall. OF these Giddings, Arnold and Thorpe
were single. A few miles west of the village Wm. Trowbridge had taken up the farm which is
now the property of Charles Trowbridge and settled on the land. His three sons, Benjamin,
William and Jones were young men at the time. At a place were Gibbsville now stands, John
D. Gibbs and Janes Gibbs for whom the village was named, had begun farms. Farther south
William and Peter Palmer had taken up farms. As one drives along the Dye road in Lima, he
may be reminded that in t hose early days A.G. Dye had cast his lot with the very earliest
settlers of that town. He will notice a burial place called Firmin Cemetery, which he may
associate with one of the first four settlers of the town, Benjamin Firmin. The other two were
Wendell Hoffmann and Newell Upham. There were others who came that year. Among
these were Albert Rounseville and Stephen Woolverton, light house keeper near Sheboygan;
Col. Benjamin F. Mooers and William Farnsworth were in the county a part of the time.
It will be seen from the foregoing that in 1840 Sheboygan county was
still pretty much an unbroken wilderness. The few settlers bore hardships and privations which we of the
present date can scarcely believe possible. The only excuse for a flour mill were two small
stones which did no more than break the kernels of grain and people lived on what came
nearest being a sort of graham bread. There was nothing like a store here until 1843, and the
mail carrier brought from Milwaukee what each felt to be his needs. The only things the
people had to send away were fish and lumber. After several years things took a change for
the better, and in a later article we hope to tell about that.
It was as late as May 9, 1890 that Sheboygan was first permitted to enjoy
the convenience of a hospital. It was on that date that St. Nicholas hospital was opened. On that
date four Catholic sisters of Springfield, Ill., took charge of the hospital, and from that day the
institution has proved a real boon to the city and vicinity. The wonder of course is that the
city could so long be without a special, well-appointed and well conducted place for the care
of the sick and injured.
The building first occupied was not specially built for the purpose, but it
proved serviceable and is what might be termed the "old" part of the resent structure. It was a well-constructed
brick building at Superior avenue and Ninth street owned by a retired priest,
Father Strickner. It could with moderate cost be remodeled into a hospital. It was through
the efforts of the Rev. Father Thill, then pastor of Holy Name Congregation, that the
building was procured.
The first step towards the establishment of the hospital was taken by the
Sheboygan branch of the Workingmen's Aid society. The members saw the serious need of such an
institution and set themselves the purpose of creating a fund to assist in providing a hospital.
By festivities and entertainment they raised $244 which was the nucleus of the sum required to
make a beginning.
A difficulty presented itself when the question as to who should take
charge of the hospital was suggested, but the problem was solved by the natural and general conclusion that
the sisters who are trained for the work and whose humanitarian tendencies especially adapted
them for the management of such an institution, were thought of as the ones to take charge.
It was not long before it was found that the capacity of the building was
wholly inadequate, and it became necessary to enlarge the quarters, but scarcely had this been done
when the need of more room began to be felt. The demand for larger quarters was followed
of course by the necessity of providing more nurses, and the number of sisters has increased
form four to fifteen.
It was found finally that sufficient room could not well be provided
without erecting a large addition and nearly three years ago it was determined to put up what is practically a
new hospital, although it is connected with the original structure. The two together make an
immense structure. It is built of red brick and substantially built. It is a three-story building
and provides much room. It was completed in January and on February 7, it was formally
opened and the doors were thrown open to the public, giving those who desired an
opportunity to inspect the interior of the building.
It was not sufficient that a fine and commodious home was provided for
the hospital; it needed furnishings, and several public spirited people and firms made donations, which
assistance was greatly appreciated by the ones in charge. These gave such aid, and towards on
the three floors as follows: First floor - Northern Furniture company, in memory of Walter
Liebl; C. Reiss Coal Co.; Women's Relief Corps; Sheboygan Chair Co.; Thomas McNeill;
Knights of Columbus; Catholic Knights of Wisconsin; Catholic Foresters.
Second floor - Dr. O.J. Gutsch; Gustav Huette; Mrs. Clemens Reiss;
Jennie Mead Circle, King's Daughters; T.M. Blackstock; Wm. Braasch, in memory of George End; Mrs.
Herman Schreier; H.C. Prange Co; St. Elizabeth's Ten, King's Daughters; Crocker Chair Co.
Third floor - Barrett & Dennett; Mrs. Dr. Fiedler, Eaton, Wis., in
memory of her mother Mrs. Morris; Silver Cross Circle, King's Daughters; several of the members of the
Episcopal church, in memory of the Rev. Robert Blow; Michael Gottschalk; St. Genevieve
Circle, King's Daughters; Mrs. Meyer; St. Boniface Society.
Through the above the various wards in the hospital were furnished.
The furniture dealers of Sheboygan very kindly donated furniture for the halls, while the Phoenix Chair Co.
and the Women's Charity club also gave the hospital a number of useful articles. The
Catholic Charity club had an attractive grotto placed on the grounds of the hospital.
The operating room is in the northern part of the upper story and is a
large, well-lighted apartment. Its equipment is modern.
In the basement are the kitchen, cellar, boiler room for heating
apparatus, and two rooms where in case of accident patients may be prepared for the operating table, the
hospital drug room, which was furnished by the M. Winter Lumber Co. Just off this and to the south
is the waiting room, the furniture for which was given by the Mueller Lumber Co., the Art
Furniture Co. and the Parlor Furniture Co.
The new structure was planned by Charles Hillpertshauser; C. Ackerman
& Sons did the mason work; Mayer & Jahn were the carpenters; J. & W. Jung had the contract for
painting; Warden & Farrell wired the building for electric light, and the F. Geele Hardware
Co. put in the heating plant.
During the year 1908 531 patients were cared for at the hospital. Of this
number fifty-seven died and 427 left it convalescent. There were 270 men and 261 women. Two hundred
and one were Roman Catholics and 330 were of other denominations. There were 272
operations performed during the year.
The Elk lodge of this city at the beginning of this year took possession
of their elegant new club house. They are exceedingly handsome quarters.
The officers at the time of dedication were as follows:
Ex. R. - Joe Pheiler
E.L.K. - John M Detling
E.L.K. - Dr. G.E. Knauf
E.L.K. - M.J. Heronymous
Secretary - Theo. Benfey
Treasurer - Gus. Kent
Esquire - W.J. Nuss
Tiler - C.R. Jeffrey
Inner G. - M.G. Greenwald
Chaplin - C.F. Kade (continued on page 9)
A Social Industrial and Biographical Record ----
Published Quarterly at Sheboygan, Wisconsin
The Historical Review Pub. Co.
Otto Gaffron Editor
A.O. Heyer Managing Editor
Subscription Rates: 50 cents per year. Single copies 15 cents.
Advertising rates furnished upon application.
This magazine will be issued quarterly. It was thought best to go back
to January 1 this year, with the initial number, and so it necessarily appears late. That will also, of course,
be the case with the second number, but thereafter it will be the aim of the publishers to have
it out very soon after the close of the quarters, sometime between the first and fifteenth of the
While each number will contain an article on the past history of the
county, it will furnish accounts of the important happenings for the three months covered by the issue.
The subscription price is only fifty cents a year. It is thought by the
publishers that three years will make a good volume and can be bound into an attractive book, and would
make a convenient record covering that period. Its form makes it easy to preserve, while an
index will be furnished with the last number of each year.
It is believed that this publication out to find its way into every home of
the county, because every number will contain something worth preserving. It will be convenient for
future reference. Parents will see that their children will have frequent use for it, and schools
will find material in it well adopted to the teaching of local history.
This is probably the only publication of its kind in the country and
possibly in the world, and all that the publishers ask is that it be judged fairly and impartially. It supplies
something which cannot be easily gotten from other sources, and for which there is frequent
demand. The price is so low that any one can afford it.
The boys and girls who read history should not neglect to associate the
early settlement of their county and especially the beginning of Sheboygan with the crisis of 1837
and the "good times" immediately preceding the event.
When any of the young people of Sheboygan county feel inclined to
bemoan what they deem their sad fate, let them remember to contrast the conditions under which they are
living with those of the pioneer days in the county, and then be contented and happy.
The first permanent settlement in Wisconsin was made at Green Bay as
early as 1745, and yet in 1835 there were only about 9000 white inhabitants of the state. Just think of it
there was not a public and only ten private schools. There was one private school in all the
territory between Milwaukee and Green Bay, and that was at Sheboygan. During the ninety
years from the time of the first settlement to 1835, about the time that this county was settled,
there was almost no development of the state, while during the past seventy-four years the
population has increased from 9000 to two and a half million. There is more money expended
in one small city for education now than there was in the entire state in 1835.
(continued from page 7)
Trustees - Theo. Fleischer, T.M. Bowler and H.E. Barrows
Sheboygan Lodge No. 299, B.P.O.E. was organized in 1895 through the
influence of Samuel Martin, an enthusiastic Elk of Milwaukee. A charter was granted by the great lodge to
A. Mahlendorf, F. Roenitz, G.B. Mattoon, J.R. Riess, Frank Geele, G. Scharge, F. Benfey, G.
Guette, O. Foeste, H. Imig, L. Roenitz, J. End, O. Neumeister, H. Roenitz, E. Mattoon, W.
End, F. Thayer, O. Trowbridge, H. Thomas, A. Pfister, J. Winter, G. Hart, R. Whitehill, O.
Ballschmider, O. Bock, Theo. Benfey, P. Koehn, W. Kowalke, T.H. Zschetzsche, A. Boales.
The first officers duly elected and appointed were as follows:
Exalted Ruler - R.L. Whitehill
Esteemed Leading Knight - O.B. Bock
Esteemed Loyal Knight - H.F. Roenitz
Esteemed Lecturing Knight - J.A. Winter
Secretary - A. Pfister
Treasurer - A. Mahlendorf
Esquire - John R. Riess
Tyler - W.G. End
Chaplain - A. Boales
Inner Guard - R.G. Hayseen
The lodge's first club rooms were in the Geele block. After a few years
these were found inadequate and other quarters which were thought sufficiently attractive and
commodious were secured, but it was not long before these were not satisfactory. The
procuring of the present beautiful rooms was the result of a constant growth in numbers and
interest of the lodge. Few organizations have experienced such growth as the Elk lodge of
Sheboygan. It has increased until it includes in its membership a very representative body of
On March 10, Mr. and Mrs. George Schmitt of Sheboygan celebrated the
fiftieth anniversary of their marriage. Mrs. Schmitt's maiden name was Henrietta Arnhoelter. The
marriage ceremony was performed in Sheboygan by the Rev. Mr. Strecher, then the pastor of
the Evangelical Lutheran church.
The celebration was at the home of their son George, with whom they are
living. It was a very happy event, and although approaching four-score, the aged couple enjoyed the
event as much as any one else in the happy company.
Mr. Schmitt was born in Hesse, Germany, on January 25, 1830. While
still a mere boy he came to Sheboygan when that city was yet young. Mrs. Schmitt is a native of Westphalia,
Germany. She too came while young and is one of the earliest pioneers of this vicinity. After
their marriage they dwelt on a farm near Sheboygan. They were prosperous, their thrift and
industry being rewarded by a generous portion of this world's goods. In 1896 they abandoned
farming and took up their residence in the city and have since lived at ease.
There children are all worthy citizens and are living useful lives. These
children still live to comfort their aged parents: William Schmitt, an insurance agent; George Schmitt, the
merchant; and Mrs. Barney Koerner, wife of Alderman Koerner, all of Sheboygan; and Otto
Schmitt who lives on the homestead near the city. Two daughters of Mr. and Mrs. Schmitt
died in childhood.
On January 2, 1909, the following owners and breeders of Holstein stock
met at the City hall, Plymouth, Wis, for the purpose of organizing: R.B. Melvin, T.H. Thackray, Harry
Keach, Giles Gilmon, Homer Melvin, F.W. Goessling and Wm. Crosby, town of Greenbush;
H.J. Goelzer, Plymouth; J. Struve, Joachim Struve and Arno Hueppchen, town of Plymouth;
C. Nehrling, Lyndon; H. Garside and H. Tenpas, Holland; L. Dennerlein, Rhine; George
Ubbelohde and Z. Holden, town of Sheboygan Falls. A temporary organization was effected
by electing R.B. Melvin chairman and T.H. Thackray secretary. On motion the chair
appointed Messrs. H.J. Goelzer, C. Nehrling, Harry Keach a committee on organization. Mr.
Goelzer declined and Z. Holden was named in his stead. An adjournment was then taken to
Pursuant to adjournment a meeting was held at the City hall, Plymouth,
and the Sheboygan County Holstein Breeders' association was formed. The committee appointed at
the previous meeting reported a constitution, which with slight changes was adopted. The
purpose of the organization is "to encourage the breeding of Holsteins and to improve the
stock, to assist owners to dispose of their surplus animals of that breed," etc. The membership
fee is one dollar and the yearly dues are fifty cents.
The following officers were elected:
President - R.B. Melvin
Secretary - R.H. Thackray
Treasurer - C. Nehrling
Other Directors - H. Walsh, Lima, one year; Harry Giddings, Sheboygan
Falls, two years; Harrison Keach, Greenbush, three years.
Vice-Presidents - Z. Holden, Sheboygan Falls; Adam Lorenz, Lima; John
Scott; H.J. Goelzer, Plymouth; D.E. Vanderhoof, Lyndon; A.H. McIntire,
Twenty-one persons immediately joined them as follows: H.J. Goelzer,
Harrison Keach, Emil Titel, R.B. Melvin, H. Walsh, Z. Holden, C. Nehrling, H. Giddings, John
Melius, D.E. Vanderhoof, Adam Lorenz, F. Iserloth, T.H. Thackray, J.P. Struve, August
Meyer, A.H. McIntire, John Knowles, Paul Knauer, Wm. Crosby and F.W. Goessling.
At the time of organizing the twenty-one members together owned 279
head of full blooded Holsteins.
On January 3, 1909, the Baptist congregation of Sheboygan Falls
dedicated their church which had been thoroughly remodeled and rebuilt. Rev. Dr. Hulbert of Wauwatosa
preached as did also the Rev. Mr. Tietma. The pastor, the Rev. Mr. Ingraham also took part.
There were vocal solos by Misses Elizabeth Oosterhuis, Charlotte
Humphrey, of Sheboygan Falls, and Miss Abigail Forward of Berlin. Miss Hattie Peck played the prelude and
One of the notable events of the early part of the year was the
celebration on Jan. 14, of the twenty-fifth anniversary of the installation of the Rev. J.W.F. Roth as pastor of the
Presbyterian Church at Cedar Grove. There were forenoon, afternoon and evening service.
The ministers who participated besides the Rev. Mr. Roth, were Rev. A.H. Griethuisen of
East Oostburg; Rev. M.A. Klerk, Cedar Grove; the Rev. Mr. Jenkins of Milwaukee; the Rev.
Mr. Donaldson of Milwaukee; Rev Mr. Cutter, Milwaukee; and Rev. O. Johnson, Manitowoc.
Mr. G. Lammers gave a history of the church. The Rev. Mr. Roth was born near the Cape of
Good Hope, Africa, on April 26, 1857. He studied at the South Africa College and at
Utrecht, Netherlands. In 1875 he came to America and began a course at the McCormick
Theological Seminary, Chicago, from which he was graduated in 1878. He had been at
Baldwin, Wis., and Greenleafton, Minn; when in 1884, was called to Cedar Grove. The
degree, doctor of divinity, was conferred upon him in 1891. Since he took charge of the
church at Cedar Grove, 48- members were received into the church; there were 416 baptisms,
151 marriages and 136 deaths. The membership of the church has increased from 150 to 326.
A new church was built the year after his installation.
During the month of January the Porcelain Enameling Association of
American completed the sixth large building of its mammoth plant. The six structures cover an area of a
quarter of a mile in length and sixty feet wide. It is situated in the Northwestern part of the
city, and the company employs 175 men. On February 5, 1909, a special election was held at
which the question of the purchase of the waterworks system was voted on and the
proposition carried by a vote of more than six to one. It meant a victory for Mayor Theodore
Dieckman and a majority of the common council. On March 2, the first payment of $91,000
was made on the plant it became the property of the city. The city assumed the bonded
indebtedness of the company amounting to $345,000 and withdrew the suit against the
On February 17 the J.W. Jung Co opened their large and elegant
department store in the city of Sheboygan. The stores was crowded by eager bargain seekers. The stores is
handsomely finished interiorly and the goods are arranged in excellent taste and conveniently
for display and handling. The store is metropolitan in all of its appointments. It has a lunch
room, a new feature for Sheboygan. It also has a rest room where the shopper when tired
may sit down and rest. Altogether it is just such a stores as will attract trade to the city.
Prin. A.D. Tarnutzer
Sunday, February 28, Principal A.D. Tarnutzer of the Sheboygan high
School expired, his demise being caused by tuberculosis of the spine and a kidney trouble. His remains were
consigned to their last resting place in Wildwood cemetery on Wednesday, March 3, the Rev.
Mr. Horstmeyer officiating. For hours while the body lay in stat at the Reformed Church,
many hundreds of people took a last look at the kindly face of their beloved principal. The
long funeral cortege, the profusion of beautiful flowers and the gloom his untimely demise
cast over the city expressed more profoundly than words could the great sense of loss felt by
all, and the respect and esteem in which the departed was held.
Prof. Tarnutzer was born at Sauk City, Wisconsin, May 5, 1867. He lived
in that place during childhood and young and it was there he received his early training and where he
prepared for college. At the close of his high school course he formed the purpose of devoting
himself to teaching and for a few years he taught in the rural schools of Sauk county, after
which he entered the Whitewater Normal School and completed the course in that institution
in 1895. The following year he held a position in the schools of Prairie du Sac, but his
ambition would not permit him to return there and he began a course at the State University,
from which he was graduated in 1898, when he accepted a position as instructor of science in
the Sheboygan High School. A few years of efficient and conscientious work was followed by
his promotion to the principalship of the school, a position he held when called from earthly
scenes. While at the head of the High School of this city it grew in numbers and usefulness,
there being very material changes and desirable improvements made in its courses and faculty.
Brief as was his life when measured by the numbers on the dial plate it
was full of service which no doubt had yielded and will yield a richer and more bounteous fruitage than
that of many who can count there years by fore-score-and ten. It was for him to lead the
young to nobler aims, to develop their higher natures, to give to their intellects the proper
bent, in short to attune the human soul to a nobler being. The best results of such labors can
not be immediate, but like the waves of either, the influence of the true teacher continues in
an ever widening circle, going on forever through eternity. It is a beautiful thing to
contemplate that though poorly compensated for his efforts in worldly goods, the worthy
teacher is a force which goes on strengthening rather than weakening, even after his mortal
remains have been laid away to moulder to dust.
Mrs. Alford Tracy
Among the very earliest settlers of the town of Mitchell were the Tracy
and Chambers families. They have also been among the most influential people of their neighborhood. Mrs.
Alford Tracy was a daughter of William Chambers and a sister of Henry Chambers, who for
years was the oracle of his neighborhood a few miles southwest of Cascade. Mrs. Tracy died
on March 7, 1909, after having been confined to her home for twenty-five years. Her remains
rest in the Swann Cemetery in the town of Sherman, the funeral having taken place on March
9, the Rev. F.E. Warren having officiated.
Mrs. Tracy was born in Couin County, Ireland, on May 27, 1837. She
settled with her parents in the souther part of the town of Mitchell in 1849. Her union with Mr. Alford Tracy
was solemnized on Jan. 11, 1863. She is survived by her husband, three sons and two
daughters as follows: Joseph, John and Lewis Tracy, Mrs. William Phillipsen and Miss Rilla
Jane Tracy, all of Mitchell.
Mrs. Margaret DeVille
Among the early comers to Sheboygan was Mrs. Margaret DeVille,
whose death occurred on Sunday February 28, 1909. The last sad rites for the departed were performed on
Wednesday March 3, from the Holy Name Church, the Rev. Father Thill officiating.
Interment was in the North Side Catholic Cemetery.
Mrs. DeVille came to Sheboygan in 1874 from Batavia, N.Y. where she
was born on April 18, 1832. Mrs. DeVille is survived by a son Nicholas and two daughters, Pauline and
Frances W. Lawrence
Francis W. Lawrence passed away on February 11, 1909. He
succumbed to a general weakening of the system. He having reaching the age of nearly eight, although the
end was hastened by gangrene. The remains were laid to their last resting place in Wildwood cemetery
on February 13, the Rev. J.W. White of the Congregational church officiated.
Mr. Lawrence was born in Monroe, Michigan, on Nov. 3, 1830. At the age
of fourteen he entered a hardware store in his native city. In 1854 at the age of twenty-four he came to
Sheboygan, and had been identified with the city's interests from that time until shortly
before his demise. He was very active in church work, having been a member of the
Congregational church. His pioneer and missionary spirit has been inherited by his children
Miss Fannie, a daughter of the deceased, has cast her lot with the Hawaiians, and is a teacher at
Honolulu. Mrs. Frederick Damon, another daughter, is also a resident of that faraway city in
mid Pacific. A son, Francis W. Lawrence, resides in Milwaukee, and Miss Mary is still a
resident of Sheboygan, making her home with her mother who still survives.
After serving the city of Plymouth for a quarter of a century or more, as a
member of the county board from the First ward, Supervisor H.W. Fischer, on February 2, succumbed to
an attack of pneumonia. On Sunday February 7, the funeral was held, and the Rev. F. Beisser
of the Reformed Church officiated. The obsequies were attended by a large number of
acquaintances, among whom were several members of the county board as well as some of the
county officers. The remains rest in the Plymouth Union cemetery.
Mr. Fischer was a native of Bavaria, Germany, having been born in the
Rheinfals, on August 18, 1838. He came with his parents to America in 1852, when he was a lad of
fourteen. Since coming here he has resided either in or near the city. His marriage with Miss
Theresa Karpe took place in 1862. Several years ago she passed away and a few years later his
union with Miss Katherine Gessert was solemnized. Of the first marriage the following
children survive; O.H. Fischer of California; Charles W. of Plymouth, Emil of Green Bay,
Mrs. A. Kurtz of Timothy and Mrs. Bertha V. of Sheboygan. The second marriage was
blessed by two children, Raymond and Elsie, both at home.
At one time Mr. Fisher owned a good farm north of Plymouth, and later
conducted a large boot and shoe store in the city. For the last few years just prior to his death he spent the
greater part of his time tilling a piece of land he owned in the northern part of the city.
Mr. Fischer had a strong hold upon the affections and confidence of the
voters of his ward, and he was invincible against any opponent who entered the list against him at the
polls. As a representative he was conscientious and aimed to look carefully after every detail
of his duties. For many years he was made poor commissioner by the board of which he was
a member and as such his services to the county were invaluable.
On March 14, 1909, H.E. Dow died in St. Louis. He was not a pioneer of
the county, and, indeed, was a resident here only six years. He had scarcely passed the prime of lie when
he passed away. And yet a history of the county and especially of Plymouth would not be
complete without a mention of his work.
Mr. Dow has been called a "live wire," and he certainly was full of life
and enterprise. Plymouth owes much to his efforts. The cold-storage, which has had a considerable influence
in making that place a leading cheese market, was built through his efforts. He suggested
other improvements for the place, such as electric light and water-works as well as interurban
At the age of nearly eighty-nine August Warnecke, Sr. passed from
earth on February 4, 1909. Paralysis claimed him. The funeral was held on Sunday Feb. 7, with interment in
Wildwood cemetery. The Rev. Mr. Horstmeyer officiated. Deceased was born in Germany
on February 27, 1820, and came to this county and Sheboygan in 1856, thus having been a
resident here for fifty-three years, and he lived in the same house during all that time. He
leaves a son August, who resides in Sheboygan.
On March 12, 1909 there departed this life Mr. August Pieper, one of the
first settlers of the town of Herman. Death resulted from injuries received when shortly before the end he
fell down a flight of stairs. His advanced age may account for his sustaining the fatal injuries.
The interment was on Tuesday, March 16, in the Siemers' cemetery in the town of Herman,
the funeral having been held from his late home near Howards Grove.
Mr. Pieper was born at Gellerson, Hanover, Germany, on March 10, 1827.
In 1847 while a youth of twenty, he came to America and directly to the town of Herman, which was
then but little more than a virgin wilderness. By energy and industry he carved a good farm
out of dense forest, and by thrift he was enabled to accumulate considerable property. He was
an important factor in the development of his town, and took a leading part in all social
events. The name Pieper is inseparably connected with the history of Sheboygan county.
The deceased was twice married the first union was formed with Miss
Caroline Wenthe in 1851. She died ten years later and about two years later Mr. Pieper took unto
himself another wife, w hose maiden name was Miss Johanna Sperl. Two children of the first
wife survive and reside in St. Paul, Minn. William and Henry Pieper. These children of the
second wife also remain: Mrs. Carl Abling and Mrs. Albert Fuhrman, Howards Grove, Mrs.
Frederick Weiskoph, Mrs. Frank Mueller, Mrs. George Krautkraemer and Louis Pieper,
Sheboygan; Mrs. Wm. Roerborn, Wilson; and Miss Tonie Howards Grove.
R.A. Van Alstyne
It was on January 6, 1909, that R.A. Van Alstyne succumbed to a kidney
trouble, at St. Agnes' Hospital, Fond du Lac. The funeral took place on January 9 from his home in the
village of Glenbeulah, the Rev. John Norton officiating. His remains rest in the Greenbush-Union cemetery.
Mr. Van Alstyne came to the town of Greenbush as early as 1850, and
had been one of the influential and substantial citizens of that vicinity. He was born in the east in 1833, and
came to Glenbeulah nearly fifty-nine years ago. He was a wagonmaker by trade. His union
with Miss Isabelle Clark took place at Elgin, Ill., in 1861. His wife survives him as do also
two sons, John Van Alstyne of Rhinelander, and Edwin Van Alstyne, Wadena, Canada.
Mrs. Eliza Ann Platiner MacGraw
On March 28, 1909, there passed away at Plymouth one who had been
privileged to spend nearly ninety-five years upon earth. When Mrs. Eliza Ann Platiner MacGraw expired
it was the close of a life of usefulness. The end came after a lingering of months at death's
door and years of gradual decline in strength. The remains were laid in the Plymouth Union
cemetery on March 30, when the funeral was held from the home of her daughter, Mrs. D.T.
Evans, with whom she had been living for several years. The Rev. A.G. Wilson of the
Congregational church officiated.
Mrs. MacGraw, whose maiden name was Eliza Ann Platiner, was born at
Cherry Valley, Otsego county, New York, on October 18, 1814. She was united in marriage to
Edward M. MacGraw in 1834. They early moved to Michigan where they were residents for
a number of years. In 1848 they removed to Sheboygan and several years later to Plymouth.
They were among the earliest and most progressive citizens of Plymouth. Mr. MacGraw
conducted a lumber yard in that city for many years. Both Mr. and Mrs. MacGraw were
advanced thinkers, and they were throughly humane and fair and just in their relationship
with others. Mr. MacGraw's death occurred in 1886. Mrs. Evans of this city and Mrs. Dolly
Weitzel are the surviving children.
Death claimed another pioneer of Sheboygan county when Andrew
McDonald expired at his home in the city of Plymouth, on Friday, January 15. The funeral took place on
January 19, from the Catholic church in that city, and the remains were taken to St. Michaels
cemetery for interment. The Rev. Father Meyer officiated.
A native of Ireland, Mr. McDonald was born in Mayo county on March 25,
1839. He came with his parents to Sheboygan county in 1856, settling on a farm in the northern part of
Scott. There he lived during the greater part of his life, except while working in the northern
He was married to Miss Mary Flanagan, a teacher. From this union
sprang a large family, the survivors of which are Mrs. James Hardgrove of Fond du Lac; Misses Emma and
Mae of Spokane, Wash; Misses Florence and Jennie at home; George and Edward, Spokane;
Andrew, Hosmar, British Columbia; Charles at home. Mrs. McDonald also survives.
The passing of H.E. Austin in the prime of life was sincerely deplored by
a large circle of friends. His demise occurred on March 28, 1909, he having succumbed to cancer of the
bowels. On March 31 his remains were committed to earth in the Winooski cemetery, the
funeral being held from the family home on that day, the Rev. A.G. Wilson officiating.
Mr. Austin was the son of Mr. and Mrs. George Austin, who for many years
were residents of the town of Lyndon, where the subject of this sketch was born on November 16,
1855. The Austins owned one of the largest and best farms in that town, and for a number of
years before removing to Plymouth with his family, Mrs. H.E. Austin conducted it. On the
10th of November, 1866, he was united in marriage to Miss Ida Peck, who was one of the
prominent teachers of the county. She survives him as do also three sons, George, Frank and
Assemblymen E.J. Keyes, a friend and life-long acquaintance, said of
Mr. Austin: "He was a man of a most genial and friendly disposition and temperament. He was kind and
loving to his family and loyal and true to his friends. His record as a citizen and neighbor is
without a stain or a blemish."
The death of August Truttschel occurred on January 8, at this home just
east of Plymouth. The funeral were held on January 12, with interment in the cemetery on the Dye
Road in the town of Lima. The Rev. Mr. Proehl of the Plymouth Lutheran church officiated.
Mr. Truttschel was also a pioneer of Sheboygan county, having settled
here in 1848. He first resided in the town of Mosel, then in the town of Lima and finally in Plymouth. His
union with Louisa Schwarz took place in Mosel in 1855. Besides his wife five children survive
him as follows: Mrs. William Shroeder of the town of Plymouth and Mrs. M. Bachanz and
Mrs. G.A. Albrecht of the city of Plymouth, and two sons, Carl and Herman, of Lima.
Mr. Truttschel was an active and energetic man and contributed not a
little to the development to some parts of the county. His birth occurred in Eisleben, Saxony, Germany,
on August 12, 1830.
Mrs. Jane B. Hubbard
Mrs. Jane B. Hubbard, widow of the late Rev. George B. Hubbard,
passed away Monday February 8, 1909, after a five weeks illness of grip, coupled with a general breaking
down, due to old age. The funeral services were held from the home of Mr. and Mrs. H.J.
Bamford on February 10, Rev. J.T. Chenoweth of Racine and Rev. A.G. Wilson of Plymouth,
being the officiating clergymen. The interment was private and was in the Plymouth
Mrs. Hubbard was born in Prattsburgam, N.Y. on November 8, 1826,
where her father, the Rev. William Beardsley, was teacher in the academy after residing at several other
places in New York and Ohio. Her father removed to Quincy, Ill. to teach the ancient
languages in a Mission Institute. The daughter, the subject of this sketch, began early to teach,
and while conducting a country school in western Illinois, she saw the Mormans fleeing from
Nauvoo. She recalled that, they were a whole day in passing the schoolhouse.
It was while teaching at Beardstown, Ill. that she met Rev. Geo. G.
Hubbard whom she married Aug. 5, 1849. Her wedding trip to Connecticut was by wagon, the Great Lakes
to Buffalo, and then by rail. After thirty-eight years service as a pastor's wife in Illinois and 2
years at Mazomanie Wis., Mrs. Hubbard came with her husband to Plymouth in the spring of
1888. Here, after ten years pastorate at the Congregational church, Mr. Hubbard resigned and
in June, 1900, entered into his reward. Since that time, Mrs. Hubbard has made her home
with her daughter Mrs. H.J. Bamford, though spending a part of each year with her son, J.S.
Hubbard in Beloit and her other son Rev. W.B. Hubbard how of Centerbrook, Conn.
When t he local chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution
was organized in October, 1907, Mrs. Hubbard became a charter member and took a lively interest in its
affairs, one of her last acts being to prepare and read an exhaustive account of election days
and town meetings in New England, at the December meeting, three weeks before her last
B.O. Coon, one of the very earliest settlers in this vicinity, expired at the
home of his son-in-law, F.J. Isserstedt, on Sunday, March 28. He was one of the few survivors of the times
when Plymouth, if it existed at all, existed only in the imagination of a few, who could hardly
have foretold that the spring near the one long building, the log tavern, would furnish water
for a pop factory in days to come. Mr. Coon suffered a stroke of apoplexy on the Thursday
preceding his death, and though he rallied somewhat at times, on Sunday evening he suddenly
passed into the sleep which knows no waking. On Thursday afternoon, April 1, the funeral
was held from his late home, with interment in the Grant cemetery north of Plymouth. The
Rev. A.G. Wilson was the officiating clergyman.
It was in 1846 that Mr. Coon came to the town of Plymouth and took up
eighty acres of government land. He came here from Oswego county, New York, where on February 2,
1825, he was born. A year or two after coming here his parents followed, and he came into
possession of 120 acres more of virgin forest. On the 200 acres he had acquired he lived up to
the time of his demise. On June 1, 1851, his marriage with Miss Philena R. Grant was
solemnized. Of the five children born to them only two survive, Mrs. F.J. Isserstedt and Mrs.
J.E. Lee, both residents of the town of Plymouth. Mrs. Coon also survives.
Mr. Coon was a great observer and lover of nature, and like Whittier's
uncle he was. "Himself to Nature's heart so near that all her voices in his ear. Of beat or bird had meanings
clear." He was a man of the strictest integrity and one whose life was a boon to his
On Sunday, March 21, Curd Boedecker, a pioneer of the town of Herman,
departed this life at the home of his son Frederick Boedecker, and the remains were laid to rest on
Thursday, March 25, in the cemetery adjoining the Reformed church in the northern part of
the town of Sheboygan Falls. The Rev. Mr. Vriessen officiated. Although arterial sclerosis is
assigned as the cause of death, his extreme old age must have left him open to attack by
disease. He had passed his ninety-fourth year.
Mr. Boedecker was born in Hohenhausen, Germany March 2, 1815.
While still living in Germany, his marriage with Wilhelmine Uhlenmeyer took place. In 1849, when many a
patriotic citizen of the fatherland sought a home in a country where he could exercise the
rights of a freeman, Mr. and Mrs. Boedecker came to America and directly to Sheboygan
county and Herman. They bore the hardships of pioneer life, and by thrift and industry made
themselves well to do. Mr. Boedecker was one of those who made personal sacrifices in
upbuilding the Mission House. His surviving children are Fred Boedecker of Herman; Mrs.
Conrad Johanning, Herman; Mrs. Carl Sanderman, Baxter, Iowa.
Mr. Boedecker was esteemed for his real worth and was highly regarded
by his many acquaintances.
After a residence of fifty-five years in Sheboygan Daniel Gill passed
away on February 6, 1909. His remains were interred in this city. Mr. Gill is survived by three sons Ben,
George and Albert, and Mrs. E. Jense, all residents of Sheboygan, and Mrs. A.W. Thayer of
Milwaukee. Mr. Gill was born at St. Francis, Canada, on July 16, 1833, and came here in
1853. He was a cooper by trade.
Capt. Henry Stocks
On February 3, 1909, Capt. Henry Stocks, expired, death being due to a
stroke of paralysis suffered several days previous to the end. The funeral was held Sunday, February 7,
Father Coxe of Grace Episcopal church officiating, and interment was in Wildwood cemetery.
Capt. Stocks was born in Mobile, Alabama, Jan. 14, 1841. While yet a
mere boy he came to Sheboygan to live. In September, 1862, he enlisted in the Union army, serving his
country so well that on May 11, 1864, he was promoted to the rank of captain. He served to
the end of war: a few years after returning to Sheboygan he secured a position with the Geele
Hardware Co. and except for a few years, while conducting a hardware store at Plymouth, he
remained with Geele's until a year and a half ago. During the last year or so of his life he was
connected with his sons in a grocery business, the firm being knows as the Stocks Grocery
company. Capt. Stocks left at his death his wife, five sons, Frank E. Stocks of Fond du Lac;
Wm. H., Alfred, Robert, Clarence, Sheboygan; and a daughter Miss Henrietta also of
It will contain an article on the early history and developments of the city of Sheboygan;
also a record of all the important events of the second quarter of 1909.
Sheboygan County Historical Review
Social, Industrial and Biographical Record
First Quarter Sheboygan, Wis. 1910
Papers Read at the Meeting of the G.G.G.'s
At a meeting of the G.G.G.'s, a woman's club of Plymouth, held on
October 26, 1909, Mrs. Otto Gaffron read some reminiscences about the Rublee family, which was one of the
earliest to settle in this county. The facts were given Mrs. Gaffron by Mrs. Emmeline Cole,
whose maiden name was Emmeline Rublee, and who was a sister of Hon. Horace Rublee.
Although very young when she first came her with her family, she recalls many events which
took place in those early days. She kindly furnished the Biographical Record with a paper
read by her brother February 22, 1894, at a Pioneer meeting at Sheboygan Falls, and which is
printed herewith. The reminiscences follow:
Mr. and Mrs. Alva Rublee came to Sheboygan county in 1840, when Mrs.
Cole was four and her brother Horace eleven years of age. They came from Vermont by way of the
Great Lakes, taking a steamer as far as Milwaukee, where they were obliged to change to a
schooner. There being no harbor at Sheboygan, steamers could not make a landing.
For a short time, the Rublee family lived at the Farnsworth mill, near the
Ashby farm, two and a half miles from Sheboygan, but soon moved to a farm on the site of the present
Wildwood cemetery. This place had been an Indian burying ground, but with the Poet
Campbell, the early settlers thought:
"What's hallow'd ground? Has earth a clod
It's maker mean'd not should be trod
In their opinion, if there was, it wasn't an Indian cemetery and they trod
it, plowed it and grew their harvests on it.
Mr. Rublee, when tilling the soil, uncovered old gun barrels, flints, arrow-heads, silver ornaments and other articles, which had been buried with the Indians and which were to be used by the deceased on their journey to the "happy hunting grounds." For some time the Rublee children had an Indian skull as a plaything. The silver ornaments referred to were articles something like large belt buckles with which the braves fastened their shirts together across their chests.
Among the grewsome recollections of Mrs. Cole's early days was that
of the sight of two Indian bodies placed on scaffolds high up on poles near the Ashby farm. The bodies
probably of the members of some wandering tribe, whose custom it was to dispose of their
dead in that manner, as the red men who lived in this part of the state buried their dead.
Indians were about the only neighbors the Rublee family had; the little
copper colored girls and boys were the playmates of the younger members of te household and during the
first summer in Wisconsin, Mrs. Rublee saw but one white woman and she came from
Vermont with them.
The squaws carried their pappooses strapped on boards on their
backs, the boards held in place by thongs across their forehead. The Rublee daughters of course, adopted
the same manner of carrying their dolls.
The Indians were very friendly to the whites, but great beggars and
always hungry. When they came to a house, they never rapped at the door, but came silently and looked in at
the windows. Mrs. Rublee often looked up from her work to see an Indian face at each pane
of glass. If they wanted to come in, they opened the door and walked in single file. If it were
evening, they spread their blankets on the floor around the fire and slept there all night. The
settlers had not the least fear of them.
On one occasion after they had been here several years, some Indians
who had spent the night at their place, became drunk and killed another. The body was buried in the Firmin
cemetery in the town of Lyndon. The family of the murdered Indian claimed all of the
property of the family of the murderer and got it, as that was the way the red men settled such
The Indians and white men traded with each other. Mrs. Cole remembers
of an Indian stopping at the house with honey which he had in two kegs about as large as beer kegs, hung
on either side of his pony. The honey splashed like water and upon being questioned, he
informed them that he had strained it through his blanket. The Rublee family never knew
whether the blanket improved the flavor of that honey or not.
Of course "fire water" sold readily to the Indians and the dealer, who
had gotten an Indian drunk, pretended that he was doing a virtuous thing by adding more and more water to the
whiskey he sold him thereafter, until the Indian was again sober.
When there was any trouble or when the redmen wished to know of the
future, they held a pow wow. At one time, a vessel with supplies for the settlers was overdue. The people
were almost in want. The Indians told the whites they would find out when the boat was
coming. They held a pow wow and informed the settlers that the boat would be in at sunset
the next evening. To the surprise of the settlers, the vessel came at the time their primitive
neighbors had set for it s arrival.
William Farnsworth, who owned much of the land on which the present
city of Sheboygan now stands, had for a wife a squaw named Marinette. Her home was where the
present city of Marinette stands, that place being named after her. It seems that Marinette
played quite an important part in the early history of Marinette and vicinity. She spent part
of her time at Sheboygan. Some act of Mr. Farnsworth having angered the Indians, they
gathered with the intention of killing him. Being apprised of their coming and knowing that
only heroic measures could save his life, he seated himself upon an open keg of powder with a
lighted candle in his hand. A man that could do such an act as that must be under the special
protection of the "great spirit," the Indians thought and they departed nor ever molested him
There is only one person in the county who came here earlier than Mrs.
Cole did and that is Mrs. William Jones of Sheboygan Falls, who came in 1836. There was but one horse in
the county when the Rublee family landed at Sheboygan. Their family was among the first to
keep cows. They also had one hen and a rooster which was something very few of the early
settlers had. When the hen had a brood of small chickens, a skunk killed her, the rooster took
it upon himself to care for the orphans. He found them food, hovered them at night and gave
them every care that a mother could.
One day while milk and cream were so scarce that they were luxuries,
the Rublee children were alone and they tipped over a churn of cream. It was a problem to them to
know what to do with the cream. Horace, who at that time was twelve or thirteen years of
age, hit upon the idea of boring holes in the floor and letting the cream run through. There
was no cellar under the house. The cream being disposed of the next things was to meet their
mother. Horace however, sat down and wrote a poem upon the mishap, which was so funny
that when he read it to his mother, she could not refrain from laughing and the children
Horace was a natural poet and had he been encouraged might have
been another Reilly, but his family looked upon his poetry as so much foolishness, none of it was ever saved
and he was told to write prose. As far as known not one of his early rhymes can now be
found, although Mrs. Cole can remember a line or two of some of them whose humor
appealed to her childish fancy. One dark, stormy night, a young man staying at their place
went quite a distance through the woods to visit the lady of his choice. That a young man
could be so foolish as to go a long distance in such weather to see a girl was too much for the
young Horace, it set his muse working and in a most humorous way, he recited the difficulties
and trials he met on his lonely walk. The only line Mrs. Cole can remember is:
"Around his head the boughs do bend," When it was repeated to the young fellow in
the morning, he could see nothing humorous about it, but for a number of days manifested an
extreme coolness toward the author. The young man referred to has been dead for many
years, but his son is known over most of the county.
Another rhyme ridiculed a very pompous and conceited man. The man
got hold of the rhyme and although it did not take the ego down it made the ire rise.
It took much work to suppress the poet in Horace Rublee, so that he
could write in anything besides rhyme. He would start to write a letter, it would soon be rhyming and
many a bitter tear he shed over what he considered a fault.
The following paper was read by the late Mr. Horace Rublee, well known
as a former editor of the Milwaukee Sentinel:
On occasions like the present one, reminiscences are the order of the
day. I, therefore, propose to do a little raking among the embers of the past. I ca\n justly claim to be one of the
early settlers of Sheboygan County. My father came here in the autumn of 1839, his family
following in June, 1840. The second ten years of my life were mostly spent here. Coming
from Milwaukee, on a schooner, no steamer landed at Sheboygan in those days. I vividly
remember the transfer from the little craft which anchored off the mouth of the river, in the
star-lit quiet of a lovely June night, just before daybreak, to a large scow, which was then
rowed into the river, the warm breath of the land wind scented with odors of the forest and of
wild flowers, the brilliancy of the fire-flies, the sense of strangeness and romance imparted by
the silence of the night and the consciousness of the vast and almost unbroken wilderness into
which we were entering, the short walk up a soft, sandy roadway to a square framed building
which then served as a lodging house to the seldom coming stranger
A few hours later, we returned to the scow, and, with our goods and
chattels, were rowed up the river to what was known as the "Follett place," the head of river navigation, and
about half a mile below a saw mill, in the management of which my father was then
interested, and where there was a fairly comfortable, indeed a large house for that period,
which we occupied. At that time, I believe, there were but eleven families in the county.
Only one, that of Joshua Brown, was to be found at Sheboygan. A mile and a half up the
river lived John Johnson, an Englishman with a large family of sons and daughters, who
cultivated the adjacent flats, which had long been cleared and used as corn fields by the
Indians. Between the mill referred to, now gone, and the Falls, was a unbroken forest with
the exception of an acre or two on a knoll now occupied by a cemetery, where Chas. D. Cole
had made a clearing, and planted corn between the stumps.
At the Falls were Chas. D. Cole and Albert Rounsville with their families,
and David Giddings, then unmarried, occupied the only house on the right bank of the river. There was
a saw mill on the left bank. A mile or more up the river Deacon Trowbridge with his
stalwart boys had begun the farm occupied now by his son. Five miles to the south, John and
Benjamin Gibbs had settled and begun clearing farms, and about the same distance to the west,
Dye, Firmin, Hoffman and Upham had reared their log habitations and made a small opening
in the primitive forest. A road had been cut through the woods to Port Washington the
previous winter, by which, once a week, the scanty mail was brought on foot or on
horseback. Westward to Fond du Lac and north to Manitowoc the wilderness was traversed
only by Indian trails. On the lake shore south of Sheboygan, a few fishermen from Ohio and
Michigan lived in summer, returning to their home for the winter. Among them was the
Wilson family, who have given their name to the town of Wilson.
During the season of 1840, Col. B.H. Mooers and family came to
Sheboygan, and kept the hotel there. A lighthouse keeper named Woolverton, came also that year with his
family. HE was a florid-faced, middle aged man from Maryland. It denotes the general condition of
the colony to recall the fact that Woolverton, with his government salary of $365 a year, was
probably the most affluent person in the county, and regarded as a sort of capitalist who could
afford to dress and live in a more sumptuous manner than the others. With the exception of
the lighthouse keeper the settlers were all people who earned their daily bread by daily toil.
The style of living was plain. Most of the flour used was unbolted wheat and corn ground in a
little run of stones set in one corner of the saw mill. Salt pork and salt whitefish were the
staple articles of animal food. There was hardly a horse owned in the county except the
ponies belonging to the Indians who remained here in considerable numbers. There were few
cattle except oxen, and hardly any domestic fowls. The second year my father obtained a pair
of fowls. I remember the intense interest with which I watched the growth of the first brood
of chickens. They were the most remarkable chickens ever seen, each one had a name, and I
can still recall their names and personal appearance of each.
Nearly all the settlers were from the New England states and New York.
There was neither clergyman, doctor or lawyer among them. Almost all were under middle age, active,
hardy young people. No gray haired men were seen. Deacon Trowbridge was the patriarch.
He was about fifty, and regarded as an old man. You all remember him in his serene and
beautiful old age for he lived to be a veritable patriarch. Then he was not only a farmer, but
the blacksmith of t he county, and he occasionally assumed the office of a clergy man and
preached on Sundays.
Other arrivals during the same year were a family named Russell and
two young men, Worthy McKillip and Starke. Another, William Ashby, better known as "Sam," who had
previously spent some time in the county. He and McKillip are still wit you, holding places
of honor among the pioneers.
The little colony received from year to year some accessions, but the
growth was slow until about 1844 or 45 when a plank road was constructed to Fond du Lac. Then steamers
began to land at Sheboygan, and settlers to arrive in greater numbers. The German
immigration soon followed and land began to be taken and clearings made in all directions.
The pre-plank road period was the true pioneer period in our history. IN
those days Sheboygan was of little consequence. The Falls was the business and intellectual center. Here
was the only post office. Here the elections were held. Here Chas. D. Cole, who was the
postmaster and general advisor and business man of the little community, lived. IN the
winter at the Falls a debating society held weekly meetings, and the debates were sometimes
preceded by an original essay or poem. Nearly everybody took the New York Tribune then
edited by Horace Greeley in the heyday of his power. A smattering of phronology had been
acquired by some of the citizens and several had rad "Combe on the Constitution of Man," a
book then much in vogue. Greeley and Combe produced no little mental fermentation, and
the social movement knows as "Fourierism," which led to the Brook farm experiment, broke
out with a good deal of virulence right here in those primitive days.
In the earlier period my father was living on the "Johnson place,"
Johnson having gone into the wilderness to make a farm in the Gibbs neighborhood, and our relations were with
the duller and more conservative region of Sheboygan. Little intellectual stimulus was found
there, but the neighborhood of the fishermen and frequent presence of sailors from the little
schooners that carried lumber to Milwaukee and Chicago, led during the second year to the
opening at Sheboygan, then always spoken of as "The Mouth," of an establishment which was
a combination of a very small retain shop and a rather mild type of saloon. It was kept by
Mrs. Glass. She was a buxom, apple-cheeked woman of perhaps 45, and wore a white muslin
cap with a ruffled border. Her hair and eyes were dark, she was a voluble talker, and a kind
hearted but resolute and self-possessed female. Mrs. Glass' stock consisted of a box of
crackers, a bladder of snuff, some plug tobacco, a jar of striped peppermint candy, pins and
codfish. She also had somewhere on the premises a barrel of whiskey and a decanter filled
from it was exposed to the view of the thirsty wayfarer. Occasionally she had a keg of what
was known as "strong beer" on tap. Though a business woman Mrs. Glass had a decidedly
sentimental side to her character, and possessed a small but very select library of romances
including "The Scottish Chiefs," "Thaddeus of Warsaw," "The Romance of the Forest," "The
Children of the Abbey" and a blood curdling story entitled "The Three Spaniards." These are
books not much read at present, but Mrs. Glass loaned them to me with warm
commendations, and I read them with great delight. Mrs. Glass had a husband John, a small
quiet person, whom she sometimes required to advance and allow her to smell his breath,
when he was suspected of surreptitiously visiting the whiskey barrel. John preferred to keep
well in the background.
The third winter, that of 42-43, I profited a little by indirect communication
with the intellectual center here at the Falls. It was determined to have a school for three months at
"the mouth," and a young man from the Falls, but a new comer was employed as teacher.
This young many was Samuel Rounseville, then early in the twenties, an active, brighteyed,
hopeful man. For the most part the school consisted of another boy and myself. Of course,
the teacher's duties were not very laborious. He read and smoked a good part of the time. He
went to the Falls on debating nights and Sundays, and besides teaching me some arithmetic he
loaned me Scott's "Lady of the Lake," "Nicholas Nickleby," "Oliver Twist" and several of
Bulwer's novels, which helped to pass the school hours: and wonderfully shortened the long
winter evenings. Among my school teachers, I remember none with more kindly feelings
than Samuel Rounseville. A year or two later, after a visit east, he brought back a diamond
edition of Byron, the first copy of that author's work without doubt ever brought in to the
county, and that also he loaned me. Books were scarce here in those days. I had long had my
curiosity excited respecting Shakespeare by references to him and quotations prefixed to
chapters in novels, before I ever saw a copy of his works. The first one brought in to the
county was, I think, by W.W. Kellogg, a lawyer who settled at Sheboygan about 1845.
Benjamin Trowbridge was the only man who had a copy of Milton in the pre-plank road era.
I could supply further information of this sort if it were desirable but have already exceeded
the limits I had intended to observe.
The grown up men and women of the period referred to have nearly all
passed away. But their works remain. By them and those who came a little later, the wilderness has been
transformed into one of the richest and most productive districts in the whole country,
studded with comfortable homes where dwelled a happy and prosperous people. Only those
who saw the beginnings, and who know the hard and straitened lives of the first settlers, can
fully appreciate the strenuous toil, the wear and tear of human muscle, the self-denial, the
stubborn endurance, the persistent energy required to clear away the tangled forest, to break
up the soil filled with stumps and interlacing roots, to build roads and fences while
maintaining themselves and their families, and to bring the great work on to its present stage
of advancement. If he who causes two blades of grass to spring where but one grew before is a
public benefactor, what shall we say of those to whose strenuous toil is due the broad
meadows and pastures and productive fields that have supplanted the wilderness? The
pioneers of Sheboygan county accomplished a great work. Their names may not be inscribed
on monuments, or preserved in history; but the work they accomplished will remain a
permanent benefit to succeeding generations.
The poet of Faust makes his hero begin with an insatiable craving for all
knowledge and all delight, to end, after sounding every depth of learning and philosophy and after
exhausting all the phases of earthly pleasure, by finding his final and supremest satisfaction in
reclaiming the waste places of the earth and fitting them to become the habitation of his
fellow men and the seats of civilization and culture: Such was the work performed by the
pioneers of this county, and their successors will do well to cherish and honor their memory
and to strive, like them "To plant the great hereafter in this now."
Plymouth went through one of the most terrible of its experiences in the
early part of January. On the third of that month towards evening Lincoln Davis and his son of the town
of Sheboygan Falls were bitten by a dog with the rabies. The following day the animal
reached Plymouth where it bit Edward Iserloth and Mrs. August Plautz. It continued
westward biting Henry Jens, Henry Alwardt of the town of Plymouth, and Harry Hinman
and the son of Albert Price, both of Greenbush. Mr. Jens suffered bad lacerations in the face.
The dog was shot by Louis Wittkop west of the city. All the persons
bitten went to Madison where they received the Pasteur treatment, and nothing serious resulted from the
bites. Other dogs were bitten, but their owners promptly killed them.
Mayor Starrett of Plymouth issued a proclamation, ordering that all dogs
be chained on their owners' premises or be properly muzzled for sixty days. The surrounding towns
took a like precaution.
On January 7, 1910, Dr. H.A. Arpke was chosen to succeed A.J. Whiffen
as superintendent of the county insane asylum, Mr. Whiffen having handed in his resignation in
November after many years of eminent service in the position. The board of trustees had
looked about with considerable care to find a man who possessed the requisite qualifications
for the important place. After considering several aspirants, the trustees looked about to find,
if possible, a more available man than any of those who had applied, and it occurred to them
that Dr. Arpke might come nearest to their ideal of what a superintendent should be like. He
was approached on the subject, and although not a candidate for the position, accepted the
Dr. Arpke was born in the town of Herman, where he grew to manhood.
Since 1893 he has been a resident of Sheboygan. He was sheriff for two years and was for some time
chairman of the Republican county committee. He is a very competent veterinarian and
enjoyed a large practice, which he discontinued when he took charge of the superintendency
of the asylum.
Dr. Arpke is a man of very agreeable presence, humane in his impulses,
strictly conscientious in the performance of any duties, and one can not help but feel that the interests
of the poor unfortunates committed to his care will be carefully looked after.
On February 9, 1860, the Concordia Singing society was organized in
Sheboygan, and on February ninth this year its golden jubilee was celebrated. Its origin and its existence for a
half century are due to the Germans' love of song. Shakespeare did not have them in mind
when he wrote:
"The man that hath no music in himself
Nor is not moved with concord of sweet sounds,
Is fit for treasons, stratagems and spoils."
Despite their love of song and their enthusiasm in keeping alive the
melodies of the "Fatherland," it was not always easy to keep up their organization, especially during the first
several years. The great civil war was in progress and the American people had little time for
pleasure had they been much disposed to have. The Concordia Society, however, never lost
It gave its first concert in October 1861, and the audience was so well
pleased that the members were encouraged to continue. Its next appearance was at Howards Grove in the
spring of 1862 and gained the society new laurels.
At the close of the Rebellion in 1865 Mr. William Nehrlich was chosen
director, and the society took another start.
It was not until 1873 that several ladies joined the society, and the
following year the mixed chorus gave a concert which proved a marked success.
On May 24, 1887, Mr. John Schmidt succeeded Mr. Nehrlich as director,
and was himself succeeded by Prof. Theodore Winkler on December 24, 1893. Of the directors all
survive but Mr. Kroehnke, who served the society from its organization until 1865.
Its first own place of meeting was provided in 1874, and on June 27 of
that year was first used for that purpose. It possessed no such qualities as elegance, convenience or
commodiousness. It was, in deed, rather a plain and crude structure. It was, moreover,
unsuited for public entertainments. The need of something better was soon seriously felt, and
Concordia hall was built.
The society has grown from year to year, and with its growth in numbers
interest has increased. At the annual concerts held by the society, Sheboygan has been made familiar with
many of the best German songs and literary works, and thus has the society done much to
cultivate a taste for good music.
In 1887 the Concordia society became a member of the Northwestern
Saenger Bund and has continued its membership in that organization ever since.
Two Saengerfests of the Eastern Wisconsin circuit have been held in
Sheboygan, the first in 1892 and the second in 1905.
The Reiss coal dock No.1 was totally destroyed by fire the night of
March 1, entailing a loss of $185,000. Besides the dock a number of freight cars were burned, causing a further
loss of $20,000. The annex to the dock was badly damaged. The insurance on the dock was
$117,000 and on the annex $103,000.
It was at half past nine that the fire was discovered by Watchman
Nicholas Shin, who said that at the time he first saw it, it had made little headway, but in the space of a few
minutes it had spread over the greater part of the dock. There was a thick coat of coal dust
covering the greater part of the dock and this acted as a conductor of the fire. The fire was
permitted to gain greater headway owing to the fact that the telephone service was defective at
the time, and the fire department could not be communicated with very promptly.
The Sheboygan Herald said at the time.
"Some idea of the fire can be gained from the fact that twelve streams
were thrown on it at one time with but slight effect. The twenty-four firemen headed by Chief Bedford and
assisted by several others, temporarily drawn into the service, worked the apparatus at hand to
the best advantage. All but one of the streams came from hydrants while the old fire-engine
from Station No.2 did good service.
"It required almost superhuman effort to prevent the flames from
sweeping away nearby buildings. The Port Huron salt docks were in imminent danger of meeting a fate
similar to the coal dock, while the Frost Veneer Seating company's plant also seemed for a
while to be doomed. The firemen never relaxed their efforts until they had cut off the
progress of the flames and not only saved adjoining property but prevented a total loss of the
"The fire lacked nothing in picturesqueness. Indeed, at times it was a
sublime sight. When it was at its height it impressed the observer with the vastness of its power. It was a
might furnace which seemed to caused vast beams to bend like willows in a gale. It was when
the derricks fell that the grandear of the scene was at its height.
Th fire had crept along the wooden beams until it reached the top of the
four huge derricks. The network of blazing beams was a sight that attracted attention in the very midst
of the excitement in fighting the flames; but when the derricks fell there was a scene which
can rarely be witnessed. The flames and clouds of sparks shot upward until they seemed to
make vast supports for the blue vaults of the sky.
"The fire could not be extinguished for many days owing to the burning
Two farmers' institutes were held in Sheboygan county on March 1 and 2.
One was conducted at Sheboygan Falls and the other at Glenbeulah. At Sheboygan Falls a cooking
school was held in connection with the institute. The conductors at these institutes were
W.C. Bradley, Hudson; Fred Stubley, Black Earth; C.E. Matteson, Pewaukee; Supt. George
McKerrow, Madison; A.R. Hirst, Madison; D.E. Bingham, Sturgeon Bay, all at Sheboygan
Falls; L.E. Scott, Stanley; J.L. Herbst, Sparta; C.E. Matteson, Pewaukee; Supt. George
McKerrow, Madison; A.R. Hirst, Madison, at Glenbeulah.
Miss Edith L. Clift of Chicago and Miss Mae E. Ross of South Bend, Ind.,
conducted the cooking school.
After twenty five years of faithful service the Rev. F. Wolbrecht was the
center of anotable celebration on February 8th, 1910. For a quarter of a century he has served
the Trinity Lutheran congregation of Sheboygan as its pastor, and he is held in high esteem not only by
the members of the church but by all who enjoy the pleasure of his acquaintance.
At the church on the anniversary there were appropriate religious
services conducted by the Rev. Mr. Wildermuth of Sheboygan Falls. Following the services the Rev. Mr.
Wolbrecht was invited to the Eagles' hall, where the celebration was continued in a more
worldly way. Music by the church band and several choirs, and brief addresses entertained
the assembled guests, while nothing seemed to be forgotten in the way of refreshments. The
large congregation left no doubt in the mind of their pastor that his services have been greatly
When the Rev. Mr. Wolbrecht came to Trinity church twenty-five years
ago there was only the one Lutheran church in the city and Trinity congregation was much smaller than it is
A school board convention for Sheboygan County was held at Lyceum
hall, Plymouth on Wednesday, January 19th. There were in attendance 235 members of boards.
County Superintendent J.E. Kennedy spoke on the subject "Co-operation of School Boards and
Teachers," impressing upon boards the necessity of their visiting not only their own school
but those in other districts.
Rural School Inspector W.E. Larson addressed the convention on the
relation of education to the development of the state. The speaker showed how much the growth of
industries were affected by intelligence, by the discoveries in science, and by intelligent
application of natural laws. Mr. Larson also discussed the advantages of township high
"The Value of an Education" was the subject on which Prof. Paul
Neystrom of the University of Wisconsin Extension Department, gave a talk. He spoke of the tendency of the
age to specialize, and cited instances to show that trade schools are giving the training which
prepares men for useful careers.
Chair City Camp, Modern Woodmen of America, on January 14, 1910,
held a meeting at which 175 of its 350 members were present. It performed an act which is well worth
recording; it was an act of charity; and the spirit in which it was done speaks well for the
organization. The Modern Woodmen have a tuberculosis sanitarium at Colorado Springs,
Colorado, and it was proposed to establish and equip a colony tent at the sanitarium. A
knowledge of the fact brought out the large attendance and when the subscription list was
circulated over $125 was subscribed. It will required $250 to get the ten in readiness for
patients, but there is no doubt that the remainder of that sum will be forthcoming.
On January 29, 1910, the John P. Reiss, a large steamer, was launched
at Lorain, Ohio. Mrs. Reiss christened the large vessel. Mr. and Mrs. Reiss and several other Sheboygan
people witnessed the launching. The John P. Reiss is one of the largest vessels on the Great Lakes. It
is 524 Feet long, fifty-six feet wide and thirty feet in depth. IT is owned by the Wisconsin
Transportation company of which Mr. Reiss is secretary and treasurer. It was built at Lorain,
Ohio, by the American Ship-building company. IT is built to carry 10,000 tons.
On January 24 the Sheboygan merchants and manufacturers enjoyed a
banquet at the Hotel Foeste, to which 140 sat down. IT was more than a nice feast; it was a meeting at which
much was said to encourage a movement to bring about a more rapid growth of and more
substantial improvements for the city. It was plain from many of the things said that the aim
of those participating is a larger and better city. Sheboygan business men appreciate as never
before the need of an enlightened public sentiment and great civic pride. This is, indeed, a
M.E. Hanchett presided, and introduced the speakers as follows: W.A.
Pfister, president of the Merchants' association; J.M. Grantham of the Cramer-Krasselt company of
Milwaukee, who spoke on "Retail advertising of tody;" M.R. Zaegel, one of the largest and
most successful advertisers in the country gave some excellent hints on advertising; A.C. Hahn
of the Phoenix Chair company discussed "Freights and the collection of claims;" Attorney
E.R. Bowler told about "Protecting and collecting accounts," F.S. Duffie, agent in the city for
the American Express company.
W.A. Pfister made the closing remarks. The speaking was interspersed
by singing by a quartet composed of Mrs. Arthur Genter, Mrs. Julio Imig, William Leicht and William G.
Wolf, with Miss Mabel End as accompanist. Mr. Leicht also sang a solo.
On Sunday, February 6, 1910, the Wisconsin association of the United
Association of Journeymen, Steam and Gas Fitters and Steam Fitters' Helpers of the United States and
Canada held its first semi-annual convention at the Eagles' hall in Sheboygan. There were
about fifty delegates in attendance from various parts of the state. A banquet was given at the
Hotel Foeste. The state organization was formed in Milwaukee on August 1st, 1909.
The new Lutheran hall at Plymouth was dedicated on February 3 and 4.
The entertainments given on those dates were well attended.
The hall is situated on the new extension of Stafford street. It is a good
looking building and is ample in size. It is one of the best and largest halls in Plymouth, provision
having been made for a kitchen, dining hall, etc., in the large basement. There is a good stage,
and altogether it is well equipped for an entertainment hall.
In March a mission was held at the Congregational church in Plymouth.
O.F. Lueder of Plymouth fell on March 3rd and suffered the
fracture of one of his ribs.
The Hand Knit Hosiery company of Sheboygan on January 10th took
possession of its new plant.
Will Gallager of Lima had his right hand badly crushed in the sprocket
wheel of a feed cutter March 22.
About the middle of March George Wittkopp purchased A.W. Siemers'
interest in the furniture business of Kiefer and Siemers.
On February 26, B.H. Dingman transferred his photograph gallery to Mr.
Matson of Mt. Horeb this state, the sale having been made before.
The Halter residence in the town of Lima was destroyed by fire on
January 13, 1910. It happened while Mrs. Halter's funeral was taking place.
Robert Stolper of Sherman was seriously injured while unhitching his
horse on March 15. In the fall he had lost one of his arms in a corn shredder.
The city of Sheboygan had owned the water plant just a year on March 2,
and the commission made a very glowing report on its success financially.
The price of cheese went up to 17 5/8 cents a pound on the Plymouth
dairy board on January 19th. That was the price paid for daisies.
A freight train was wrecked on the Northwestern road between Plymouth
and Sheboygan Falls on January 25th. Ten cars were derailed.
At a meeting of the City Improvement society on March 14, Mr. A.D.
DeLand of Sheboygan generously offered to provide a public bath house at a cost of $500.
In February, 1910, the Hanchett Furniture company of Sheboygan
opened a morgue at their furniture store on North Eighth street, the first morgue in the city.
Eul, Cochems and Nebel of Sturgeon Bay were awarded the contract for
completing the sewers in the city of Plymouth, their bid being $16,065.45, the lowest.
On March 12 M.R. Zaegel became sole owner of the three-story brick
block at the corner of Eighth St. and New York avenue by purchasing Dr. Muth's interest.
On March 1st, Dr. Arpke took charge of the County insane
asylum; Mr. A.J. Whiffen, who had for so many years been its very efficient superintendent withdrew.
On February 21, 1910, the H.F. Wolf store and machine shop on Division
street in the city of Plymouth was nearly destroyed by fire. The contents were badly damaged.
Fred Wehmeyer of the town of Rhine was injured in a feed-cutter on
January 19th. His hand was so badly mangled that it was necessary to amputate the part of two fingers.
On March 7th the electric railway between Plymouth and
Elkhart Lake was opened up and the first car since January 4th was run on that part of the interurban line.
On January 25th the Sheboygan County Medical association met in
Sheboygan and choose Dr. Emil Guenther of Sheboygan, president, and Dr. C.S. Pfeifer of Sheboygan Falls,
A mission was held at the Roman Catholic church Plymouth during the
week from January 10th to January 16th. It was conducted by the Jesuit Fathers Dieckes and Engelen, of
In March, 1910, the county roads became impassable when the snow
began to melt. The snow was several feet in the middle of the roads and when it softened it became
dangerous to drive on them.
F. Radloff was awarded the contract for putting down a reinforced
concrete pavement on parts of Mill, Stafford streets and Eastern avenue in the city of Plymouth. Mr. Radloff
was the lowest bidder.
The Holstein-Friesian Breeders' association of Sheboygan county held
its annual meeting on January 8th and chose the following officers: President, R.B. Melvin;
secretary, T.H. Thackray; treasurer, C. Nehrling.
Judge Michael Kirwan accepted a call from the bar of Sheboygan County
signed by every attorney in the county to be a non-partisan candidate for re-election as judge of the
Fourth Judicial Circuit, on January 24, 1910.
The latter part of February the P.M. Wolf factory in the northwestern part
of the city was competed. The main building is a three story structure built of cement blocks. The plant
is occupied by the Plymouth Novelty company.
The Sheboygan Falls Machine company, a growing and prosperous
manufacturing concern, in February, 1910, increased its capital stock to $150,000. The growth of its business
necessitated an increase in its facilities for manufacturing more extensively.
A Social Industrial and Biographical Record
Application is made to have this publication admitted to the mails at second class rates of postage.
Published Quarterly at Sheboygan, Wisconsin
The Historical Review Pub. Co.
Otto Gaffron Editor
A.O. Heyer Managing Editor
Subscription Rates: 50 cents per year. Single copies 15 cents
Advertising rates furnished upon application
The first quarter of the year appears in the month of April; the second quarter in the
month of July; the third quarter in the month of October; and the fourth quarter
in the month of January.
Sheboygan, Wis. Vol. 2 No. 1 April 1910
If ever it could have been said of any one that as a boy he lisped in
numbers, it could have been said of Horace Rublee.
The Merchants' association held a meeting on March 8th and from its
discussions it was apparent that its members realize the importance of electing good men to conduct the affairs
of the city. There is no doubt that the business men of Sheboygan will more and more
interest themselves in the matter of better municipal government, as a means of improving
conditions and encouraging legitimate enterprises.
This number contains reminiscences of the Rublee family, told by Mrs.
Emmeline Cole, widow of the late George Cole of Sheboygan Falls, and Mr. Horace Rublee, deceased,
who gained prominence as a former editor of the Milwaukee Sentinel. Mrs. Cole is a sister of
Mr. Rublee. They were among the very earliest settlers of the county, and the Biographical
Review feels that it was fortunate in obtaining some of their experiences told in their
inimitable style. Life has always had a broad and deep meaning to them, and events could not
take place about them without their significance being felt.
The year 1910 is that of the reappearance of Halley's comet. The best
proof that people are less superstitious now than they were in the past was shown by the fact that there
were few people of any one's acquaintance who showed great fear that the near approach of
the heavenly wanderer. While there were a few persons comparatively whose fear led them to
commit self-destruction; the large body of the people awaited the predicted collision with the
comet with a philosophical calmness that did them great credit. The people of Sheboygan
county did not show that they were in the least disturbed.
With this issue the Biographical Review begins its second year. There
are many who recognize that the periodical meets a demand, and must, if the publishers carry out their ideal,
become more and mor a welcome visitor in the homes of Sheboygan County. The first four
numbers illustrate somewhat the purpose of the Review, and, if not fully, in a measure give
assurance that the promises made in the preliminary word in the first issue are being faithfully
It may be urged that the newspapers furnish the current events and that
therefor this publication is superfluous. The newspapers do not select the matter with as great care nor do
they print it in as readable a form nor give it to their readers in such a condition as to
encourage preserving it.
But those who are familiar with the character of the publications are
satisfied that the numbers which have thus far appeared contain much and that those that will appear will
contain a great deal about the past of the county and its pioneers. It is unnecessary to tell the
discerning person that the Biographical Review is destined to become more popular as times
passes by, and that the time will come when people will prize every number highly, for the
associations which its contents will call forth.
In order to make the publication as interesting and valuable as possible,
the editors would kindly request the cooperation of all who are in possession of facts or documents
which might prove of interest or be helpful in the preparation of the historical sketches which
are to be made prominent features of the publication.
In conclusion we would say that we greatly appreciate the marked favor
with which the Biographical Review has been received, and we can only assure our readers that there will
be no backward step, but that the periodical will show improvement rather than deterioration
from one year to another.
January 4, 1910, was the golden anniversary of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph
Staley of Waldo, and they were delightfully surprised by their relatives. Despite the inclement weather it was a
day of rejoicing at the home of the happy couple. Both hale, both content in the
contemplation of well-spent lives, both pleased to be so kindly remembered, both joyous in
the midst of those most near and dear to them, both gratified to be spared to each other for so
many years, they spent a rarely enjoyable day; while their guests were no less happy.
Mr. and Mrs. Staley were married in the town of Lyndon on January 4,
1860, the ceremony having been performed by H.S. Huchinson. Mrs. Staley's maiden name was Miss
Mr. Staley was born in Buffalo, Erie county, New York, seventy-five years
ago last October. He came to Onion River early in the fifties and established a blacksmith shop in
that village. He conducted the shop until 1879 when he removed to Plymouth. After a brief
residence in that city he removed with his family onto a farm a mile and a half this side of
Elkhart Lake. Here they resided for two years, when they sold the farm to take possession of
the Peiter homestead near Onion River. The past few years they have lived in Waldo, their
son, George Staley, residing ion the homestead.
Mr. Staley bears evidence of having served his country in war, in that he
has no thumb on one of his hands. The member was taken off by a bullet in one of the battles of the Civil
war. He enlisted as a member of Co. E. 36 Reg., under Capt. Tuthill, on February 18, 1864,
and was honorably discharged in the summer of 1855.
Mrs. Staley was born in Germany on December 25, 1837, and came with
her parents Mr. and Mrs. John Peiter, to American in about 1855. They settled in Lima, a mile or so
northeast of Onion River, where Mr. Peiter established what was for many years known as
"Social Hall." No landlord in Sheboygan county was better known by people in the
southwestern part of the county. Sheboygan was for a long time the chief market of the
greater part of the county and in those days few people passed by the "Social Hall" on their
way to and form that city. No where were people more hospitably received.
Mr. and Mrs. Staley were twice called upon to mourn the loss of a child.
One died in infancy, and Mrs. Hattie Roehr passed away eight years ago. These children remain to
comfort them during their declining years; Peter Staley and Mrs. R.H. Koehler of Plymouth;
George Staley of Lima; and Miss Emma K. Staley at home. They are also grandparents to
Mr. and Mrs. Staley have always had the respect and esteem of a large
circle of acquaintances.
On Thursday, January, 27, 1910, was the fiftieth anniversary of the
marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Carl Buscher of Herman, and the event was celebrated at the home of Mr. and Mrs.
Theodore Schreiber near Kiel. Besides the children and other relatives, many other friends
were in attendance. A most delightful time was spent, and the happy couple joined in the
festivities with the life and activity of younger people.
In youth they came to America and both their families settled in the town
of Herman, where they were married. Soon after their union Mr. and Mrs. Buscher settled on a farm in
that town and engaged in farming until ten years ago when they retired, and since that time
made their home with their daughter, Mrs. Charles Berg of Herman.
It was for convenience' sake that the celebration was held at the home
of another daughter, Mrs. Schreiber.
In January, 1910, it was announced that the Reformed church of the city
of Plymouth was free of debts, having during the previous year paid up $1402 the balance of it's
indebtedness. Besides an attractive church edifice the congregation has a handsome parsonage.
The Town of Plymouth Farmers' Fire Insurance company held its annual
meeting on January 4th, and these officers were chosen: President, H. Waterman, secretary, Henry Ott;
treasurer, E.G. Phelps. The report of the secretary showed that there were 599 policies in force.
On March 5th, Herman Hayssen and son Arthur were both injured while
placing a bread weighing machine into the plant of the Atlas Bakery in Milwaukee. The machine,
which weighs 600 pounds tipped over onto Herman Hayssen and broke one of his legs in three places.
On February 22, severe cold and drifting snow greatly interfered with
traffic both on the interurban and the Northwestern railroad. The train which is due in Sheboygan from the
west at about seven o'clock in the evening, became stalled between Sheboygan and Sheboygan
Falls and the passengers were up all night.
On Friday and Saturday, January 21st and 22nd a teachers institute was
held at Plymouth. It was in charge of County Superintendent Kennedy, President A.H. Kieth of the
Oshkosh normal, president Charles McKenny of the Milwaukee normal and Supt. Thomas
Loyd-Jones of Fond du Lac. The attendance was large.
President Kieth had the subject "Mental Characteristics of Children at
Different stages;" President McKenny the subjects of "Physical Basis of Learning" and "The Significance
of Self-activity;" Supt. Loyd-Jones, "Supervision and Cooperation."
On January 30, Edward Baumann passed away at his home at St. Cloud
at the age of 81. The deceased was born in Saxony, Germany, Jan. 24, 1829 and came to America in 1854.
On December 8, 1856, he was married in Sheboygan to Wilhelmine Zehagen, so that a little
over four years ago, Mr. and Mrs. Baumann celebrated their golden wedding. Mrs. Baumann
survives, as also do eleven of the fourteen children born to them. The children are Ernest and
Edward Baumann and Mrs. J.C. Gessert of Kiel, Mrs. Wm. Obigt of Sheboygan, Mrs. Wm.
Pinnow of Racine, Mrs. Theodore Krembs and Mrs. Herman Messing of St. Paul, Mrs. Jacob
Stumpf of Kiel and Mrs. Christ Iserloth and Arthur Baumann of St. Cloud, two brothers and
one sister are living, Ernest Baumann, Glenbeulah, Theodore Baumann, Oshkosh and Mrs.
Jacob Keuper, Plymouth, Mrs. J.M. Ackerman, another sister, expired at her home in
Plymouth October 2, 1909. For some time Mr. Baumann owned and conducted a farm near
Johnsonville. The funeral was held at Kiel February 3.
NOTE: the name of Mrs. Hulda Barkly of St. Louis MO. should be added
to the list of surviving children of Mr. Edward Baumann. - Ed.
Mrs. William Higby
Mrs. William Higby expired at her home three miles west of Oostburg on
Tuesday, March 15, at the ripe age of eighty-five. She succumbed to the weakness attendant upon old
age, although she had suffered from a rather severe cold for a week or so.
Mrs. Higby was born in the state of New York, and was married to
William Higby while they were still in the east. Soon after their marriage they came to Wisconsin settling on
the farm in the town of Holland still in possession of Mr. Higby. This county was get but
little more than a wilderness. In the immediate vicinity where Mr. and Mrs. Higby took up
their abode there was not a white settler. Indians roamed the dense and unbroken forests. IT
is said that Indian Solomon was a frequent visitor at the Higby home. To supply the needs of
his family, Mr. Higby had no other alternative but to walk through the forest to Milwaukee
for the necessaries. There were no roads and Mr. Higby in order to find his way back was
obliged to blaze trees. Sheboygan was not even a village, and there was not a place in the
county where things essential in a household could be bought. Mr. and Mrs. Higby were,
indeed, pioneers. These children survive: Mrs. J. Lemkuil, Sheboygan; D.H. Higby town of
Holland and Mrs. Fay Richmond of Greenwood. A son Dewitt Higby, died fifteen years ago,
but his widow lives and has made her home with the aged parents of her departed husband
and has ministered to their needs.
Mr. Higby is eighty-six years old and still resides on the homestead.
The funeral was held on Thursday March 17, with interment in the Hingham cemetery.
Mrs. Fannie Farnsworth
On Wednesday, January 26, Miss Fannie Farnsworth died at the home
of her sister Mrs. Delos Churchhill at Chenoa, Ill. She had been ill for six or seven months. The remains
were brought to Sheboygan from where the funeral was held, and the remains laid at rest in
the Sheboygan Falls cemetery. Her aged mother and sister survive.
The Sheboygan Herald said of her:
"Miss Farnsworth will be remembered as one of the bright young women
who attended teachers' institutes in this county twenty-sox or twenty-sever years ago. She was
easily selected a s a leader among the teachers of the county. After teaching in the elementary
schools a few years, she attended and was graduated from the Wisconsin State University.
Following her graduation she taught in high schools.
Miss Farnsworth was a teacher in the larger sense of the word. She did
more than to give instruction in school subjects, such as history, science and language. It was her nature to
think beyond mere facts, and she could not help but lead her pupils to become thoughtful.
Among teachers her class is not overcrowded; indeed, it is far too small.
Paul Hess was born in Bavaria, Germany, on March 5, 1848. He died at
1608 Superior Avenue, Sheboygan on Feb. 10. The funeral was held Feb. 12 with interment in Holy Name
cemetery. He was a member of St. Boniface society, Catholic Knights and Phoenix Aid
society. He came to American in 1833.
Mrs. Geo. Walker
Mrs. Geo. Walker, 815 North Fourth street, aged 38 years, died Feb. 10
of tuberculosis. Harriet, the one year old daughter of Mrs. Walter, died just two days before her
of tuberculosis. The mother died shortly after the return of the funeral party. The interment
was in Fond du Lac Feb 13th.
Mrs. Antonia Timmer
Mrs. Antonia Timmer, one of the very few who could claim the distinction
of having been a pupil of Froebel, the founder of the kindergarten system of education, died at the home
of her sister, Mrs. Amalia Kuehmsted, in Appleton, January 13.
Mrs. Timmer was born in Salzing, Saxony, Germany, dune 13, 1830, and
came to American with her parents, Mr. and Mrs. Christian De Laporte, in 1848. For a brief period
they resided in New York, then in Milwaukee, from which city they removed to the town of
Herman. The remains of Mr. De Laporte rest in the Plymouth Union cemetery where a
marble cross marks his grave. The epitaph, which was dictated by himself is truly an
extraordinary one. It is in German and reads, "My friends were worry and pain, my enemies,
my hear and I."
In the town of Herman Miss De Laporte's marriage to Eberhardt Schlaich
took place in 1851. Mr Schlaich, who was a brother to Capt. Schlaich, ran a hotel which stood on the
present site of the Plymouth brewery, later he conducted the Central house for a few years
when he removed with his family onto a farm northwest of the city. Shortly after the
Milwaukee & Northern R.R., now a division of the St. Paul system was constructed, the
Schlaichs disposed of their farm and built the Plymouth house, which has been remodeled
into the freight depot of the Northwestern R.R. In 1874 Mr. Schlaich died and his wife ran
the hotel for a few years longer, when Mr. and Mrs. Frank Knoep took charge. During the
war, Mr. Schlaich was postmaster of Plymouth.
In 1881, Mrs. Schlaich was married to Henry Timmer of New Holstein.
His death occurred in 1905, after which she lived with her stepchildren. Although she never had any
children of her own, she brought up nine children. She is survived by three stepchildren, Mrs.
H.H. Greve of New Holstein, H.W. Timmer of Waldo and M. Timmer of Dogden, N.D.,
five sisters, Mrs. Ida Kuehmsted of Oshkosh, Mrs. Frank Knoeppel of Thompsonville, Mich.,
Mrs. Fanny Berry, Benton Harbor, Mich., Mrs. W. Welz of Green Bay and two brothers,
Louis De Laporte, Oconto and Carl De Laporte, Green Bay.
On January 17, the body of Mrs. Timmer was taken to Plymouth where at
the Reformed church Rev. Schildknecht of New Holstein conducted services and interment was
made in the Union cemetery beside the remains of her first husband.
At the age of nearly seventy-nine G.J. Jentink passed away on Thursday
January 13, 1910, at his home near Cedar Grove. The funeral was held Monday, January 17, with services
at the residence at eleven o'clock and at the Presbyterian church at one o'clock in the
afternoon. The Rev. Mr. Roth officiated.
Mr. Jentink was born in Aalten, Netherlands, on February 28, 1831. His
union with Frieda Lubbers was solemnized in 1865. In 1869 they came to this country, landing at
Amsterdam and going directly to Gibbsville this county. Two children had been born to
them, Henry and Lydia, and they came to this country with their parents. They lived at
Gibbsville until 1881, when they moved onto a farm north of Cedar Grove, where Mr.
Jentink died. Besides his wife these children survive: H.J. Jentink of Holland, Mrs. G.
Lammers of Cedar Grove, Ben of Holland, Mrs. Ben. Huenink of Cedar Grove, Miss Cena at
home and Gerret, who is living on the homestead. These also mourn the loose of a dear
brother: Mrs. D.J. Neerhoof Cedar Grove, Mrs. G.J. Neerhoof and Mrs. Abram Ernisse of
Gibbsville. Mr. Jentink was a happy nature, and was disposed to make those about him
happy. His uprightness was never questioned.
On Sunday January 16, 1910, Henry Garside late of the town of Holland,
died at the Wesley hospital, Chicago, Ill. HE had undergone an operation on December 27 and from all
appearances was recovering from its effects when on January 11, he suffered a stroke of
paralysis, and on the 16th passed away. The funeral was held on Thursday, January 20, from
the family residence in Holland and from the M.E. church at Hingham; the Rev. Mr. Perry
officiated. The remains rest in the Hingham cemetery.
Mr. Garside was born in Nottinghamshire, England, November 6, 1856.
When only a year old he came with his parents to America. They went to Detroit Michigan where they
resided for four years, when they removed to Chicago. There they resided until 1871 the year
of the great fire, where their home and business was destroyed. It was then that they came to
Holland, this county, and purchased the farm still owned by the family. Mr. Garside obtained
his first experience in farming with John DeLyser. Having expressed a desire to his father to
become a farmer, he was sent to work on the farm of Mr. DeLyser. This was one year before
the family left Chicago.
On October 28, 1886, Mr. Garside was united n marriage to Miss Mary
Rhodes, who survives him as do also eight children as follows: Henry, Irene, Martha, Robert, Sarah,
Frances, Ralph and Mary. He also leaves his aged mother and these brothers and sisters: Mrs.
Thirsk, Mrs. Holmes and Mrs. Louret and George, Benjamin and Joseph Garside. Mr.
Garside was highly esteemed for his integrity and uprightness, and he had evidently lived for
those most near and dear to him.
Miss Harriet Ashby
Miss Harriet Ashby, died at her home 716 Pennsylvania Avenue Feb. 28,
after a sickness of some duration. For forty years Miss Ashby had taught in the public schools of
Sheboygan and of the town of Sheboygan. She was born o the old Ashby farm in the town of
Sheboygan, July 7, 1848. For twenty-two years she taught in the town of Sheboygan and
nineteen years ago she began teaching in the city schools, only once in that time, did she stop
teaching, when for a time she was forced to assist in the care of the sick in her family.
She is survived by her sister Mrs. F.A. Manville, the oldest living white
woman born in Sheboygan city of town, and a nephew, Fred Manville. The funeral was held from her
home March 2, Rev. Curtis of Grace Episcopal church conducting services and internment
was in Wildwood cemetery.
She had exceptional ability as a teacher and as such has helped form
the character of many prominent people of Sheboygan.
William Meisner, aged 31 years, died at 1513 North Second street,
Sheboygan on March 4. The funeral was held Mr. 8 with interment in Wildwood cemetery. HE was a
member of the Eagles lodge.
Mrs. Marie Elizabeth Reis
On January 3, 1910, there passed from earth Mrs. Marie Elizabeth Reis,
widow of the late Jacob Reis, at the home of her son Henry in the town of Scott. Pleurisy was the
immediate cause of death, although she had passed her eighty-seventh year. The funeral was
held from Zion's Evangelical church, Batavia on Thursday, January 6, and the interment was a
the South School cemetery in the town of Scott, where Mr. Reis remains rest. The Rev. G.
Mrs. Reis, whose maiden name was Marie Elizabeth Kauer, was born in
Argenthal, Rhenish Prussia, on Aug. 12, 1822. She was married to Mr. Reis on the 22nd day of March,
1846. The same year, Mr. and Mrs. Reis came to America, settling at first in Washington
county. One year later they removed to Scott, and took up their abode in the wilderness,
where they bore all the hardships of pioneer life. The children and grandchildren vividly
recall how Mrs. Reis told of the early experience of herself and husband after coming here.
She related how she and Mr. Reiss sowed several acres of rye among the stumps by the aid
merely of hoe and rake; how she carried on her head in the old German style butter and eggs
to the market ten miles distant and returned with a sack of flour; how she was lost in the
woods while looking for her cows and was obliged to remain in the woods all night but when
day broke she found she was near home; how Mr. Reis carried seventy-five pounds of maple
sugar from Scott to Milwaukee and exchanged it for a log chain which he carried home.
Mr. Reis bought forty acres of woodland. He left his wife with friends at
Germantown and went to work, taking with food sufficient to last him a week. He was
obliged to sleep under the open sky. The first night he prepared himself a place to sleep beside
a big log, but thinking it a little dangerous, he made his bed on a pile of brush. Their first
abode in the forest was a small cabin with a roof of brush. When it rained they were obliged
to put up an umbrella to keep dry even in bed
Mr. and Mrs. Reis were esteemed for their hospitality for never were they
known to turn the poor wanderer from their door, or deny the traveler food or a place to sleep. Mr.
Reis, who passed away on May 30, 1876, was one of the influential men of this town. For a
number of years he represented the town of Scott on the county board., having been chairman
of his town ten or twelve years.
Six children survive as follows: Mrs. E. Gersmshl, Plymouth; Mrs. Henry
Row, Seymour; Mrs. Mary Graff, Oshkosh; Jacob Reis of this city, who was born in the wilds of
Scott in 1849; and Henry Reis at whose home the mother died. The demise of two sons,
Frank Reis of Scott and John Reis of Seymour has occurred within a year. Thirty-five
grandchildren and thirty-four great grandchildren also survive.
Mr. and Mrs. Reis were prominent citizens of Scott, and they had an
important part in the development of that town. Energetic, preserving and thrifty, it was not long ere they had
conquered the chief obstacles met in pioneer life. Mr. Reis' name was always good for any
amount he wished to attach it to. Mrs. Reis made him a worthy helpmate, which she was in
the truest sense of the word.
Mrs. Friedericke Karpe
On January 6, 1910, Mrs. Friedericke Karpe, wife of the late Mr. Gustav
Karpe, died at her home in Los Angeles, California. Her passing was much regretted by many who knew
her as one every ready to minister to the happiness of others. Hers was a life of service and of
usefulness in the largest sense of the word. Her kindness and generosity are well remembered
traits of her character, and her charity was shown by deeds not words. She helped the needy,
but the world would have been none the wiser, had the subjects of her charity not sung her
Mrs. Karpe was born in Necklin, Brandenberg, Germany, on March 20,
1838. Her maiden name was Miss Friedericke Porth. She came to American and to Plymouth in 1856,
and the following year was married to Mr. Karpe. For many years she was practically the
postmistress of Plymouth, Mr. Karpe having been appointed postmaster in 1869 during the
administration of U.S. Grant, and he held the office until 1886 during Cleveland's first term,
when H.W. Hostman was given the appointment. During the seventeen years Mrs. Karpe
was mainly in charge of the office, as Mr. Karpe's time was largely devoted to the real estate
business. It was over twenty years ago that the Karpes went to California.
The demise of Mr. Karpe occurred in 1893, and his remains were laid at
rest in Rosedale cemetery, Los Angeles; and she who had been his faithful and loving wife rests
beside him. Mrs. Karpe is survived by three children as follows: Mrs. H.W. Hostman of
Plymouth and W.G. Karpe and G.A. Karpe of Los Angeles, California. Mrs. Christ Hahn of
Plymouth and Julius Goetsch of Schleswig are respectively a sister and brother o the deceased.
She also has two brothers and two sisters in Germany.
Henry Schilder passed away at his home in Sheboygan, March 2. He
was born December 20, 1839 at Blessena, near Cologne and came from there to Sheboygan in June,
1867. He was first employed by Theo. Huette. In 1871, he went into the flour and feed
business and continued this until 1904. In Germany, Mr. Schilder served with the First
Battalion Rhein Artillery. He was a member of the following societies, Sheboygan
Gegenseitiger Kranken Unterstitzungs verein, Sons of Herman, Krieger Verein and the
Concordia Singing society. He had held the following city offices, alderman, supervisor,
school commissioner, library commissioner and for four years was city treasurer.
He leaves his wife, five children Henry Jr., Peter and J.M. Schilder of
Sheboygan and Frank of Los Angeles and Catherine, two brothers and one sister. The funeral was held
March 5, from Holy Name Church, Father Thill officiating, with interment in the North Side Catholic cemetery.
On January 25, Robert Scheibe died at his home in Plymouth of Bright's
disease. Mr. Scheibe was born in Muehlberg, Saxony, August 11, 1834. In 1853, he came to America and
to Wisconsin, and four years later to Plymouth. On November 25, 1860, he was married to
Miss Theresa Michi and next fall they would have celebrated their golden wedding. For a
number of years he conducted a harness shop in Plymouth. He was one of the original
members of the Liederkranz singing society and at his death he was an honorary member of
the Harmonie singing society. He held the office of alderman from his ward.
He is survived by his wife, three sons, August R. and Robert H. of
Plymouth and George of Chicago, a brother August and a sister Mrs. Mary Hostman, both of Plymouth and
Mrs. August Scheibe
On March 19, occurred the death of Mrs. August Scheibe at her home in
Plymouth of cancer. Mrs. Scheibe's maiden name was Anna M. Naether and she was born in Mutschwetz,
Saxony, Germany in 1844. She came to Sheboygan county in 1848. April 1, 1866 she was
married in Plymouth to August Scheibe. Besides her husband she is survived by the following
children, Mrs. O.H. Watson, Mrs. C.W. Jackson, Mrs. R.D. Burke, Miss Meta Scheibe and
O.A. Scheibe, all of Plymouth and Miss Lillian Scheibe of Chicago. She leaves two grand
children and a brother, Herman Naether of Plymouth. Rev. Upjohn of the Episcopal church
conducted the funeral March 22, and she was laid at rest in the Plymouth Union cemetery.
Mrs. Louisa Schaetzer
Mrs. Louisa Schaetzer born in Germany on July 28, 1821, died in
Sheboygan on March 2. The funeral was held March 4 with interment in Wildwood cemetery. Mrs. Schaetzer
came to Sheboygan with her five children in 1872, her husband having died before she left
Germany. For the past seven years she has made her home with her daughter, Mrs. Albert
Quasius. The other children are Herman, Turtle Lake, Wis., Mrs. Henry Meierlein,
Sheboygan and Charles of Centerville.
On February 24, 1910, there expired at his home in the town of Scott
Peter Roethlisberger. The interment took place on the following Sunday, the funeral being held
from Zion's Evangelical church at Batavia. The Rev. G. Reichert officiated, and the remains
were laid at rest in Winfield cemetery.
Mr. Roethlisberger was born in Switzerland on May 17, 1831. He came
to America in 1852, first making Milwaukee his home. He remained in that city but a short time when he
went to Ozaukee county to reside. There he remained for several years, when he went to
Scott which has been his place of residence ver since. His union with Miss Ernstina Hoehnert
was solemnized in 1858, but she passed away ten years later. In 1869 he took unto himself a
second wife, Mrs. Catherine Veble (nee Martch). She survives his as do also these children:
Edward of Oshkosh; William and Lewis of Milwaukee; John of San Francisco, California;
Mrs. Wm. Fabian of Onion River; Mrs. F. McLean and Mrs. F. Kneuppel of Chicago; Mrs. F.
Weinbauer of Batavia, and Mrs. Charles Stark of Milwaukee,
Mr. Roethlisberger was one of the kindest men, and had much sympathy
for boys. He was a very faithful member of Zion's congregation and for many years taught a class of boys
in Sunday school, and none of his boys will soon forget his kindly face.
Fred Kaesermann, whose home was just west of the city, died at the St.
Nicholas hospital of blood poisoning, on Sunday, February 13 1910. Shortly before he had received a
slight injury to his hand, a mere scratch, of which no notice was taken at first. The hurt
evidently became a place of absorbing poison, and resulted fatally.
The funeral was held on Thursday from his late home, with interment in
Wildwood cemetery. The Rev. Mr. Horstmeyer officiated. Mr. Kaesermann was born in the county in
1867. His marriage with Miss Louise Mahnke took place on Mary 4, 1895. She survives him
as do also four children.
Mrs. John Mullen
Mrs. John Mullen, aged 80 years, born in County Clare, Ireland, died at
the home of her son Michael on January 5. The funeral was held January 9, with interment in Lady of
Angel's church cemetery at Osceola.
Henry Heinschmeyer died at his home on North Sixth St on Saturday
Feb. 19 of cancer of the intestines. The funeral was held from the family residence on Wednesday
February 23, the Rev. E.R. Schreiber officiating.
Mr. Heinschmeyer was born in Germany, June 10, 1848. He came to
America and Sheboygan while a mere boy, and that city has been his home for most of the sixty-two years
of his life. For thirty years he held the position of chief engineer in the J.J. Vollrath
company's plant. The surviving members of his family are his wife and five children and two
step children as follows: Mrs. Joseph O. Scultz and Mrs. F.A. Gessner of North Dakota; Mrs.
Chester Seurich, Indiana; Alfred and Henry Heinschmeyer, Jr., and Eugenie and Josephine
Harding, of Sheboygan. The last two are children of Mrs. Heinschmeyer by her first
husband. Seven years ago Mr. Heinschmeyer had trouble with his eyes and it was thought
that he would lose his eyesight, but later by an operation his sight was completely restored.
On Wednesday January 26, Mr. Jacob Liebl, died at the age of eight, at
his home on St. Clair avenue, in Sheboygan. The funeral was on Saturday from Holy Name church and the
Rev. Father Thill officiated. Interment was in the North Side Catholic cemetery.
Mr. Liebl was born in Germany on May 11, 1830, and came to Sheboygan
when a boy and has made that city his home ever since. He had enjoyed the best of health up to six
months before his demise, when he was taken with a heart trouble. His wife and eight
children survive his as follows: Mrs. H. Riestenpott; Mrs. Peter Werner, Mrs. Edward
Kausler, Mrs. John Bartsen, and the Misses Theresa, Julia, Rose and Elizabeth. Mr. Liebl was
well and favorably known in the county.
Thomas J. McCarty
Thomas J. McCarty died at his home in Clintonville on February 1.
Funeral was held on February 3, with interment in a cemetery near his late home. He conducted a store and a
saloon at Rhine village for some time. He then ran a hotel at Chilton but returned to Elkhart
Lake where he was landlord and proprietor of the hotel now conducted by J. Gerhardt.
After an illness of many weary months Diedrich Reysen died at his home
in the town of Scott on Saturday, March 19, having arrived at nearly the age of sixty-eight. The funeral
was held on Tuesday, March 22, from the church of the Evangelical Association at Beechwood
and the Rev. G. Reichert officiated. The interment was in the Beechwood cemetery.
Mr. Reysen was born in Germany on May 22, 1842, and came to
Wisconsin in 1865, residing for a few years in Fond du Lac county, after which he went to the town of Scott. In
1870 his union with Miss Christine Frohman took place. The wife and six children survive as
follows: N.J. Reysen at home; Walter of Scott; Julius of Caroline, Shawano county; Mrs.
Rudolph Zilck, Mattoon, Shawano county; Mrs. B. Darling, Caroline, Shawano county, and
Miss Flora at home.
At the home of Mr. and Mrs. John Kohl of the town of Sheboygan Falls,
Mrs. Rebekah Nahler expired on Thursday, February 24, at the age of nearly seventy-eight. For
the last year Mr. and Mrs. Mahler had made their home with their daughter, Mrs. Kohl.
Mrs. Mahler, whose maiden name was Rebekah Wieboldt, was born in
Germany on February 21, 1832, and was married to Mr. Mahler January 29, 1854. They came to America
fifty-five years ago. She is survived by her husband and five children as follows: Mrs. John
Kohland, August Mahler, town of Sheboygan Falls; Mrs. Ernst Strassburger, Herman; Mrs.
W.J. Kohl, Millersville, and Mrs. Moritz Weidener of the town of Meeme; Manitowoc
county. The funeral was held on Monday, February 28, and the Rev. Mr. Mielke officiated.
Louis Rosenthal, aged 35, died at Emergency Hospital, Milwaukee on
Mar. 1, 1910. The funeral was held March 4 with interment in West Bend cemetery. The deceased is the
brother of J.C. Rosenthal of Plymouth.
Mrs. W. David
Mrs. W. David, aged 87 years, died at the home of her sone Carol of
Russell on February 3. Funeral was held on Feb. 6, with interment in the Catholic cemetery. She is
survived by her husband and a family of grown up children.
Kick in Face Fatal
On February 19, 1910, William Wendland died at St. Nicholas hospital,
having several days before been kicked in the face by a horse. Death was due to the injury, it having resulted
in brain fever and convulsions. The young man was twenty-one years old and was the son of
Mr. and Mrs. Fred Wendland of the town of Mosel. He was employed with the Herzog Meat
Company on the Lake Shore road, and was kicked by a horse while hitching it up. His nose
was broken and his face was badly lacerated. The funeral was held on February 22 with
interment in the Lutheran cemetery.
The five-year-old child of Mr. and Mrs. Otto Eisold died on Tuesday
Jan. 25. The funeral was held on Thursday with interment in Wildwood cemetery.
Mrs. Arno Gunderson
Mrs. Arno Gunderson died at St. Nicholas hospital, Sheboygan on
Thursday, January 27, 1910. The funeral was held at Chicago with interment in that city.
Norman, the little six-weeks' old son of Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Zelm of Lyndon
died Friday, January 7. The little one rests in the cemetery north of Cascade.
Maud, the four-year-old daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Vreeke of
Sheboygan died of tuberculosis on Friday, January 21. The remains were laid at rest in Wildwood cemetery.
Herman Utech, aged 76 years, died at the home of his daughter near
Adell on Jan 7. Funeral was held Jan. 11 with interment in St. John's cemetery.
Thomas Slattery, aged forty-five years died at the home of his mother in
Mitchell on Dec. 25, 1909. Funeral was held Dec. 27 at St. Michael's church with interment in the
Frank Liffering, aged 38 years died at the Trinity hospital in Milwaukee
on Jan. 12, funeral was held January 15. About twenty years ago he went to Milwaukee and had been
employed the entire time as shipping clerk for the Schlitz Brewing Co.
Mrs. John Kwekkeboom
Mrs. John Kwekkeboom was born in Westhapple, Netherlands, on Jan.
27th, 1823. She died at the home of her daughter Mrs. Wm. Roelse o the town of Lyndon on January 14. The
funeral was held Jan. 17 with interment in Wildwood cemetery. She cam to America in 1852.
Mrs. W. Cook
Mrs. Wm. Cook died at the home of her daughter Mrs. John Little of
Gladstone, North Dakota on Dec. 31, 1909. She was the wife of Rev. Wm. Cook, a former pastor of the
M.E. Hingham church, about 27 years ago.
Mrs. Ada M. Whiffen
Mrs. Ada M. Whiffen was born in Hingham on March 7, 1852. She died at
her home in Los Angeles, California on Jan. 7. She is survived by her husband, two daughters and a
Peter Gessert Sr.
Peter Gessert, Sr., was born in Odenheim, Hessen-Darmstadt, Germany,
on April 29, 1831. He died at Plymouth on January 15. The funeral was held January 18, with interment
in the Plymouth Union cemetery. He came to America in 1860.
Louis Hensel, age 37 years, died at 611 North Seventh street,
Sheboygan on March 4. The funeral was held March 6 with interment in the Wildwood cemetery. He was a
musician by profession, having made a specialty of the piano.
Mrs. Jesse Cole
Mrs. Jesse Cole was born in Oswego County, New York, Aug. 4, 1844.
She died at Marshalltown, Iowa on March 9. She was interred in the Ireton cemetery. She came to
Sheboygan Falls when four years old and lived there for many years.
Mrs. Friederick Zschetzsche
Mrs. Friederick Zschetzsche was born in Jachtershausen, Saxony, on
May 17, 1819, died at St. Nicholas hospital, Sheboygan March 1. Funeral was held March 4 from the home
of her son Theodore and she was laid to rest in the Wildwood cemetery. She cam to America
in 1850 with her husband, who later founded the Badger State Tanning Co.
Mrs. D. Maercklein
Mrs. D. Maercklein died in Milwaukee on New Year's day of grip. She
was ninety-four years old and was a relative of the Lautenbach families and of Mrs. L. Liese.
Mrs. Augusta Brechtel
The demise of Mrs. Augusta Brechtel occurred at the home of her son
Louis Augsburger on North Eighth street in Sheboygan on Wednesday, January 26. She was one of
the early pioneers of the county. Paralysis was the cause of death. She had suffered a stroke
about a year ago, and another on the Monday preceding her demise.
Mrs. Brechtel was born in Germany, April 13, 1834. When sixteen years
old she came with her parents to America and the Sheboygan, where she has since lived. She was married
to Frederick Augsburger in 1854, and he passed away in 1866. Three years later she was
united in marriage to Sebastian Brechtel who died in 1882. She is survived by only one son,
Louis Augsburger of this city. The funeral was held on Saturday, Jan. 29, the Rev. Mr.
Horstmeyer officiating. Interment was in Wildwood cemetery.
Hugo Joerns died at his home in Winooski, January 3, of tuberculosis of
the brain. He was born in the town of Lyndon, May 17, 1860, and had followed milling and farming. The
funeral was held January 7, from the home, the Royal Arcanum of which he was a member,
having charge. He is survived by the following brothers and sisters: O.B. Joerns and Mrs. G.
Ferguson of Sheboygan, Fred, Paul and Charles Joerns, Mrs. Mary Neuman and Miss Martha
of St. Paul, Mrs. Clara Schwalbe, Orange, Virginia and Misses Helen and Bertha at home.
Philip Eimerman born in the town of Russell on June 17, 1886, died at his
home in the town of Rhine on February 17, after an operation. Funeral was held February 20 with
interment in the Evangelical church cemetery in Rhine. He is survived by his wife to whom
he was married January 29, 1895, and two brothers and five sisters also his parents, Mr. and
Mrs. Peter Eimerman, who live near Sheboygan.
Fred Neese, died on Wednesday, Jan. 26, 1910, at his home on Georgia
avenue in Sheboygan. He had been a resident of that city for many years. He is survived by his wife
and several children. The funeral was held on the following Saturday, the Rev. Mr. Staehling
officiating. The interment was in the Lutheran cemetery.
Mrs. Louis Benn
Mrs. Louis Been born in the town of Sherman 46 years ago died at her
home in Sherman on March 12. Funeral was held March 15 with interment in the Sherman Center
Lutheran cemetery. She was the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Martin Winter of Sherman and is
survived by her husband and eleven children.
Leonhard Miller born in the town of Rhine on September 11, 1866 died at
the home of his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Jac. Miller in Rhine March 13. Funeral was held March 16, with
interment in the Rhine cemetery.
Mrs. Daniel Westerbeke
Mrs. Daniel Westerbeke born in Zeeland, Netherlands in 1879 died at
Oostburg on February 17. Funeral was held February 21 with interment in the Hartman cemetery. She
came to this country when eight years of age. She is survived by her husband, daughter Delia
and son Peter.
Harold Bohm, aged 11 years died at 1118 North Ninth street, Sheboygan
on February 15. Funeral was held February 16 with interment in the Lutheran cemetery.
Ludwig Zimmerman, born in Germany October 23, 1835 died at St.
Nicholas hospital Sheboygan on February 13. Funeral was held February 17 with interment in Flader's Rest
cemetery. He is survived by a wife and several children.
Charles Plautz born in Germany on July 26, 1826 died at his home hear
Random Lake on March 18 of old age. Funeral was held March 21 with interment in St. John's Lutheran
John Keppeler born in the town of Plymouth, fifty years ago, December
20 was found dead in bed the morning of March 22. Funeral was held March 24 with interment in Maple
Grove cemetery. His wife, formerly Maggie Koebel, a son Edward and a daughter Mrs. H.
Gottschalk of Milwaukee and a brother Fred of Plymouth are left.
Pat Harkins born in Ireland, 73 years ago died in Milwaukee March 14 of
Bright's disease. Funeral was held at Adell with interment tin St. Patrick's cemetery. A widow, four
sons, Dennis of Russell, Richard and John of Milwaukee and Mike of Marshfield, three
daughters Mrs. Wm. Masterson of Milwaukee, Mrs. Pat Keenen of Sheboygan and Mary at
home and four brothers Mike and Tom of Kansas, Henry of Adell and Charles survive him.
Charles Jahn, aged 44, died at St. Nicholas hospital, Sheboygan on
March 11. Funeral was held March 14, from his home in Sheboygan with interment in Wildwood cemetery. HE
was a member of the German Verein. He conducted harness shops on Michigan avenue and
on the Calumet road.
Mrs. Fred Arndt
Mrs. Fred Arndt, aged 22 died at Random Lake March 21 of dropsy.
Henry Webb, born in Lafayette, New York on March 4, 1842, died at the
home of his daughter, Mrs. DeSmidt at Baldwin, February 14, after a year's illness. Funeral was held
February 16, at the home of H.F. Thackray and the Methodist church in Greenbush. He
came to Wisconsin at an early date. He went to Baldwin about a year ago. His wife died in
1901. Will Webb of Greenbush is a son and George Webb of West Greenbush is a brother.
Mrs. W.O. Spratt
Mrs. W.O. Spratt, aged 34 years, born a Shopiere, Wisconsin in 1876,
died at Sheboygan on February 17. Funeral was held February 20 with interment in Wildwood
cemetery. She was a member of the Baptists church and of the Rebekahs. She is survived by
her husband, father, Mr. Thurston, and a step son, Walter Spratt.
Mrs Carrie Yelland
Mrs. Carrie Yelland was born in Sheboygan County on Jan. 24, 1875,
died at 521 East Water street, Sheboygan on March 26, 1910. The funeral was held March 28 with interment
in Wildwood cemetery. She was formerly Miss Carrie Schwartz.
John Huibregtse, aged 75 years, died at the home of his son Jac, near
Oostburg, March 15. The funeral was held March 18 at the Gibbsville church. He is survived by the following
children; John at Oregon, Jacob, James and Henry near Oostburg, Mrs. John Eernisse of
Garwin, Ia., Mrs. J. Arensten near Gibbsville and Mrs. Earl Sharpe of Dixon, Ill.
Mrs. Elizabeth Halter
On Tuesday January 11, Mrs. Elizabeth Halter died at her home in the
town of Lima of old age. The funeral was held Thursday, January 13, with interment in the Firmin
cemetery. Mrs. Halter was born in Erie county, New York, in 1820, and came to Wisconsin
in 1859. She resided for many years in the town of Lima. Her marriage to Jacob Halter took
place in Erie county on April 4, 1838. Her maiden name was Miss Elizabeth Miller. Mr.
Halter died in 1867. Two children survive John of Lima and William of Sheboygan Falls.
Mrs. Chas. Hellminger
Mrs. Chas. Hellminger born in Luxemberg, Germany on Nov. 25, 1852,
died at her home in Adell on Jan. 29. The funeral was held Jan. 31 at the Adell Catholic church with
interment in St. Patrick's cemetery. She came to this county in the 80's and was married in
1882. Mr. Hellminger died three years ago, but two sons survive.
Mrs. Wm. Geele
Mrs. Wm. Geele, aged 38 years born in New York, died in Sheboygan on
Jan 29. She was a daughter of Col. and Mrs. Cumberlidge of Sheboygan and is survived by them, her
husband and one son.
Miss Margaret Irwin
Miss Margaret Irwin born in the town of Sherman, died at her home a mile
north of Waldo on March 18 of cancer from which she had long been a sufferer. She had lived near
Waldo 35 years and was nearly 47 years of age. Her aged father is the only relative she leaves
in this vicinity. The deceased was for many years a faithful correspondent for the Herald.
The funeral was March 20, and she was laid to rest in the Onion River cemetery.
Otto Thimmig, who was thirty-seven years old, died at his home in the
town of Wilson on January 4, 1910. He is survived by this wife. His remains were laid to rest in the
town of Wilson cemetery on January 9.
Mrs. August Schmidt
Mrs. August Schmidt born in Germany on Sept 19, 1834, died at her home
in Sheboygan on March 15. The funeral was held at the home, March 18 with interment in the
Lutheran cemetery. Her husband and one son, John Schmidt are left. Mr. and Mrs. Schmidt
would have celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of their wedding this year had Mrs. Schmidt lived.
John Krautkramer, aged nearly 78 died in Milwaukee on March 5 at the
home of his daughter, Mrs. Hildebrand. Funeral was held March 10, 1ith interment in the Beechwood
cemetery, beside his wife who died eighteen years ago. The funeral was held from the home
of his son John of Scott.
Mrs. Marie Scott
The body of Mrs. Marie Scott of Chicago was brought to Sheboygan
Falls for burial on March 30. Three sons and a sister survive her.
Henry Kuehle died on Jan. l, 1910 at his home in Sheboygan, at the age
of fifty-two. The funeral was held on January 5, with interment in Wildwood.
Edward Cummin, aged twenty-seven died at his home in Mitchell on
Jan. 5, 1910. The interment took place on the following Saturday. He leaves a wife and one child.
Mrs. Ferdinand Vorpagel
Mrs. Ferdinand Vorpagel, born in Germany on September 17, 1835 died
at her home in Beechwood on January 23. Funeral was held January 26 with interment in Beechwood
cemetery. She came to this country in 1873. She is survived by her husband, one daughter and three sons.
Mrs. M.B. Root
Mrs. Mary B. Root, aged 87 years died at Fond du Lac. Funeral was
held February 1, with interment in St. Cloud Forest home cemetery. She was for several years a resident of
Miss Charlotte Schmidt daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Schmidt, died of
an attack of typhoid fever. She was fifteen years and the daughter of the well-known band leader.
Michael Reilly, who was over 6? years old died at his home near Parnell,
on February 15. Funeral was held February 18, at St. Mary's Catholic church with interment in the
adjoining cemetery. He was a member of the Parnell Foresters who attended the funeral.
A wife, three daughters and three sons are left. Mrs. Flaherty of Eden,
May, Stella, John and Thomas at home and Lawrence the Parnell merchant.
Robert Yoost, aged 30 years, died at 1513 Michigan Avenue, Sheboygan
March 5. The funeral was held March 7 with interment in the Wildwood.
Peter Karpolis died at St. Nicholas hospital on February 24. He was a
Rudolph Wagner died at his home in Sheboygan on Thursday, February
24. He was forty-three years old.
John Sanders, aged 22 years, born in Sheboygan, died in that city on
March 16 after a lingering illness.
F.W.A. Zurheide, born in Bielefeld, Westphalia, Germany, on May 24,
1824, died at his home on 1030 North Fifteenth street Sheboygan February 1. Funeral has held February 3
with interment in Lutheran cemetery. He was member of the local G.A.R. and the Working
Men's Aid Society. His wife survives him as do also four children.
Nicholas Ort, born in Rhine Province, Germany, on December 8, 1822,
died at 1209 North Eighth street, Sheboygan on February 1. Funeral has held February 3 with interment
in North Side Catholic cemetery. He came to America at the age of eighteen. Mr. Ort was
one of the oldest pioneers of his nationality in Sheboygan County.
August Buechler died at Albuerque, New Mexico, on March 19. Funeral
was held March 25 with interment in St. George cemetery. He was the son of August Buechler of St. George.
John Liebl Sr.
John Liebl, Sr., a former resident of the town of Scott, died at the home
of his son Bernhard in Milwaukee on Monday, February 21, at the age of seventy-eight. He was the
father of Mrs. A. Seifert of Adell. The funeral was held at Kohler, near Fredonia, Father Dells officiating.
Mrs. Susan K. Ehle
Mrs. Susan K. Ehle born in the state of New York on March 17, 1832 died
at the home of Wm. Ubbelohde at Waldo, February 21. Funeral was held February 24, with interment in
the Fond du Lac cemetery. For many years Mr. and Mrs. Ehle lived between Greenbush and St. Cloud.
Carl F. Pergande
Carl F. Pergande, age 87 years, was born in Germany died at Lake View
Sheboygan on February 26. He was suffocated by gas escaping from a coal stove in the house.
Oscar E. Rudloff
Oscar E. Rudloff, aged 23 years died at Sheboygan on March 23.
Funeral was held March 26 with interment in Lutheran cemetery. He was motorman on the freight run
between Sheboygan and Plymouth. He was born in Germany having come to this country
when 6 years of age.
Mrs. Barbara Heinkel
Mrs. Barbara Heinkel, aged 55 years died at the home of her daughter
on 1135 Lincoln avenue Sheboygan on March 23. Funeral was held March 26 with interment in Wildwood.
She is survived by four children, all of Sheboygan.
George Hinman, born in the town of Greenbush 54 years ago, died at a
hospital in Dubuque, Iowa, on March 14. Funeral was held in Greenbush with interment in Greenbush
cemetery. He was formerly of Greenbush.
Cecelia Nelson, aged 5 years, died at 1030 High avenue Sheboygan on
March 23. Funeral was held March 25 with interment in South Side Catholic cemetery.
Alexander Ruppel, aged 3 years, died at home in Sheboygan on March
22. Funeral was held the same day with interment in the Lutheran cemetery.
Marshall Trowbridge was born in Little Valley, New York in 1828. He
died at Dutch Hill, New York on February 25. Deceased is a brother of E.G. Trowbridge of Sheboygan Falls.
Mrs. Louisa Beiersdorf
Mrs. Louisa Beiersdorf, aged 87 years, died at her home in Kreig
addition, Sheboygan, March 5. Funeral was held March 8 with interment in Lutheran cemetery. She is survived
by her husband and three children, Wm. Beiersdorf and Mrs. Amelia Grams of this city and August of Antigo.
Cornelia De Vriend
Miss Cornelia De Vriend, aged 22 years died at 223 Lincoln avenue,
Sheboygan on March 8. Funeral was held March 10 with interment in Wildwood cemetery. She came to
America from Holland three years ago.
Frank Pooler, aged 25 years, died at 421 North Seventh street,
Sheboygan on March 6. Funeral was held March 9 with interment in Wildwood cemetery.
Mrs. Rosina Spittel
Mrs. Rosina Spittel, born in Germany on November 4, 1825, died at
1132 Alabama avenue, Sheboygan on March 22. Funeral was held March 24 with interment in Wildwood
cemetery. She is one of the earlier pioneers of Sheboygan county. Mrs. Sittel is survived by three children.
Death from Fall
On February 8, 1910, Sylvester the adopted son of Mr. and Mrs. William
Lewendowski of Sheboygan, fell from a sleigh belonging to the Garton Toy Company and in
the fall broke his neck, dying three hours after the accident. It appears that he was riding on
the back of the sleigh with other boys when he fell off. Two of his comrades drew him home
and finding no one in the house, laid him on a bed, where he was found by the mother shortly
afterwards. Two physicians were called in who found that the upper vertebra had been driven
into the base of the skull. The remains rest in Holy Name Catholic cemetery.
Meets Death by Drowning
Mrs. Albert Mahnske came to her death on February 2, 1910, by
accidently drowning in the swimming pool in Born's sanitarium. The coroner jury after hearing all the testimony
and considering the circumstances came to that conclusion. On discovering the body shortly
after the drowning occurred a physician was called, bu all efforts to revive her failed. She was
a patient at the sanitarium, suffering from a nervous trouble. Mrs. Mahnske's maiden name
was Bertha Riemer, she was forty-six years old, was born in Germany on February 26, 1864,
and came to American about twenty years ago. She is survived by her husband and one
daughter, Sophia. The funeral was held on February 4, with interment in the Lutheran
cemetery. The Rev. Mr. Krueger officiated.
Unknown Man Killed
On March 12, 1910, an unknown man was struck by a car on the
Milwaukee Northern line near Cedar Grove and he sustained fatal injuries. He died the same day and the
remains were taken to Sheboygan.
On Saturday, January 8, 1910, the Sheboygan County agricultural
association held its annual meeting and chose the following officers:
President - Philo K. Wheeler
Vice-president - N. Saemann
Treasurer - E.A. Dow
Secretary - Otto Gaffron
The city of Plymouth Mutual Fire Insurance Company held its annual
meeting gon January 3rd. The officers' reports shoed that the company had had no losses to
pay during the year 1909, and that its assets had passed the $20,000 mark although it takes no risks outside
the city and has been in existence only sixteen years.
On March 19 a Farmers' Telephone company was organized by a
number of persons residing east of the city of Plymouth. A company was formed to be known as the Plank road
Telephone Line. These were chosen as directors; W. Schroeder, H. Kallemberg and Charles
Laack, who were authorized to get out articles of incorporation, the capital stock to be $2500.
The County Order of the Wisconsin Experiment Association held its first
annual meeting of the City Hall, Plymouth, February 24th, 1910. A very creditable display of cereals,
corn and alfalfa was made. These officers were chosen.
President - W.L. Illian
Vice-president - J.O. Parrish
Secretary and Treasurer - O.R. Frauenheim
A severe snow storm visited this part of the state on January 4th and 5th.
It snowed and drifted badly from noon January 4th until the following morning and the entire county was
snow bound. The sudden change of the wind from a northwesterly direction to a easterly
direction was a marked feature of the storm. The country roads were in an impassable
condition, and it required sometime for the interurban to get its cars running on schedule
time. The storm was followed by severely cold weather.
Social, Industrial and Biographical Record
Second Quarter Sheboygan, Wis. 1910
The history of Glenbeulah can be said to date back to 1850 when Hazel
Peckham Clark came to this county from Rhode Island and settled on a piece of land a part of which is
the site of the village
If you have any question, e-mail Debie
Copyright 1997 - 2005 by Debie Blindauer
All Rights reserved
Census Records | Vital Records | Family Trees & Communities | Immigration Records | Military Records Directories & Member Lists | Family & Local Histories | Newspapers & Periodicals | Court, Land & Probate | Finding Aids