Search billions of records on

NZ Bound    Index    Search    Hints   Lists  

The main immigrant ports for New Zealand bound vessels were:

North Island, New Zealand South Island, New Zealand


Napier Lyttelton (Christchurch)
New Plymouth Port Chalmers (Dunedin)
Wellington Westport, Greymouth & Hokitika

New Zealand from above

New Zealand Ports Alternative Names or Renamed

	 Onehunga: On the west side of Auckland
Waitemata Harbour: On the east side of Auckland
  Manukau Harbour: On the west side of Auckland
    	  Ahuriri: Napier
	  Moturoa: New Plymouth
       Port Eliot: New Plymouth
    Port Taranaki: New Plymouth
  Lambton Harbour: Wellington
   Port Nicholson: Wellington
	 Port Nic: Whaling slang for Port Nicholson
     Nelson Haven: Nelson
      Port Nelson: Nelson
 Port Marlborough: Picton  
      Port Cooper: Lyttelton Harbour
    Port Victoria: Finally renamed Lyttelton Harbour
	Lyttelton: Port for Christchurch 
     Caroline Bay: Timaru 
    Port Chalmers: Dunedin
	The Bluff: Bluff
     Campbelltown: Bluff
   Port Macquarie: Bluff

New Zealand Bound

"Cook Strait is not a mill pond"