Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   

NZ Bound   Index   Search   Hints    Lists   Ports

There is a good deal of history on the road to Macetown, N.Z.   

 The miners were from all nations. 

A cairn monument just up the river from the reconstructed Arrowtown Chinese Settlement reminds us that gold was discovered by up the Arrow River in 1862 by William Fox but this was probably by Jack Tewa (Maori Jack). This is also the start of the 15km (12 mile) serpentine bumpy 4WD (with a snorkel) (was not needed) Macetown Dray Road with about 26 -28 Arrow River crossings, a main goldmining-era river. Autumn would be a beautiful time to go after the poplars and willows change colour. I went with a 4WD tour operator in mid November 2011 and the lupines were just starting to bloom. Had stayed the night at the Settlers Cottage Motel in Arrowtown - excellent. A month earlier would have been the time to catch the daffodils in bloom at remote Macetown, possibility marking garden paths, flower beds, walls and the boundaries of hut locations. Only saw two varieties of daffodils blooming while we were there, one with an extremely white pedal and a small yellow crinkled cup surrounded by a red trim (Narcissus poeticus) and the other, the old yellow Narcissus telemoneus Plenus. Also bluebells and a lilac bush were in bloom and an apple tree. There are exotic trees and probably nut trees in the area that was once a treeless river flat e.g. sycamore, willow, poplar, ash and spruce. The first three fords are the deepest - take the bottom crossing at the first 'Deep Ford'. The exact route through some fords was pretty critical.  We did not have any wet floor mats or feet. This medium 4WD road is OK so long as the track is dry and the river normal. A key tip is to follow the curve of the weirs at the river crossings. The rough road is dangerous during the winter months. Slips are a natural feature in winter as thawing after a good frost brings down the slips.

Macetown was home to a mostly itinerant, international community of hopeful gold diggers who left the tiny township almost as quickly as they came, wrote Nikki Waghorn Write Angle Survey Quarterly, Issue 50, June 2007 pg 14.

THE GOLDMINER'S DATABASE - offsite

Western Argus (Kalgoorlie, WA) Tuesday 30 August 1927 p9
Oldest Gold Digger. Mr. John L. Potter of Timaru, N.Z. who has just celebrated his ninety third birth day, claims to be "The Oldest Gold digger under the Southern Cross and the Union Jack." Mr. Potter was born in Sunderland, Durham (Eng.), on July 25, 1834. He was on the Ballarat diggings in 1854, and Aug. last was the 71st anniversary of Miner's Right No 16 which was issued to him on August 1, 1856. Mr. Potter was at Gabriel's Gully (Otago) in 1861, and is still hale and hearty, despite his advancing years.

Otago Daily Times 11 April 1890, Page 2
Reefton, April 10. William Fox, a well-known Otago and West Coast explorer and gold prospector, died rather suddenly yesterday. He was buried to-day and had a very large funeral. William Fox was a well-known miner and prospector in the early days of Otago. Though not the actual discoverer of the Arrow field, he and his party tracked M'Gregor and his party to the spot where they were getting about 20 oz of gold a day with the cradle alone. This was in November 1862. The two parties were working for some time without a rush setting in, but Fox paid a visit to the Dunstan and he was watched and followed. The richness of the field in shown by the returns given by Mr John Cormack, of Tuapeka, in Mr Pyke's "History of Early Gold Discoveries." Fox's party secured 40 lb weight of gold in two weeks; M'Gregor's 82 lb, and Cormack's party 110 lb, in a little over four weeks, having cradled 109 oz in one day.  

Otago Witness 14 January 1887, Page 14
The frequent association of Fox's name with this discovery has caused him to be regarded as the original discoverer of the Arrow gold-fields. Such however is not the case. The first persons who developed the auriferous resources of the locality were a Mr McGregor and his mates, who commenced mining operations on the 4th October, Five days later Fox's party tracked them to the spot. But in truth the real discoverer was a Thames native - Hatini Whiti, otherwise Anthony White, but who was best known as Maori Jack. I was always aware of this, but to strengthen my memory, I applied to persons who were veritable actors in the events I am going to narrate. The first of these is Mr W. G. Rees, now resident at Timaru who was one of the earliest and most energetic explorers of that country around Lake Wakatipu. This gentleman discovered and took up the Wakatipu country in December 1859; got his sheep up there in 1860; had his first shearing in December 1861.


The Macetown Guestbook
 - be a guest

Name:
Email:

Why are you interested in Macetown?
Have you visited? When? How?
Any hints to make the journey more worthwhile?
Comments:


Walk in

On the way up you can see the recent work done by spraying contractors working for Robert "Mutt" Lange. Lange is the ex-husband of singer Shania Twain [Eileen Lange] and producer of albums for rockers AC/DC and Def Leppard. Lange and Twain, who separated in 2008, bought Motatapu Station and Mt Soho Stations in 2005 for $21.4m, and gifted 28km of track through the property as a condition of sale. Twain and her husband had built - two alpine-standard huts, interpretation panels, track signage, route markers and formed new track where required. In late 2009, Lange bought Glencoe Station for an undisclosed amount. The station adjoins both Motatapu and Mt Soho Stations. Lange is also on a mission to remove the wilding pines and goats off the stations. An historic area of pines near Eight Mile has been clear cut and a few old producing apple trees along the track have been killed by the spraying. This is a lost to the hikers and historians. The demanding heavily tussocked three day new Motatapu tramping track (just a marked route), opened in 2008, links Wanaka and Arrowtown, follows the Fern Burn to its headwaters on Motatapu station, and across the hills to Macetown (44°52′1.8″ S, 168°48′22.8″ E ) before linking to existing tracks to Arrowtown. There is a third hut in the Fern Burn. The track will be part of the Te Araroa/The Long Pathway, which is the walkway planned to go from Cape Reinga to Bluff. In Arrowtown beside the The Arrow River, you can walk, run or mountain bike on the Millennium Walk that flanks each side of the river (with two bridges creating a looped track) then there is Tobin's Track'. photos, photos & more map map map 15k run 

  

This chimney won't stand long due to the frosts thawing causing the crack to increase. The site of the old Mt. Soho homestead is about half way where a grove of trees has been recently clear cut. Lupins about to bloom. Early December should be the right time to catch the lupins in bloom. The house was moved to Arrowtown.  

Cemetery Flat - four graves

Learn about the history before you go and options e.g. driving in and walking or biking out, climbing Advance Peak, camping over night to see the wonderful southern night sky, walking to the Homeward Battery, gold panning options (look for the black sands), climbing above Cemetery Flat. A few years ago a scan of the ground was done to find the correct location for the cemetery and this spot was fenced off by the DOC.  No markers remain.  Who is buried there? That is the question I want to find the answer for. There are only four graves. To find names a scan of newspapers would be needed that might reveal who the other two are.

The museum at Arrowtown has info on graves at Macetown but not much on who they are. A lot of work was done by a retired surveyor Ron Keen of Lake Ohau, he had an interest in the cemetery. He plotted where the cemetery was using original maps - and it was due to his interest in the site that lead to field work being carried out in 2007. In January 1878, E.H. Wilmot, a surveyor laid out the town. Wilmot's later 1888 town plan redefined a cemetery reserve and indicated three burials at the cemetery site. Later research showed two.  An 11 year old girl and How Tye [sic] who died in 1875 and his burial was reported in the Lake Wakatipu Mail 15 December 1875, "He was buried, with all the peculiar honours customary on such occasions, in the Macetown Cemetery by his fellow Chinese miners." But the others were unknown.

An article in Survey Quarterly Issue 50 June 2007 by Nikki Waghorn Write Angle, reports on Ron's work and interest in researching the Macetown Cemetery.

Four decades ago, in 1976, Ron was working with the Depart of Lands and Survey as a surveyor for the part of the newly established Goldfields Park and Ron discovered there was the remains of a wooden fence and depressions in the ground but it wasn't until 2007 he was able to re-examine the area and get the DOC to fence off the old cemetery site. In March 2007 a discovery team - DOC staff, Ron, a GPR specialist and Television New Zealand, survey (ground penetrating radar) found three graves, dispelling the idea that the graves may have only been temporary as the burials were at 1.5 metres. A standard measurement for a permanent grave site rather than a temporary interment and, surprisingly one other previously unknown grave site. The new grave was smaller and this has lead to the belief that it is the grave of Emily Croad. Emily was the daughter of James Croad and Emily Godfrey who had married in Queenstown in August 1868. Their first born child, daughter Emily was born 23 June 1869 and died at 12 Mile (Macetown) on 2 July 1871, aged two years. Her death registration was recorded on 19 July 1871. The delay between death and registration suggests that no one ventured out from Macetown to make the official registration of death for over two weeks, leading to the idea that the burial would have been conducted by the parents at Macetown. At that time the body would have had to be carried out in winter weather via the Big Hill track as the road to Macetown was not completed until 1884. Temporary interments in goldrush days were used to hold bodies when weather conditions prevented them being transported to Arrowtown. Since the field work had located positively the site and the graves the Department of Conservation have now securely fenced the cemetery site.

So feel like a pioneer and walk or drive up the Macetown track and see our back-country heritage.

1. Otago Daily Times 17 April 1886, Page 3
Arrow, April 16. William Callaghan, [age 52] a miner at Macetown, met with his death this morning at his claim by a quantity of earth falling on him. A friend of his, Robert Jenkins, who was in the habit of calling upon him every morning, went as usual this morning to pay him his visit. Not finding him in his claim, the friend sat down, thinking. Callaghan had gone to do something to his race and would shortly return. While waiting, he presently saw the water which was running down the face washing bare a pair of feet. Making sure that he was not deceived, he found that, they were Callaghan's feet, who must have been buried almost as soon as he went to work. Giving the alarm immediately, help soon arrived; but the unfortunate man was quite dead when got out.
    Otago Witness, 24 April 1886, Page 12
The deceased, William Callaghan, who had been a resident miner at Macetown for many years, was buried in the local cemetery, a large number of residents following his remains to their last resting place.

Queenstown Lakes District online cemetery records covers Arrowtown


Cemetery Flat with the cemetery fenced off. Advance Peak (5,700ft) in the background.
That track to the left was there when Macetown inhabited. See the old photo 1920s
(opens in another window)

The Story of Macetown (aka Twelve Mile Creek)

A canvas town sprang up at the junction of Twelve Mile Creek (aka Rich Burn) and the Arrow River and this became the start of Macetown with population of about 300. The Premier Mine closed in 1905 and the Homeward Battery in 1914. Homeward Bound Stamper Battery is a relic of significant historical interest, a must see for anyone who visits Macetown area. A 1-hour challenging walk up the Rich Burn Valley from the 4WD car park at the road's end in Macetown. DOC has restored the bakehouse and the teacher's residence. By 1921 William Jenkins was the last remaining resident. The Arrowtown irrigation scheme was commenced in 1925, and the road was kept up as far as the intake near Billy Creek, which is halfway between Arrowtown and Macetown. At Brackens Creek the road is built on a dry stone wall at a height of 500 feet, and this gives an idea of the work involved in the forming of the road. Many miles of it were built on these dry stone walls which are now hidden in many places by the vegetation. The road was put in, in 1881-1883. Before this the miners and their families would struggle to Macetown on the Big Hill Track. W.M. Hopkins, the artist, visited Macetown in the 1880s when the road was much better and used regularly and did nine watercolours of the area. The photographers, Burton Brothers and Hart Brothers visited in the late 1870s. Te Papa has their collection of photos online. The Hocken Library also has 43 photos online. photos.


compare  (opens in another window)

Taranaki Herald, 16 January 1864, Page 3
Arrow River. Mr. Warden Hickeon reports the population on this goldfield at 2500 distributed in the following proportion Arrow township, and others not engaged in mining 450.

Arrow River and adjoining gullies 	1150 
Cardrona River 				 250 
Upper Shotover River 			 300 
Flats in the vicinity of Arrow township  350 
 
Miners 					2120 
Storekeepers 				 380 
					2500 

The fluming, mentioned in the last report, is very nearly completed across the Twelve Mile Creek, and it certainly does much credit to the enterprising owners. A party had flumed the water across the Eight-mile Creek, near its junction with the Arrow, at a height of 35 feet, and span of 120 feet. The miners generally in this direction are doing well. The population of these two places may be estimated at between 500 and 600.  

Otago Witness 21 January 1882, Page 13
Quite a number of tourists made their way up to Macetown during the recent excursion season, and all pronounced themselves highly satisfied with the scenery of the place and along the road to it. The quartz-mines, of course, were also inspected, and admired, be far as I have heard, none ascended Advance Peak, which, while it is easy of access, affords views which can scarcely be excelled in any part of the Southern Alps.

Otago Witness 1 April 1903, Page 67
Dear Dot,— Here I sun again after the absence of about four months. We are well in the autumn now, and winter will soon be here again. It looks wintry here now, as there is snow on the hilltops already. The holidays are now a thing of the post, and very bad weather we had then, too. I spent my holidays in Dunedin, and enjoyed myself immensely. I was in town for a week, and never met a D.L.F., but it can't be helped better luck next time. This little township is very quiet at present, as there are not many people here now, as there is very little work doing. There is only one mine working now, and it is about three miles from here. There are two high mountains here that you can get a good all-round view from namely, Advance Peak [to the north] and Mount Soho [to the east], the latter being the higher of the two, and there is some beautiful scenery to be seen from the top. Three lakes can be seen from the summit namely, Lakes Wakatipu, Hayes, and Hawea. Lake Wakatipu is the largest lake of the three. It is said to be 60 miles long; the other lakes are nothing compared with Wakatipu. The Southern Alps can also be seen from Soho, and very they look in the distance. They are snowblad all the year round. My brother and I were up at Soho early in November, and when coming down we found a lot of seagull's nests. It is a swampy place, with a few small streams of water running through it. The gulls build their nests of erase, which is heaped up about lft or 18in above the ground, and make a neat little nest on the top. They lay from two to three eggs, the eggs being about the size of a turkey's egg, and are speckled black. The young are very pretty little things. They are quite grey in, colour before they get their feathers. I had a tame one, and, my word, it was a terror to cat. He tried to swallow a whole rat, but could not manage it. It was quite a common, thing for him to swallow a whole mouse. 
Yours truly,
"Spring Gun, Macetown, Lake County."


Snow capped Advance Peak in the background - Nov. 2011 with the restored bakehouse on the left side of High St. on a rise and the informational panels in the foreground at the site of Smith's store. An area of Chinese huts was located on the flat just east of Smith's Store and bakehouse.

From the DOC information board in front of the bakehouse.

A gold-mining town. Between 100 and 200 people were living here from 1863 until the early 1900s. From the first sprawl of calico tents in summer 1863, a small township of substantial buildings grew - hotels, stores, school, and public hall. By the 1920s, most people had gone and the town died. Today, the story of Macetown lives on in these tumbled stones and groves of mature trees.

Serving the community. This building is the bakehouse built for storekeeper William Tily Smith. It is one of the two restored buildings at Macetown. You are standing on the site of Smith's store. General stores were essential lifelines for isolated settlements. Tily Smith ran a store here from 1865 until he left after suffering an accident in 1917. Smith was known for his honesty and concern for the local families. In his time, most of the Macetown miners were working for the quartz mining companies. Unlike self-employed gold-miners, company workers dependant on wages. Struggling companies were often slow to pay, and the storekeeper always allowed them goods on credit.

Restoring the past. First restored in 1979, the bakehouse has two rooms. The blocked off right-hand room, still full of rubble, is where the ovens were sited. The building has now had further preservation work done by the Department of Conservation. The window is not original and was provided to allow you to see into this room.
 

Otago Witness 27 May 1887, Page 17
Some time ago a resident of Macetown, with a view to devoting his leisure hours to the study of astronomy, purchased a powerful equatorial telescope, and, in anticipation of the approaching perihelion of Mars, has been busy making improvements on the instrument. He has, it is alleged, now succeeded to a really wonderful degree, and during one of the late clear evenings, for which Macetown is so well and so favourably known, on account of its great altitude, he was, I am informed, rewarded by observing a distinct movement upon Mars. Imagine the possibilities to which the discovery opens the way.

Reference online:  'Papers Past' - a NZ National Library website. 
Brightening Prospects The ore was crushed.

Star 25 April 1877, Page 3
At Macetown, the Homeward Bound Company's crushing of 120 tons yielded 78 ounces, taken from a poor part. Very fine stone is now coming to grass. Another battery starts at Macetown on Thursday, for the first time.

Daily Telegraph 21 November 1882, Page 3
The Gladstone Company at Macetown has sent down a cake of 200 ounces of gold for a fortnight's crushing.

Nelson Evening Mail, 24 December 1885, Page 2
The Premier Company, Macetown, sent a cake down of 294 ounces of retorted gold.

Otago Witness 12 February 1891, Page 11
The Macetown Reefs. By Our Special Reporter.

Feilding Star, 8 October 1897, Page 2
Dunedin, October 6. The Glenrock Company, Macetown, obtained a cake of smelted gold weighing 211ozs 15dwts 12grs from 450 tons of stone.

Daily Telegraph 5 November 1897, Page 3
Dunedin, This day. The Glenrock Company, Macetown, obtained 434 ounces of smelted gold from 370 tons of stone for the month of October.

Daily Telegraph 30 August 1898, Page 3
The Glearook mine, Macetown, crushed 155 ounces of retorted gold from 305 tons stone.

The Big Hill Track was used before the road was put in 1881-1883. Winter snow as a problem.
Arrowtown-Macetown via German and Big Hill, 3400 feet.

Otago Daily Times 5 June 1872, Page 2
A fatal accident occurred on the night of the 8th or the morning of the 9th ult., between Arrowtown and Macetown, to a man named Edward Cox, baker to Messrs M'Dougall and Smith, Macetown. The Arrow Observer adds From what we can learn, it appears that Cox left Arrowtown on Wednesday evening (the 8th ult.), with some loaded packhorses, for Macetown. It must have been pitch dark by the time he got to the top of the range, and the unfortunate man seems to have missed the track, and fallen over a rocky precipice some forty or fifty feet. The horses came home alone, and, after a little, search parties were organised to seek for the missing man. He was found next morning quite dead. The deceased was a man about 45 or 50 years of age.

Otago Witness 23 November 1878, Page 9
Mr John Williams, the manager of the Gladstone Quartzmining Company, broke his collar- bone the day, through his horse stumbling on the return journey to Macetown. The Arrow River continues to encroach on the municipality of Arrowtown, and washed away recently a considerable portion of the bank at the back of Mr Scoles's New Orleans Hotel.

       
Vandalism


Above Macetown. Wateraces are obvious through out the hills running for miles.
Historic schist stones walls can by found on the all weather pack track between Arrowntown and Macetown and in Macetown.


Just after Macetown, looking towards Arrowtown. Trees have been sprayed and others dealt with by the chainsaw. compare  (opens in another window)


Rich Burn with gold mining trailings above and across the stream.


This sign is the down on the road through Macetown Reserve.


Looks like the wall of a stone hut


 The boughs of trees, the roots of flowers at least are always here.


Looking back towards Macetown - don't expect to buy anything there. There is only a toilet and that is a long drop.


Lupins just starting to bloom.


Needham's Cottage. The doors are unlikely to be the original. The windows were installed in 1979 during restoration. The floor would have been flagstone. The walls are about 40cm thick.


A shallow ford.


The Macetown road looking towards Arrowtown. note the berries in the foreground. Mid Nov. 2011.

 
Nearly back to Arrowtown


Nov. 2011. Pans and shovels can be from the local stores. Bend your knees to prevent a sore back.

In 1880 the town had a main street, hotels, bakeshop, telephone, public hall, a J.P. - Mr Smith, etc.
In 1880 W.T. Smith was the postmaster- salary £11.

Otago Witness 28 March 1874, Page 15 Birth
Death : Scott Jane Elizabeth: On the 6th February, suddenly, at East Strafthdownie, Casterton, Victoria, Jane Elizabeth, eldest daughter of the late Rev John Scott, HEICS, Hourah, Calcutta, and sister of Mr D McP Scott, Schoolmaster, Macetown.

Bruce Herald, 21 May 1878, Page 6
A fatal accident occurred at the claim of Messrs O'Keef and Aherne in the Eight mile Creek, Arrow River, on Saturday morning, the 4th instant, by which John Aherne, miner, lost his life. A large stone, several tons weight, gave way from one side of a tail race and crushed the man to death by jamming him against the other side of the tail race. The other shareholder, O'Keef, was regulating the supply of water, a couple of chains away from the site of the accident, at the moment of its occurrence, and upon his return a few moments after found himself powerless to relieve his suffering or dead companion of the weighty with which he was crushed. There being no near neighbours, help had to be obtained from a considerable distance, when the stone, was cut away and the body removed to the Eight-mile Hotel, and thence by permission to Arrowtown, in Jopp's dray, over the Big-hill track, thus Saving the labour of about thirty men, who Upon all similar occasions have been called upon as volunteers to carry their stricken comrades or members of their families to Arrowtown. The inquest was held on the remains On Monday morning, and the funeral took place in the afternoon of the same day, the service of the Catholic Church being read at the grave in the Arrow cemetery, by Mr John Quinn.

Otago Witness 22 November 1879, Page 12
Sickness and death are growing upon a portion of this country at an alarming rate. There have been no less than three deaths in less than a fortnight in the neighbourhood of Arrowtown. It is true that the illness in all these cases resulted from colds, but it is rather startling that the fatal result was owing to the same cause disease of the lungs in all three cases. The decease of Mr James Croad, a miner of nearly 17 years' residence at Macetown. This case receives an additional gloom from the fact that for several days Mrs Croad was lying at the point of death, daring which time her husband was taken to the Frankton Hospital, where he expired to-day. Like every man of sterling qualities, so Mr Croad could boast of a large circle of genuine friends, as was shown on the occasion of his removal from Macetown, when nearly the whole place turned out to carry the sick man, who was too ill to ride, over a distance of twelve miles. Mr Croad leaves a widow with six young children, who are unprovided for. These sudden deaths, by which the healthiest men and women are striken down, have caused almost a panic here, and to consider that the grim enemy of life has made breaches in the heads of families, and rendered sixteen little children either mother or fatherless, there can be no wonder that consternation should take possession of every resident here.

Southland Times 8 May 1880, Page 2
Southland Education Board. At the ordinary meeting of the Board held yesterday, the following appointments were made Joseph Needham, headmaster, Macetown.
AJHR 1883 salary £132  Joseph Needham - teacher -  average attendance 27
AJHR 1885 salary £112  Joseph Needham - teacher  -  average attendance 21-25
AJHR 1897 salary £128  Mary Milford - teacher  - average attendance 37
AJHR 1900 salary £126  M.M. Sangster - teacher - - average attendance 36
AJHR 1901 salary £124  Margaret M. Sangster - teacher -  - average attendance 33
AJHR 1906 salary £117  Marion Orr - teacher  - average attendance 21

Otago Witness 30 July 1881, Page 18
A fatal accident occurred on the Arrow Valley track yesterday week. Mr John M'Crae, on the Saturday afternoon in question, left Arrowtown for Macetown in company with Robert Hood, jun., his nephew. When they arrived at the most dangerous part of the track, M'Crae attempted to get off his horse, and before Hood (who was in charge of a team of packhorses) could render any assistance the unfortunate man had fallen over a precipice several hundred feet in height. The deceased received several severe wounds on the head, which led to his death. It was only after great difficulty that the body was found in a crevice of the rocks, and the greatest praise is due to those who, at the risk of their own lives, lowered it by means of ropes to the bed of the Arrow River, where Mr Tom Valentine took the body of deceased on his horse in front of him and conveyed it to Arrowtown. An inquest was held before Mr C. C. Boyes on the following Monday morning, when the jury returned a verdict of accidental death. The remains of the deceased, who was a well-known and much-respected miner at Macetown, were interred on the afternoon of the same day in the Arrow cemetery, and followed to their lost resting-place by a large number of the friends of the deceased.
    Tree-planting has engaged the municipal authorities at Queenstown and Arrowtown for years past. The incoming season will show a decided improvement in the appearance of the streets of these townships, and it is to be hoped that the success which has attended the undertaking will incite the powers that be to further efforts in the same direction.
The special rate it is proposed to levy, in aid of the Macetown dray road, via Arrow Valley, is generally received with favour, and counting opinions, so far as they are expressed, the vote of the ratepayers will give assent to it.

Southland Times 4 September 1882, Page 4
The Macetown dray road, and the establishment of telephonic with Arrowtown, which may now be looked upon as settled, are innovations that are calculated to exert a stimulating influence beyond anything that could possibly be done for Macetown, and when they are completed a season of prosperity is likely to open for the place, which will stamp it as one of the most important mining centres in the colony.

Southland Times 18 January 1883, Page 2
The telephone from Arrowtown to Macetown will be taken in hand at once. The line for the poles is being laid of at present, and tenders for their erection and fixing the wire will be called for at once. The Hon. Mr Rolleston and Mr McKerrow, Chief Surveyor, accompanied by Mr Fergus, M.H.R. for Lake County, arrived at Arrowtown to-day from Cardrona, and proceeded at once to Macetown. [Erected in 1883- 7 miles line from Arrowtown to Macetown]

Otago Witness 5 May 1883, Page 13
Last night, about 6 o'clock an old resident and pioneer of this district, Mr Thomas Smith, died after an illness of several weeks. Mr Smith was mining for many years at Macetown, but he latterly conducted his brother's (Mr W. T. Smith) branch store at that place, and lately he had established himself as a working saddler at Arrowtown. Mr Smith was a universal favourite, and much respected by all who know him.

Otago Witness, 26 July 1884, Page 12
Death. Mr John Martin, a resident for many years at Macetown, died last week from a general backing up of the system, the deceased being 70 years of age. Mr, Martin resided with his son at Macetown, and leaves a wife and grown-up family. The remains were interred at the Arrow cemetery on Tuesday last, and were followed to the grave by a goodly number of his friends. Rev. D. O. Hampton, Episcopalian minister, read the burial service in a very impressive manner.

Southland Times 4 March 1885, Page 3
The last demise is that of Mr Henry Lake, one of the oldest miners at Macetown, in the neighborhood, of which he had followed his avocation for the last 20 years.

Otago Daily Times 27 October 1896, Page 4 Death
Patton. On the 16th October, at Macetown, after a lingering illness, patiently borne, Thomas, the beloved husband of Ellen Patton, and only son of Charles Patton, Macetown; aged 29 years.

Otago Witness
1 July 1887, Page 22
On Jubilee morning, when the procession passed her residence at, Arrowtown, there expired "Old Mrs Smith" as she was familiarly known, after having completed her 81st year. The deceased lady who was the widow of Harry Smith, of Farnham, Surrey, arrived at Arrowtown about 10 years ago, and although then well advanced in life was still hale and active, and soon made for herself a large circle of friends by her ever ready aid and kindness to all who needed her assistance or sought her counsel. She had been in failing health for some weeks, but retained a wonderful memory and clear ideas almost to the last, and expressed her confidence that she would live to see the Queen's jubilee which would be the second jubilee which she had witnessed, as she could remember the jubilee of George III, when she was four years old, and her prophecy came true. The deceased, lady was the mother of Mr W. T. Smith of Arrowtown and Macetown.

Otago Daily Times 29 December 1887, Page 6
News reached here on Monday that young John Reid, second son of Mr John Reid, of Macetown, lost his life in crossing the Makarora river. Young Reid was in company with another man, when getting into some quicksands in the river both men were unseated, Reid's horse rolling over him. This, it is supposed, led to his being drowned. His companion managed to make for the bank, while the horse he was riding was drowned. Reid's horse got safely ashore. Reid's body has not yet been discovered. He was a tall and powerful young man of about 20 years of age, and much sympathy is felt for the bereaved family, who are highly respected by all who know them.

Otago Witness 28 November 1889, Page 24
Lake Wanaka. Alberttown, November 25. It is with feelings of the most profound regret that I have to record the death of Mr Giaochemo [pronounced Joe-Ah-Keemo Lafranchi, of Cardrona, and which cast quite a gloom over the community. Mr and Mrs Lafranchi, till the last year, had kept the All Nations Hotel at Cardrona during the last 15 years, and previous to that a hotel at Macetown for a number of years. During this time Mr and Mrs Lafranchi had gained golden opinions from all. Their customers were treated like honoured guests, and had .consequently a pore than usually friendly feeling for their host. Mr Lafranchi held some 30 odd, acres of land at Cardrona, under lease from the Government, and steps were taken to have it cancelled and thrown open for mining purposes. While proceeding to Arrow in connection therewith, his horse shied at the roadman and threw him to the ground, causing certain injuries, the precise nature of which are somewhat conflicting, but the shock to the system was no doubt the main cause of death, as Mr Lafranchi was upwards of 60 years of age. The funeral took place at Cardrona and was attended by a remarkably large number of mourners, representing Queenstown and Hawea Flat and intermediate places. The Rev. Father Bourke of Arrowtown conducted the obsequies, which impressed the mourners with the solemn fact that in the midst of life we in death." Mr and Mrs Lafranchi are natives of the Canton Grisons in Switzerland. Mr Lafranchi leaves a widow and three of a family who promise to win from all those who know them the same golden opinions that their father won before them.


A new Macetown long drop. There is a creek near by to wash your hands.


Needham's cottage with a lean-to built at a later date - on a sheltered lower terrace towards the river.

Otago Witness 7 March 1885, Page 12
The death of Mr Henry Lake which occurred last Tuesday afternoon, has removed another connecting link with the early days of the field. The deceased was one of two brothers who came to Macetown at the time, of the rush, and who remained mates up to the time of the death of the elder brother. Mr Lake was highly respected at Macetown, being noted for his integrity, his honourable nature and his perseverance. His funeral took place in the Arrow Cemetery on the evening of the 25th inst., the officiating minister (Mr Hampden) reading the Church of England burial service.

Otago Witness 7 March 1889, Page 17
Accident.— Last week Mr Joseph Beal, one of the pioneer miners of Macetown, met with an accident In his claim by which he sustained some injuries about the head. His numerous friends, however, will learn with pleasure that he has now so far recovered as to be our, of danger.

Evening Post, 3 May 1890, Page 2
Dunedin, This Day. The death is reported of Edmund Elliot, one of the pioneers of the Macetown goldfields.

Otago Witness 15 May 1890, Page 19
Mr Edmund Elliot, who died of inflammation of the lungs (succeeding an attack of the grip) at Macetown a few days ago, came to the colonies in 1854, following the occupation of a miner for many years until a strain incapacitated him from hard work. From Victoria he crossed to New Zealand In '64, and worked as a digger in various parts of the colony. He kept the Half-way House road for seven years, and then moved to Macetown, where he had been located for 14 years.

Otago Witness 22 June 1893, Page 22
On Tuesday last the widow of the late Mr Thomas Goodwin breathed her last at the residence, at Arrowtown, of her son in law, Mr John Elliott (manager of the Premier mine, Macetown). Mrs Goodwin came to the district with her late husband in its early days, entering into business at Maori Point, Shotover, where Goodwin's store and hotel soon acquired and long enjoyed an enviable popularity. Of late years, and since the death of her husband, the deceased lady led a quiet and retired life, devoting herself to deeds of benevolence and kindness, dispensing the most unbounded hospitality to all callers, and of ten assisting in a more material way to alleviate sorrowing and suffering Humanity. Deceased at the time of her death was in her 74th year. The Rev. A. C. Yorke, Anglican pastor, of whose church the deceased was a communicant, read the grand and solemn burial service of his faith with deep meaning, producing a visible effect on many who heard it.

Otago Witness 13 July 1893, Page 22
On Tuesday morning last the whole district was transformed into one universal slide, roads and footpaths having a solid covering of ice, making peregrinations very uncertain and even dangerous. Diphtheria or Quinsy.— Up to the present the oracle is dumb as to what the disease which has recently caused so much consternation in so many families really is nor indeed does it matter much what name is applied to it, or at all events a far weightier consideration is the cause of the disease. The Rev. Mr A.O. Yorke deserves the thanks of the community for starting the discussion, though there may be those who differ from his premises. The rev. gentleman points to the Arrow water supply, and correctly shows that a chemical analysis of any water is not sufficient to settle the question of its fitness for domestic use either one way or the other. Anyone who has been drinking water in its native state from streams flowing from the "sunny" side of a range, and from those that flow from the shady" side, must have noticed a very decided difference in the quality of the water— that flowing from the sunny side being much more limpid and far more agreeable to the taste than that coming from the shady side, and the Arrow water supply is derived from the latter. However, to whatever extent the water supply may be accountable for the sickness, there is another far more patent and more suspicious cause to call attention to than the water supply. By far the most serious cases have occurred near and about a certain slaughter yard within the Arrow Borough Extension. The first deaths that occurred from this presumably "new disease happened in the family of the owner of the yard, then the family of five children, three of whom fell victims to the sickness, live within "smell range" of the yard, while other families within the same range were all more or less affected. More than this, one miner living on one side of the yard is working at Macetown, while another living at the other side of the same yard is working at Skippers, and it is a well known fact in bacteriology that disease germs may be spread by media to those who may never have suffered from the disease. However, without saying positively that the slaughter yard alluded to is the cause of the mischief, there is sufficient evidence at hand to warrant the holding of a professional inquiry into the facts of the case so far as that is possible.

Otago Witness 2 November 1893, Page 22
Obituary. On Tuesday last death ended the earthly career of Mr George A. Barker, one of the very early pioneers of the district. Mr Barker settled in 1863 at Macetown, where he carried on the storekeeping business in partnership with his brother Nathan, since deceased. With the stampede of miners to the West Coast, the business was given up, and the subject of this notice turned his attention to gold mining, in which he met with moderate success. The deceased was of an upright, manly, and kind disposition, being universally liked, and respected for his many estimable qualities, savouring strongly of the old world Englishman. The deceased was a native of Essex, England, and emigrated with his father, mother, and the rest of his family to Victoria some years prior to the discovery of gold there, coming down to this island about the time of the Hartley and Riley rush. The general respect in which he was held was shown by the very large cortege that followed his remains to the grave, and also by the fact that some projected festivities at Macetown were postponed on account of his death. Mr Barker leaves a widow to mourn his loss. The cause of death was diphtheria, which ended fatally within a week, Mr Barker being in the 60th year of his age at the time of his death. The Rev. T. Paulin (Presbyterian) conducted the obsequies at the grave in a feeling manner.

Otago Witness 1 March 1894, Page 22
There passed away on Wednesday last the oldest, so far as my memory .serves me, male resident of European descent that has died here. Mr John Reid, for nearly 30 years a resident at Macetown, breathed his last in the midst of his family, after a useful and industrious life, at the advanced age of 85 years. The deceased was a man of sterling character, an enemy of all shams, and a true and devoted friend to all whom he deemed worthy of his confidence. Deceased was a native of Donegal, Ireland, and came to Ballarat, Victoria, in the early fifties, joining the rush to Otago in 1864, settling at Macetown, and remaining there for the rest of his life, following mining as a means of livelihood. He leaves an aged widow, and a family of two sons and a daughter, all of whom are married and comfortably settled, Mr W. Reid, of Messrs Reid and M'Dowell, storekeepers, Macetown, being the eldest son of the deceased. The funeral took place yesterday at the Arrow Cemetery, and was very largely attended, nearly every old resident joining the cortege. The Rev. T. Paulin conducted the funeral ceremony in a feeling and impressive manner.

Otago Witness 8 March 1894, Page 22
Death. Yesterday week a more than usually sad death occurred at Macetown namely, that of Mrs W. Thompson, at the early age of 26 years, shortly after giving birth to an infant. The deceased was a native of Macetown, being the eldest daughter of Mr E. J. Beale, one of our pioneer miners. Mrs Thompson, through an accident, sustained some internal injury, and, paying no attention to it, the evil grew worse, until it ended suddenly and fatally. The widower is left with a family of four young children, all, of course, of tender ages, and the sincerest at sympathy is felt for the bereaved family. The funeral took place last Sunday afternoon, and though the day was cold and stormy there was a very large attendance of friends of the deceased at the obsequies, which were conducted by the Rev. Mr Peryman (Wesleyan).

Otago Witness 31 May 1894, Page 22
A very sudden death occurred at Bullendale last week, where Thomas Lakeman, one of the earliest of the of the pioneer miners of this district, breathed his last. Deceased worked for many years with his nephew, George Asche, at mining at Macetown, Arrow river, and later on at the Shotover, being very successful in that locality —indeed, success in their case led to excess. Asche, though much the younger of the two, succumbing about 18 years ago. Both were natives of London, and were well connected there, being men of good education. Lakeman at the time of his death was packing for the Achilles Goldfields, Skippers. Many stories are going the rounds of mining camps of the doings of Lakeman and Asche. Lakeman was well advanced in life, his age being stated at 65, but he is believed by those who have known him for 30 years to have been much older.

Star 21 March 1895, Page 3
Dunedin, March 19. A single man named James Tinney, a miner, aged sixty years, fell over a thirty foot precipice at Macetown, near Arrowtown, on Monday night. He was found the next morning in a dying state and taken to the local hospital, where he died to-day.


A long way down. Note the gorse has been sprayed.

Bay Of Plenty Times, 22 March 1895, Page 4
A single man named Jas. Finney, a miner, aged 60, fell over a thirty feet precipice at Macetown, near Arrowtown, on Monday night. He was found next morning in a dying state and was taken to the hospital where he died to-day.

Otago Witness 23 May 1895, Page 22
A very sad death occurred at Macetown on Tuesday last, when the eldest daughter of Mr and Mrs R. Gilmour, 20 years of age, suddenly succumbed after having been ailing from influenza for some time. Universal sympathy is felt for the bereaved parents and family. A large cortege followed the remains of the diseased to their list resting place in the Arrow cemetery.

Otago Daily Times 3 September 1895, Page 7
Our obituary column this month records the death of Mr G. F. Hosking, F.G.S., civil and mining engineer; who was lately appointed to succeed Mr Walter Stanford as manager of the Glenrock gold mining properties, in this colony, at present comprising the Premier and Sunrise mines, and also the Tipperary Gold Mining Company's mine—all at Macetown; in this province. Mr Hosking arrived in Dunedin on the 3rd inst. on his journey to Macetown. He was born in Cornwall.

Otago Witness 9 January 1896, Page 23 Lake Country
But the old saying that in the midst of life we are in death found an exemplification amongst us to damp the exuberance of joyous feeling in not a few bosoms. On Thursday morning in Christmas week one of our old pioneers departed the scenes of a life of activity. Mr Robert Hood, who came to Otago years before the goldfields broke out, succumbed after a long and painful illness from cancer, at the age of 51. Mr Hood was married at Green Island, where he was living at the time of the Wakatipu gold rush, and came with the stream of goldseekers to these parts, settling at Macetown, where he has resided ever since. Deceased leaves a widow and large family, the latter, however, being all grown up and several of them married and settled down. The funeral, which took place last Saturday, was largely attended, nearly every old resident being present.  


Heritage huts. O___ Joe's hut. Note the chimney of all the remaining huts are no longer functional. New Chum's Creek is about six crossings up from Arrowtown.   

Otago Daily Times Online Edition Oct 2-3 2004 By Debbie Jamieson
A 120-year-old hut has been destroyed by a lost walkers misguided attempts to keep warm. The hut, on the road to Macetown, was razed on Thursday night when an Arrowtown man lit a fire inside it. Department of Conservation spokeswoman Nicola Vallance said the hut was irreplaceable. Once its gone, its gone. All the history, nostalgia and culture associated with that is now a pile of ashes. Sergeant Andy Horne, of Queenstown, said the man, originally from Liverpool and in his late 20s, walked into Macetown in the belief it was a proper town, with buses and shops. He had become lost while attempting to walk home at night. He was wearing inadequate clothing and stopped at the hut and lit a fire about 11.30pm. Police were alerted when friends of the man became concerned about his whereabouts and discovered the fire which rural fire services also attended. The man has been charged with recklessly lighting a fire. He would probably be dealt with by way of diversion and part of his terms would be paying a substantial amount of money for reparation, Sgt Horne said.
 

Otago Witness 3 December 1896, Page 24
Found Dead. Next to drowning "found dead" is perhaps the most frequent form of death heard of in New Zealand. One of these sad cases occurred last week in a lonely part of the Arrow River, in its upper reaches, above Macetown, where an elderly miner, John Molloy by name, had been working for some considerable time. It was his custom to come to Macetown every Saturday for his weekly supplies, and missing last Saturday, a messenger (A. Austin) was sent to inquire the cause last Sunday, when the dead body of Molloy was discovered in an advanced stage of decomposition. It was also found that the provisions deceased had brought home on his last trip had not been opened or touched in any way, and the presumption is that the unfortunate man must hays died shortly after his return, and consequently had been dead for about a week when found. Information was given to the police at Arrowtown, and Constable Bowman at once took the necessary steps for holding an inquest. Coroner Hotop proceeded to Macetown on Monday morning for the purpose, when a verdict of Death from natural causes was returned. The body was then conveyed to the Arrow Cemetery, where the Rev. Father Keenan officiated at the grave. Constable Bowman and Messrs Thomson Brothers, P. Henderson, R. Carr, and T. Reid deserve a special need of praise for the readiness and efficient manner in which they performed an unpleasant duty, carrying the dead body over two miles of as bad, narrow, and crooked a track as can well be imagined, showing that the good spirit of companionship that animated the miners of old is not dead. The same men also sat at the inquest afterwards, and acquitted themselves in a businesslike manner.

Otago Witness 10 December 1896, Page 15
David Broadfoot, a well-known miner at Macetown and, Skippers, was found dead on Saturday afternoon in Skippers Creek. It is supposed he fell off his horse and, being rendered unconscious, was drowned in the creek.

Evening Post, 28 December 1896, Page 5
Samuel Cowan, 73 years of age, a miner, was found dead in a hut near Macetown this, evening.

Southland Times 5 January 1897, Page 3
Otago Witness 7 January 1897, Page 25
Another notable demise is that of Mr Samuel Cowan, who was found dead in his hut at the Eight Mile Creek, near Macetown on Christmas morning. Mr Cowan, who was 72 years old, was one of the earliest miners in the colonies, dating back to the Springhill rush in New South Wales, which took place in February, 1851, and had since then followed gold-digging with few and short interruptions. He came to Otago with his family in 1862 and early in the following year he pitched his tent at Macetown, where he reside nearly all the time up to his death and where he met with more than an average share of success, leaving behind him savings of some extent, which will go to his four children, all settled in this district. Mrs Cowan pre-deceased her husband by about 32 years, and was she first white woman who died in Wakatipu.
Mining, which has been and still is, one of the mainstays of the district, is looking healthy, but on the whole has not yet realized the expectations that were formed some months ago. At Macetown the Glenrock mine is raising stone of average milling quality and the Tipperary mine is also on stone that will pay a surplus over and above working expenses. Individual or private mining enterprises are in a fairly prosperous condition, though there is an increasing number of the mining "hatters" or small parties who make not much more than the proverbial "tucker" and it cannot be denied that mining is no longer what it was twenty or even ten years ago.

Otago Witness 15 April 1897, Page 20
A grown-up daughter of William Birth, Macetown, fell over the rooks into the Arrow river bad, where she lay all Wednesday night, 7th, in the rain. She is fearfully cut and contused, but hops is entertained of her recovery. 

Otago Witness 2 December 1897, Page 29
Gun Accident.— A young lad, the youngest son of Mr Robert Hood, Macetown, met with rather severe injuries - last Sunday. While trying to charge a gun with a cartridge too large for it the lad tried-to ram it borne with a stone, the consequence being that the charge went off, lodging in his face, and seriously injuring his eyes.

Otago Witness 13 January 1898, Page 25
Another death is that of Mr John Beale, of Macetown, an old and respected miner, and one of the pioneers of the place. A few weeks before Christmas Mr Beale was taken seriously ill and went to the Arrow Hospital. Diseases incidental to a hard and laborious life made their appearance, and cut short a long career of usefulness and toil. Deceased with his brother Joseph constructed the first race at Macetown, the fluming for which was paid for at the rate of half a crown per foot for every foot of timber used. The race is still in existence, and is used for motive power at the Tipperary battery. Deceased, who was 67 years of age at the time of his death, like his surviving brother Joseph was at one time a sailor, and both attended the Greenwich Naval School. The funeral was largely attended, and the services were conducted by the Rev. A. D. Mitchell in a most impressive manner.

Timaru Herald, 7 April 1898, Page 3
April 6. August Renard, a miner, aged 70 years, residing near Arrowtown, was proceeding along the Macetown road on a wagon when he suddenly began to cough and bleed from the mouth. He died in a few minutes, having apparently burst a blood-vessel. Deceased was a single man.

Otago Witness 29 September 1898, Page 25
Yesterday at the Arrow Hospital died Mr W. Thompson, for many years bootmaker at Macetown, at the age of 74 years. Deceased was of a cheery disposition, and bore his age well. He leaves two sons, who are settled at Macetown.

Otago Daily Times 5 October 1898, Page 4
Our Arrowtown correspondent telegraphs that Mr William Birth, better known as "Billy the Bear", a very old resident of Macetown, died on Monday night at the age of 85 years.

Otago Witness 22 December 1898, Page 25
On Tuesday last one of our oldest and most prominent miners passed away rather suddenly. John Beier, here referred to, was a native of Wurtoraberg, Germany, and was 74 years of age at the time of his death. Deceased was one of the prospectors of German Hill, near Arrowtown, in the early days of the rush, and at the time of the Macetown quartz boom was one of the prospectors of the All Nations, Lady Fayre, and other lodes. He was almost the only man at Macetown when the quartz boom started with a knowledge of reefing, and rendered good service in the opening of several of the claims. Taking advantage of the tide, he sold several of his mining interests, and accumulating a decent competence, settled at Arrowtown on a property as fruitgrower. He was a sterling man of the old school, taking work for his gospel, and under a rough exterior and manner had a kind and lender heart. The funeral took place on Thursday last, when a large cortege followed the remains to their last resting place. Rev. R. H. Blair (Presbyterian), assisted by the Rev. Mr Scott, officiated at the grave in an impressive manner.

Otago Witness 22 December 1898, Page 25
Last Saturday evening Dr Thomson, of the Arrow Hospital, gave a popular ambulance lecture at Macetown illustrating such cases as are most likely to occur in a mining community. There was a very large attendance, and the greatest interest was taken in the instructions given, which were conveyed in clear language, and went straight to the point.

Grey River Argus, 6 October 1899, Page 4 DASHED TO DEATH Buggy and Occupants thrown Over a Precipice.
Dunedin, October 5. A terrible accident occurred this afternoon on the road from Arrowtown to Macetown. Mrs E. Hood and grandchild, a baby, were returning to Macetown in a buggy, when the horse shied and the buggy and occupants went over a precipice 300 feet high into the Arrow River. The driver jumped out, and escaped. Both Mrs Hood and the baby were dashed to death.

Mataura Ensign 7 October 1899, Page 2
A terrible accident occurred on Thursday afternoon on the road from Arrowtown to Macetown. Mrs R. Hood and her grandchild (a baby) were returning to Macetown in a buggy, when the horse shied and the buggy and the occupants went over a precipice 400 feet high into the Arrow river. The driver jumped out and escaped, but Mrs Hood and the baby were dashed to death. It appears that a sheep out of a mob being driven to Macetown tired, and the driver tied it legs and left the animal at a corner on a dangerous part of the road where a conveyance, when going to Macetown, would come right on to it before noticing it. Being unaware of this Mr J. L. Jopp's coachman (Mr F. Brown) with a single buggy and horse arrived at the spot where the sheep lay without noticing it, with the result that the horse shied and backed over a precipice of some 400 feet. The driver jumped out to try and get the horse's head, and at that instant the horse, trap, and occupants (Mrs Hood and 1 child) went over. The driver (Mr Brown) had a miraculous escape, as he waited till the last moment to endeavor to get the horse on the road again. Mrs Hood and the child must have been killed instantly.

Otago Witness 5 December 1900, Page 33
Sudden Death. Olaf Watson, locally known as Martin Wilson, a native of Norway, was found dead on a stone heap, near the Rolling Billy, little distance off the Macetown dray road. Deceased had been engaged in mining for about 30 years above the Arrow Falls, and of late had been in failing health. The cause of death appears to have been heart disease.

Colonist, 29 January 1902, Page 4
Dunedin, January 28,
The infant son of Mr John Anderson, of Macetown, was accidentally shot yesterday at Mr Hanson's farmhouse, Frankton, through a playmate firing off a pea rifle while the child was in bed. The shot entered the spine. The little victim lived only half an hour after the accident.

Star 23 July 1902, Page 1
By the death of Mr H. Mace, which occurred at his residence, Brooklyn, New Brighton, on Saturday, the trotting world has lost probably the greatest supporter of the sport in the colony. Some years ago he purchased a block of land at New Brighton, and erected up-to-date stables, alongside of which was the kindergarten, where his trotting youngsters were educated. The deceased sportsman was born at Bedale, Yorkshire, in 1837, and arrived in Victoria twenty years later. He was on the Ararat, Pleasant Creek and Inglewood diggings. In 1861 he came over to New Zealand, and was at the Gabriel's Gully and Weatherstone diggings, whilst Macetown in Otago was named after a member of his family. He was an enthusiast in cricket, and was one of the team which played for Canterbury against the first English Eleven which came to the colony, subsequently being selected as one of the combined Canterbury-Otago team which also met the English Eleven. His hospitality and that of Mrs Mace will be remembered by those who have paid a visit to Brooklyn. A large number attended the funeral yesterday at the Linwood Cemetery.

Otago Witness 12 August 1903, Page 31
It is with regret I have to announce the death of Mrs. Charles Ross, of Macetown, a sister of Mr William Reid, our county chairman. Deceased had been an inmate of the local hospital for only a fortnight, and died at the institution on Thursday morning. Very deep sympathy is felt locally for the widower and other mourners, this being testified to today by the very numerous following which, in spite of the heavy rain, came from all parts of the district to attend the funeral. The service it the grave was conducted in a most impressive manner by the Rev. D. K. Fisher.

Otago Witness 27 January 1904, Page 45
John Williams, a very old resident of the Arrow district and an old Macetown and Cromwell miner, met with a serious accident on Sunday. While in the act of burning tussocks near his hut at Bracken's Creek, Arrow River, the fire got hold of a shed in which was a quantity of dynamite. An explosion happened, and Williams was knocked down, pieces of dynamite caps entering his head and causing very deep wounds. It was some hours after the accident that he was discovered. He was greatly weakened through loss of blood, and was removed to the Arrow Hospital, where the pieces of caps were taken out of his head. His condition is serious.

Otago Witness 14 September 1904, Page 66 BALL AT MACETOWN.
Dear Emmline, The Macetown Quadrille Club held a most enjoyable and successful wind-up ball in the Macetown Hall on Friday evening, 26th ult. The weather being cold and showery and the roads in a terribly muddy slate prevented many ladies coming from the surrounding districts. However, between 20 and 30 couples took part in the grand march, which was led by Mr E. Thompson and Mrs Cumming. Excellent music was supplied by Messrs T. and E. Kelly and Mr J. Anderson, jun (violins), and Mr C. Illingworth (piano). Messrs E. Thompson and J. Anderson, sen., made efficient M.C.'s; while Mr J. Kelly livened the company with a flageolet solo, and Mr Highet danced a sailor's hornpipe, both items being much appreciated. Mesdames Clayton and Needham kindly supervised the supper and refreshments. Dancing was carried on till daybreak. The following is a list of dresses worn by the ladies:
Miss Anderson, heliotrope skirt, blue silk blouse, with cream lace
Mrs Beale, handsome brown dress
Miss Beale, cream veiling dress, with blue ribbons
Mrs Cantrell, white costume
Miss Clarke, white dress
Miss F. Clarke, white muslin, and lace trimmings
Mrs Clayton, black skirt, blue blouse
Miss Lizzie Clayton, evening dress of white spotted muslin with blue silk bertha
Mrs Cumming, black silk costume, with sequin trimmings
Mrs Hamilton, black skirt with silk blouse
Mrs Highet, black skirt, blue blouse
Mrs Home, black satin skirt, blue silk blouse
Mrs J. Kelly, stylish costume of muslin delaine with blue trimmings
Mrs E. Kelly, black skirt, pink nun's veiling blouse
Miss Maggie Kerr, navy blue skirt, light blouse and blue sash
Miss Nellie Needham, bright blue coat sateen costume, white flowers
Mrs Reid, flaked tweed costume
Miss Ross, dark skirt with blue blouse, cream lace
Mrs Summers, black skirt, crimson silk blouse
Mrs E. Thompson, black
Mrs A. Thompson, black lustra skirt, with black satin blouse
Miss Lucy Thompson, evening dress of cream veiling, with pink ribbons and flowers
Miss Thompson, black skirt, green velvet blouse, pink flowers and sash
Miss A. Thompson, brown skirt, dark blue blouse
Miss W. Thompson, brown skirt, pink blouse
—Guest.

Otago Witness 2 November 1904, Page 35
News has been received of the death at Hampden of Mr Lorenzo Resta, who died on the 25th inst. from cancer. Aged 65 years. The greater part of the deceased's life was spent at Macetown. For years and years he managed the Tipperary Mine there, and during his tenure the mine put out enormous returns of gold. He was also managing for some time for the Moonlight Sluicing Company at Moke Creek, but his work there was not attended with the success which marked his career in quartz reefing.

Otago Witness 10 May 1905, Page 28
Yesterday an accident occurred on the Crown terrace by which Mr Luke H. Preston, town clerk of Arrowtown, lost his life. Mr Preston followed mining for many years in Victoria, and was present at the Eureka Stockade trouble. Coming over to New Zealand, he was for some considerable time a storekeeper at Macetown. He removed to Arrowtown, and was one of the partners in the firm of Preston, Jenkins, and Evans.

Otago Witness 14 November 1906, Page 35
Another very sad death was that of Miss Murdoch a younger sister of the schoolmistress at Macetown. Deceased, who was quite young girl, developed a cold, which passed to lung trouble, from which she suffered for some time. Much sympathy is felt locally for the relatives of those who have been taken so suddenly from among us.

Otago Witness 8 January 1908, Page 39
Death. Another member of the band of hardy pioneers of-the district, in the person of Charles Picken (familiarly known as Charles Clark), passed away at the Arrow Hospital on the 27th December. Deceased had been resident of Macetown for upwards of 40 years. He followed the occupation of a miner, and was greatly, respected. He leaves a widow, but no family.

Otago Witness 26 August 1908, Page 39
It is my sad duty this week to have to record the death of a very old resident of the Macetown district. I refer to Mrs Charles Patton, who passed away at her home at Macetown on Friday morning, after a long illness. The deceased lady had been a resident of Macetown for over 40 years. She was of a quiet and retiring disposition, and was highly respected and esteemed by those who had the pleasure of her acquaintance. She was ever ready to assist her neighbours in their troubles, and with her husband, went through all the hardships of the early digging days. She was a sister of Mr John Jenkins, a well-known farmer on the Crown Terrace. She leaves a husband and two daughters (Mrs D. Brodie and Mrs E. Thompson) to mourn the lost of an affectionate wife and mother. The funeral took place at Arrowtown yesterday afternoon, when a very large number followed the remains to their last resting place. In the absence of the Rev. Horace Packe, Mr M. Blathwyatt conducted the burial service.

Otago Witness 17 February 1909, Page 34
A young man named Thomas Kennedy, employed as a shepherd on Coronet Peak Station, met with a somewhat serious accident on the 11th. He was mustering at Advance Peak, Macetown, and in going down a steep face he missed his footing, and fell over a precipice. He sustained injuries to his ankles and back. He was conveyed to the Arrow Hospital, where he is progressing as favourably as can be expected. Kennedy is a recent arrival from Scotland.

Otago Witness 16 June 1909, Page 39
Genuine regret was expressed when it became known that Enrico Piazzoli, an old Macetown miner, had been found dead, hanging in his house at Arrowtown on Monday morning last. Deceased left a note to the effect that be had had three bad nights, and could not stand it any longer. "Harry" Piazzoli (the name he was better known by) was one of the oldest pioneers of the district, having arrived here upwards of 40 years ago, and had followed mining pursuits during that time between Macetown and Cardrona. He was 74 years of age, a native of Lake Como, Italy, and had no relatives in the Dominion. He was a general favourite, being a hard-working, honourable, and upright man, and general regret was expressed at his sad end. During late years deceased had been in bad health, and suffered considerably, and there is no doubt that his mind became somewhat unhinged. An inquest was held before Coroner Graham, when a verdict of suicide was returned. The funeral took place at Arrowtown on Tuesday, and was largely attended. Mr F. Smith read the burial service.

Otago Witness 18 August 1909, Page 38
A rather serious accident that befel Mr Robert Harrison, who was formerly a well-known resident of Skipper's district, but is now living at Arrow .River. He was on his way home from Arrowtown, when he accidentally fell over an embankment on the Macetown road. He broke his leg badly near the knee, besides receiving injuries to his ankles. He was at once taken to the Arrow Hospital, where he is progressing as well as can be expected. As Mr Harrison is an old man recovery will be necessarily slow. In the sixties "Bob" Harrison as a well-known athlete, and old residents still maintain that he was the best man at his particular branches of sport that has ever been in the district. It is said what he could do 12ft in a standing flat jump after coming out of his claim, in his ordinary working attire. He could also jump 36ft in three broad jumps, and over 5ft in a standing high jump.

Otautau Standard and Wallace County Chronicle, 1 August 1911, Page 5
Mr Robert CAMPBELL. After a long illness, borne with great fortitude, Mr Robert Campbell passed away on Thursday evening. A link with the past history of Otautau was snapped when, on Thursday last, Mr Robert Campbell was called to his rest at the ripe age of 83. Many memories hang around him and his well-known store. He was born in Jionar-Bridge, Rossshire, Scotland, on October 16th, 1827. He attended the ministry of Rev. Dr Grustavus Aird, a leading light m the Highlands. The desire to emigrate took possession of him, and he came to Victoria, and for some years farmed and mined there. Attracted by the gold rushes in New Zealand, he crossed over and worked as a miner at Macetown. He next built a store m Main street, Otautau, und started business there in November, 1876 nearly thirty-live years ago...

Otago Daily Times 30 December 1912, Page 4
ROSS -ANDERSON - On November 27, at the Presbyterian Church, Pembroke, by the Rev. J.H. Thomson, John, second son of Charles, Macetown, to Ettie, eldest daughter of the late Gideon Anderson, Mount Barker.

Poverty Bay Herald, 8 April 1914, Page 3
Dunedin, last night, George Harrow, an old resident of Macetown, was found dead in his hut at the Eight Mile yesterday. There was a bullet wound in his forehead and a revolver beside the body. A note was left by deceased, stating that he was in bad health, and tired of life. He was a single man, 82 years of age, and had lived at the Eight Mile for over 40 years.

Otautau Standard and Wallace County Chronicle, 24 July 1923, Page 3
With the death of Mrs Robert Campbell at her residence, Main street, another of the fast diminishing band of original settlers in the township is removed. Mrs Campbell was a distinct personality, with very clear and decided views, often expressed to her intimate friends with vividness, and evidencing an intellectual grasp of subjects of a wide and diversified nature. Born near Londonderry, Ireland, she had been a resident of New Zealand for 58 years, having landed in the Colony at the latter end of 1864. Of an independent nature, and with very marked capabilities as a woman of business, she led an active life. In the stirring days of the gold rush to the Otago goldfields she kept a store at Macetown, then a busy centre of mining activity, where she met Mr Campbell, then a miner in that district, and they were married in Queenstown. In 1876, or 47 years ago. Mr Campbell built a store in Main street, Otautau, and which was opened in November of that year. On retiring from business 20 years ago, Mr and Mrs Campbell continued to reside m Otautau, and after Mr Campbell's death on 27th July, 1911, Mrs and Miss Campbell still occupied the house, where Mrs Campbell passed peacefully away yesterday morning. Associated with the Otautau Presbyterian Church, and, up till a few years ago, a most regular attended at the services; Mrs Campbell is survived by her daughter and her brother, Mr John Jenkins, of Crown Terrace, Arrowtown. The funeral is to take place tomorrow to the Old Otautau Cemetery.

Deaths registered at Arrowtown 1876-1899, page 49 from a book at the Lake District Museum, Arrowtown

506 Rachel HOWARD     Died 13 Oct 1883
At Hayes Lake, aged 53 years, a housewife. Daughter of Thomas Maxwell, a stonemason, and Ann. Born Scotland, lived 20yrs in New Zealand. Married at 24yrs to Joe Howard, at Victoria. Buried as Presbyterian. Informant; the undertaker.

507 George SCOTT     Died 10 Dec 1883
At Gibbston, aged 47yrs, a gold miner. Born Scotland, lived 15 yrs in New Zealand. Witnesses; John Baker & Thomas C. Johnson, householders. Informant; authorised agent.

508 Thomas HEADS     Died 26 Dec 1883
At Arrowtown District Hospital, aged 53yrs, a gold miner. Born in Durham, England. Married at 50yrs, to Mary Knoch, at Dunedin. Witnesses; Peter Henderson & William Kirk, householders. Informant: undertaker. (Lived 21yrs in New Zealand)

509 Dona Isobel Matilda FLEMING     Died 11 Feb 1884
At Arrowtown, aged 18dys, d/o James Fleming, a receiver of gold revenue, and Elizabeth Mary nee Jones. Witnesses: William Brown & Henry B. Smith, householders. Informant; the Father.

510 Elizabeth Elsie FOORD     Died 21 Mar 1884
At Arrowtown, aged 7mths. D/o Edwin Foord, a carpenter, and Elizabeth nee Renn. Born Arrowtown. Presbyterian. Informant; the Father.

511 John McGEE     Died 27 Feb 1884
At Arrow District Hospital, aged 60yrs, a gold miner. Born Ireland. Witnesses: John Butel & William Butler, householders. Informant; hospital wardsman in charge.

512: John FERGUSON     Died 13 April 1884
At Arrow District Hospital, aged 52 yrs, a gold miner. Son of William Ferguson, a farmer, and Mary Ann. Born Blyth, near Morpeth, Northumberland, England. Lived 22 yrs in New Zealand. Married at 34 yrs to Hannah Moriah Wake, at Arrowtown. Living issue; 2 sons aged 16yrs, 12yrs. 3 daughters aged 17yrs, 9 yrs, 6 yrs. Witnesses: Henry B. Smith & William McWhirter, householders. informant: hospital wardsman in charge.

513: Albert Edward THOMPSON     Died 31 May 1884
At Arrowtown, aged 7 months, son of Edward Thompson, a miner and Rebecca Jane nee Paton. Witness Furneaux Smith & John Elliott, householders. Informant: the Father. (deceased born in Macetown)

514 Ellen THOMAS     Died 28 Jun 1884
At Arrow District Hospital, aged 37 yrs, wife of G.M. Thomas. Daughter of Moses Ewen, a blacksmith. Born Glasgow, lived 18yrs in New Zealand. Married at 2yrs to Gilbert Mackie at Clyde. (sic) Living issue 4 sons aged 11 (?)yrs, 5 yrs, 2 yrs, 3 mths and 4 daughters aged 15yrs, 13yrs, 8 yrs, 5yrs. Informant; Frankton Coroner.

515: James MARTIN      Died 21 July 1884
At Macetown, aged 73 years, a miner. S/o Edward Martin, a farmer and Joan nee Bishop. Born Stithans, Cornwall, lived 5 years in NZ. Married at 35 years to Levinia Laskey, in Cornwall, England. Living issues; 2 daughters aged 34 years and 29 years and 1 son aged 38 years. Episcopalian. Informant: Antonio Resta, son in law of Macetown [had married Ellen Martin in 1881].

In the Arrowtown Cemetery.


In loving memory of my dear husband Robert Kerr who died at Macetown 29th July 1912, aged 66 years.

In loving memory of William beloved husband of Jane MUTTER. Died 20th Aug. 1916 aged 54 years. Native of Midlothian, Scotland, beloved by all who knew him. Also his beloved wife Jane. Died 27th Jan. 1937, aged 76 years.

In loving memory of Henry McKIBBIN died Nov. 14 1923 aged 70 years. Native of Marshallstown Co. Down, Ireland [He was the mayor for Arrowtown in 1908] Arrived in NZ in 1868 at age 15.

Panning out 

Otago Daily Times 11 November 1878, Page 2
Quartz-reefing.— As has been already reported for two years past, the Macetown reefs have been discovered just in time to prevent an exodus of disheartened miners, and revive the hope of disappointed prospectors. Out of three distinct lines of reefs there are actually marked off between forty and fifty claims, of these about ten being fairly worked, which have been found to be payable amongst them all we have three machines erected, the gross number of stampers on the field being twenty-five, giving employment to about fifty men. So many and varied reports have appeared in the Press during the last year about these reefs, that a detailed account of their progress may prove interesting at a time when quartz-reefing is engaging so much attention. So far as has been ascertained, the quartz lodes at Macetown all appear to rise in strike to the tops of the hills from both sides. The gold runs in shoots, and dips to the north-west at an angle of about 45 degrees. The shoots are irregular, and about fifty feet apart on an average. The hanging walls are usually very well defined, but the foot walls are irregular. Rich leaders are found on the foot walls. There is very little doubt of the permanency of the Macetown reefs. They are almost an absolute certainty, and when once opened out can be worked very cheaply, consequent upon water power being almost everywhere available, and the steepness of the hills obviating the necessity for any hoisting of ore or water, while the facility for self-acting tramways is all that could reasonably he desired.

Evening Post, 13 February 1880, Page 2
Some Chinese working at Macetown obtained a patch of gold weighing 5 lb.

Otago Witness 17 April 1880, Page 9
The Main Lode Company, Advance Peak, is now making preparation for a low-level tunnel, abandoning for the present the sinking of the shaft begun a short time ago. A number of the shareholders, who during the recent holidays were on a visit to the district took a tour of inspection to the reefs, and ascended Advance Peak, where they were shown over the ground by Mr Thomas Harvey, the Company's manager. Upon the advantages of a low-level tunnel being pointed out by him to the shareholders and directors present, who numbered 11, it was agreed to open the tunnel in preference to sinking the shaft. The Company promises to become one of the mainstays of reefing at Macetown. Its situation, the quality and extent of the run of stone exposed on the surface, through which gold is disseminated, all point to the prosperity which is in store for this Company.

Otago Witness, 30 March 1899, Page 29
On Saturday night Mr J. W. Stanford, manager of the Glenrock and Westralia mines, Macetown, who is about to leave for London to consult with the proprietors of these mines as to their future, was tendered a similar compliment at Macetown. Besides having succeeded in placing the mines mentioned in a thoroughly efficient way, so far as their working is concerned, he has also proved that even under every existing difficulty they can be made to pay a surplus over working expenses. As a citizen, Mr Stanford also showed that he had heart and head in the right place.

Otago Daily Times 16 December 1899, Page 3
Wong Lye Kong was charged with the theft at Macetown of 4oz of gold, valued £15.105, the property of Ah Won and Frue Ock. On the application of the police, the case was remanded to Macetown, to be heard there on Tuesday week.

Daily Telegraph 7 February 1900, Page 7 Supreme Court, Invercargill
Imprisonment. Wong Lye Kong, from Macetown, pleaded guilty to stealing gold, the property of himself and mates, and was sentenced to two months' hard labor. His Honor, as on a previous occasion, declined to admit foreigners to probation.

Evening Post, 12 February 1907, Page 6
It was unfortunate, in the opinion of Mr. R. McIntosh, a mining engineer and winner of the 50 guineas exhibition prize essay, that the Premier Mine, Macetown, was permanently closed down during the year 1906. The mine had been paying its way, but its fortunes were so involved with those of other mines in India that additional capital necessary to further develop this large property was not forthcoming. The group of mines known as Farrrell has been on the London market for sometime. It can be said, without hesitation, that a company with large capital and owning a large block for mining purposes at Macetown would prove successful.

Otago Witness 27 May 1908, Page 39
Mining. It is reported that the prospects in the Garibaldi Mine, Macetown, continue favourable. It is expected to strike the reef in the old Homeward Bound after another 40ft or 50ft have been driven. Messrs Anderson and party are engaged crushing at their battery, Macetown. Mr M'Intosh, Assistant- Inspector of Mines, visited the district during the week. He inspected the various claims for which subsidy has been asked from the Mines Department.

Otago Witness 20 January 1909, Page 39
Lake County. January 16. Work is proceeding at pace at the United Goldfields of New Zealand Company's reef at Macetown. Several of the mines have been thoroughly tested and proved to contain highly payable stone. Mr Mainland, who will supervise the erection of the aerial tramways to the Homeward Bound, Garibaldi, and All Nations claims, proceeded to Macetown on Tuesday last. The material has been constructed at Sparrow and Sons' Foundry, Dunedin, and is on its way to Macetown. The work of erection will be commenced immediately — Messrs- Anderson Bros, and Hannah have been busily engaged for the last month or two getting out quartz from their quartz reef in Scanlon's Gully, Macetown, and have put a considerable quantity of payable ore through their battery, which is situated at the mouth of the gully. They have considerably improved the method of getting the quartz to the battery, the innovation being the erection of a wire rope for hauling purposes. Good headway is being made at the scheelite mines at the Head of the Lake, and the same remark applies to the various alluvial claims at Skippers and Cardrona. The Wakatipu Prospecting Association has prospected the various localities from Deep Creek (Skippers) to Mount Hyde (Macetown). Several small quartz leaders carrying good gold have been discovered in the vicinity of Advance Peak (Macetown), and further work will be done on them. Lines of reef in Butcher's Gully (Skippers) and Woody Gully (Upper Shotover) will also be fully tested by the prospecting party. Taken altogether there is a very bright future ahead in mining for the Wakatipu district.    


The inlet for the Arrowtown irrigation system at Billy Creek. Note the road above the gorge - the terrace cutting.

The road is just as dangerous as the Skippers - the vegetation has grown up and hides some of the drops.

Bruce Herald, 31 December 1875, Page 3
Postal tenders for the inland mail services for the. year have been accepted for Otago. T. Gilmore, £100 Arrow River and Macetown.

Otago Witness 20 January 1883, Page 17
From the Otago Daily Times we gather the pleasing information that the telephone between Arrowtown and Macetown is to be proceeded with at once. Although the summer is half gone, we console ourselves with the old adage "Better late, than never."

Otago Witness 24 May 1884, Page 11
Macetown, correspondent writes - The wet weather has made the Macetown roads in such a state that haulage is almost impossible as they are mostly are of mullock of the sidlings without any consideration of effect, although they could be gravelled cheaper than they can be made of mullock; but the County authorities, seem to think anything is good enough for Macetown.

Otago Daily Times 8 October 1888, Page 2
Mr. R. McDowell, storekeeper at Macetown, narrowly escaped drowning on Thursday last, while on his road to Macetown from Arrowtown. At a point where the road crosses the Arrow river, which at this spot sweeps heavily against the foot of a rocky precipice several hundred feet in height, Mr M'Dowell's horse, after losing its footing; was carried in the sough of the current, and for some time held as if pinned against the rock. Mr M'Dowell here was washed out of the saddle, but sticking to the bridle his weight pulled the horse out of its awkward position, and once more free to move it swam ashore with, its rider in its wake. The escape both rider and horse had was very narrow one. Mr M'Dowell being, heavily clad to protect himself against the effects of the weather, which was cold and wet, was unable to swim or do anything to save himself.

Otago Witness 30 October 1890, Page 17
Roads have been made to Macetown and Skippers, upon which upwards of £30,000 have been spent, and without questioning the wisdom of this expenditure it may be cited as an example of what may be done by persistent agitation, if it is backed by efforts from the settlers to make such works remunerative.
    At Macetown on Friday last a bachelors' ball set this secluded mining camp fn a flutter of excitement, and the ladies and gentlemen showed that though they lived in one of the most Inland settlements of the South Island, they know how to amuse themselves and do it with all the becoming grace and decorum such occasions demand.

Otago Witness 22 January 1891, Page 17
Clever Navigation.— The Macetown dray road is often decried as a makeshift, but proof to the contrary has recently been furnished by Mr John Baker, carter, of Arrowtown, who took up two tons of machinery for the Sunrise battery on a waggon with six horses, yoking three horses abreast. As much credit perhaps is due to the horses as to the driver. However, considering that Mr Baker had no assistance but that of his son, a young lad, in the manoeuvring of the team, it speaks well for him as a driver, and places the Macetown road in a new and favourable light.

Otago Witness 9 March 1893, Page 22
Last week the Alpine Hotel, at Macetown, changed hands, Mrs H. Dixon selling her property to Mrs Elliott, of the Macetown Hotel, so that all likelihood there will be one hotel less in this public house-ridden district.

Otago Witness 27 March 1886, Page 12
March 22nd. On Monday last Mrs L. Resta had a narrow escape from drowning in the Arrow River while on a journey from Macetown to the Arrow, and was only saved by the prompt action and presence of mind of her husband, who was in her company.
    Mr James Ansell had a very narrow escape from a sudden and violent death the other day. Mr Ansell, who is mining on one of the Macetown terraces, went to his smithy to sharpen some picks. In the smithy had been placed a keg of blasting power for safe keeping, which was nearly half full, and covered with a bag. While busy at the anvil a frightful explosion occurred, scorching Mr Ansell's hands very severely, singeing his hirsute adornments considerably, and blistering the more exposed portions of his face and arms. Luckily the explosion occurred while Mr Ansell was in such a position as to protect his head from its greatest force, or it is difficult to say what the result might have been. As it is, he will be disabled for some weeks at least, and subject to much pain and many inconveniences.

Otago Witness, 23 March 1899, Page 29
The Coming Boom.— Nothing succeeds like success, and any "boom" is nowhere without it. The Wakatipu has never had a real live boom since the first great gold rush in 1862-63. But it is coming, and when, it does come it will be rabbits. A district that can grow rabbits weighing up to 9lb per pail should have no difficulty in booming its rabbits as successfully as Canterbury booms its "prime."' Now's the time to start a rabbit factory at Frankton. There are all the facilities for dumping rabbits at Frankton from every part of the district. There is a steamer twice a week from the Head of the Lake, there is nearly a daily communication from the Upper Shotover, two or three conveyances on Yankee waggons every day from Macetown and wheeled traffic between Arrowtown and Frankton every day; carts come up every day from Gibbston, and there are similar easy and frequent facilities with other parts of the district. A factory at Frankton could therefore scarcely fail to become a glorious success, and pay better dividends than most banks. Another source of boom is poultry. We can produce turkeys, geese, ducks, and fowls of all kinds with any part of Otago, and could supply the Dunedin, Melbourne, and even London markets with poultry of superior quality. These articles are more reliable and much less risky than grain crops. Then there is the rearing of pork in all its various forms fresh, salted, or cured as hams and bacon. As it is, the supply of all these articles falls far short of local demand. Annually large sums of money are sent out of the district for imported goods of this kind. Anyone who has ever put a few sunflower seeds into his garden must have been struck with the strong and prolific growth of these plants. The seed is worth from £17 to £18 per ton at the Kempthorne-Prosser factory, near Dunedin. These are only a few openings for energy and enterprise, and there are several other ways that offer equal opportunities for making sure and handsome living out of the land of the district with a small capital and at little or scarcely any risk.

Otago Witness 29 July 1903, Page 30
Macetown road. This road has been cleared of the numerous slips that the snow brought down, and the drays are able once more to get up to Macetown. 

Otago Witness 9 November 1904, Page 35
I regret to hear that the eldest daughter of Mr T. Hope was taken very ill at Macetown on Thursday. She was found to be suffering from severe peritonitis, and was conveyed to Arrowtown Hospital. Her condition is critical, although a slight improvement is noticeable.

Otago Daily Times 21 June 1919, Page 10
Mr James Moyle, who died at Heriot on the 9th inst., was born at Elston, Cornwall, and came to New Zealand in 1870 [on the Zealandia aged 28, with his brother William aged 21]. He arrived at Lyttelton, and was engaged there at farming work for the Rev. Mr Laurie (Methodist, minister). He then came to Port Chalmers, and was employed on the Port Chalmers line and on the two tunnels, residing during the first part of this period of his life at Port Chalmers, and the latter period at Sawyers' Bay. He was married in 1875, and went to Mornington, where he commenced a wood and coal business. In 1881 he went to the Wakatipu goldfields and resided at Macetown, near Arrowtown. He continued gold mining on the goldfields until 1907, when he returned to Mornington. In 1913 he left Mornington to reside with his son at Heriot, where he remained until his death, passing away suddenly on the 9th inst. He leaves a widow, three daughters, and two sons


Soho Property Walkers only No vehicle access.
Gates have been put up and padlocked to stop off road driving by trail bike riders and four wheeling activity on private land.
An annual joint police/Doc sting operation at Macetown and Skippers had resulted in the prosecution of eight people in 2008 and a reduction in damage.

The Nuptial Knot

Otago Witness 6 August 1891, Page 19
On Tuesday last Mr S. M'Skimmings [sic], [Samuel McSkimming] who has been a resident for a number of years in these parts, was united in the bonds of wedlock to Miss Sarah Hood, second daughter of Mr Robert Hood, of Macetown. A large number of friends join in wishing the young couple happiness and prosperity in the united journey in life upon which they have entered.

Otago Witness 23 May 1906, Page 33
Wedding — On Wednesday Mr S. [Spencer William] Peacock, of Arrowtown, was married by Rev. R. T. Mathews to Miss [Lucy] Thompson, second daughter of Mr William Thompson, a well-known resident of Macetown. The ceremony took place at Macetown, Mr A. Smith acting as best man, and Miss Thompson (the bride's sister) acting as bridesmaid. A number of friends were present, and were entertained in the evening at a dance in the Macetown Hall.

Otago Witness 30 January 1907, Page 39
On Tuesday last at Macetown, another young couple joined their hands and fortunes. On that day the Rev. D. Keay Fisher joined in the holy bonds of wedlock Mr A. R. [Archibald Robertson] Smiley second son of Mr T C Smiley, of Arrowtown, to Miss E. [Edith Eleanor] Needham, daughter of the late Mr Joseph Needham, of Macetown. The happy event took place at the residence of the bride's mother. After the ceremony, the Rev. Fisher, in an appropriate speech, wished the bride and bridegroom much joy and happiness.
Mining. It is reported that the Messrs Anderson have struck a payable reef at Macetown.

Otago Witness 6 May 1908, Page 39
At Macetown last evening Miss Annie Thompson, who is leaving Macetown to be married shortly, was presented with a gold bangle and clock by the residents of Macetown. Mr C. Ross, jun., made the presentation and referred to Miss Thompson's many good qualities. Miss Thompson feelingly replied.

Otago Witness 30 December 1908, Page 39
A wedding ceremony was performed at Cardrona on Monday last, when Mr Thos. Needham, of Macetown, and Miss L. Miller, of Cardrona, were joined in the bonds of wedlock by the Rev. father O'Donnell. Mr L. Needham acted as best man and Miss G. Miller as bridesmaid.

Otago Witness 14 July 1909, Page 39
Wedded. At Macetown on Wednesday last Mr Donald Henderson, second son of Mr W. Henderson, Roaring Meg and Miss Margaret Hannah, second daughter of Mr W. Hannah, Macetown, were united in bonds of wedlock. The happy event took place at the residence of the bride's parents, the Rev. R. Welsh being the officiating clergyman. Miss Mabel Anderson was bridesmaid, and Mr Kiving best man. The young couple received many useful and handsome presents. After the ceremony the newly-wedded couple left for Queenstown, where the was spent.  

The Twelve Apostles

Otago Witness, 30 March 1899, Page 29
In the early days we all were, I am afraid, very crude and uncivilised and naughty, as becomes people who live in the dark ages of any country's history. There was then no Seddon Government to purify the morals or limit the spending proclivities of themselves or of other people; no parson to keep us in the right path by his precept and example and above all, the shriek of the prohibitionist was not heard in the land. Though there was no parson north of the Kawarau there was a club at Macetown known as the Twelve Apostles, which was really a whisky club disguised under a misleading name. The twelve apostles had everything in common, and appointed the strongest and most powerful amongst them as king. The "king" received his high sounding title from the fact that he had never been known to have refused a drink. When the strain upon his epidermis had become as much as he could bear, and actually could contain no more whisky, he would say, "Pour it over me!" All this may be very shocking to fin de siecle prohibitionists, but it must be acknowledged that as I am writing history I must tell the truth. It also was the "king's" duty to see that every one of the apostles contributed his gettings to the general fund, which went to supply the needful for quenching the thirst which was in point of fact unquenchable —of the apostles. For some time one of their number had been noticed to be furnishing his newly-built hut with many luxuries. He laid in a stock of choice provisions, new blankets and clothes, and so forth. As he regularly put in his appearance to partake of the good things going without contributing anything towards their purchase, this proceeding aroused the suspicion of the rest of the band. The king was chaffed as being no match for the cunning one. In any case this state of things could not be allowed to continue. One evening the king arranged with some of his confreres to engage the suspected apostle in a game of cards. This was successfully done. At the end of a couple of hours the king appeared, gold pan in hand containing about 27 oz of gold. At the sight of the gold the suspected party changed colour and left in a great hurry. "You found the plant searching his hut?" asked several voices. The "king," who was a gentleman born and bred, whose father it was said bore one of the most ancient titles in the United Kingdom and at one time held a high position in the Household of Her Majesty, resented the ignoble insinuation fiercely with the words, Searched his hut, be d___d!, Do you think I am a thief? I burnt the whole blooming lot hut and all and panned out the ashes! " There is good deal more early Wakatipu history of which the above is sample.

Otago Daily Times 21 September 1868, Page 3
On Saturday last, the Coroner, Richmond Beetham, Esq., R.M., held an inquest at the Twelve-Mile, Macetown, upon the body of a man found dead at the foot, of a terrace near the Arrow River. The deceased was one of a party of men formerly known as "the Twelve Apostles;" this worthy dozen being so designated on account of their intemperate habits, and a sort of community of interest in money matters. It appears "that when one of the fraternity got gold it became the common property of the whole who quickly dissipated it in drink." Their unfortunate mate, it appears, while labouring under the effects of liquor, had fallen over the terrace, and had perished from the effects of drink and exposure.

Auckland Star, 15 November 1876, Page 2
A man named Joe Cummins, who belonged to a pleasant party of convivialists playfully styling themselves the "Twelve apostles," recently died at Macetown, Otago, and his mates allowed the body to remain unburied until it was in an advanced state of decomposition.

Wairarapa Daily Times, 20 September 1906, Page 5
Charles O. Palmer, an old resident of Macetown, Otago, died last week, aged 86 years, after a residence of 48 years in the township. He was better known as "Oliver," and was one of the band of pioneers. He was known as one of the twelve apostles of Macetown, whose ranks are now narrowed down to two.

Otago Witness 21 January 1882, Page 22
Arrow, January 12th. To the observant expert there are ample signs apparent proving that the Macetown reefs have now successfully survived the reaction following upon the too highly strung first excitement of their discovery, and showing that the reefs are about to enter on a period of solid prosperity. While the leading claims, which have made a name for the field, are continuing to yield satisfactory returns in spite of enormous expenses on account of the absence of a dray-road, many others that have been allowed to lie idle for years are now, when they are taken in hand, rising fast in public favour, and threaten to eclipse the older claims for productiveness. A very healthy tone of confidence in the payability and permanence of the Macetown reefs prevails amongst business men as well as practical miners, many of the latter having got married and built comfortable weatherboard cottages, which, considered at the Macetown cost of buildings, represents a very considerable amount of confidence. The business men of the place have followed in the same spirit. A new hotel has been added to the main street, and other new businesses have been established. Mr W. T. Smith has almost entirely rebuilt his commodious store, and mine host Elliott, of the Welcome Hotel, has extended his premises to double their previous size; so that Macetown, which has recently been surveyed, laid off, and sold as a township, is slowly but surely assuming the appearance of a go-ahead town. At the mines the practical digger cannot fail to notice the cause of the above-recorded pleasing effect. There is no trace now of the painfully-apparent anxiety felt that the visitor should only look at a few stock stones as a sample of the represented reef, nor are there now heard any excuses for the absence of visible gold. The visitor is furnished with a hammer and directed to the paddock, where he is asked to look for gold himself. At all the loading mines the character and extent of the preparations and adjuncts to the profitable working of quartz-claims strike the beholder by the solidity of their construction and the magnitude of their dimensions. In short, mining at Macetown has assumed all the appearances of a settled pursuit, relying with confidence on attained results for ail increasing prosperity in the future. If any further evidence were wanting as to the soundness of this confidence, I might mention that instead of being coaxed while he was dreaded, as was the case formerly, the newspaper reporter is now everywhere met with frankness, and publicity is rather courted than shunned. When it is considered that all the heavy and extensive works at Macetown have been accomplished in the absence of a dray-road, the present stage attained in the development of the Macetown reefs is, to say the least of it, surprising. To those unacquainted with the general nature of mountain bridletracks, and the requirements necessary for the successful prosecution of quartz-mining; this persistent agitation for a dray-road to Macetown may become monotonous, and a few illustrations of the hardships entailed upon people living in outlying places, such as Macetown, showing the great necessity for an improved means of conveyance, may here be admissible, especially when these illustrations aye taken in the double light of adding weight to, and serving as, an excuse for the agitation. When, some years ago, a family found occasion to remove from Macetown to Cardrona, the younger olive branches were packed as so many ducks and drakes in gin cases, securely; strapped down, with only their heads protruding from the boxes. The journey was made in easy stages, and every precaution was taken to secure the comfort of the little ones, yet such were the effects of jolting and jostling that one of the youngsters, a strong male infant, died from the effects of the journey a few days after. As another illustration, it may be mentioned that until a few years ago a window in a miner's hut was an unheard-of luxury, the packers refusing to pack such breakable articles except at the risk of the consignee; and I may add that a married lady about to become a resident at Macetown preferred to walk the whole distance in preference to any of the proffered means of conveyance, on account of the nature of the tracks. To families and mate's families, Macetown, with it present means of communication, means exile from the rest of the world. How far such tracks are fit for the transport of pieces of machinery weighing, in more than one case, upwards of two tons, I leave your readers to imagine, without saying anything of the clanger of a total wreck. The cost which the want of a dray road entails upon the mining companies at Macetown may be gathered from the fact that the Tipperary Company spent upwards of £4000 on mining timber alone. This timber came from the head of Lake Wakatipu, a distance of 30 miles, by steamer to Frankton ; from thence to Arrowtown by dray, a distance of 10 miles, where, with freight added, the cost of the timber amounted to about £1000 but to bring the same timber from Arrowtown to Macetown, a distance of 11 or 12 miles, costs about £3000 for packing it on horseback. These facts and figures speak for themselves, and this expense furnishes a sufficient illustration of the difficulties against which the mining companies at Macetown, in the absence of a dray-road, have to fight. The reefs have now been in work upwards of five years, and every year has added proof of their genuineness; yet in spite of this and of many friendly protestations, nothing has been done by; the General Government to assist mining at Macetown in a practical manner. It is true a sum of money has repeatedly been voted for the work, but it was hampered with such conditions that no practical result could be expected. 

Suggested reading

Both DoC and the The Lakes District Museum in Arrowtown stock a small booklet about Macetown which has info connected with the numbers along the road. It costs $4 plus postage. The museum can supply maps and track conditions.

Maintenance of buildings and structures in Macetown Reserve, Central Otago. J.B. Gray 2006. DOC Research & Development Series 250. 42 p. pdf a

Archaeological survey of the Arrow River and Macetown, Otago by Peter Petchey (2002)
AJHR - In 1878 H. Mace said in those times Daniel James Moore was the only man who went prospecting reefs. Many hundreds of people travelled over the ground between Macetown and Shotover, and Moore was the first man who discovered the reefs in 1863. Not goldfields, but [auriferous] quartz reefs at Macetown. All the gold got at first there was impregnated with quartz. It was such rough country. 1879 quartz reef mining
Cooper's Terrace - is at the start of the Macetown Track
Jim Anderson - goldminer
Frozen waterfall
New footbridges gap
Chinese at Bush Creek

Plan of Macetown. E. H. Wilmot, Jan. 1878. (Hocken Library) - map 20"X 14"
Macetown -
The story of a gold-mining town                                                               Beaton, Eileen  (1977) published by John McIndoe Limited, Dunedin. 62 pages. Ltd edition.
Maintenance of Buildings and Structures in Macetown Reserve, Central Otago     Gray, John B.  Dept. of Conservation. Aug 1, 2006 - 42 pages
Goldtown School: The Story of Macetown School                                                    Knudson, Danny A. (1975) - 32 page soft covered booklet
The History of Quartz Mining at Macetown, Otago, New Zealand                           Jeffery, Alistair (1988)
Macetown. The history of a goldfield ghost town.                                                                       Unpublished Manuscript. Veitch, A.J. 1972: Hocken Library, ms-1270-1/6/2 (in Peter Chandler papers).
Chinese gold miners outside a stone dwelling in Macetown, with George Hunter McNeur standing by fence on left. Photograph taken by Reverend Alexander Don, circa 1900.
Arrowtown cemetery headstone transcript / prepared for the Arrowtown Borough Council [Auckland Libraries has a copy]
Authors: Ngaire P Ockwell, Arrowtown (N.Z.). Borough Council. Publish info: [Arrowtown : Arrowtown Borough Council, 1982] Description: 29 leaves : ill. ; 30cm.

Macetown, a historic locality,
Popular with trampers and tourists,
 Once filled with golden hopes
Now in autumn fills with golden leaves.

   
Gold seeking. A photo study of sluicing in Moonlight 1937. Ab Symes claim and V. Symes.  Ab Symes batch. Not Macetown, there it was quartz ore crushers known as stampers.

 

Wairarapa Daily Times, 26 July 1913, Page 5
IN MEMORIAN.
Once more the witching gleam;
Again the old-time call;
Too soon comes night on reef and mountain stream,
And darkness over all.

Yet may I find the place where hidden lies
The precious yellow gold;
And in my hands take back again the prize
Of wealth untold.

Once more the witching gleam;
Again the old-time call;
Too soon comes night on reef and mountain stream.
And darkness over all.

Camp-fire and night-bird's call;
And from the mountain track
One golden stairway spanning over all,
And now I go not back.

And may I on that way of purest light,
Which chastened feet have trod,
Find gold celestial, when from out the night
My soul has passed to God.

Camp-fire and night-bird's call;
And from the mountain track
One golden stairway, spanning over all,
And now I go not back.

by Mr F. T. Redman

Page created December 2011