Search billions of records on

Some Army deaths 1918-1923
The Anglo-Irish War 1916-1923
Co. Cork

Updated 12 July 1999

Submitted to the cork mailing list

Some Army deaths 1918-1923

List compiler unknown.

Copied from a paperback, Rebel Cork's Fighting Story, from 1916 to the Truce with Britain. It is an Anvil Book, published by The Kerryman Ltd, Tralee.


Brigade Staff and First and Second Battalions
Brigade Staff:
Commandant Tomas MacCurtain, March 20, 1920;
Commandant Terence MacSwiney, October 25, 1920;
Commandant Denis Barry, November 20, 1923

First Battallion -

A. Company:
Sean O'Donoghue, September 28, 1922
Timothy Kenefick, November 23, 1922
Jeremiah Hourigan, August 12, 1922

B. Company:
Christopher Lucey, November 10, 1920

C. Company:
William Murphy, December 18, 1918
Daniel Crowley, William Deasy, Thomas Denehy, Jeremiah Mullane, Daniel Murphy, Michael O'Sullivan, all March 23, 1921
Denis Spriggs, July 8, 1921
Tadhg Barry, November 23, 1921

D. Company:
Sean Bulman, April 27, 1922
Christopher Olden, August 12, 1922

E. Company:
Liam Mulcahy, November 23, 1920
Denis C. Morrissey, November 23, 1920
James Moroney, August 12, 1922
William O'Sullivan, July 18, 1922
Liam Healy, October 29, 1924

F. Company:
Jeremiah Delaney, December 11, 1920
Cornelius Delaney, December 11, 1920

G. Company:
Michael Tobin, May 20, 1919
D. McCarthy, 1922
Matt Ryan, March 29, 1923

H. Company:
Patrick Murphy, September 9, 1922

Second Battallion

C. Company
Patrick O'Donoghue, November 23, 1920
Seamus Quirke, September 9, 1920
Tadhg O'Sullivan, April 19, 1921

D. Company:
Charles J. Daly, June 29, 1921
John O'Brien, September 14, 1922

E. Company:
Patrick Trahey, November 23, 1920
James Mehigan, November 23, 1920
Stephen Dorman, May 23, 1921

G. Company:
Eamon Tierney, December 16, 1920
Charles Daly, March 1, 1921
William Spillane, June 30, 1922
George Bourke, December 22, 1923

H. Company:
Joseph Murphy, October 25, 1920

The Anglo-Irish War 1916-1923

Heroic Dead of West Cork.

IThe Casualty List of those members of the Third West Cork Brigade Column, I.R.A., who sacrified their lives for Irish Freedom.

The list gives rank and name, address, and date and place of death, repectively.
In 1918, it was decided to form Cork into three Brigades, on a territorial basis.

The areas covered by the three Cork Brigades were:
Cork No 1. Brigade area extended from Youghal on the eastern sea-coast of the county to Ballingeary and Ballyvourney on the borders of Kerry in the west. Its southern limit was at Ballinhassig and its northern boundary at Donoughmore. The city was included in the Brigade area of Cork No. 1. There were two Battallions in the city and others were centered at Cobh, Donoughnore, Macroom, Ballinhassig, Ballingeary, Ballincollig, Carrignavar, Ballyvourney, Passage West and Youghal.

Cork No 2. Brigade covered the tract of country extending from Bally- noe, just north of Midleton, to the Kerry border west of Mill- street and Newmarket. It was bounded on the south by the Mushera mountains and on the north by the Limerick County Boundary. In the south east, the Cork No. 2 Brigade took in Glenville and Ahidillane. Battalions were centered at Fermoy, Castletownroche, Mitchelstown, Charleville, Mallow, Kanturk, Newmarket, and Millstreet.

Cork No 3 Brigade area extended from Ballinhassig to the west and south- west. Batallions were centered at Bandon, Clonakilty, Dunmanway, Skibbereen, Bantry and Castletownbere.

BARRETT, Richard        BEGLEY, Joe             CANTY, Geoffrey 
COFFEY, James           COFFEY, Patrick         CONNOLLY, John  
CONNOLLY, Timothy       COONEY, Patrick         CROWLEY, Daniel  
CROWLEY, Michael        CROWLEY, Patrick        CROWLEY, Timothy
CUNNINGHAM, Laurence    DALY, Con               DEASE, George
DEASY, Patrick          DONOHUE, Jim            DONOVAN, Daniel
DONOVAN, Matthew        DONOVAN, Patrick        DUGGAN, Patrick
DWYER, J.               FITZGERALD, Tim         FOLEY, Batt
GALVIN, John            HAYES, Michael          HEGARTY, Denis
HOWEL, John             HURLEY, Charles         HURLEY, Frank
HURLEY, John            KELLY, Denis            KENNEFICK, Timothy
McCARTHY, Cornelius     McCarthy, Donal         McCARTHY, Michael
McCARTHY, Patrick       McCLEAN, Michael        McGRATH, John
MONOHAN, Peter          MURPHY, Con             MURPHY, John
O'CONNOR, John          O'DRISCOLL, Patrick     O'LEARY, Jeremiah
O'LEARY, Tadhg          O'MAHONY, Jeremiah      O'NEILL, Jeremiah
O'NEILL, Michael        O'REILLY, Daniel        O'SULLIVAN, Patrick
PEARSE, Patrick         ROSS, Gibbs             SULLIVAN, Daniel
SULLIVAN, James         TOBIN, Michael          WHELAN, John
WHOOLEY, Timothy

Back to the Cork Page