Search billions of records on

Children's Literature Web Pages
Created and Maintained by Dr. Mary Ellen Van Camp
Copyright © 1997-2004 Mary Ellen Van Camp. All Rights Reserved.

Children's Book Awards

Another page of
Once Upon A Time ...

A Children's Literature Web Site

Links to other pages at this web site:

Back to the
Once Upon
a Time...
Main Page

and the
Real World



and Zoos

Kids' Pages



Children's Book Award Links

Nearly one hundred children's book awards are given annually. This web site will link you to information about some of the most significant ones.

The Caldecott Medal Home Page : Awarded annually by the American Library Association, the Caldecott Medal is the most prestigious award given to a children's picture book published in the United States during the preceding calendar year.

Caldecott Medal Information : This site answers some of the frequently asked questions about the medal and how it is awarded.

Caldecott Medal Winners and Honor Books : A frequently reproduced list--now available online.

The Caldecott Medal : Another site with Caldecott information

The Newbery Medal : The Newbery Medal link will take you to the Medal's Home Page sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children, which is a division of the American Library Association. The site carries information about the medal winners and honor books. It also provides links that will take the searcher to information about medal winners from previous years.

The Newbery Medalists : A wonderful page located at the "Embracing the Child" web site, it lists the books that have won the Newbery since 1922 and provides links to authors' web pages.

Coretta Scott King Award
This web page, created and maintained by the American Library Association, provides information about this award that has now taken a significant position beside the famed ALA Caldecott and Newbery awards.                                                                                                                                                                                          

Canadian Children's Book Awards : The Canadian Children's Book Centre has information about children's literature publications and awards in Canada.

The Hans Christian Andersen Medal : This international award is given every two years. When it was established in 1956, the award was given a living author who had made significant contributions to the field of Children's Literature over many years. Thus, the recognition was not for just one book (as with most of the other awards), but for many outstanding books over a lifetime career. In 1966, a second award was created so that an outstanding illustrator might also be recognized for lifetime achivements and contributions to the field of Children's Literature.

The Kate Greenaway Medal :Awarded by the British Library Association, the Kate Greenaway Medal was created in 1956. The award is presented annually for the most distinguished work in the illustration of children's books published in the United Kingdom.

The Australian Book of the Year Awards : As its title indicates, this site focuses on the Australian book awards.

The Golden Kite Award :
Awarded by the Society for Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, the Golden Kite Awards are presented annually to authors and illustrators of outstanding works for children.

If you have comments or suggestions,

email me at

The Children's Book Awards section was created on April 15, 1997.

The pages were last reviewed to verify the links on January 18, 2004.