Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   
Ephraim Sears - Diary 1862



January 1, 1862. Wednesday.:
In Camp Meigs

Thursday January 2 - Sunday 5th
No entries.

January 6, 1862. ,Monday.:
On guard.

January 7, 1862. Tuesday
In camp.

Wednesday, January 8- Thursday 9th
No entries.

January 10, 1862. , Friday.:
In camp raising the devil.

Saturday, January 11-Sunday 12:
No entries.

January 13, 1862. , Monday.:
On camp guard.

January 14, 1862., Tuesday.:
In camp.

January 14, 1862. , Wednesday.:
In camp.

Thursday 16- Friday 17.
No entries

January18, 1862. Saturday.
Cold.

January 19, 1862. , Sunday:
On camp guard.
January 21, 1862. , Tuesday.:
Not entry

January 22, 1862. , Wednesday.:
Raising the Devil.

January 23, 1862. , Thursday.:
Over to Dover and had a pretty time to get through the guards.

January 24, 1862. , Friday.:
No entry.

January 26, 1862., Saturday.:
In camp. Raising the Devil.

Monday 27-Thursday 30.
No entries.

January 31, 1862. , Friday.:
Raising the devil.

February: Saturday1-Sunday 2.
No entries.

February 3, 1862 . , Monday.:
On camp guard.

February 4, 1862. , Tuesday.:
In camp.

Wednesday 5, 1862.
No entry

February 6, 1862., Thursday.:
In camp.

Friday 7 & 8.
No entries.

February 9, 1862., Sunday.:
Over to Dover and had some fun.


February 10, 1862., Monday.:
No entry.

February 11, 1862. , Tuesday :
On guard at guard house.

February 12, 1862., Wednesday.:
In camp.

February 13, 1862., Thursday.:
Received marching orders.

February 14, 1862, Friday.:
Continued. Still in camp

February 15, 1862. , Saturday.:
Received marching orders and tore down the barracks, but did not go.

February 16, 1862. , Sunday.:
Still under the same orders. Have had a devil of a time.

February 17, 1862. , Monday.:
Left Camp Meigs for Camp Chase.

February 18, 1862. , Tuesday.:
Landed at Camp Chase.

February 19, 1862., Wednesday.:
Left Camp Chase. Tom McKee hurt by falling from a wagon.

February 20, 1862. , Thursday.:
Landed at Cincinnati.

February 21, 1862. , Friday.:
At Aurora. The boys pretty tight.

February 22. 1862. , Saturday:
Going down the river.

February 23, 1862. , Sunday.:
Landed at Paducah, Kentucky.

February 24, 1862., Monday:
Landed at Port Holt.

February 25, 1862. , Tuesday.:
Still at Port Holt.

February 26, 1862., Wednesday.:
In Port Holt.

February 27, 1862. , Thursday.:
Nothing of note.

February 28, 1862., Friday.:
Still at Fort Holt.

March 1, 1862. , Saturday.:
In Fort Holt.

March 2, 1862. , Sunday.:
In Fort Holt.

March 3, 1862. , Monday:
Went up the river to Fort Eckley.

March 4, 1862. , Tuesday.:
In Camp Eckley.

March 5, 1862. , Wednesday.:
Nothing of note.

March 6, 1862. , Thursday.:
Nothing of note.

March 7, 1862. , Friday.:
We left Camp Eckley for Paducah.

March 9, 1862. , Sunday.:
At Paducah.

March 10, 1862. , Monday.:
At Paducah.

March 11, 1862. , Tuesday.:
on duty.

March 12, 1862. , Wednesday.:
We buried Robert Forsythe D and Uptgraft.

March 13, 1862. , Thursday.:
Nothing of note.

March 14, 1862. , :Friday
At Paducah.

March 15, 1862., Saturday.:
At Paducah.

March 16, 1862. , Sunday:
Mr Forsythe here today.

March 17, 1862. , Monday.
At Paducah.

March 18, 1862. , Tuesday.:
At Paducah.

March 19, 1862. , Wednesday.:
At Paducah.

March 20, 1862. , Thursday.:
At Paducah.

March 21, 1862. , Friday.:
Sale of government horses.

March 22, 1862. , Saturday:
At Paducah.

March 23, 1862. , Sunday.:
At Paducah.

March 24, 1862. , :Monday.
Some of the 48th got here going home.

March 25 Tuesday-Monday 31
No entries.

April 1, 1862 -Tuesday- Wednesday 2
No entries

April 3, 1862. Thursday.
Emerson Etheridge spoke.

April 4, 1862. Friday.
No entry.

April 5, 1862. Saturday.
Nothing of note.

April 6, 1862. Sunday
Battle of Pittsburg Landing.

April 7, 1862. Monday.
Continued.

April 8, 1862. Tuesday.
At Paducah.

April 9, 1862. Wednesday.
No entry.

April 10, 1862.Thursday.
In Paducah. Wounded soldiers landed.

April 11, 1862. Friday.
At camp.

April 12, 1862. Saturday.
In camp.

April 13, 1862. Sunday.
Out on a three days' scout with A.K Brown and others.

April 14, 1862. Monday.
Got a Secesh.

April 15, 1862. Tuesday.
Nothing special.

April 16, 1862.Wednesday.
Return to Paducah from scout.

April 17, 1862. Thursday.
In Paducah.

April 18, 1862. Friday.
In Paducah.

April 19, 1862. Saturday.
In Paducah.

April 20, 1862. Sunday.
In Paducah.

April 21, 1862. Monday.
In Paducah.

April 22, 1862, Tuesday.
Marching orders.

April 23, 1862. Wednesday.
Received pay, legal tender notes.

April 24, 1862. Thursday.
We left Paducah for Pittsburg Landing.

April 25, 1862. Friday.
We passed Fort Henry.

April 16, 1862. Saturday.
We landed at Pittsburg Landing.

April 27, 1862. Sunday.
We moved up the river to Buel's Landing.

April 28, 1862. Monday
We moved up the river to Hamburg.

April 29, 1862. Tuesday.
Unloading the cartridges and drinking the whiskey.

April 30, 1862. Wednesday.
Brought in seventy-five prisoners.

May 1, 1862. Thursday.
Sorting guns.
May 2 Friday.- Saturday 3.
No entries.

May 4, 1862. Sunday.
At Hamburg.

Monday 5-Wednesday 7
No entries.

May 8, 1862.Thursday.
Mounting three siege guns.

May 9, 1862. Friday.
At Hamburg.

May 10, 1862. Saturday.
At Hamburg.

May11, 1862.Sunday.
Started to Farmington with sixty-two prisoners.

May 12, 1862. Monday.
Return to camp.

May 13, 1862. Tuesday.
At camp.

May 14, 1862.Wednesday.
No entry.

May 15, 1862. Thursday.
Heavy firing at Corinth.

May 16, 1862 .Friday.
Yet some more firing.

May 17, 1862. Saturday.
Went scouting.

May 18, 1862. Sunday.
Went to Pittsburg and staid all night.

May 19, 1862. Monday.
Return to camp.

May 20, 1862. Tuesday.
At Hamburg.

May 21, 1862. Wednesday.
At Hamburg.

May 22, 1862. Thursday.
No entry.

May 23, 1862. Friday.
At Hamburg.

May 24, 1862. Saturday.
No entry.

May 25, 1862. Sunday.
At Pittsburg. Goody in the guard house.

May 26, 1862.Monday.
Received pay.

May 27, 1862. Tuesday.
Sick.

May 28, 1862.Wednesday.
Sick.

May 29, 1862. Thursday.
Sick.

May 30 ,1862. Friday.
We left Hamburg for Cincinatti.

May 31, 1862. Saturday.
We landed at Paducah.

June 1, 1862.Sunday.
Landed at Evansville. Left some sick.

June 2, 1862. Monday.
We got to Louisville.

June 3, 1862. Tuesday.
We got to Cincinatti and went to Camp Dennis.

June 4, 1862. Wednesday
Left Camp Dennis for home.

June 5, 1862. Thursday
Landed at Cambridge and went out home. Sick.

June 6, 1862.Friday.
Some of the girls came to see me.

June 7, 1862. Saturday.
Sick.

June 8, 1862. Sunday.
Sick James came to see me.

June 9, 1862. Monday.
Sick.

June 10, 1862. Tuesday.
Sick.

June 11, 1862. Wednesday.
Sick.

June 12, 1862. Thursday
Writing School.

June 13, 1862. Friday.
Sick.

June 14, 1862. Saturday.
Sick.

June 15, 1862. Sunday.
Sick.

June 16, 1862. Monday.
Sick.

June 17, 1862. Tuesday.
Sick.

June 18, 1862. Wednesday.
Sick.

June 19, 1862. Thursday.
Sick.

June 20, 1862. Friday
Went to writing school.

June 21, 1862. Saturday
Sick.

June 22, 1862. Sunday.
Still sick.

June 23, 1862. Monday
Feel some better.

June 24, 1862. Tuesday.
Still better.

June 25, 1862. Wednesday.
Worse.

June 26, 1862. Thursday.
Some better.

June 27, 1862. Friday.
Some better.

June 28, 1862. Saturday.
Still better.

June 29, 1862. Sunday.
Still better.

June 30, 1862. Monday.
Still better.

July 1, 1862. Tuesday.
Out on a scout. Some fun up on the ridge.

July 2, 1862. Wednesday.
Good times on the ridge.

July 3, 1862. Thursday.
Some fun.

July 4, 1862. Friday.
More fun than ever.

July 5, 1862. Saturday.
Came home.

July 6, 1862. Sunday.
At home.

July 7, 1862. Monday.
At home.

July 8, 1862. Tuesday.
At home.

July 9, 1862. Wednesday.
At home.

July 10, 1862. Thursday.
At home.

July 11, 1862.Friday.
At home.

July 12, 1862. Saturday.
At home.

July 13, 1862. Sunday.
At home.

July 14, 1862. Monday.
Good time.

July 15, 1862.Tuesday.
Thinking about starting back.

July 16. 1862. Wednesday.
Left home for Columbus.

July 17, 1862.Thursday.
Went out to Camp Chase.

July 18, 1862. Friday.
Went to Camp Dennison.

July 19, 1862. Saturday.
At camp.

July 20, 1862.Sunday.
At camp.

July 21, 1862. Monday.
At camp.

July 22, 1862. Tuesday.
At Camp Dennison.

July 23, 1862.Wednesday.
At camp.

July 24, 1862. Thursday.
At camp

July 25, 1862. Friday.
At camp.

July 26, 1862. Saturday.
Wrote some letters to some of my friends.

July 27, 1862. Sunday.
Still at camp.

July 28, 1862.Monday.
At camp.

July 29, 1862. Tuesday.
At camp.

July 30, 1862. Wednesday.
Still at camp.

July 31, 1862. Thursday.
In camp.

August 1, 1862. Friday.
In camp.

August 2, 1862. Saturday.
In camp

August 3, 1862. Sunday.
In camp.

August 4, 1862. Monday.
I left camp fo Cincinnati.

August 5, 1862. Tuesday.
We left Cincinnati for Louisville.

August 6, 1862. Wednesday.
We landed at Louisville and went to the barracks.

August 7, 1862. Thursday.
We left Louisville for Memphis.

August 8, 1862. Friday.
Landed at Evansville and had a fuss with the boys.

August 9, 1862. Saturday.
We got to Paducah.

August 10, 1862. Sunday.
We pass Fort Billow.

August 11, 1862. Monday.
We pass Fort Randolph.

August 12, 1862, Tuesday.
We landed at Memphis.

August 13, 1862. Wednesday.
We landed at Columbus.

August 14, 1862. Thursday.
We went out the road until the engine bursted.

August 15, 1862. Friday.
We went out to where the regiment was camping.

August 16, 1862. Saturday.
I landed at my regiment.

August 17, 1862. Sunday.
I rested.

August 18, 1862. Monday.
I went out on picket guard.

August 19, 1862. Tuesday.
On picket.

August 20, 1862. Wednesday.
No entry.

August 21, 1862. Thursday.
No entry.

August 22, 1862, Friday.
Four men returned.

August 23, 1862. Saturday.
Marching orders.

August 24, 1862. Sunday.
Orders continued.

August 25, 1862. Monday.
In camp.

August 26, Tuesday.-31 Sunday.
No entries.

September 1, 1862. Monday.
At Camp Sullivan.

September 2, 1862. Tuesday.
Ten of us went to Corinth.

September 3, 1862. Wednesday
Left Corinth and camp at Clear Creek.

September 4, 1862. Thursday
Came from Corinth.

September 5, 1862. Friday.
On picket guard.

September 6, 1862. Saturday
Still on guard.

September 7, 1862.Sunday.
Still on picket guard. Counter sign "Cero Gardo".

September 8, 1862..Monday.
Relieved of picket.

September 9, 1862. Tuesday.
In camp.

September 10, 1862. Wednesday.
Went out on picket guard.

September 11, 1862. Thursday.
Some firing on the line.

September 12, 1862. Friday.
Rained very hard all night.

September 13, 1862. Saturday.
Returned from picket.

September 14, 1862. Sunday.
Marched to Jacinto.

September 15, 1862. Monday
Daley arrested and taken out of a house.

September 16, 1862. Tuesday.
In Jacinto.

September 17, 1862. Wednesday.
Marching orders.

September 18, 1862. Thursday.
We left Jacinto and camp in the woods.

September 19, 1862. Friday.
Marching to Iuka and had a battle. I was left on the field.

September 20, 1862. Saturday.
In pursuit of Price all day. Two crackers between three men.

September 21, 1862. Sunday.
Marched to Jacinto.

September 22, 1862. Monday.
Rained today.

September 23, 1862. Tuesday.
In camp.

September 24, 1862. Wednesday.
No entry.

September 25, 1862. Thursday.
No entry.

September 26, 1862. Friday.
On picket.

September 27, 1862. Saturday.
Came off picket.

September 28, 1862. Sunday.
In camp.

September 29, 1862. Monday.
In camp.

September 30, 1862. Tuesday.
Marching orders.

October 1, 1862. Wednesday.
Marched to Corinth.

October 2, 1862. Thursday.
Inside of breastworks.

October 3, 1862. Friday.
The Battle of Corinth. Our major killed. Samuel Johnson killed. Shannon wounded. I helped with the wounded.

October 4, 1862. Saturday.
Continued. Thomas Johnson was killed. Major Lanning was killed.

October 5, 1862. Sunday.
After Price.

October 6, 1862.Monday.
Still after Price.

October 7, 1862. Tuesday.
Near Ripley.

October 8, 1862. Wednesday.
Started back at Corinth.

October 9, 1862. Thursday
Camp east of Corinth.

October 10, 1862.Friday.
In camp east of Corinth

October 11, 1862. Saturday.
No entry.

October 12, 1862.Sunday.
No entry.

October 13, 1862.Monday.
Marched north of Corinth.

October 14, 1862. Tuesday.
In camp.

October 15, 1862. Wednesday.
No entry.

October 16, 1862. Thursday.
No entry.

October 17 1862. Friday.
No entry.

October 18, 1862. Saturday.
On camp guard.


October 19, 1862. Sunday
In camp.

October 20, 1862. Monday.
No entry.

October 21, 1862. Tuesday.
On grand guard at the fortification.

October 22, 1862.Wednesday.
In camp.

October 23, 1862. Thursday.
No entry.

October 24, 1862. Friday.
On camp guard.

October 25, 1862. Saturday.
The first snow this winter.

October 26, 1862. Sunday.
In camp. Raising the devil.

October 27, 1862. Monday.
Guarding at the General's.

October 28, 1862. Tuesday.
In camp.

October 29, 1862. Wednesday.
Working on the breastworks.

October 30, 1862. Thursday.
In camp.

October 31, 1862.Friday.
Guarding at the General's. Mustered for pay.

November 1, 1862. Saturday.
In camp all day. Received marching orders.

November 2, 1862. Sunday.
Started on a march.

November 3, 1862. Monday.
Still marching.

November 4, 1862. Tuesday.
Pass grand Junction and camp on Big Hatchie River.

November 5, 1862. Wednesday.
No entry.

November 6, 1862. Thursday.
On Big Indian Creek.

November 7, 1862. Friday
Big Indian creek.

November 8, 1862. Saturday.
March six miles down the creek to Davis's Mills.

November 9, 1862. Sunday.
Marched six miles towards Holly Springs and back.

November 10, 1862. Monday.
On the creek.

November 11, 1862. Tuesday.
Still on the creek.

November 12, 1862. Wednesday.
Marched towards Holly Springs.

November 13, 1862. Thursday.
Marched to Holly Springs and back.

November 14, 1862. Friday.
Marched back to Davis's Mills.

November 15, 1862. Saturday
At Davis's Mills

November 16, 1862.Sunday.
No entry.

November 17, 1862. Monday.
Marched north to Moscow.

November 18, 1862. Tuesday
We went in camp near Moscow.

November 19, 1862. Wednesday.
At Moscow on duty.

November 20, 1862. Thursday.
In camp.

November 21, 1862. Friday.
Gen. Sullivan left. Three cheers for him. We were drawn in the line of battle, but was soon over with.

November 22, 1862. Saturday.
In Camp Moscow raising the Devil. Some of the boys went out in the country.

November 23, 1862. Sunday.
Some of the boys went out in the country and brought in honey, chickens, and potatoes.

November 24, 1862. Monday.
On guard at the General's.

November 25, 1862. Tuesday.
A.K Brown and John Goody went out and brought in some chickens.

November 26, 1862. Wednesday.
Some of the boys went out and brought in bees.

November 27, 1862. Thursday.
Camp Moscow.

November 28, 1862. Friday
Left Mosocw. Move to rebel Camp.

November 29, 1862. Saturday.
Move to Waterford in a Rebel camp.

November 30, 1862. Sunday.
Staying at Waterford. Received marching orders.

December 1, 1862. Monday.
At Waterford. Rain.

December 2, 1862. Tuesday.
Left Waterford and move to Hatchie River at fortification here.

December 3, 1862. Wednesday
Laying at Hatchie.

December 4, 1862. Thursday.
Laying at Hatchie.

December 5, 1862. Friday.
Laying at Hatchie on two-thirds rations.

December 6, 1862. Saturday.
Camp all night four miles from Oxford.

December 7, 1862. Sunday.
Started and marched close to Oxford.

December 8, 1862. Monday.
Started to Holly Springs to guard some provision wagons. Camp all night at Hatchie.

December 9, 1862. Tuesday.
Started to march to Holly Springs.

December 10, 1862. Wednesday.
Started back and camp fifteen miles out.

December 12, 1862. Thursday.
Landed at Oxford.

December 13, 1862. Friday.
Got marching orders. Move five miles south.

December 14, 1862. Saturday.
In camp.

(Entries December 15-20 missing)

December 21, 1862. Sunday.
Move back to Oxford in line of battle.

December 22, 1862. Monday.
Started back to Alleyville.

December 23, 1862. Tuesday
Move to Holly Springs.

December 24, 1862. Wednesday.
Move back to the mills.

December 25, 1862. Thursday
In camp. Excitement here.

December 26, 1862. Friday.
Left the mill for Memphis. Marched 10 miles.

December 27, 1862. Saturday.
March to Vialy, forty-four miles..

December 28, 1862. Sunday
March within seven miles of Memphis. This was a hard day's march.

December 29, 1862. Monday
March in the city and camp.

December 30, 1862. , Tuesday.
In camp in Memphis. Cold here.

December 31, 1862.
Wednesday.
Started for Moscow.


Letters written Home & Glossary of Slang

1864 Diary

1863 Diary

1862 Diary

Back To 80th OVI Homepage



80th Ohio Volunteer Infantry
Copy Right 2002
Created September 24, 2002
Web page by Charles Paul Keller
Copmiz@aol.com
http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~keller/ovi80/work/diary1862.html


Please visit my other web sites: LINKS

Send
Your
EMAIL
Here


You are visitor number
Created Septembet 24, 2002