Search billions of records on

St Erme Online Parish Resources

St Erme, (Cornish: Egloserm), is situated in the deanery and Hundred of Powder. It is bounded on the north by Newlyn East, on the east by Ladock and Probus, on the south by St Clement, and on the west by St Allen. A detached portion of the parish, comprising the Manor of Polsue, is bounded by the parishes of Probus and St Clement, and St Clement's Creek. The parish is named after St Hermes, a 3rd century Roman martyr. It was in this parish, at Tresillian Bridge, that a treaty was concluded in March 1646 between Sir Ralph Hopton and Sir Thomas Fairfax, by which Cornwall was surrendered to Parliament at the end of the English Civil War.

The parish is four miles north of Truro, sandwiched between the parishes of St Allen and Ladock. The main village is St Erme with Trispen, which is actually composed of two neigbouring villages, St Erme and Trispen. At one time St Erme had the church, school and village hall while Trispen had the pub, post office, and chapel. Agriculture no longer provides the main employment and the area has become a dormitory area for Truro. St Erme's last census in 2001, recorded a population of 1215.

The information on this website has been extracted as part of the Online Parish Clerk (OPC) project for Cornwall. For more details on the OPC project, use this link. Please note that online transcriptions will only go up to 1900 to preserve people's privacy, however, lookups after this date will be available. If you find any errors, then please let me know.

Use the links on the left to navigate the site and if you have any queries, please contact me using the link at the bottom of the page. NB: This is for genealogicial research only and is not affiliated with the current Parish Council.

Old School House St Erme Church Nave

This site is © Copyright Gill Hart 2008-2010, All Rights Reserved. Last modified September 26th 2010