Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   

Long Island Genealogy Resources

 

Town Clerk Offices

In New York most vital records (birth, marriage & death) are not kept at the county level, but at the town level.  An exception is New York City, where the vital records for the the counties of Bronx, Kings,  New York, Queens, and Richmond are kept at the New York City Municipal Archives or at the New York City Health Department.  

Below is the contact information for the various town clerk offices in Nassau and Suffolk County.

Town Offices  in Nassau County

 

List of towns in Nassau County

 

Oyster Bay

http://www.oysterbaytown.com/

Town Clerk      Steven L. Labriola        516-624-6332

 

Hempstead

http://www.townofhempstead.org/

Town Clerk      Mark A. Bonilla            516-489-5000

 

North Hempstead

http://www.northhempstead.com/content/4200/4898/default.aspx

Town Clerk      Leslie Gross                 516-869-7646 grossl@northhempstead.com

 

 

 

 

Town Offices in Suffolk County

 

List of towns in Suffolk County

 

Town of Babylon

Town Clerk: Janice Tinsley-Colbert      (631) 957-3005

 

Town of Brookhaven

Town Clerk: Pam Betheil                      (631) 451-9101

 

Town of East Hampton

Town Clerk: Fred Overton                   (631) 324-4142           foverton@town.east-hampton.ny.us

 

Town of Huntington

Town Clerk: Jo-Ann Raia                      (631) 351-3206           clerk@town.huntington.ny.us

 

Town of Islip

Town Clerk: Regina V. Duffy              (631) 224-5490           R.Duffy@townofislip-ny.gov

 

Town of Riverhead

Town Clerk: Barbara Grattan               (631) 727-3200 Ext 262          grattan@riverheadli.com

 

Town of Shelter Island

Town Clerk: Dorothy S. Ogar               (631)749-1166             townclerk@shelterislandtown.us

 

Town of Smithtown

Town Clerk: Vincent Puleo                   (631) 360-7620           townclerk@tosgov.com

 

Town of Southampton

Town Clerk: Sundy A. Schermeyer       (631) 287 - 5740

 

Town of Southold

Town Clerk: Elizabeth A. Neville          (631) 765-1800           e.neville@town.southold.ny.us

 


 

 

Home

 

Updated :  01/19/2013