Search billions of records on

History of Antioch Church

The following information was taken from a hand written history of the Antioch Church in Antioch, West Virginia. The actual writer of the copy in my possession is unknown, but it was compiled in 1986 from church records. I have included only portions of the original document.

Antioch Evangelical United Brethren Church is located two miles southwest of Route 50 and about seven miles west of Burlington in the little village of Antioch, West Virginia. The Antioch congregation worshiped for about forty years in an old schoolhouse that stood on the lot where the present church building was later erected. The land was purchased for $300. The deed reads: This deed made 18th day of Dec. 1886 between T.B. Rogers and A. Thrush, T. Thrush and J. Connor, trustrees of the Virginia Conference of Antioch Charge. The main part of the church was built in 1898 under the pastorate of Rev. J.H. Bunk at a cost of about $1,000. The church was dedicated by Bishop J. Weaver. The pulpit was made by Rev. Brunk and is still being used. In 1938 the building was remodeled and a coal furnace installed. Rev. E.C. Day was pastor at that time. Dedicatory services were held July 3, 1938. Service were in charge of Dr. J.H. Brunk who forty years earlier had served the church when it was first built. Dr. Brunk was assisted in the dedication by Dr. U.P. Hovermale. Ministers serving the church in the early history were Rev. S.D. Skelton, Rev. J.H. Brunk, Rev. B.P.S. Bucey, Rev. W.H. Clarey, and Rev. C.R. Dyche.

In 1946 The United Brethren and Evangelical churches merged and Antioch Church became The Evangelical United Brethren. In 1969 The E.U.B. Church merged with the Methodist Church and became the United Methodist Church. In 1970 the parking lot across the road was purchased as well as another, the former residence of the late E.H. Martin.

The stones for the church foundation were hauled in by wagon, by A. Roberts and T. Martin. The church bell was purchased from the India Glen School in 1933.

Ministers who have served the church:

Burgess, Bamford, Canales, Little, Kesecher, Wolfe, Shickle, Mundy, Frederich, Grove, Day, Walz, Hill, Kesner, Poole, Hall, Nair, Baker, Whitlatch, Shingleton, Van Gilder, Sherman, Arvin, Gain, Shultz, Daniels, Metheny, Russells, Bowyer, Suder.