Search billions of records on

Kelly's Directory of Monmouthshire,1901
The proprietors trust that the present Edition of Kelly's Directory of Monmouthshire may be found at least equal in accuracy to the previous ones. Every place in Monmouthshire, and every parish will again be found to be included in the book. The Letters M.O.O. and S.B. are abbreviations adopted by H.M. Post Office to represent Money Order Office and Savings Bank.

BISHTON is a parish, 1 miles east from Llanwern station on the South Wales section of the Great Western railway, 5 east from Newport and 10 from Chepstow, in the Southern division of the county, lower division of the hundred of Caldicot, petty sessional division, union and county court district of Newport, and in the rural deanery of Caerleon, archdeaconry of Monmouth and diocese of Llandaff.

The church of St. Cadwallader is a small building of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, north porch and a fine embattled western tower containing one bell: the church was entirely restored in 1887 at a cost of 1,098: there are 90 sittings.The register dates from the year 1793. The church was broken into in 1821 and the earlier registers stolen. The living is a vicarage, annexed to the rectory of Llanwern, joint net income 250, with residence, in the gift of The Misses Rous and the archdeacon of Llandaff alternately, and held since 1873 by the Rev. Jeffery Hooper, of St. David's College, Lampeter. Here is a Presbyterian Hall to hold about 40 persons.

The Ecclesiastical Commissioners are lords of the manor. The Misses Rous and Mrs. W. Perry-Herrick, of Beaumanor Park, Leicestershire, are the principal landowners.

The soil is a clayey loam; subsoil, clay and stone. The chief crops are wheat, barley, oats and roots. The area is 1,390 acres; rateable value, 3,943; and the population in 1891 was 166.

Post Office.
Thomas Davies, sub-postmaster.
Letters through Newport, arrive at 9.20 a.m. & dispatched 4.30 p.m. Postal orders are issued here, but not paid. The nearest money order office & telegraph office is at Magor, 3 miles distant

A School Board Of 5 members was formed 17th December, 1875.
Rev. J. Hooper, chairman & honorary clerk to the board.
Jeffery Jenkins, attendance officer

Board School (mixed), built in 1878, at a cost of 800, for 32 children ; average attendance, 26.
George Moss, master

Bailey, Mrs.
Hooper, Rev. Jeffery, (vicar of Bishton & rector of Llanwern), Vicarage

Davies James, farmer, Common farm
Davies Mary (Mrs.), farmer
Davies Noah, farmer
Davies Reginald, farmer, Castle farm
Gale Ann (Mrs.), farmer, Heulan row
Gale Cecelia (Mrs.), farmer, Highmeadow farm
Gale, David, farmer, Village farm
Gale Hannah Mrs., New inn P.H.
George Benjamin, farmer, Great House farm
Rees Reginald, farmer
Rodway Abigail (Miss), farmer, Coeduspoeg farm
Rosser Morgan, farmer, Ridings farm
Tamplin Edward, farmer