Search billions of records on
Table of Early History and Colonization
In the early 19th cent. the colony of New South Wales included Tasmania, South Australia, Victoria, Queensland, the Northern Territory, and New Zealand. These territories were separated and made colonies in their own right between 1825 and 1863.
Note that hyperlinks to States are offsite links.
+ links to
GenWeb sites
Australia Capital Territory

ACT was called the Federal Capital Territory until 1938
1911- Most of the territory consists of an area formerly known as Yass-Canberra, which was ceded to the commonwealth by New South Wales.

1915 - New South Wales additionally ceded Jervis Bay, providing a potential port for Canberra.

1938 - name change from Federal Capital Territory to Australian Capital Territory.

1988 - ACT territory gained self-government with its own unicameral parliament, and Jervis Bay was separated from the territory.

Australian Capital Territory: SE Australia, an enclave within New South Wales, containing Canberra, capital of Australia.
1770 - explored by Capt. James Cook, who proclaimed British sovereignty over the east coast of Australia.

1788 - Sydney, the first Australian settlement, was founded as a prison farm.

1820's and 30's - The character of New South Wales changed as the wool industry grew and the importation of convicts ceased.

btwn. 1825 -1863 - The territories of Tasmania, South Australia, Victoria, Queensland, the Northern Territory, and New Zealand. were separated from NSW and made colonies in their own right.

1901 -The Australian Capital Territory (site of Canberra, the federal capital), an enclave in New South Wales, was ceded to the commonwealth.
New South Wales: bounded on the east by the Pacific Ocean.

Sydney is the capital.

In the early 19th century the colony included Tasmania, South Australia, Victoria, Queensland, the Northern Territory, and New Zealand. These territories were separated and made colonies in their own right between 1825-1863.
  1824 - Northern Territory's first settlement was established at Port Essington in an attempt to forestall French colonization. The settlement failed.

1869 - Permanent settlement of NT resumed.
from 1825 to 1863 - NT was part of New South Wales.

1863 to 1911 - NT was part of South Australia.

1911 - Nt transferred to direct rule by the commonwealth.

1926 - NT was divided into two territories.

1931 - NT was reunited as one territory.
Northern Territory: territory in north central Australia. It is bounded on the north by the Timor Sea, the Arafura Sea, and the Gulf of Carpentaria.

Darwin is the territorial capital.
1770-Capt. James Cook explored the coast of Queensland (then called Moreton Bay).

1824 to 1843 - Queensland served as a penal colony under the authority of New South Wales.

1859 - The area was separated from New South Wales and made a British colony.

1901 - Queensland was federated as a state of the Commonwealth of Australia

Queensland: state in NE Australia.

Brisbane is the capital The state comprises the entire northeastern part of the Australian continent, with the major part of its coastline sheltered by the Great Barrier Reef.
1627 - South Australia's coastal areas were visited by the Dutch.

1802 - British explorer Matthew Flinders noted likely settlement sites.

1834 - Prompted by the writings of Edward Gibbon Wakefield, a British colonial statesman, the English Parliament passed the South Australian Colonization Act.

Dec. 1836 - , the first colonists arrived and proclaimed South Australia a colony. In South Australia, unlike most of Australia, convicts were not admitted as settlers.

1901 - South Australia was federated as a state of the commonwealth.

1911 - Northern Territory, which had been included in the state in 1863, was transferred to the commonwealth government.
South Australia: state in south central Australia. bounded on the south by the Indian Ocean. Kangaroo Island and many smaller islands off the south coast are included in the state.

Adelaide is the capital.

Much of South Australia is wasteland-deserts, mountains, salt lakes, and swampland.


1642 - The island was explored in by the Dutch navigator Abel Tasman, who named it Van Diemen's Land.

1777 -James Cook visited the island

1803 - Great Britain took possession and established a penal colony.

1825 -Tasmania was then constituted as a separate colony, no longer governed by New South Wales.

1853 - The transportation of convicts ended.

1850's - The British established constitutional self-government in the colony and the name was officially changed to Tasmania.

1901 - Tasmania was federated as a state in the Commonwealth of Australia.
Tasmania: Island State, SE Commonwealth of Australia. It is separated from Australia by the Bass Strait Tasmania includes many offshore islands, among which are Bruny, the Hunter Islands, the Furneaux Group, King Island, and Macquarie Island. The Indian Ocean is to the west and the Pacific Ocean to the east.

Hobart is the state capital.
1803 and 1826 - Unsuccessful attempts at settlement were made in on the site of the present Melbourne.

1830's - Settlement began when sheep ranchers from Tasmania came looking for pasture.

1836 - Known as the Port Phillip District, the area that is now Victoria became part of the colony of New South Wales.

1851 - Victoria was made a separate British colony.

1851 - The discovery of gold led to a rapid population increase.

1855 - Granted full constitutional self-government.

1901 - Victoria was federated as a state of the Commonwealth of Australia
Victoria: state in SE Australia. bounded on the S and E by the Indian Ocean, Bass Strait, and the Tasman Sea.

Melbourne is the capital.

1616- Dirck Hartog, a Dutchman who arrived, first white man known to have visited the coast.

1826 - A penal colony was founded at Albany.

1829 - the first free settlement was established in the Perth-Fremantle area.

1831 - Governed at first by New South Wales, Western Australia received its own governor.

1850's - Britain sent some 10,000 convicts to aid the settlers, most of whom had migrated from E Australia.

1860's - the first livestock farmers arrived in the northwest.

1880's - Gold was discovered.

1890 - Western Australia has its own a full constitution as a separate colony.

1901 - became a state of the Commonwealth of Australia.
Western Australia: state comprising the entire western part of the continent. It is bounded on the N, W, and S by the Indian Ocean.

Perth is the capital.

One-name study for the surname ENGLISH
page created: 07 Apr 2003 / updated: 10 Mar 2010
Web Design:
Learn more at:
© 2001-2012 Barbara English West. All rights reserved.