Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   

Lisburn Standard - Friday, 1 December, 1916

Deaths

ALEXANDER -- November 30, 1916, at his residence, Glenbank, Lisburn, John P. Alexander, Funeral private. No flowers.

Killed in Action.

TOOLE -- Killed in action on October 12, 1916. Private Edward Toole, Royal Irish Fusiliers.
     It's hard to part with those we love,
          Though parting days will come;
     Yet let us hope to meet above,
          For this is not our home.
Sadly missed by his sorrowing Wife, EMILY TOOLE, also his five little, Children. 12 Church Street, Lisburn.

SKELLY -- Killed in action on October 31, 1916, Private William Skelly, Royal Irish Rifles, third and dearly-beloved son of the late William and Mary Jane Skelly.
     Peace by thy rest, dear brother,
          'Tis sweet to breathe thy name;
     In life we loved you dear,
          In death we do the same.
Inserted by his sorrowing Sisters and Brothers. 122 Grand Street, Lisburn.

Clippings

SOME EXTRACTS FROM THE

RECORDS OF OLD LISBURN

AND THE MANOR OF KILLULTAGH.

-- -- --

Edited by JAMES CARSON.

-- -- --

VII.

-- -- --

COPY OF CHARTER ESTABLISHING LISBURN MARKETS.

-- -- --

Letters Patent, 3rd Charles 1st, 1628.

-- -- --

(From Mr. JOSEPH ALLEN'S Collection)

"AND FURTHER of our special grace and of our certain knowledge and mere motion for us, our heirs and successors, WE do grant that the aforesaid Edward Viscount Conway and Killultagh, his heirs and assigns, have hold and keep and may and shall be able to have, hold and keep one market on every Tuesday in each week in and at the aforesaid town of Lisnegarvey, in the aforesaid County of Antrim, for ever, AND also two fairs or marts in and at the said town of Lisnegarvey to be holden yearly and every year for ever: that is to say, one of the same fairs or marts of the said two fairs or marts yearly to commence on the 10th day of July, and to be kept, continue and last all that day and for two days next following. And the other fair of the said two fairs or marts to commence on the 24th day of September (and) yearly, to continue, be kept and last all that day and for two days then next following. Moreover, we will and our intention is, and by these presents for us, our heirs and successors We do ordain and grant that as often as either of the aforesaid days for keeping the aforesaid two fairs or marts or either of them shall fall on a Sunday, that then and so often the aforesaid Edward Viscount Conway and Killultagh, his heirs and assigns in the place of the aforesaid day which shall so fall on a Sunday have, hold and keep and may and shall be able to have, hold and keep the said fairs or marts for the space of one other day after the end of the aforesaid three days next following, Together with Courts of Pie Powdre to be holden there in the time of the said Market and Fairs respectively: And that the said Edward Viscount Conway and Killultagh, his heirs and assigns for ever have, hold and enjoy all and singular tolls, perquisites, profits, commodities, emoluments, liberties, franchises, customs and jurisdictions whatsoever to the aforesaid market, fairs or marts and Courts or either of them appertaining or in anywise belonging: And that this present grant of market and fairs and other the premises be in all things and by all things good and effectual in law against us, our heirs and successors, notwithstanding that our Writ of ad quod dampnum hath not issued before the making of these presents to enquire what damage and what prejudice the said market and fairs or either of them would be to other markets or fairs near adjoining there."

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

BELFAST GENERAL AND COMMERCIAL DIRECTORY FOR 1819,
With a
Directory and History of Lisburn.
By THOMAS BRADSHAW,

-- -- --

Printed by FRANCIS D. FINLAY,
1 Corn Market, Belfast.

-- -- --

Mr. Bradshaw published 1819 a Directory of Belfast and Lisburn, and embraced within the volume an Historical Account of both towns. The book runs to 270 pages, and contains valuable information regarding old Belfast, as, in addition to the Historical Account and the Directory, it deals with such matters as Population, Trade, Customs, Shipping, Banks, Linen Industry, Lagan Navigation, Markets, Post Office, Churches, Inns, News Rooms, Newspapers, etc., etc.

The book was issued at the price of 5s to subscribers, 6s 8d to non-subscribers. In giving extracts from the work the account of the Battle of Lisburn, 1641, which is narrated in full in the volume, is omitted, as it has already been published in these Notes. A Directory of the Trades and Professions in Lisburn, given in the volume, is also omitted, as the names are included in the Directory of the Inhabitants, which will be quoted.

It may be pointed out that in giving the "Extracts" from the various sources there must, unavoidably, be a considerable amount of repetition, as so many of the authorities deal with the same matters and refer to the same facts.

The Historical Accounts of the Town of Lisburn, the Directory of the Inhabitants, and a Sketch of the Lagan Navigation will be given. Also a number of local names, extracted from a List of Gentlemen, Manufacturers, Bleachers, etc., residing in the neighbourhood of Belfast and Lisburn, not in the Directory of the Inhabitants.

EXTRACTS.

Lisburn, in the barony of Masserene, is for size and population the second town in the county; and was, in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, only a small village, at that time called Lisnegarvey. It lies about seven miles south of Belfast, on the river Lagan, which separates it from the County of Down. The original proprietor of the territory of Kilultagh, in which it stands, was an O'Neil of the Tyrone family. In the reign of James I. Sir Fulk Conway obtained a grant of it. He induced a number of English and Welsh families to settle there. From a plan of the town taken, it is thought some time in that reign, and preserved in the Marquis of Hertford's office, it appears that there were then 53 tenements in the place, besides the castle. From this plan it is evident, that the centre of the town (all that was then in existence) has undergone but little alteration in shape, except what has been occasioned by the buildings near the market-house; nor for many years after does it seem to have made any great progress: for in 1635, it is thus described by an English traveller: "Linsley Garvin, about seven miles from Belfast, is well seated, but neither the town, nor country thereabouts, well planted [inhabited], being almost all woods and moorish, until you come to Dromore. The town belongs to Lord Conway, who hath a good house there."

Lisburn is remarkable for gained over the rebels, on the 28th of November, 1641, commanded by Sir Phelim O'Neil, Sir Con Magenis, and General Plunket, little more than a month after the breaking out of the rebellion; Sir George Rawdon, who commanded the king's forces, having arrived at Lisburn on the evening before the battle.

In 1662, the inhabitants of the town of Lisburn, on account of their loyalty to Charles I. and II., were, by the same patent which erected the church of Lisburn into a cathedral for the united diocese of Down and Connor, dated October 27th of that year, empowered, they and their successors, to return two burgesses to Parliament for ever; the sheriff of the County of Antrim, upon all summonses to elect a Parliament, was obliged to send his precept to the seneschal of the manor of Kilultagh, who was made the returning officer, notwithstanding the inhabitants were not a corporate body.

In 1707, this town was burned to the ground. The castle, a fine building, shared the same fate as the other houses, and was never rebuilt. Part of the garden walls are still remaining, and the great terrace affords a most agreeable promenade, being well sheltered from the north by young plantations, and kept in the best order.

French Refugees.

But that which more particularly contributed to the rise of the town of Lisburn, was the settlement of many French refugees there (after the repeal of the edict of Nantz) who had been bred to the linen manufacture. Mr. Lewis Cromelin obtained a patent in 1699, which was afterwards renewed in the reign of Queen Anne, for establishing a manufacture of linen, and also, among other grants, one for £60 per annum for a French minister. In consequence of this, he settled in Lisburn, and many of his countrymen also; the virtuous conduct and civilized manner of these good people, were of great advantage to this place; and their skill and industry set an example to those who were concerned in the same business as they were, which soon had the effect of raising the quality of their manufacture to a degree of excellence unknown till then; and the linens and cambrics made in the neighbourhood,, and sold in Lisburn market, have until this day kept up their superior character.

Between 30 and 40 years ago, many new houses were built in Lisburn, and some have been built since; but at present it seems stationary in that particular; and, though its vicinity to Belfast prevents it from being a place of much trade, there is a great deal of business done in it in various ways. But, from the present imperfect state of the land, it does not derive so much advantage as might have been expected. On market days, it is much frequented, from the quantity of linen and other things brought to it; and it is well known as the first place to meet with oats of the bast quality for seed, There is also a cattle market every Tuesday, besides its two fairs, A few years ago, a fine spire of cut stone was built to the church; and lately a steeple and cupola on the market-house, the rooms of which the Marquis of Hertford has fitted up anew, with some additions, as the place of assembly for the town.

The houses of worship are, a spacious church, a Presbyterian meeting-house, a Quaker meeting-house, a handsome Catholic chapel, and a Methodist chapel.

In the town, is a classical school, kept by Mr. Hudson; and, to the north of the town, is a school for Quakers, built by a legacy from Mr. John Hancock.

Another very laudable institution is, the Humane Society for the restoration of suspended animation in persons who have been either immersed in water (as frequent accidents in this way occur from the nearness of the river and canal) or from any other cause.

The county infirmary at present contains 32 beds, and will soon contain 60, and gives relief to 1,200 externs. It is situated in an airy part of the town, where the duties of the surgeon are skilfully and conscientiously discharged by Dr. Stewart. Each governor can recommend 40 externs per year, and as many for advice as they think fit. They also recommend for interns, whenever there is a vacancy.

Lisburn, in 1780, by a clause introduced into a bill, by the Bishop (Trail) of Down and Connor, was entitled to the same powers granted a few years before to towns corporate, for taking care of the poor, and preventing vagrants from introducing themselves into the town. By the act, a corporation was directed to be formed, consisting of the Rector and others for the time being, and all subscribers of three guineas a year for the purposes of the institution. If the corporation were formed at the time, it soon fell into disuse; but it might readily be revived, in the persons of the subscribers to the Philanthropic Institution, and the powers granted by the act for preventing strolling beggars, if found necessary, brought into activity.

The Philanthropic Society was established in 1810. The design of this institution is, as far as their funds will admit, to prevent mendicity, and to relieve beggars, and especially other necessitous poor by weekly donations, which vary, according to the exigency of the cases, and the strength of the funds, from 5d to 2s 0d a week. Great benefits have been derived from this institution; and at the commencement of this year (1819) exertions were used to procure additional subscriptions, so as to enable the committee to prevent the practice of begging in the streets. The committee meet once a week, to regulate the distribution, which then, take place at the vestry room. The committee have been able to put a stop to the practice of mendicity, with very few exceptions.

To promote an attention to industry, and to inculcate the maxim, that a penny gained by industry is better than double the sum obtained by begging, the committee occasionally give a premium of a penny a hank for good yarn, spun at the institution mentioned in the next paragraph.

Flax Spinning.

In 1817, a Spinning Institution was established, with the design of assisting industry. Flax is purchased, and given out to females, who receive wages for spinning; and the yarn is sold by the superintending committee. A loss has been sustained, a little more than the amount of the salary paid to the manager; and the fund which arose out of a loan for assisting the poor, in the scarcity of the spring and summer of 1817, and afterwards appropriated, by consent of the subscribers to this purpose, is gradually lessening: yet the benefits accomplished by this institution are considerable. The poor, on procuring security for a pound of flax, have employment at all times, without depending on purchasing flax from huxters at the highest retail rate, and selling their yarn to them again, when the pressure of their difficulties prevent them from waiting for the regular market. The freedom from these, and similar impositions, confers advantages; but great care is necessary to guard against the fraudulent practices of some of the spinners, who return bad counted and ill spun yarn, and their securities, in many instances, have had to pay for their deficiencies, in not honestly accounting for the flax. But, with all these drawbacks, the balance of advantages decidedly preponderate!

Ingrafted on this establishment, is a spinning school for teaching to spin with the two hands. This plan, when prejudices shall have been overcome, and the practice become general, promises to be of important advantage in the production of the coarser yarns, at and under 6 hanks in the pound, and perhaps also for the finer kinds, as the mistress of the school has spun very good yarn so fine as 12 hanks in the pound on the double wheel. By using the two hands at once in spinning, the quality is found fully equal to other yarn, and the quantity at least is increased one-half. The practice is general in Scotland, where it has been found to answer; and the new wheel, introduced by William Marshall, of Derry, is a considerable improvement, as well in its superior adaptation to the plan of spinning with the two hands, as also in its comparative less cost. With the double hacks in common with other wheels of this kind, it is moved by a cast-iron rim working under the seat, and is worked with greater ease, while the expense of the wooden rim, made from costly Swedish oak, is saved.

The Marquis of Hertford has directed that part of the sheds in the Linen-hall should be fitted up at his cost, for a school for this purpose; and the Earl of Yarmouth has given £50 to enable the committee to supply the girls on leaving school, with wheels on the new construction. These wheels are granted to them, on their producing security for the repayment of the amount, in small sums, as may suit their convenience. As they pay for them, although in a manner easy to themselves, it is expected they will prize them more, than if they had obtained them more lightly.

Care for Sick and Poor.

During the epidemic fever of 1817, 1818 and part of 1819, a Fever Hospital, adjoining the town, was opened. By cutting of communication between the sick and the well, in ill ventilated and dirty cabins, it aided considerably in diminishing the effects of contagion. Besides, medicine was administered at the houses, when there was not room for admission into the hospital; and allowances were made for the support of the families, in cases when the persons on whom the labour principally rested, were incapacitated by the disease.

An institution has existed for some years, chiefly supported by females, for lending linen to the sick poor. Considerable relief has been communicated by this plan. In some cases of extreme distress, part of the linen has been left with the patients, and soap is always granted for washing the articles before they are returned.

By the several public institutions of this town, a considerable portion of relief is extended to the poor; and with the exception of the money given to the beggars, who by this degrading occupation, soon in general become the most worthless members of the community, the relief is mostly granted on principles of sound political economy. The sums given to beggars may rather be considered, for the most part, as a tax given to get rid of importunity, than as the well applied offerings of benevolence. Most of the funds of the Philanthropic Society are applied to assist the old, helpless, and infirm, rather in aid of industry, than to induce persons capable of working to become idle. Employment in spinning is afforded on most advantageous terms, to those inclined to work, and the spinning school is especially directed to give a stimulus to industry in the young, by instructing them in a new and more productive plan, and affording to them, on easy terms, a well constructed wheel, which, with the instruction communicated, may be a valuable portion in future life.

Care also is taken of the sick, to assist them in seasons of distress, against which the most prudent foresight cannot always enable them to guard. To relieve unavoidable distress, especially in sickness and old age; to promote industry, by affording liberal aid; and to assist in instructing the youthful mind in useful learning -- are among the duties which the richer classes of society owe to their poorer brethren. But care ought to be taken, lest, in attempting to do good, mischievous effects may follow, if industry be relaxed, or an honourable spirit of independence be lost among the poorer classes. In such circumstances, the money of the donors may he wasted, and little real good effected among the intended objects of relief. Dr. Frankland has judiciously remarked, that "the best way of doing good to the poor, is not making them easy in poverty, but leading or driving them out of it: the more public provisions are made for the poor, the less they provide for themselves, and of course become poorer. More will be done for their happiness, by inuring them to provide for themselves, than could be done by dividing all your estates among them."

Schools.

A school for boys, partly on the Lancasterian, and partly on the Bellian plan, has long been established in this town; although as yet no school-house has been built, but some funds are in bank for this purpose.

Two schools for girls exist in the town, and a Sunday school is held at the Presbyterian meeting-house. One of these schools is supported by the private subscriptions of a few individuals; and, to preserve its independence, public aid has been refused. A school-room, and a house for the teacher has been fitted up, and given for public accommodation. No catechism is taught in this school, nor any attempt made to introduce the subject of religious instruction. While so great diversity prevails on this subject, it appears best to separate religion from the instruction in reading, writing, arithmetic, and sewing. Let morality, in which all agree, be inculcated, comprehending its higher duties, as well as the many decencies of life, especially cleanliness, regularity, industry, and the due employment of time; but as to religious distinctions, let the parents, with the assistance of their respective teachers, use their own discretion in judging for their children, till they become capable of judging for themselves; and in this, the important business of life, a good, careful, moral education, will naturally assist.

In 1811 Lisburn contained about 800 houses, which, at six persons to a house, would make the population 4,800; since which time, it has perhaps increased a little.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

LAGAN NAVIGATION.

The work for making the River Lagan navigable, and opening a passage by water between Lough Neagh and the Town of Belfast, was commenced in the year 1754, and completed in the manner first intended, under the management of the Corporation, for promoting and carrying on an Inland Navigation in Ireland, and local Commissioners, as far as Blaris, about a mile S.W. of Lisburn, including the locks erected in the year 1768, called the Union Locks. Expense, about £60,000 -- £16,000 being granted directly by the Irish Parliament, £10,000 lent by the Marquis of Donegall and others, and the remainder produced by local duties of one penny per gallon on beer, and fourpence per gallon on Irish spirits brewed and distilled within certain parts of the excise district of Lisburn, or brought thereinto; which duties were granted by an act of the 27th Geo. II., chap. 3, and continued since by several successive acts. In the year 1779, it appearing that the produce of the local duties would be insufficient to complete the Navigation from Belfast to Lough Neagh, an act was passed in the session of 1779 and 1780 to incorporate such persons as had advanced money on any former acts, or should advance money under that act, for carrying on the Navigation, under the name of "The Company of Undertakers of the Lagan Navigation." Under this act, the late Marquis of Donegal, who had, under the former acts, advanced £7,815 of the £10,000 formerly subscribed, advanced sixty-two thousand pounds, for which sum the Canal, commencing at the Union Locks, and ending at Ellis's gut, a bay of Lough Neagh, was completed, under the direction of Richard Owen, Esq., engineer. The work was begun in the year 1781, and opened 1st January, 1794. This part of the Navigation is still water, fourteen English miles in length, crossing the River Lagan by a handsome aquaduct of four arches, having 10 descending locks, each of 7 feet fall, 66 feet long, and 15½ feet wide; and 13 public road-bridges. The summit level, which commences at the Union Locks, and extends nearly to the village of Aghalee, is 11 English miles in length; 28 feet wide at bottom, and 52 to 60 feet at top, and 7 feet deep; expanding at Friar's Glen, near Soldierstown, into a beautiful lake, in surface upwards of 46 acres.

In consequence of the injudicious plan originally adopted (contrary to repeated remonstrances at the time, from the merchants of Belfast) of adhering closely to the bed of the river, and the works being thereby much more exposed to injury, than if the Navigation had been carried on out of the bed of the river, and proper care not having been taken to keep them in any kind of repair, this part of the Navigation got into an extremely ruinous state. Besides, Mr. Owens being, from want of funds, prevented from completing works commenced by him, for supplying the summit level with water, this level was always, during summer reduced so low as to render it unnavigable for three months in the year. So that, from the floods in winter, the bad repair of the old works, and the want of adequate supply of water for the new Canal, the passage of boats was so tedious and uncertain as to render the Navigation of little public utility. An anecdote has been told -- of the truth of which there is to but too little reason to doubt -- that when the original Canal was first opened a vessel made a voyage out and home, from the West Indies, during the time that a lighter passed from Belfast to and from Lough Neagh.

Such was the early state of the Navigation, when, with a view to render it useful to the public, a number of persons (principally merchants of Belfast) purchased, in the year 1800, a considerable portion of the interest of the Marquis of Donegal therein, and also subscribed a large sum of money, as a fund for repairs and improvements, which were immediately commenced; and since that period upwards of £20,000 have been expended on the Navigation. In consequence of this, although a full supply of water has not been obtained for the summit level, nor a track way for horses completed throughout, yet, with the exception of a few weeks in the depth of winter, the passage is so regular that this Navigation now enjoys public confidence, and the trade is rapidly increasing.

During the year ending 5th January last, 190 boats, of from 40 to 50 ton's burthen, passed laden from Belfast to Lough Neagh; 63, principally laden with coals and lime, passed from Belfast to the summit level; 202 from Belfast to Lisburn; and 18 from Belfast short of Lisburn. And 63 lighters arrived, laden principally with grain, from the Lake to Belfast; 28 from summit level to Belfast.

The time usually occupied in passing a loaded lighter from Belfast to Lisburn is 14 hours. Do. to summit level, 16 to 24 hours, according to distance. Do. to Lake, 28 to 30 hours. And this season, the average time occupied by a voyage from Belfast out and home, to Moy, Blackwater Town, or Coal Island, is 7 days, including the time, of loading and discharging. One lighter made three voyages this season, with coals, from Belfast to Moy, in three successive weeks. In consequence of the improvement of the Lagan Navigation, lighters are now enabled to pass, drawing six to nine inches more water than formerly, which, together with other facilities, has reduced the rate of freights some 25 per cent.

========================

LAMBEG GENTLEMAN ELECTED MAYOR OF WARWICK.

Brevet Lieutenant-Colonel R. Airth Richardson, who has been elected Mayor of Warwick in succession to Lord Warwick, is the only son of the late Mr. John Richardson, Lambeg House, Lisburn. He married, on the 11th April, 1888, at St. Mark's Church, Milverton, Miss Elizabeth Evelyn Barbour, elder daughter of the late Mr. John D. Barbour, D.L., of Conway, Dunmurry, who was at one time Mayor of Lemmington. It is interesting to note that Colonel Richard son's grandmother was the last of the Airths, one of the most ancient families of Scotland -- a direct descendant, through eight Earls of Monteith and Airth, of the Earl of Strathearn, son of Robert the Second, first Prince of the House of Stewart, and grandson of Robert Bruce.

========================

LISBURN PETTY SESSIONS.

This Court was held yesterday before Mr. Robert Griffith, J.P. (chairman): Sir Hugh Mack, J.P.; Messrs. Alan Bell, R.M.; W. J. Fraser, J.P; W. J. M'Murray, J.P.; and Edward Donaghy, J.P.

Police Cases.

Sergeant Edgar v. James Rainey on 27th ult. -- 5s and costs.

Constable M'Donald v. James Mann, drunk on 18th ult. -- 5s and costs.

Constable Timlin v. John Topping, drunk on 14th ult. -- 5s and costs.

Constable Turkington v. Joshua Davidson, assaulting the police on 25th ult. Mr. Allen appeared for the defendant, who was fined 21s and costs, or in default a month's imprisonment. The fine was paid.

Farmers at Law.

David Thomas Belshaw, farmer, Aughnalough, summoned Hugh Watson, farmer, Whitemountain, for, as alleged, using abusive and threatening language towards him on the 14th inst. There was a cross-case for an alleged similar offence.

Mr. Joseph Allen appeared for Belshaw, and Mr. W. G. Maginess for Watson.

Belshaw said that on the date in question Watson used very violent and abusive language towards him in Bow Street. He had been continually tormented by him for the past eleven years. All he wanted was the man to pass him by and let him alone.

By Mr. Maginess -- He did not call Watson a "drunken scrub."

Watson said he was 78 years of age, and he never insulted a man in his life. He never spoke to Belshaw in Bow Street on the date in question at all; but earlier that day Belshaw had called him a drunken scrub at Kirkwood's corner. He could not tell why Belshaw should have anything against him.

The magistrates retired, and after a few minutes' deliberation

The Chairman said that the magistrates were of opinion that Watson had been bothering Belshaw; but as Mr. Allen and Belshaw did not press for anything except a stop put to the conduct, they had decided to put Watson under a rule of bail, on his own recognisances in £5, for twelve months. The cross-case of Watson v. Belshaw would be dismissed.

========================

LISBURN TOWN COURT.

This Court was held yesterday before Mr. Robert Griffith, (in the chair); Sir Hugh Mack, J.P. Messrs. Alan Bell, R.M.; Edward Donagh, jun., J.P.; W. J. Frazer, J.P; and W. J. M'Murray, J.P. J.P.

District-Inspector Gregory wad in attendance.

Constable Timlin v. Maria Purcell, drunk on 23rd ult. -- 40s and costs.

Acting-Sergeant Duffy v. Mary M'Ilwrath, drunk on 22nd ult. -- 5s and costs.

Constable Turkington v. Joshua Davidson, indecent behaviour on 25th ult. Mr. Joseph Allen, solicitor, appeared for the defendant, and on his appeal the case was adjourned for three months.

Acting-Sergt. Duffy v. Mary M'Gonigal, drunk at Castle Gardens on 29th ult. -- 20s and costs.

Mr. Wellington Young, town solicitor conducted the prosecutions.

========================

THE WAR.

-- -- -- --

ROUMANIA IN PERIL.

-- -- -- --

Germans Within Sixteen Miles of Capital.

-- -- -- --

Two Zeppelins Brought Down in England.

-- -- -- --

Had it not been for the fact that the British destroyed two Zeppelins on Monday night during a raid on the East Coast of England the past would have been a very black week indeed for the Allies. This was the only satisfactory thing, so for as the public can learn, during the week, that is if we omit the appointment of Admiral Jellicoe to be First Lord of the Admiralty and the promotion of Admiral Beatty to Command the Grand Fleet. Great things are expected from the co-operation of these brilliant and fearless fearless men.

It is Roumania, however, is the sore spot. The Germans have overrun a big slice of the country within the past week, are still advancing rapidly, and now only sixteen miles from the capital, Bucharest, from which the Government has been removed to Jassy. "It is possible to exaggerate the peril in which Roumania stands," says the "London Telegraph," "but it is equally easy but assuredly more perilous to under-estimate it." "The solitary satisfactory point," says the "Daily Mail," "in the gloomy situation is that up to the present the Roumanian armies remain almost intact."

The latest Russian communique records successes near Korytnitza, where portion of an enemy position was stormed; and in the wooded Carpathians, where an important height has been captured. During the last two days' fighting east of Kirlibaba 900 prisoners have been taken by our Allies as well as 13 machine guns and other war material.

The infantry lull on the British front continues. Sir Douglas Haig reports, however, that there were artillery duels yesterday, the enemy's fire being particularly heavy between the Somme and the Ancre.

Yesterday, in Champagne, the French artillerymen succeeded in blowing up a German ammunition depot near Massiges. in the Argonne three camouflets were exploded near the Four de Paris, which wrecked the enemy mining works.

On the Italian front the enemy's concentration in the Trentino is again reported. The weather having improved there was a great deal of artillery and aerial activity along the whole front.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

ULTIMATUM TO GREECE EXPIRES TO-DAY.

A Grave Situation.

In the House of Commons yesterday, Mr. Lynch asked the Under Secretary for Foreign Affairs whether he could make a statement with reference to the new situation in Greece arising out of the demand of Admiral du Fournet that the Greek Government should give up arms.

Lord R. Cecil -- The French Admiral has informed the Greek Government that unless the artillery, which he has demanded, is handed over to him by to-morrow (December 1st) he will be obliged to make certain counter-measures. The nature of these counter-measures cannot of course be published in advance. (Cheers.)

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

HOW LIEUT. MacGREGOR WON THE MILITARY CROSS.

Led a Raid with Great Courage and Determination.

The deed for which Lieutenant R. P. MacGregor, Royal Irish Rifles, eldest son of the late Mr. G. G. MacGregor, post-master of Lisburn, and of Mrs. MacGregor, Bachelor's' Walk, Lisburn, won the Military Cross was gazetted in a supplement to the " London Gazette" on Saturday. He was awarded the honour

For conspicuous gallantry in action. He led a raid with great courage and determination, himself killing two of the enemy and wounding three of them. Later he blew up a machine-gun emplacement and repelled a counter-attack.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

LIEUT.COLONEL BLAIR-OLIPHANT DECORATED BY THE KING.

Lieut.-Col. P. Kington Blair-Oliphant, the popular C.O. of the South Antrim Battalion of the Royal Irish Rifles, was on Saturday last personally invested by the King with the D.S.O., which he so gallantly won on the historic 1st of July,

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

LISBURN SOLDIERS KILLED IN ACTION.

Mrs. Emily Toole, 12 Church Street, Lisburn, has received official information that her husband, Private Edward Toole, Royal Irish Fusiliers, was killed in action on October 12. Deceased was an old soldier with twelve years' "service to his credit in the 1st Battalion Royal Irish Fusiliers before the war began. In addition to his wife he leaves five little children to mourn his loss.

Official intimation has also been received by his people that Private Wm. Skelly, Royal Irish Rifles, son of the late Mr. Wm. Skelly, Grand Street, Lisburn, was killed in action on the 31st October.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

CAPTAIN N. B. KILPATRICK INVALIDED.

Captain N. B. Kilpatrick, King's Liverpool Regiment, is officially reported to have been invalided to hospital at Imbros. A son of Mr. D. Kilpatrick, formerly of North Circular Road, Lisburn, and now of University Square, Belfast, he joined the Queen's University O.T.C. shortly after its formation, and received a commission in the Special Reserve in November, 1913. When war was declared he was called to the colours, and in February, 1915, proceeded to France as a machine-gun officer. He took part in the fighting at La Bassee and in the Neuve Chapelle advance. Subsequently he was invalided home suffering from shell-shock, and after a spell of garrison duty was attached to the Egyptian Expeditionary Force. Captain Kilpatrick was one of the original members of the Lisnagarvey Hockey Club.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

WOUNDED FOR THE THIRD TIME.

Private D. M'Cann, Motor Machine Gun Corps, Longstone, Lisburn, whose name appeared in Wednesday's official casualty list, has been wounded for the third time. He was a reserve man prior to the war in the Royal Irish Rifles. He has two other brothers serving.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

LOCAL MEN ON OFFICIAL CASUALTY LISTS.

The official casualties (all privates unless otherwise stated) reported this week included:--

ROYAL IRISH FUSILIERS,
Killed.
8475, E. Toole, Lisburn.
43183, J. Lynch, Crumlin.

MACHINE GUN CORPS.
Wounded.
17901, W. Close, Lisburn.
29074, D. M'Cann, Lisburn.

LEINSTER REGIMENT.
Wounded and Missing.
3362, H. Little, Lisburn.

ROYAL INNISKILLING FUSILIERS.
Killed.
15151, J. M'Allister, Lisburn.

ROYAL IRISH RIFLES.
Wounded.
2299, W. M'Comb, Lisburn.

========================

TRAGIC OCCURRENCE AT DERRIAGHY.

Soldier's Fatal Leap from a Train.

Yesterday forenoon, while being conveyed under military escort to Dublin by the 10 a.m. train, Private Sweeny, of the Royal Irish Rifles, jumped from the lavatory on to the railway track near Derriaghy, and sustained injuries that resulted in his death a short time afterwards. The train was pulled up almost immediately, and a motor car having been obtained from Mr. Thomas Kerr, Dunmurry, Sweeny, who was unconscious, was conveyed with all speed to the Military Hospital, Victoria Barracks, Belfast, but from the first there was no hope for his recovery. An inquest will be held to-day.

========================

DEATH OF MR. JOHN P. ALEXANDER

The above-named quiet, kindly-hearted and much esteemed resident of Lisburn. passed away yesterday morning at his late residence, Glenbank, Knockmere. This sad news came as quite a shock to most people, as Mr. Alexander had been ailing but a short time.

The late Mv, Alexander, who formerly resided at Loughaghry, Hillsborough, was the son of a well-to-do farmer. He was educated for a professional career, but having taken out his B.A. degree he turned to the interest he had most at heart -- agriculture, and settled down to farming on an improved and scientific scale. Mindful of his duty to his fellows, he became a member of the Lisburn Board of Guardians, at the meetings of which body he ably represented the electoral district of Anahilt for many years. His high intellectual ability and sound common sense soon gained for him the admiration and confidence of his colleagues, and they took an early opportunity of selecting him as chairman, to which position he was elevated by the unanimous wish and consent of the members. Needless to say, he filled the office with both credit to himself and the Board. He retired a number of years ago, and came to reside in Lisburn, where he owned some considerable property. Soon afterwards he was approached by a number of his old colleagues, and at their request once more became a Poor Law Guardian, this time for the Lisburn urban district. On the death of Mr. James E. Sloan, in November, 1910, Mr. Alexander was co-opted a member of the Lisburn Urban Council, which position he occupied for over two years. He did not, however, seek re-election. On a vacancy occurring in October of last year Mr. Alexander was again co-opted and urged to come back, but he declined to do so. He always took a keen interest in education, as an evidence of which we might mention that he was manager of Clintagh N.S., Hillsborough, for upwards of thirty years. Indeed, but a fortnight ago, when probably he felt some presentiment of what was all too quickly approaching, he wrote tendering his resignation as manager; but the committee, remembering his past services, promptly refused to accept his withdrawal, and decided that as long as Mr. John Alexander lived he would be manager and no other of the school. In his younger days deceased took a keen interest in sport, particularly boating, and at one time owned the largest sailing yacht that over graced the lake at Loughaghry. He was a staunch Presbyterian, a member of Railway Street Church, and an open handed supporter of all its funds. He leaves to mourn the loss of a faithful and loving husband and kindly father a widow and two sons, the elder of the sons being Lieut. J. B. Alexander, R.A.M.C., and the younger, Mr. Bertie, a student who resides at home. As will be seen by the announcement in our obituary columns to-day, the funeral will be of a private nature.

 

^ top of page

Lisburn Standard - Friday, 8 December, 1916

Marriage

AUSTEN--DAVIS -- December 6th, at the Cathedral, Lisburn, by the Rev. Canon Pounden, George S. Austen, Londonderry, to Alice Maude, eldest daughter of William Davis, Lisburn.

Clippings

SOME EXTRACTS FROM THE

RECORDS OF OLD LISBURN

AND THE MANOR OF KILLULTAGH.

-- -- --

Edited by JAMES CARSON.

-- -- --

VIII.

-- -- --

BELFAST GENERAL AND COMMERCIAL DIRECTORY FOR 1819,

With a
Directory and History of Lisburn.
By THOMAS BRADSHAW.

Printed by FRANCIS D. FINLAY,
1 Corn Market, Belfast.

-- -- -- -- -- --

Directory of Lisburn for 1819.

A.

Allen, Hercules, labourer, Longstone.
Anderson, William, sawyer, Castle Street.
Anderson, Hugh, cart maker, Smithfield.
Anderson, John, labourer, Smithfield.
Anderson, William, butcher. Smithfield.
Armstrong, George, tailor, Bow Lane.

B.

Ballintine, Joseph, weaver, Bridge Street.
Bannister, Robert, labourer, Bridge St.
Barcroft, Mrs. Sarah, Chapel Hill.
Barnsley, Richard, merchant, Bridge St.
Beaty, Thomas, tanner, Bow Lane.
Beaty, Joseph, tanner, Bow Lane.
Beaty William, labourer, Smithfield.
Beaty, William, grocer, Bridge Street.
Beaumont, John, soap boiler, Track Line.
Bell, Samuel, woollendraper, Bridge St.
Bell, Thomas, publican, Market Square.
Bell, William, weaver. Back Lane.
Bell, Isaac, carman, Market Lane.
Bell, Joseph, weaver, Johnson's Entry.
Bell, John, land surveyor, Longstone.
Bell William, land surveyor, Linenhall Street.
Bell, Andrew, weaver, Linenhall Street.
Bell, Joshua, weaver, Piper Hill.
Bell, Edward, publican, Bow Lane.
Bell, Henry, publican Bow Lane
Benson, Francis, publican, Bow Lane.
Berry, Samuel, cooper, Back Lane
Best, Ann, Belfast Gate.
Biddulph, John, grocer, Bridge End.
Black, William, hosier, Castle Street.
Black, Alexander, sheriff's assistant, Market Lane.
Black, Christian, Church Row
Blackburn, Robert, weaver, Haslam's Lane.
Blaney, John, gardener, Jackson's Lane
Bolton, James, labourer, Bow Lane.
Boomer, George, blacksmith, Belfast Gate.
Boomer, Benjamin, blacksmith, Bow Lane.
Boreland, William, weaver, Piper Hill.
Boyd, Hugh, tailor, Castle Street.
Boyd, Elizabeth, Back Lane.
Boyd, Alexander, publican, Church Row
Boyes, Mrs. Jane, Bow Lane.
Boyes, John, weaver, Linenhall Street.
Bradford, John, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
Bradley, William, baker, Market Square.
Bradley, John, servant, Belfast Gate.
Bradshaw, William, helper in damask factory, Bridge End.
Brady, Peter, weaver, Antrim Lane.
Brady, John, carman, Longstone.
Brady, Mary, Longstone.
Brady, Mathew, weaver, Bridge End.
Brannon, William, mason, Castle Street.
Britton, George, Bow Lane.
Britton, John, weaver, Bow Lane.
Brown, Margaret, housekeeper in the Co. Infirmary, Belfast Gate.
Brown, Richard, weaver, Linenhall Street.
Brownlee, Alexander, grocer, Bridge St.
Bruce, Henry, weaver, Bakery Lane.
Bruce, Nathaniel, labourer, Ball Alley.
Buchannan, Jos., labourer, Antrim Lane.
Buchannan, Jas., weaver, Jackson's Lane.
Burk, John, labourer, Antrim Lane.
Burns, Patrick, weaver, Jackson's Lane.
Burns, William, weaver, Piper Hill.
Burrowes, Francis, baker, Bow Lane.
Burrows, Ann, Piper Hill.

C.

Cahoon, Rodney, town constable, Belfast Gate.
Cahoon, John, labourer, Bridge End.
Cahoon, Widow, Antrim Lane.
Calbeck, William, gent, Belfast Gate.
Calwell, John, servant, Smithfield.
Campbell, John, weaver, Bridge End.
Cannon, John, shoemaker, Beggar Lane.
Cannon, John, labourer, Bridge Street.
Carleton, John, gent, Chapel Hill.
Carleton, Mrs. Elizabeth, Market Square.
Carleton, Miss, Haslam's Lane.
Carleton, Mrs. Margaret, Chapel Hill.
Chambers, David, boatman, Bridge End.
Chapman, William, muslin manufacturer, Bow Lane.
Carmichael, Thomas, gent, Bridge Street.
Carson, Sarah, huxter, Linenhall Street.
Carson, John, weaver, Piper Hill.
Carson, Robert, weaver, Piper Hill.
Clark, Jonathan, publican, Bridge Street.
Clark, John, muslin manufacturer, Bridge Street.
Clark, Saywell, muslin manufacturer, Bridge Street.
Clark, John, jun., muslin manufacturer, Market Square.
Clark, Ann, grocer, Church Row.
Clark, Robert, shoemaker, Bridge Street,
Clark, Alexander, weaver, Chapel Hill,
Clegg, William, hosier, Antrim Lane.
Clements! George, labourer, Smithfield.
Close, William, shoemaker, Linenhall St.
Close, Eliza, huxter, Belfast Gate.
Coats, James, heddle maker, Piper Hill.
Coin, Mary, Market Lane.
Collins, Joseph, shoemaker, Piper Hill.
Connor, Roddy, labourer, Johnston's Entry.
Connor, Edward, labourer, Bridge Street.
Conn, John, gardener, Back Lane.
Conn, John, jun., weaver, Back Lane.
Connelly, John, weaver, Linenhall Street.
Connelly, Ann, Longstone.
Cordner, James, gent, Castle Street.
Cordner, Thomas, shoemaker, Longstone.
Corkin, James, publican, Church Row.
Corkin, Jane, Bridge Street.
Corless, Thomas, attorney's clerk, Bow Lane.
Cormickon, Edward, labourer, Bridge St.
Cosgrove, David, cart-maker, Smithfield.
Coulson, William, & Brothers, damask manufacturers, Market Square.
Coulson, Walter, grocer, Bridge Street.
Crean, Morris, weaver, Back Lane.
Creany, Joseph, publican, Bow Lane.
Creighton, Daniel, labourer, Bridge End.
Crockard, Robert, weaver, Piper Hill.
Crossley, John, gent, Bow Lane.
Crossley, Mary Ann, publican, Bridge St.
Crossey, Edward, carpenter, Belfast Gate.
Crothers, John, weaver, Piper Hill.
Crothers, James, labourer, Back Lane.
Cuff, William, labourer, Antrim Lane.
Cummins, James, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
Cummins, Mrs., Ball Alley.
Cunningham, Felix, post-master, Castle Street.
Cunningham, James, schoolmaster, Jackson's Lane.
Cupples, Rev. Snowden, D.D., Vicar General, &c., &c, Castle Street.
Curran, Thomas, carpenter, Castle Street.
Curran, Richard, carpenter, Belfast Gate.

D.

Darragh, John, labourer, Bridge Street.
Davis, Arthur, publican, Bow Lane.
Davis, Thomas, hairdresser, Bridge Street.
Davis, Francis, shoemaker, Jackson's Lane
Davidson, Alexander, shoemaker, Antrim Street.
Dawson, John, publican, Market Square.
Dawson, Mrs. Judith, publican, Bow Lane.
Delacherois, Nicholas, gent, Castle Street.
Deveney, Hugh, lighterman, Track Line.
Deveney, Robert, weaver, Chapel Hill.
Diamond, Andrew, weaver, Piper Hill.
Dickey, Robert, butcher, Piper Hill.
Dickey, Thomas, chandler, Bow Lane.
Dickey, Robert, jun., butcher, Piper Hill.
Dickey, Henry, butcher, Piper Hill.
Dickey, James, butcher, Smithfield.
Dickey, Thomas, butcher, Smithfield.
Dickey, Edward, butcher, Linenhall St.
Diermond, Jane, Bridge Street.
Dillon, William, proctor of Down and Connor, Castle Street.
Dixon, Thomas, grocer, Bridge Street.
Dixon, William, apothecary, Bridge Street
Dixon, John, roper, Bridge End.
Dixon, John, grocer, Bow Lane.
Dixon, Charles, watchmaker, Bow Lane.
Dogherty, Maine, Antrim Lane.
Dogherty, Margaret, Back Lane.
Donnelly, Michael, labourer, Belfast Gate.
Donnelly, John, labourer, Bridge End.
Doogen, George, weaver, Bakery Lane.
Doran, Charles, dealer, Castle Street
Dornan, James, white-smith, Bridge St.
Donity, James, shoemaker, Tanyard.
Dowdalls, John, sizer, Bridge Street.
Douglass, Samuel, tobacconist, Bridge St.
Douglass, Henry, sawyer, Smithfield.
Drain, Mary, Beggar Lane.
Drain, Hugh, lighterman, Track Lane.
Drain, Patrick, shoemaker, Bridge End.
Drake, Francis, carman, Longstone.
Drake, James, weaver, Haslam's Lane.
Druitt, Thomas, weaver, Belfast Gate.
Duberdieu, Misses, Belfast Gate
Duncan, William, servant, Jackson's Lane.
Duncan, Alexander, servant, Bow Lane.
Duncan, Moses, weaver, Longstone.
Duncan, Samuel, weaver, Longstone.
Dunn, George, muslin manufacturer, Chapel Hill.

E.

Eakin, James, farmer, Longstone.
Eakin, James, labourer, Longstone.
Ekenhead, Robert, roper, Track Line.
Earl, Robert, weaver, Haslam Lane.
Earless, Mary, Antrim Lane.
Elliott, William, weaver, Linenhall Street.
Elliott, Francis, shoemaker, Bridge Street.
English, William, labourer, Bridge Street.

F.

Fairley. Liney, Bridge End.
Fairis, William, carpenter, Antrim Lane.
Fairis, Neal, labourer, Longstone.
Fairis, John, labourer, Bridge End.
Fell, John, labourer, Linenhall Street.
Ferguson, John, grocer, Bridge Street.
Ferguson, James, farmer, Longstone.
Ferguson, Thomas, labourer, Back Lane.
Ferguson, James, shoemaker, Back Lane.
Ferguson. Andrew, shoemaker, Bridge End.
Ferrall, Grace, Market Lane.
Ferrall, James, weaver, Piper Hill.
Ferrall, Sarah, Piper Hill.
Ferrall, Edward, weaver, Piper Hill.
Ferrall, Robert, weaver, Piper Hill.
Finlay, Moses, weaver, Back Lane.
Fitzsimons, John, publican, Bow Lane.
Flack, Patrick, shoemaker, Longstone.
Flanagan, Elizabeth, Antrim Lane.
Fleming, Samuel, wheel-wright, Market Lane.
Fleming, William, wheel-wright, Linenhall Street.
Fleming, Samuel, weaver, Heron's Folly.
Fletcher, Rev. Philip, Castle Street.
Fletcher, John, shoemaker, Antrim Lane.
Fletcher, Abraham, labourer, Haslam's Lane.
Fletcher, Thomas, shoemaker, Bow Lane.
Flinn, Charles, labourer, Piper Lane.
Fogey, Thomas, boatman, Bridge End.
Foote, Richard, nailer, Bridge Street.
Foote, Jane, Longstone.
Foreman, Robert, muslin manufacturer, Bow Lane.
Forest, Thomas, cabinet-maker, Bridge St.
Fox, Frances, haberdasher, Castle Street.
Frazier, Thomas, grocer, Bridge Street.
Frazier, Rachel, huckster, Antrim Lane.
Fulton, Joseph, gent, Castle Street.
Fulton, Richard, gent. Bridge End.
Fulton, John, gent, Chapel Hill.
Fulton, Andrew, woollendraper, Market Square.
Fulton, Agnes, haberdasher, Bow Lane.
Fulton, Mary, Pump Lane.
Fulton, Robert, warper, Piper Hill.

G.

Gabby, James, weaver, Bridge Street.
Gallagher, Bartley, weaver, Chapel Hill.
Gallaway, Mary, Bridge Street.
Gallery, John, shoemaker, Tan Yard.
Gamble, Samuel, schoolmaster, Market Square.
Gauley, Robert, labourer, Antrim Lane.
Garside, Joseph, watchman, Linenhall St.
Gearey, George, carman, Castle Street.
Gibson, Alexander, weaver, Chapel Hill.
Gilliland, David, carpenter, Tan Yard.
Gill, John, servant, Bridge Street.
Gill, William, shoemaker, Haslam's Lane.
Gilmore, John, weaver, Piper Hill.
Gilmore, Patrick, labourer, Back Lane.
Gilmore Edward, brazier, Bakery Lane.
Gilmore, Hill, brazier, Linenhall Street.
Gilmore, Daniel, bricklayer, Bow Lane.
Glenn, Joy, weaver, Back Lane.
Gooden, John, hairdresser, Bow Lane.
Gorman, Ellen, Smithfield.
Gorman, Elizabeth, Bridge Street
Gowdey, Ruth, grocer, Antrim Lane.
Graham, William, tanner, Market Square.
Graham, James, bleacher, Jackson's Lane.
Graham, William, weaver, Linenhall St.
Graham, Robert, shoemaker, Longstone.
Graham, David, weaver, Bridge End.
Graham, Andrew, tailor, Bridge End.
Graham George, labourer, Antrim Lane.
Grant, Lawrence, carman, Piper Hill.
Gray, Robert, slater, Smithfield.
Gray, Charles, bricklayer, Smithfield.
Gregg, Dominick, linen merchant, Castle Street.
Greer, Richard, grocer, Bow Lane.
Greer, Arthur, publican, Bow Lane.
Greer, Thomas, blue dier, Bridge Street.
Greer, John, labourer, Vitriol Island.
Gribbin, Michael, tobacco spinner, Jackson's Lane.
Gribbin, Edward, weaver, Bridge Street.
Gribbin, Hugh, labourer, Bridge End.
Gribbin, Michael, labourer, Pump Lane.
Griffin, Roger, labourer, Bow Lane.
Griffith, Mary, huxter, Bridge Street.

H.

Hagan, Bernard, labourer, Longstone.
Haggarty, Sarah, Jackson's Lane.
Hall, Rowley, F. attorney, Market Square.
Hall, John, shoemaker, Bridge Street
Hall, William, weaver, Jackson's Lane.
Hamill, Sarah, huxter, Market Lane.
Hamilton, David, button-mould maker, Jackson's Lane.
Hamilton, William, cooper, Bakery Lane.
Hamilton, John, cooper, Bakery Lane.
Hamilton, James, butcher, Linenhall St.
Hamilton, John, butcher, Heron's Folly.
Hamilton, Alexander, labourer, Piper Hill.
Hancock, John, linen merchant, Castle Street.
Hancock, William, linen merchant, Market Square.
Hancock, Jacob B., gent, Gregg Street.
Hancock, Misses, Castle Street.
Hanlon, Bernard, weaver, Tan Yard.
Hanna, James, weaver, Chapel Hill.
Hanna, Robert, labourer, Pump Lane.
Hare, Henry, shoemaker, Antrim Lane.
Hare, William, Market Lane.
Harrison, John, mason, Kennedy's Court.
Harty, Bernard, labourer, Johnson's Entry.
Havern, Philip, labourer, Antrim Lane.
Havern, Ann, Antrim Lane.
Hawkshaw, William, gent, Castle Street.
Hay, James, gardener, Castle Street.
Henderson, John, weaver, Back Lane.
Heney, Rachel, school-mistress, Haslam's Lane.
Hennan, Margaret, Bridge Street.
Herdman, John, farmer, Chapel Hill.
Heron, Edward, lieutenant R.N., Castle Street.
Heron, John, cabinet-maker, Smithfield.
Heron, William, retailer of delf, Market Square.
Hicks, Henry, muslin manufacturer, Longstone.
Higgins, James, hawker of delf, Bow Lane.
Higginson, Rev. Thomas, register to Bishop's Court, Bow Lane.
Higginson, Miss Margaret, Castle Street.
Higginson, William, writing clerk, Bow Lane.
Higginson, John, labourer, Belfast Gate.
Hill, Samuel, weighmaster, Bow Lane.
Hilland, Henry, labourer, Chapel Hill.
Hillard, Joseph, butcher, Smithfield.
Hood, Thomas, tailor, Castle Street.
Hodgson, James, hatter, Bow Lane.
Hogg, James, linen merchant, Castle St.
Hogg, William, gent, Castle Street.
Hogg, James, labourer, Market Lane.
Houston, William, labourer, Antrim Lane.
Houston, John, weaver, Antrim Lane.
Huey, Samuel, gardener, Jackson's Lane.
Huey, James, weaver, Antrim Lane.
Hughes, Samuel, woollendraper, Market Square.
Hughes, Thomas, labourer, Antrim Lane.
Hull, Thomas, publican, Church Row.
Hull, William, weaver, Linenhall Street.
Hull, John, weaver, Chapel Hill.
Hull, Robert, writing clerk, Belfast Gate.
Hunter, Joseph, veterinary surgeon, and register to the Royal Down Corporation of Horse Breeders, Heron's Folly
Hunter, William, gent, Castle Street.
Hunter, John, shoemaker, Longstone.
Hutchinson, Hugh, retailer of herrings, Antrim Lane.
Hyde, Abraham, weaver, Bow Lane.

I.

Innis, James, permanent sergeant, yeomen, Longstone.
Irwin, William, publican, Belfast Gate.
Isdall, David, shoemaker, Bow Lane.

J.

Jack, George, blacksmith, Bridge End.
Jacobson, John, carpenter, Haslam's Lane.
Jellett, Rev. Matthew, Bow Lane.
Johnston, John, sheriff's assistant, Castle Street.
Johnston, Arthur, gent, Market Square.
Johnston, Samuel, merchant, Market Sq.
Johnston, John, shoemaker, Antrim Lane.
Johnston, William, shoemaker, Bow Lane.
Johnston, William, blacksmith, Johnston's Entry.
Johnston, Matthew, weaver, Piper Hill.
Johnston, John, servant, Piper Hill.
Johnston^ Mary Anne, Longstone.
Johnston, James, farmer, Longstone.
Johnston, Robert, farmer, Longstone
Johnston, David, boatman, Bridge End.
Johnston, William, boatman, Bridge End.
Jones, Miss, Belfast Gate.
Jordan, Matthew, publican, Bridge Street

K.

Kean, Peter Q., pro-surveyor of excise, Bow Lane.
Kean, Daniel, weaver, Chapel Hill.
Kean, James, labourer, Bridge Street.
Kearns, Bridget, Jackson's Lane.
Kelly, Henry, shuttle-maker, Bridge St.
Kelly Jane, huxter, Bridge Street.
Kelly, James, Smithfield.
Kelly, Anne, huxter, Bow Lane.
Kelly, Henry, jun., shuttle-maker, Bridge Street.
Kelly, Patrick, tailor, Bow Lane.
Kennedy, Henry, attorney, Castle Street.
Kennedy, Samuel, muslin manufacturer, Bow Lane.
Kennedy, Denis, nursery-man, Belfast Gate.
Kennedy, James, carpenter, Bow Lane.
Kennedy, Dennis, town-crier, Longstone.
Kennedy, James, weaver, Bridge End.
Kerr, William, mason, Antrim Lane.
Kerr, Patrick, weaver, Bow Lane.
Kerr, Margaret, Belfast Gate.
Kerr, Robert, weaver, Chapel Hill.
Kerr, Hannah, Longstone.
Kernaghan, Margaret, Bow Lane.
Killin, John, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
King, Matthew, butcher, Linenhall Street.
Knox, Robert, cutler, Castle Street.

(To be Continued.)

=======================

THE WAR.

-- -- -- --

Enemy Overrunning Roumania.

-- -- -- --

Allies at a Standstill on Other Fronts.

-- -- -- --

Lloyd George Succeeds Asquith.

-- -- -- --

Mrs. Barbour gives £2,000 to Red Cross Hospital.

-- -- -- --

The war like the weather this morning, this week has been very depressing; but, like the weather this morning, we trust it will change for the better, as indeed we firmly believe it will now that Mr. Asquith has at last relinquished his position as Prime Minister -- a thing he ought to have done or have been forced to do, long, long ago.

Following the refusal of Mr. Bonar Law to succeed the Premier, Mr. Lloyd George. has accepted the post and the country awaits the announcement of the names of his chosen colleagues with anxious eagerness. "In this grave hour," says the "London Telegraph." "it is the duty of all men to uphold the King's Government so long as it does the country's work, without thought of parties, persons or prejudices.

As was clearly foreshawdowed, Bucharest has fallen into the hands of the enemy, who ate making strenuous attempts to secure the entire Roumanian oil fields. Details of the fall of the capital are given this morning both from Petrograd and Berlin. The Russian communique says the Roumanians, under pressure from the enemy, retired to the east, and the city was evacuated about noon on Wednesday. The Germans claim to have taken over 9,000 prisoners, and add that on the Olt they caught a Roumanian division, which was forced to surrender with 8,000 men and 26 guns.

General Sir Douglas Haig reports that during yesterday there was considerable artillery activity in the vicinity of Thiepval Ridge. The French communiques record a lively artillery action around Hill 304, north-west of Verdun: and a successful surprize attack on German trenches near Metzeral (Alsace).

The Italian operations have been hampered by bad weather, and snowfalls are reported from the mountains. Two enemy attacks have been repulsed on the Carso.

The latest news from Athens, contained in a message received in London from the Provisional Government, says that "terror reigns everywhere." The houses of M. Venizelos and many of his supporters have been sacked, and the offices of the Venizelist newspapers destroyed.

-- -- -- -- -- --

KILLED IN ACTION.

Rifleman Willie Williamson, King's Royal Rifles, who was killed in action at the Battle of Beaucourt on the 14th November, was a brother of Mrs. Robert Mayes, Chestnut Hill, Moira, and third son of Mr. F. Williamson, of Cootehill, Co. Cavan, whose two other sons we also serving King and country -- one in the Navy and the other an officer in the artillery.

-- -- -- -- -- --

ANOTHER MILITARY MEDAL FOR LISBURN.

Private R. S. Greenfield, R.A.M.C., youngest son of Mr. David Greenfield, Oldpark Cottage, Lisburn, and Mrs. Greenfield, of 32 Bachelors' Walk, Lisburn, has been awarded the Military Medal for conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty during heavy enemy fire. His eldest brother, Mr. Richard B. Greenfield, is serving in the Navy.

-- -- -- -- -- --

LIEUT. R. P. MacGREGOR CONGRATULATED BY URBAN COUNCIL.

At the monthly meting of the Urban Council on Monday, Mr. Thomas Sinclair, J.P. (chairman), said that for the past eight or ten mouths there had hardly been a monthly meeting at which it had not been his privilege and pleasure to refer to honours won by Lisburn soldiers in the battlefield. The latest recipient was Lieut R. P. MacGregor, R.I.R. who had been awarded the Military Cross for an act of conspicuous bravery which, had it happened in a smaller war, would probably have gained the Victoria Cross. The act for which Lieut. MacGregor was decorated was one of the finest performances yet announced. They felt exceedingly proud of that gallant young officer. (Applause.)

Mr. Hanna said it gave him pleasure to associate himself with the remarks of the chairman. He had known the MacGregor family since they came to Lisburn, and they were exemplary members of the community. (Hear, hear.)

A congratulatory resolution was then passed, and the clerk was directed to send a copy to Mrs. MacGregor and one to her gallant son.

-- -- -- -- -- --

LISBURN URBAN COUNCIL FAVOUR CONSCRIPTION.

Wish Military Service Acts to Apply to Ireland.

At the monthly meeting of the Urban Council on Monday, Dr. St. George said they would all have noticed that many of the public boards in Ulster had passed resolutions urging upon the Government to apply the Military Service Acts to Ireland. He thought the Lisburn Urban Council would simply be doing their duty by supporting an appeal of that kind, and he, therefore, moved that they adopt a similar resolution.

Mr. M'Nally said that involved a political question and ought not to be raised.

Mr. Davis -- It involves no political question. It is an Imperial question, and we have a right to support it.

Mr. Pelan seconded Dr. St. George's motion, which on being put to the meeting was passed without dissent.

-- -- -- -- -- --

PROMOTION FOR LISBURN OFFICERS

Amongst the young Lisburn officers who have recently been promoted to the rank of First Lieutenant are Tomas Malcolmson, Herbert Simpson, and Victor Coulter, Cadet Wm. Clarke, only son of Mr. Wm. Clarke, Mayfield, Magheraleave Road, has been given a commission in the Motor Machine Gun Corps.

-- -- -- -- -- --

LOCAL MEN ON OFFICIAL CASUALTY LISTS.

The official casualties (all privates unless otherwise stated) reported this week included:--

ROYAL IRISH RIFLES.
Wounded.
5717, D. Costello, Lisburn.
9062, R. Crossey, Lisburn.
851, J. M'Cann, Lisburn.

ARGYLL AND SUTHERLAND HIGHLANDERS.
Killed.
16657 J. H. Sinclair, Lisburn.

ROYAL IRISH FUSILIERS.
Prisoner of War.
17183, J. Jordan, Stoneyford.

-- -- -- -- -- --

TWICE WOUNDED, BUT STILL IN FIGHTING LINE.

Second-Lieut. W. C. Boomer.

Second-Lieut. Walter C. Boomer, Royal Irish Rifles (South Antrim Volunteers), only son of Mr. Richard W. Boomer and Mrs. Boomer, of Knockmore, Lisburn, who has been twice wounded in September, but not seriously, and soon was able to resume duty. He was wounded again about a fortnight ago, but fortunately his injuries once again were not of a very serious nature, and after having them attended to at a field dressing station he went back and remained on duty with his battalion, which was then in the trenches.

-- -- -- -- -- --

KILLED IN ACTION.

Rifleman Samuel Haire

Rifleman Samuel Haire, Royal Dublin Fusiliers, who was killed in action on the 15th ult. He was the youngest son of the late Mr. Thos. Haire, 40 Llewellyn Avenue, Lisburn, and was only twenty years of age.

-- -- -- -- -- --

MENTIONED IN DESPATCHES.

The War Office last night issued as a supplement to the "London Gazette" a despatch received from Lieutenant-General G. F. Milne, C.B., D.S.O., reporting on the operations carried out by the British on 9th May last. A list of names is attached of officers, non-commissioned officers, non-commissioned officers and men whose services are considered deserving of special mention. It includes the following of local interest:--

Lieutenant-Colonel C. L. Graham, Hussars, attached Royal Irish Regiment, younger son of the late Mr. O. B. Graham, D.L., of Larchfield, Lisburn, a former High Sheriff of the Counties of Antrim and Down, and brother of Mr. O. B. Graham, J.P., Larchfield.

Major H. C. W. H. Wortham. Royal Irish Fusiliers, son-in-law of the late Right Hon. Sir Daniel Dixon, Bart., M.P., a former Lord Mayor of Belfast.

=========================

MASONIC FEMALE ORPHAN SCHOOL.

At the half-yearly meeting of the Governors, held on Tuesday at Ballsbridge, the following were declared elected pupils of the Masonic Female Orphan School:--

(1) Norah F. Doogan, daughter of the late Br. Charles Doogan, petty sessions clerk, Lodge 351, Monaghan -- 4,518 votes.

(2) Evelyn M. Henchie, daughter of the late Br. William S. Henchie, commercial traveller, Lodge 232, Dublin -- 4,191

(3) Maureen J. Reilly, daughter of the late Br. Joseph M. L. Reilly, managing clerk in estate office, Lodge (523, Armagh -- 4,017 votes.

(4) Frances E. Swanton, daughter of the late Br. James Swanton, landowner,
Lodge 15, Skibbereen -- 3,428 votes.

(5) Margaret M. Giffen. daughter of the late Br. Samuel Giffen, foreman spinning mill, Lodge 267, Lisburn -- 2,560 votes.

(6) Dorothy M. Attwood, daughter of the late Br. Charles Attwood, departmental manager, Lodge 126, Dublin -- 2,239 votes.

There were eleven unsuccessful candidates; 29,136 were the total votes recorded.

=======================

BRITISH NAVAL ARMOURED CARS

Lisburn people will learn with no little anxiety that the British Naval armoured cars, that have been doing such good service with the Russian Army in the Cacusus, have recently been in three actions on the Dobrudja front. Their casualties were three officers and one man wounded and one officer and six men missing.

P.O. Stanley Boyd, of Greenwood, Lisburn, and P.O. William Allen, late of Mayfield, Magheraleave Road, Lisburn (both Lisnagarvey hockey players), are serving with Commander Locker Lampson's force. None of the cars were lost.

=======================

DEATH OF MR. RICHARD C. GRUBB.

The death took place on Saturday last, at Claremont, Osborne Park, Belfast (the residence of his brother), of Mr. Richard Cambridge Grubb, of Killeaton House, Dunmurry. The deceased gentleman, who was seventy-fire years of age, was the eldest son of the late Mr. Richard Grubb, of Clare Abbey, County Tipperary. He came to Belfast in 1868, and was at first connected with the linen yarn business with Messrs. Richardson, of Lambeg, afterwards under the title of Messrs. Richardson, Grubb and Company, but subsequently he retired and carried on successfully the business of a stockbroker. In 1870 he married the youngest daughter of Mr. Jonathan Richardson, at one time member of Parliament for Lisburn. In politics he was a Conservative, and in religion a member of the Church of Ireland.

 

^ top of page

Lisburn Standard - Friday, 15 December, 1916

Deaths

BULLICK -- December 14, 1916, at his residence, 30 Railway Street, Lisburn, Moses Bullick, in his 83rd year. Funeral private. No Flowers.

Clippings

SOME EXTRACTS FROM THE

RECORDS OF OLD LISBURN

AND THE MANOR OF KILLULTAGH.

-- -- --

Edited by JAMES CARSON.

-- -- --

IX.

-- -- --

BELFAST GENERAL AND COMMERCIAL DIRECTORY FOR 1819,

With a
Directory and History of Lisburn.
By THOMAS BRADSHAW.

Printed by FRANCIS D. FINLAY,
1 Corn Market, Belfast.

-- -- -- -- -- --

Directory of Lisburn for 1819.

L.

Lackey, William, weaver, Chapel Hill.
Lappen, Cornelius, nailer, Market Lane.
Lappen, James, labourer, Longstone.
Laverty, Henry, carman, Longstone.
Laverty, Charles, labourer, Longstone.
Laverty, Robert, hostler, Chapel Hill.
Lavery, Anne, Longstone.
Lavery, James, weaver, Longstone.
Lavery, John, chaise driver, Bridge End.
Langhran, Neal, labourer, Antrim Lane.
Lawson, Alexander, weaver, Piper Hill.
Leech, Thomas, schoemaker, Longstone.
Lemon, John, grocer, Bridge Street.
Lenaghan, James, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
Lenaghan, John, servant, Bow Lane.
Lennon, Patrick, labourer, Bridge Street.
Linn, James, mason, Bridge Street.
Linsey, Ann, Smithfield.
Livingston, James, weaver, Piper Hill.
Long, John, boatman, Bridge End.
Lowry, John, weaver, Bow Lane.
Lutten, Charles, writing clerk, Belfast Gate.
Lynch, Hugh, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
Lynes, Terence, labourer, Chapel Lane.

M.

Mackay, Hugh, weaver, Bridge End.
Magee, Henry B., Proctor Down and Connor, Bridge Street.
Magee, James, labourer, Ball Alley.
Magee, John, weaver, Jackson's Lane.
Magee, John, weaver, Belfast Gate.
Magee, Edward, publican, Church Row.
Magee, John, sheriff's assistant, Haslam's Lane.
Magee, John, labourer, Longstone.
Magennis, John, horse dealer, Longstone.
Megennis, James, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
Mairs, Thomas, currier, Tan Yard.
Major, George, grocer, Belfast Gate.
Major, William, muslin manufacturer, Bridge Street.
Major, John, merchant, Market Square.
Major, James, grocer, Market Square.
Marlow, William, weaver, Bridge Street.
Martin, Francis, weaver, Antrim Lane.
Martin, Jane, Bow Lane.
Martin, John, weaver, Bow Lane.
Martin, John, jun., labourer, Bow Lane.
Martin, Robert, weaver, Piper Hill.
Mason, Peter, superintendent of the vitriol works, Vitriol Island.
Mathew, Catharine, Longstone.
Mathew, William, shoemaker, Longstone.
Mead, Mrs. Ann, Belfast Gate.
Mealan, James, labourer, Piper hill.
Meharry, James, tailor, Market Lane.
Miller, Ruth, Market Square.
Miller, Robert, weaver, Piper Hill.
Miller, James, weaver, Chapel Hill.
Miller, David, labourer, Longstone.
Milligan, Lewis, labourer, Ball Alley.
Milligan, John, mason, Bridge Street.
Moat, Samuel, labourer, Bridge End.
Moles, Frances, Belfast Gate.
Moles, William, boatman, Pump Lane.
Montgomery, Wm., labourer, Bridge St.
Montgomery, John, labourer, Bridge St.
Mooney, William, coach driver, Jackson's Lane.
Moore, George, innkeeper, Market Square.
Moore, Joseph, labourer, Tan Yard.
Moore, John, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
Moore, Jane, Jackson's Lane.
Moore, James, weaver, Beggar Lane.
Moore, William, weaver, Bow Lane.
Moore, James, weaver, Chapel Hill.
Moore, Robert, blacksmith, Antrim Lane.
Moorcroft, William, weaver, Kennedy's Court.
Morewood, George, gent, Castle Street.
Morgan, John, mason, Bow Lane.
Morgan, Henry, mason, Ball Alley.
Morgan, Arthur, sawyer, Bridge Street.
Morgan, John, sawyer, Bridge End.
Morgan, Hugh, weaver, Bridge End.
Morgan, Sarah, Bridge Street.
Morren, Hugh, servant, Piper Hill.
Morrow, George, carpenter, Castle Street.
Morrow, Hugh, reed-maker, Linenhall St.
Morrow, James, weaver, Linenhall Street.
Moss, Lewis, huxter, Market Lane.
Mullen, Mary, Beggar Lane.
Munce, Andrew, butcher, Smithfield.
Munce, Robert, butcher, Smithfield.
Mulholland, Hugh, spirit merchant, Bridge Street.
Mulholland, Henry, linen merchant, Belfast Gate.
Mulholland, Henry, jun., timber merchant, Bridge Street.
Mulholland, Robert, weaver, Jackson's Lane.
Mulholland, John, muslin manufacturer, Bow Lane.
Mulholland, Isabella, Heron's Folly.
Mulholland, Ann, dressmaker, Castle St.
Murdoch, James, publican, Bow Lane.
Murray, Richard, hairdresser, Castle St.
Murray, William, grocer, Market Square.
Murray, Thomas, publican, Market Square.
Murray, Daniel, nailer, Antrim Lane.
Murray, George, mason, Ball Alley.
Murray, Hugh, servant, Belfast Gate.
Murray, James, saddler, Bridge Street.
Murray, John, butcher, Smithfield.
Murray, Matthew, weaver, Longstone.
Murphy, William, flax-dresser, Antrim Lane.
Murphy, Richard, weaver, Back Lane.
Murphy, William, weaver, Back Lane.
Murphy, Jane, Linenhall Street.
Murphy, Matthew, weaver, Longstone.
Mussen, Matthew, chandler, Market Sq.
Mussen, James, chandler, Market Square.
Mussen, Richard, publican, Market Sq.
Mussen, Mrs. Agnes, Bow Lane.
Mussen, Mrs. Sarah, Bow Lane.
Musgrave, Samuel, surgeon, Market Sq.

Mc.

M'Afee, Archibald, weaver, Smithfield.
M'Afee, John, weaver, Linenhall Street.
M'Afee, Patrick, weaver, Linenhall Street.
M'Atier, Archibald, shoemaker, Bridge St.
M'Atier, Hanna, Chapel Hill.
M'Avoy, James, labourer, Pump Lane.
M'Blain, Jane, Castle Street.
M Blain, William, shoemaker, Linenhall Street.
M'Cabe, Joseph, carpenter, Johnson's Entry.
M'Caffery, Charles, labourer, Longstone.
M'Cagherty, John, labourer, Ball Alley.
M'Call, Robert, muslin manufacturer, Market Square.
M'Call, Charles, weaver, Smithfield.
M'Callister, Eliza, haberdasher, Castle St.
M'Callister, John, nailer, Antrim Lane.
M'Callister, Catharine, Antrim Lane.
M'Callister, Alexander, coal porter, Antrim
M'Callister, Thomas, weaver, Johnson's Entry.
M'Callister, Neesy, nailer, Smithfield.
M'Callister, Charles, servant, Bridge End.
M'Callister, James, Kn[-?-]-shoe maker, Bridge Street.
M'Cann, Hugh, labourer, Piper Hill.
M'Cann, William, weaver, Longstone.
M'Cann, James, weaver, Longstone.
M'Cann, James, farmer, Longstone.
M'Carty, Ellen, Antrim Lane.
M'Carty, William, shoemaker, Smithfield.
M'Cauley, Patrick, labourer, Tan Yard.
M'Cauley, John, weaver, Back Lane.
M'Cauley, James, mason, Beggar Lane.
M'Cauley, Sarah, Longstone.
M'Clatchy, Ann, huxter, Bow Lane.
M'Claverty, John, weaver, Linenhall St.
M'Clernan, James, hairdresser, Jackson Lane.
M'Cloy, Matthew, painter, &c., Bow Lane.
M'Cloy, Alexander, painter, &c., Bridge Street.
M'Clure, John, merchant, Market Square.
M'Clure, James, baker, Castle Street.
M'Clure, Joseph, saddler, Market Square.
M'Clure, John, baker, Bridge Street.
M'Clure, Thomas, labourer, Bridge Street.
M'Clusky, Peter, hostler, Jackson's Lane.
M'Comb, John, innkeeper (Hertford Arms), Market Square.
M'Comb, Hugh, carpenter, Jackson's Lane.
M'Comb, Thomas, shoemaker, Smithfield.
M'Comb, Nathaniel, shoemaker, Market Lane.
M'Connell, Samuel, labourer, Tan Yard.
M'Connell, Matthew, weaver, Back Lane.
M'Connell, John, dealer, Market Lane.
M'Connell, John, weaver, Haslam's Lane.
M'Connell, Henry, weaver, Linenhall St.
M'Connell, Owen, hosier, Piper Hill.
M'Connell, James, weaver, Piper Hill.
M'Cormick, Patrick, waiter, Jackson' Lane.
M'Cormick, Henry, labourer, Antrim Lane,
M'Cormick, Ezekiel, weaver, Bow Lane.
M'Cracken, Alexander, shoemaker, Jackson's Lane.
M'Cue, William, labourer, Ball Alley.
M'Cully, Hugh, book-binder, Jackson's Lane.
M'Curker, Thomas, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
M'Curry, James, boatman, Bridge End.
M'Donald, James, grocer, Chapel Hill.
M'Donald, Daniel, waterman, Smithfield.
M'Donald, Mary, Belfast Gate.
M'Donald, James, painter, Smithfield.
M'Donald, Edward, butcher, Bow Lane.
M'Donald, Daniel, labourer, Bridge End.
M'Dougall, James, shoemaker, Market Lane.
M'Dowell, William, nailer, Bow Lane.
M'Dowell, James, tailor, Johnson's Entry.
M'Dowell, John, saddler, Castle Street.
M'Dowell, Rose, Antrim Lane.
M'Gaghey, Francis, dealer in linen yarn, Bridge Street.
M'Gaunnily, Henry, labourer, Bridge St.
M'Gaverin, Catharine, Smithfield.
M'Gillin, Henry, labourer, Antrim Lane.
M'Glaughan, Dennis, flax-dresser, Johnson's Entry.
M'Glaughan, John, labourer, Bridge St.
M'Glaughan, Hannah, Ball Alley.
M'Gough, John, labourer, Longstone.
M'Gough, John, carman, Longstone.
M'Gough, Laughlan, shoemaker, Longstone.
M'Gowan, Mary, Longstone.
M'Gra, James, labourer, Bridge End.
M'Grillis, Michael, labourer, Smithfield.
M'Gullaghan, Robert, carman, Longstone.
M'Gurk, Arthur, publican, Church Row.
M'Gurk, James, boatman, Bridge End.
M'Gurk, John, boatman, Bridge End.
M'Gurnaghan, Patk., shoemaker. Heron's Folly.
M'Ilroy, Manus, weaver, Market Lane.
M'Ilroy, Manus, labourer, Track Line.
M'Keever, Terence, labourer, Piper Hill.
M'Kendry, Henry, school-master, Smithfield.
M'Kenna, Hugh, servant, Jackson's Lane.
M'Kenna, John, labourer, Bridge Street.
M'Keown, Robert, weaver, Back Lane.
M'Keown, Thomas, weaver, Belfast Gate.
M'Keown, Robert, weaver, Bridge Street.
M'Keown, John, coal measurer, Bridge Street.
M'Keown, Toal, lodging house, Piper Hill.
M'Kinny, Misses, Bow Lane.
M'Manus, William, weaver, Linenhall St.
M'Mullen, John, labourer, Back Lane.
M'Namara, John, currie, Bow Lane.
M'Nally, Patrick, labourer, Bakery Lane.
M'Nalty, John, weaver, Piper Hill.
M'Quaid, Bernard, shoemaker, Market Lane.
M'Seveney, Charles, weaver, Market Lane
M'Vey, Daniel, butcher, Smithfield.
M'Vey, Bartley, labourer, Piper Hill.
M'Vey, Edward, weaver, Jacksons Lane.
M'Vey, John, butcher, Back Lane.

N.

Napier, Henry, butcher, Smithfield.
Napier, Ann, Longstone.
Neely, Benjamin, English and mathematical teacher, Castle Street.
Neely, Erskine, schoolmaster, Market Sq.
Neill, Ann, Longstone.
Neill, Henry, labourer, Johnson's Entry.
Neill, John, labourer, Linenhall Street.
Neill, John, weaver, Piper Hill.
Neill, James, shoemaker, Longstone.
Nesbitt, John, surgeon, Castle Street.
Newburn, Thomas, hosier, Market Lane.
Nuckle, William, weaver, Ball Alley.

O.

O'Brie, Mrs. Elizabeth, Chapel Hill.
O'Donnell, Hugh, shoemaker, Haslam's Lane.
O'Hara, Charles, blacksmith, Jackson's Lane.
O'Hara, Mary, Bridge End.
O'Hara, William, labourer, Bridge End.
O'Neill, Roger, labourer, Track Lane.
O'Neill, John, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
O'Neill, James, labourer, Track Line.
Osborne, William, weaver, Bridge End.

P.

Palmer, William, hair-dresser, Bow Lane.
Park, Samuel, butcher, Haslam's Lane.
Park, Alexander, weaver, Linenhall St.
Park, Moses, shoemaker, Piper Hill.
Parkinson, Richard, weaver, Longstone.
Parkinson, Ellen, Smithfield.
Parsons, Robert, watchmaker, Bridge St.
Patten, Thomas, wheelwright, Jackson's Lane.
Patterson, John, carpenter, Chapel Hill.
Patterson, James, grocer. Bridge Street.
Patterson, John, weaver, Haslam's Lane.
Patterson, Elizabeth, Johnston's Entry.
Pattison, John, gardener, Bridge Street.
Peak, Neal, servant, Beggar's Lane.
Pelan, Richard B., chandler, Market Sq.
Pelan, George, chandler, Market Square.
Pelan, Thomas, grocer, Bridge Street.
Pelan, James, weaver, Bridge End.
Pelan, Mrs. Mary, chandler, Bridge Street.
Pennington, John, Proctor of Down and Connor, Bow Lane.
Pentland, George, blacksmith, Bow Lane.
Philips, Edward, farmer, Castle Street.
Philips, William, publican, Church Row.
Pilson, Conway, hosier, Haslam's Lane.
Proctor, Edward, weaver, Antrim Lane.

Q.

Quail, Archibald, weaver. Piper Hill.
Queery, Elizabeth, Antrim Lane.
Quin, John, labourer, Ball Alley.

R.

Rainey, John, huntsman, Smithfield.
Rainey, James, weaver, Back Lane.
Ravenhill, William, farmer, Chapel Hill.
Ray, John, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
Read & M'Conkey, Misses, dress-makers, Castle Street.
Read, William, carpenter, Belfast Gate.
Read, David, currier, Bridge Street.
Read, Arthur, riddle maker, Bridge End.
Reekey, William, weaver, Jackson's Lane.
Reilly, James, besom-maker, Piper Hill.
Richardson, James, linen merchant, Bow Lane.
Richardson, John, linen merchant, Castle Street.
Richardson, Joseph, linen merchant, Bow Lane.
Riddock, Elizabeth, Bow lane.
Robinson, Alexander, gardener, Beggar Lane.
Robinson, James, labourer, Bridge Street.
Rogers, John, grocer, Market Square.
Rogers, Patrick, publican, Bridge Street.
Rogers, Patrick, sen., farmer, Longstone.
Rogers, Richard, shoemaker, Antrim Lane.
Rogers, Thomas, tailor, Chapel Hill.
Rooney, James, spruce-beer maker, Market Square.
Rooney, Michael, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
Rutlage, William, shoemaker, Bow Lane.
Ryans, John, hostler, Linenhall Street.

S.

Sands, Ross, labourer, Piper Hill.
Savage, Thomas, porter, Antrim Lane.
Scandratt, Joseph, publican, Bow Lane.
Scott, Henry, labourer, Antrim Lane.
Scott, William, carman, Longstone.
Scayer, Elizabeth, Bridge End.
Seeds, Hugh, pawnbroker, Market Square.
Serby, Richard, mason, Bridge Street.
Serby, Richard, mason, Tan Yard.
Serby, Margaret, Bow Lane.
Sharky, Allen, pump maker, Smithfield.
Sharky, Ann, Smithfield.
Sharp, Edward, weaver, Longstone.
Shaw, William, farmer, Demiville.
Shaw, Thomas, agent to mail coach, Bridge Street.
Shepherd, George, weaver, Bridge End.
Sheilds, Charles, schoolmaster, Castle St.
Sheilds, Rachel, Smithfield.
Short, Owen, labourer, Bridge End.
Simon, John, gent, Market Square.
Simson, George, grocer, Bridge Street.
Singer, Hamilton, publican, Bridge Street.
Singleton, William, weaver, Haslam's Lane.
Skeffington, Peter, labourer, Ball Alley.
Skeffington, Luke, labourer, Ball Alley.
Slaven, Timothy, weaver, Piper Hill.
Slaven, John, labourer, Longstone.
Sloan, Henry, weaver, Belfast Gate.
Sloan, Adam, baker, Bridge Street.
Sloan, Matthew, labourer, Bridge End.
Sloan, John, farmer, Bridge End.
Sloan, Hugh, weaver, Bridge End.
Sloan, Robert, weaver, Bridge End.
Sloan, James, boatman, Bridge End.
Sloan, David, weaver, Bridge End.
Small, Jeremiah, huxter, Market Lane.
Smily, Richard, huxter, Bow Lane.
Smith, Thomas Johnson, gent, Castle St.
Smith, Mrs. Charlotte, Castle Street.
Smith, Misses, Mount Phoebus.
Smith, John, woollendraper, Market Sq.
Smith, Robert, publican, Bridge Street.
Smith, Alexander, huxter, Belfast Gate.
Smith, Samuel, schoolmaster, Bridge St.
Smith, Mary, huxter, Haslam's Lane.
Smith, William, labourer, Beggar Lane.
Smith, Thomas, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
Sparks, Thomas, labourer, Pump Lane.
Spears, George, weaver, Bridge End.
Spears, George, weaver, Kennedy's Court.
Spence, Ann Jane, pawnbroker, Market Square.
Spence, Robert, labourer, Back Lane.
Spence, James, currier, Smithfield.
Stannas, Rev. Jas., agent to the Marquis of Hertford, Castle Street.
Stars, Arthur, labourer. Bridge Street.
Steed, John, boatman, Piper Hill.
Steel, John, shoemaker, Beggar Lane.
Stephenson, James, weaver, Piper Hill.
Sterling, Mrs. Ann, Market Square.
Sterling, Nicholas, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
Stewart, Pointz, gent, Castle Street.
Stewart, William, M.D., Castle Street.
Stewart, William, gent. Castle Street.
Stewart, Robert, muslin manufacturer, Chapel Hill.
Stewart, James, farmer, Bow Lane.
Stewart, James, labourer, Bridge End.
Stewart, James, labourer, Bridge End.
Stewart, Daniel, auctioneer, Smithfield.
Stewart, David, grocer, Market Square.
Strickland, Thomas, weaver, Belfast Gate.
Strickland, Margaret, Belfast Gate.
Stirrit, James, weaver, Chapel Hill.
Stretton, Richard, mason, Linenhall St.
Sweeney, James, weaver, Bow Lane.

T.

Taggart, William, labourer, Haslam's Lane.
Taggart, William, weaver, Bow Lane.
Teat, Elizabeth, Chapel Hill.
Tedford, James, labourer, Antrim Lane.
Thompson, William, apothecary, Castle Street.
Thompson, Thomas, shoemaker, Market Square.
Thompson, Jas., shoemaker, Church Row.
Thompson, Edward, weaver, Smithfield.
Thornton, Joseph, writing clerk, Castle Street.
Todd, James, weaver, Smithfield.
Tool, Patrick, labourer, Antrim Lane.
Tosh, Daniel, labourer, Piper Hill.
Tosh, Alexander, labourer, Bridge Street.
Townley, James, farmer, Chapel Hill.
Trail, Rev. Anthony, D.D., Castle Street.
Trimble, William, labourer, Bridge End.
Turner, James, farmer, Longstone.
Tuton, James, shoemaker, Bridge Street,
Tuton, John, carman, Antrim Lane.

V.

Valentine, Joseph, weaver, Bridge Street.

W.

Wallace, Alice, Antrim Lane.
Walker, Mrs. Mary, apothecary, Market Square.
Walker, Susanna, Antrim Lane.
Walker, William, carpenter, Linenhall St.
Walsh, Baptist, huxter, Antrim Lane.
Walsh, Ralph, saddler, Bow Lane.
Ward, James, bookseller and stationer, Market Square.
Ward, Nicholas, tailor, Heron's Folly,
Ward, Dennis, labourer, Jackson's Lane.
Ward, Mark, weaver, Linenhall Street.
Waring, Miss Mary, Castle Street.
Waring, Richard, publican, Market Square
Waterson, Bridget, Kennedy's Court.
Watson, Thomas, carpenter, Linenhall St.
Watson, Jane, Antrim Lane.
Watson, Mary, Bridge End.
Watt, John, labourer, Piper Hill.
Weldon, Patrick, whitesmith, Smithfield.
Wheeler, John, grocer, Smithfield.
Wheeler, John, cloth-lapper, Bow Lane.
White, John, huxter, Bow Lane.
White, James, baker, Jackson's Lane.
Whiteside, Jane, Haslam's Lane.
Whitla, George, merchant, Bow Lane.
Wier, James, carpenter, Harlam's Lane.
Wiley, Alexander, watchmaker, Bow Lane.
Wilkinson, William, labourer, Bow Lane.
Williams, James, pawnbroker, Market Sq.
Williams, Margaret, Belfast Gate.
Wilson, George, shoemaker, Bow Lane.
Wilson, William, shoemaker, Bow Lane.
Wilson, Adam, shoemaker, Smithfield.
Wilson, William, weaver, Haslam's Lane.
Wilson, Robert, carpenter, Track Line.
Williamson, Alexander, linen merchant and bleacher, Lambeg House.
Wolfenden, Abraham, carpenter, Piper Hill.
Woods, John, baker, Bridge Street.
Woods, Elizabeth, Belfast Gate.
Woods, Bernard, labourer, Chapel Hill.
Wright, Thomas, painter, Heron's Polly,
Wright, John, labourer, Piper Hill.

Y.

Yarr, William, tailor, Bow Lane.
Yarr, John, weaver, Pump Lane.
Younghusband, Mrs. Jane, Belfast Gate.

-- -- -- -- -- --

Local Names Extracted from a List, of Gentlemen, Manufacturers, &c
residing in the
Neighbourhood of Belfast & Lisburn,

NOT IN THE DIRECTORY.

Barbour, John, thread manufacturer, Plantation, Blaris.
Carleton, Cornelius, spirit merchant, Carleton House, Blaris.
Carleton, Thomas, gent., Myrtle Hill, Blaris.
Casement, Charles, gent., Myrtle Hill, Drumbo.
Charley, William, bleacher and linen merchant, Mossvale.
Charley, John, bleacher and linen merchant, Finaghey.
Clarke, Mrs. Margaret Elizabeth, Townland of Clogher, Parish of Derriaghy, widow of Lieutenant Humphry Clarke, 30 Foot.
Corkin, John, gent., Lambeg.
Curtis, Edward, linen merchant and bleacher, Glenburne, Derriaghy.
Dobbs, Richard, gent., Castle Dobbs.
Dunlop, Charles, gent., Edenderry, Drumbo.
Durham, Andrew, gent., Belvidere, Drumbo.
Garr, Edward, linen merchant, Port View.
Garr, John, linen merchant, Lagan Cottage.
Garrett. Robert, gent., Red Hill, Maragall.
Hancock, W. J., bleacher, near Lisburn.
Haughton, Major, Springfield, Maragall.
Hill, J. C, linen merchant, Donought.
Hunter, William, linen merchant and bleacher, Dunmurry.
Hunter, Alexander, linen merchant and bleacher, Dunmurry.
Johnson, Rev. Philip, of Ballymacash, Parish of Derriaghy, Vicar of Derriaghy from the year 1772, Justice of the Peace for the Counties of Antrim and Down; house built by his great grandfather, Ralph Smyth, Esq., shortly before the Revolution of 1688, rebuilt by himself in the years 1789, 1790.
M'Cance, John, linen merchant, Suffolk.
Oakman, Walter, linen merchant, Glenavy
Roberts, Walter, & Son, Collin.
Stewart, John, gent., Wilmont, Drumbeg.
Stewart, Thomas A., gent., Lakefield, Drumbeg.
Ward, James, muslin bleacher, Hilden.
Watson, James, gent., Brookhill, Maragall.
Williamson, Robert, linen merchant and bleacher, Lambeg House.
Wolfenden, John, linen merchant, Lambeg.

 

^ top of page

Lisburn Standard - Friday, 22 December, 1916

Clippings

SOME EXTRACTS FROM THE

RECORDS OF OLD LISBURN

AND THE MANOR OF KILLULTAGH.

-- -- --

Edited by JAMES CARSON.

-- -- --

X.

-- -- --

TWO OLD LEGENDS RETOLD.

These two ancient tales of the neighbourhood of Lisburn have frequently been narrated to the Editor, in rough outline, by old residents in the district. Finding unvarying similarity in the various accounts, sufficient to give good ground for belief in their authenticity, he considered they were worth preserving, and determined to throw them into narrative form and accord them a place in these "Extracts."

Mrs. Ward, who was born in Lisburn in the year 1820, widow of Dr. John Ward, Market Square, who died in 1901, corroborates both tales. In her early youth the Derriaghy incident was "common talk" in Lisburn, and the chief actors in it well known. In regard to the Lambeg story, she was personally acquainted with Essy Pelan and Mr. Pecksniff and all the circumstances surrounding that simple but sad drama.

-- -- -- -- -- --

The Rector of Derriaghy's Dream.

In the early part of the nineteenth century the Rev. Philip Johnson was Rector of Derriaghy, and resided at Ballymacash.

One night in the late autumn of the year 1808, awaking out of his sleep, he told his wife: "I have had a bad dream. I thought I saw the church on fire." She, good soul, soon quieted him, and in a few minutes he was again asleep.

In a short time he started up anew, saying: "I have dreamt it again. I saw the church in flames; I saw the roof full in and the walls crumble down. There must be something wrong."

But his spouse took a more practical view, and reassured him with the remark that she thought he had eaten rather heartily at supper, and that he had better go to sleep again at once and not disturb her anymore.

But here was to be no peace that night. Almost immediately after he started up again and sprang out of bed. "That's the third time," he cried. "The church is in flames: I saw it distinctly. I must go at once." He flung on his clothes, rushed out and in a few minutes was galloping wildly across country in the direction of Derriaghy.

Reaching the village, he was startled to see in the dim light, standing in the centre of the road on the crest of the hill before approaching the church, a figure in white.

Dismounting and throwing his bridle over a convenient post, he approached the figure, and there and then the rev. gentleman received what was possibly to him the surprise of his life. But it was only the precursor of greater surmises in store for him that night.

The figure in white resolved itself into a young girl, apparelled in a kind of bridal array, and the moment the rector approached, she grasped him frantically and excitedly by the arm, sobbing out: "Oh! I am so glad you have come. I was so frightened. He is waiting for us down by the church. He said he had asked you to come to-night to marry us. Oh, yes," and she grasped the rector's arm more tightly. "We must be married to-night. He sent me up here to meet you. He has always been so good and kind to me, and I love him: but to-night he looked so strange, I am frightened. All will be well when we are married, won't it?"

"Yes, my dear," said the perplexed rector, "I hope so"; but to himself he murmured: "Am I still asleep and dreaming in my home at Ballymacash, or am I awake?" He was soon to find he was very much awake indeed.

"Now, my girl," said he, "tell me who is the man you are going to marry," and she tremblingly whispered in his car the name of a well-known citizen of Lisburn of that day.

The rector and the girl then proceeded down to the church, but there was no man there.

Wildly she looked round. "Oh! I have kept him waiting too long. What shall I do? What shall I do?"

"Wait here," said the rector kindly; "wait here and I will go round the church and try and find him."

The old church was much smaller than the present edifice, which was built in 1871, but it stood practically on the same site as the building that replaced it.

Stepping quickly on to the springy turf, he passed round the church to the rear, but saw no one.

As he stood in the ghostly silence he thought he heard a sound coming from the old enclosure of the Rosbothams, and looking in that direction he saw a faint and dim glimmer of light.

Moving silently in the direction of the light, fearing he knew not what, he received a dreadful shock.

Approaching the entrance to the enclosure containing the tombs, in those far-off days the surrounding wall was much higher than at present, and even then it was heavily draped with overhanging ivy, he saw a sight that froze the very marrow in his bones.

By the dim and ghostly light of a lantern resting on a tomb stone he saw, digging furiously and frantically in a shallow grave, the man the girl had named.

With desperate energy the man dug in the light and sandy soil, perspiration flowing from every pore.

For some minutes the rector stood in silence contemplating the awful scene. Then moving quietly across, and standing almost over the man working in the grave, he looked down upon him.

The intensity of his gaze at length drew to him the eyes of the man he looked upon.

For one long minute, in otter silence, they gazed into each other's eyes, and the rector shuddered at what he saw in that frozen stare.

He saw mirrored there terror, horror, murder.

Then the spell was broken; the man threw down his spade, sprang out of the grave, clambered over the wall, and without a word disappeared in the darkness.

As Mr. Johnson, lifted the lamp and spade to return to the waiting girl, in his heart was a song of thanksgiving, thanksgiving for his dream, thanksgiving that he had arrived in time to prevent a dreadful crime.

Going back to the girl he found her almost in a state of collapse. With difficulty he persuaded her to return, with him, to her home on the outskirts of the village.

Her father after being roused from his sleep, opened the door, and the rector gently pushed the girl into his arms, saying: "Be good and gentle to her, ask her no questions to-nigh, see her safely into her bed, and when you retire to your own room, go down on your knees and thank your Creator that she is safe under your roof this night. In the morning I will return and explain. Good night."

Within a very short time the man left Lisburn. Rumour said later he was living in New York. Again a report came, that was confirmed, that in the city of New York he had died a lonely and miserable death.

-- -- -- -- -- --

The Broken Column in Lambeg Parish Churchyard.

About the year 1830 there lived in Lisburn a young couple much attached to each other.

In their case the course of true love ran smooth and unruffled.

Their devotion to each other was touching to see, and became the theme of the town.

She was pretty and loving and confiding.

He was masterful and ambitious.

In time the lure of distant lands laid hold upon him.

She only wanted his love and the quiet, simple life of old Lisburn.

He would travel, and in the new land of Canada make a home worthy of his love.

Thus ambition intervened.

The day soon came when, with protestations of undying love and affection, he parted from the clinging arms of the confiding girl to seek fame and fortune for her on a foreign shore.

The old tale: the mat went forth to conquer, the woman remained at home to weep and wait.

Lonely and heartsore, her only solace was his letters.

Frequent and regular they came, full of love and hope and buoyancy.

The light returned to her eyes, and the smile to her sweet lips.

Success was crowning his efforts.

The home was materialising.

The lovers would soon be reunited.

In brave and gallant words he told of his success.

He told of the new life opening, that they were soon to live together.

She must prepare herself, he said, to fill worthily the position she would occupy.

Masterful as ever, he pointed out how she should proceed.

Deportment, etiquette, and the fine arts must all be acquired.

To the loving girl his word was law, but her friends began to doubt.

Still, she had his letters, frequent and regular, and time would vindicate her trust. What then mattered, the covert smile, the wise head shake, the subtle inuendo?

Again the old tale: the woman waits and suffers.

Less frequent, came the letters.

Still less frequent and at longer intervals they came, then ceased.

The delicate flower drooped and faded.

The days passed into weeks, then into months. The crushed spirit bore up bravely, waiting, waiting, dying; the broken heart beat more feebly, then ceased for ever.

In Lambeg Parish Churchyard she was laid to rest.

To rest, yes, free from her longing, her love, her pain.

-- -- --

Years passed, and then once more Lisburn saw the brave youth return who had gone forth to win fortune and honour for his love.

He had won fortune, but what of his honour?

In his success he had forgotten the gentle flower of Lisnagarvey, and allowed it to wither and die.

He had gone forth full of high hopes and aspirations. He returned to his native town full of pomposity, inflated with success.

Pecksniff he was aptly named in derision, on his return, and as Mr. Pecksniff let him pass.

His gold-headed cane was wonderful to see, his unctious self-satisfaction hard to tolerate.

His protestations of the love for the girl he had deserted were loud-mouthed and fulsome.

He visited her grave, and defiled the sod with crocodile tears.

He would erect a monument to her memory -- which her friends tried to prevent -- with suitable inscriptions expressing his loss, her love, their devotion.

The monument in Lambeg Churchyard was the result.

It is a square pedestal surmounted by a marble column about four feet high, broken off at the top to represent a young life cut off in its prime with its work unfinished.

On the four sides of the pedestal are inscriptions:--

Essy Pelan
died on the anniversary
of her birthday.
1st March, 1833.
Aged 21 years.
-----
I weep the more, because
I weep in vain.
Thou wert my life,
The ocean to the river of
my thoughts
which terminated all.
-----
Separated below but
united above.
For love is strong
as death.
Solomon's Song 8-6.
-----
Thou wert faithful unto death.
Rev. 2-10.
Thy love was wonderful,
passing the love of women.
2 Sam. 1-26.

The monument was unveiled with fitting ceremony.

Pecksniff in the leading part, as broken-hearted and generous lover.

His task finished, he departed in a cloud of self-satisfied glory, and Lisburn knew him no more.

But Nemesis was, unknown to him, on his track.

Not long had he gone, when information reached the town that he was already a married man, that for years he bad been married to a wealthy woman of position in the land of his adoption.

And then a kind friend -- there are always such kind friends -- wrote a true and correct account of Mr. Pecksniff's love affairs in Lisburn, touching lightly on his devotion and his broken heart, and rounded it off with an authentic copy of the inscriptions from the monument, and sent it out to Mrs. Pecksniff

Let us draw a veil over the result.

Yet, raise but a tiny corner, and you may see a furious and exasperated woman, standing over a cowed and dejected Pecksniff, flourishing in his face the fatal record of his past.

The tradition is she found, in a short time, means to divorce him.

His prosperity, however, held good, and long years after he died in the odour of sanctity and success.

Exit Pecksniff. Exit Essy Pelan. They have long since passed away into the land of shadows.

Kind friends, throw not stones at him.

Who can say what remorse he may have suffered?

According to his lights, he may have earnestly tried to make what expiation for hi sin that he could.

Give him the benefit of the doubt.

Let them rest in peace.

========================

FROM
PERSONAL AND INCIDENTAL NOTES
appearing from time to time in the "Northern Whig."

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

The Drumbeg Ghost.

Whether Drumbeg Churchyard stands as it used to stand two hundred years ago we know not, nor whether it still holds the gravestone of "Liftenant James Haddock who dweled in Mallon and deceased the 18 of December, 1657," but the "Liftenant" is still of interest as forming the core of one of the more notable of our ghost stories.

"About Michaelmas, 1662," one reads in ancient Glanvil, "one Francis Taverner porter to the Lord Chichester at Belfast, riding late in the night from Hillsborough homeward toward Drumbridge, his horse, though of good mettle, suddenly made a stand, and there seemed to pass by him two horsemen, though he could not hear the treading of their feet, which amazed him. Presently there appeared a third, in a white coat, just at his elbow, in the likeness of James Haddock, formerly an inhabitant in Malone, where he died nearly five years before. Whereupon Taverner askt him in the name of God who he was? He replied, I am James Haddock, and you may call to mind by this token; that about five years ago I and two other friends were at your father's house, and you by your father's appointment brought us some nuts, and therefore be not afraid, says the apparition."

To cut a long story short, the reason for Haddock's revisiting the glimpses of the moon was his desire for the welfare of his only child. He appealed again and again to the sluggish Taverner bidding him "go to Elenor Welsh (now the wife of one Davis living at Malone, but formerly the wife of the said James Haddock, by whom she had an only son, to whom the said James Haddock had by his will given a lease which he held of Lord Chichester, of which the son was deprived by Davis, and to tell her that it was the will of her former husband that their son should be righted in the lease." In the end Taverner carried his message, and was examined by Dr. Jeremy Taylor, Dr. D'Arcy's most eminent predecessor in the diocese of Down and Connor and Dromore, and by Lady Conway, and as a result the boy was righted.

According to one story, the shameless and hardened Davis refused to surrender the lease, and the apparition bade Taverner to take the matter to court, where it would appear when summoned. The case accordingly came on at Carrickfergus. For the boy there was but one witness. "James Haddock!" cried the usher. "James Haddock!!" "James Haddock!!" At the third summons a clap of thunder shook the courthouse, a hand hovered over the witness-box, and a voice called, "Is this enough?" And it was.

The other version, by Bishop Taylor's secretary, relates that "There is an odd story depending on this. The boy's friends put the trustees and executor on this apparition's account into our court s, where it was pleasant to hear my Lord talk to them on the whole matter. The uncle and trustee, one John Costlet, forswore the thing, railed on Taverner, and made strange imprecations, and wisht judgments ought fall on him if he know of any such lease; but the fear of the apparition's menaces by Taverner fear'd him into a promise of justice at least. About four or five years after, when my Lord died, and the noise of the apparition was over, Costlet again began to threaten the boy with law. But being drunk at Hill Hall by Lisburne, coming home, he fell from his horse and never spoke more." And thus was fulfilled the old proverb that curses come home to roost.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

The Portmore Ghost.

It is told on the authority of Bishop Jeremy Taylor's secretary that "David Hunter, neatherd at the Bishop's house at Portmore, there appealed to him one night, carrying a Log of Wood into the Dairie, an Old Woman, which amazed him, for he knew her not; but the fright made him throw away his Log of Wood and run into the house. The next night she appeared again to him, and he could not choose but follow her all night, and so almost every night for near three-quarters of a year. Whenever she came he must go with her through the Woods at a good round rate; and the poor fellow looked as if he was bewitcht and travelled off his legs. And when in bed with his Wife, if she appeared he must rise and go. And because his Wife could not hold him in his bed, she would go too, and walk after him till day though she see nothing. But his little Dog was so well acquainted with the Apparition that he would follow her as we as the Master. If a Tree stood in her walk, he observed her always to go through it. In all this while she spake not.

"But one day the said David, going over a Hedge into the High-way, she came just against him, and he cried out, 'Lord, bless me, would I was dead; shall I never be delivered from this misery?' At which, 'And the Lord bless me, too,' says she; 'it was very happy you spoke first, for till then I had no power to speak, though I have followed you so long. My name (says she) is Margaret -----. I lived here before the War, and had one Son by my Husband. When he died I married a Souldier, by whom I had several children, which that former Son maintained, else we must all have starved. He lives beyond the Bann-water; pray go to him and bid him dig under such a Harth, and there he shall find 28s. Let him pay what I owe in such a place, and the rest to the charge unpayed at my Funeral; and go to my son that lives here, which I had by my latter Husband, and tell him that he lives a wicked and dissolute life, and is very unnatural and ungrateful to his Brother that maintained him; and if he does not amend his life God Almighty will destroy him.'

"David Hunter told her he never knew her. 'No,' says she, 'I died seven years before you came into the country.' But for all that if he would do her message she would never hurt him. But he deferred doing as the Apparition bid him, and she appeared the night after as he lay in bed, and struck him on the shoulder very hard; at which he cried out, and askt her if she did not promise she would not hurt him. She said that was if he did her Message; if not, she would kill him. He told her he could not go now by reason the Waters were out. She said she was content he should stay till they were abated, but charged him afterwards not to fail her. So he did her errand, and afterwards she appeared and gave him thanks. 'For now,' said she, 'I shall be at rest, therefore pray you lift me up from the ground and I will trouble you no more.' So David Hunter lifted her up from the ground and as he said, she just felt like a bag of Feathers in his arms. So she vanisht, and he heard most delicate Musick as she went off over his head, and he never was more troubled.

=====================

WHY PAPERS ARE GAZETTES.

The reason that so many papers have the name "Gazette" in their title, like the "London Gazette," for example is this: The word "gazette" comes from the name of a small Venetian coin "gazetta, worth but a halfpenny. This coin was the price of one of the first newspapers ever published. It appeared in Venice during the sixteenth century.

=========================

ROLL OF HONOUR.

Lisburn and District Churches

Those who die for their country should not be numbered with the dead. We must call them by another name... There is no sacrifice to be compared with that which they have made; for which reason there is no glory that can soar so high as theirs, no gratitude that can surpass the gratitude which we owe them. They have not only a right to the foremost place in our memories; they have a right to all our memories and and to everything that we are, since we exist only through them.

There would be no difference between the living and the dead if we but knew how to remember. There would be no more dead. The best of what they were dwells with us after fate has taken them from us; all their past is ours; and it is wider than the present, more certain than the future. Material presence is not everything in this world; and we can dispense with it without despairing. We do not mourn those who live in lands which we shall never visit, because we know that it depends on us whether we go to find them. Let it be the same with our dead. Instead of believing that they have disappeared, never to return, tell yourselves that they are in a country to which you yourself will assuredly go soon, a country not so very far away.

MAURICE MAETERLINCK.

-- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --

LISBURN CATHEDRAL.
(Rector, Rev. Canon W. D. Pounden.)

FALLEN.

Lieut. F. C. King.
Sergt. Harry Corken.
L.-Corporal George F. Walker.
Pte. William Atkinson.
  "    David Boyd.
  "    Alex. Cairns.
  "    Colwell.
  "    John Fenton.
  "    William Leathem.
  "    George Laird.
  "    David Tate.
  "    William Walsh.
  "    David Walsh.
  "    Geo. Henry Hull.
  "    James E. Martin.

MISSING.

Robert Clarke.
---- Corken.
Alex. Welch.
---- Salby.
---- Love.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

CHRIST CHURCH, LISBURN.
(Rector, Rev. R. H. S. Cooper.)

FALLEN.

Captain Cecil F. K. Ewart.
Captain J. Hamilton Sinclair,
Sergeant William Lavery.
Sergeant Robert M'Carthy.
Sergeant Thomas Donegan.
Corporal Joseph Buckley.
Corporal Charles Dowds.
Corporal Samuel Larmour.
Corporal James Lunn.
Corporal Peter Mitchell Stewart.
L-Corporal George Henry Hull.
L-Corporal David Walsh.
Pte. James Andrews.
  "    William J. Allen
  "    Henry Brown.
  "    John Brown.
  "    George Clelland.
  "    William Curry.
  "    James Dunleavy.
  "    Daniel Gorman
  "    Thomas Haddock.
  "    John Hamilton.
  "    Joseph Hanna
  "    John Harvey,
  "    Samuel Haire.
  "    Isaiah Jackson.
  "    George Kingsberry.
  "    David Williamson Johnston.
  "    William Lamont.
  "    David Lappin.
  "    Wm. Henry Leathem.
  "    William Leckey.
  "    Joseph Lindsay.
  "    Robert Marks.
  "    David Martin.
  "    George M'Creedy.
  "    Robert M'Geown.
  "    Samuel M'Kee.
  "    Charles M'Ilwrath.
  "    Thomas M'Clure.
  "    James M;Mullen.
  "    James Mulholland.
  "    John M'Gurk.
  "    William Huddleston.
  "    Isaac Keery.
  "    Richard Orr.
  "    William Patton.
  "    William Plews.
  "    Thomas Russell.
  "    William Stanway.
  "    John Steadman.
  "    Samuel Troughton.
  "    James Totten.
  "    Edward Toole.
  "    George F. Walker.
  "    William Walsh.
  "    Robert Smyth.
Bugler Samuel Ward.

PRISONERS OF WAR.

Major A. P. Jenkins.
Sergt. George Lavery.
Pte. James Bratty.
  "    George Graham.
  "    William Kain.
  "    John Little.
  "    Thomas Logan.
  "    Joseph M'Callister.
  "    George Robinson.

REPORTED MISSING.

Pte. William Abbott.
  "    Samuel Donnegan.
  "    Edward Lavery.
  "    William Little.
  "    Henry Lavery.
  "    William M'Dowell.
  "    Daniel M'Ilpatrick
  "    William Russell.
  "    J. M. M'Ilwrath.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

LISBURN ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH.
(Parish Priest, Rev. Mark M'Cashin.)

FALLEN.

Chris Pelan.
Joseph Rice.
Patrick Sharkey.
Patrick O'Brien.
Patrick Furfey.
John M Quaid.
John Magee.
Thomas Grahams.
Richard Dougan.
J. Sharkey.
Thomas Neill.
P. Stoops.
Hugh Sharkey.
John M'Comiskey.
James Sterling.
John Hodgen.
John Mearns.
James Dunleavy.
W. Boston.
Hugh Donnelly.
Dan Crilly.
William Crossey.
John Hughes.
Patrick Murtagh.
James Hutton.
T. Teggart.
Robert Dickey.
Ed. M'Namara.
Joseph M'Namara.

MISSING.

Patrick Magennis.
James Welsh.
James H. M'Cann.
Joseph Tippin.
Joe Ferris.
Henry Lyttle.

PRISONERS OF WAR.

William Sharkey.
J. Belshaw.
J. Tennyson.
R. Young.
Barry Haughey.
James Sharkey.
Joseph M'Master.
John M'Parland.
M. Moran.
M. Heaney.
Joseph Quinn.
John Lavery.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

RAILWAY STREET PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH.
(Minister, Rev. R. W. Hamilton.)

FALLEN.

George King.
Isaac M'Nair.
William Lewis.
John Bell.
James Braithwaite.
Thomas Cathcart.
Quintin Dunlop.
James Lennox.
Francis Neagle.
John. Ramsey.
Constable Cunningham.
William Skelly.
J. M'Lain.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

FIRST LISBURN PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH.
(Minister, Rev, J. J. C. Breakey.)

FALLEN.

John Clay.
Samuel Dickson.
William Gill.
T. J. Kirkwood.
Charles Knox.
Joseph Simpson.
Francis Todd.
John Waring.

MISSING.

Ralph Adams.
James Chambers.

PRISONER OF WAR.

William Cree.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

LISBURN CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH.
(Minister, Rev. W. C. Cowden.)

FALLEN.

Pte. James Andrews.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

SLOAN STRRET PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, LISBURN.
(Minister, Rev. J. W. Gamble.)

FALLEN.

David Cathcart.
James Holmes.
William Reid.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

HILLSBOROUGH PARISH CHURCH.
(Rector, Rev. Francis Matchett.)

FALLEN.

Second-Lieut. Claude Walker.
Sergt. Joseph Pentland.
  "    William Magill.
  "    James Berry.
Pte. Robert Coburn.
  "    Thomas Moore.
  "    Wm. James Barry.
  "    Richard Crawler.
  "    Albert Crangle.
  "    James Henry Bryans.
  "    Oliver Crossey.
  "    Samuel Hamilton.
  "    Robert Harrison.
  "    George Heenan.
  "    William Johnston.
  "    Thomas Mercer.
  "    Edward M'Namara.
  "    Jack Smith.
  "    Joseph Thompson.
  "    Moses Thompson.
  "    Robert Johnston.
  "    James Andrews.
  "    George Jess.
  "    John William Gregg.
  "    Robert Woods.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

HILLSBOROUGH PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH.
(Minister, Rev. J. Herbert Orr.)

FALLEN.

Pte. Samuel Hamilton.
  "    Henry Toman.
  "    Andrew Morrow.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

LAMBEG PARISH CHURCH
(Rector, Rev. Chancellor B. Banks.)

FALLEN.

Lieutenant. Thomas Murdoch.
Corpl. Peter M. Stewart.
Pte. William Gill.
  "    David Wm. Johnson.
  "    James Neill.
  "    Robert J. Wills.
  "    Samuel Wills.
  "    Joseph Webb.

MISSING.

Sergt. Frederick Geo. Burke.
Pte. Alexander Hanna.
  "    John Forsythe.

PRISONERS OF WAR.

Pte. David Hanna.
  "    Samuel Hanna.
  "    William T. Logan.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

HILLHALL PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH.
(Minister, Rev. Wm. M'Nutt.)

FALLEN.

James Browne.
Samuel Irvine.
Edward Lewis.
John M'Nair.
Robert Morrow.
James Stewart.
Thomas Stewart.

MISSING.

Samuel Blakley, jur.
William Cairns.
William Irvine.
Archie M'Caugherty.

PRISONER OF WAR.

Richard Porter.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

DERRIAGHY PARISH CHURCH.
(Rector, Rev. C. E. Quin.)

FALLEN.

James Waring.
Adam M"Clurg.
James Jefferson.
Charles Floyd.
James Neill.
Lance Smyth.

MISSING.

Sergt. Thomas John Cairns.
Corpl. Edward Cairns.
Pte. William Irvine.
  "    Thomas Marks.
  "    David Reid.

PRISONERS OF WAR.

John Crowe.
William Fenning.
Alex. Woods.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

GLENAVY PARISH CHURCH.
(Rector. Rev. R. R. Muir.)

FALLEN.

Sergt. W. Higginson.
Pte. J. Neeson.

MISSING.

Pte. R. Patterson.
  "    S. Bushe.
  "    J. Watson.
  "    A. M'Neice.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

MAGHERAGALL PAISH CHURCH.
(Rector, Rev. W. H. Dundas.)

FALLEN.

Second-Lieut. Claude Walker.
Co. Q.M.S. Robert Holdcroft.
Pte. Thomas Stitt.
  "    Alex. Martin.
  "    Albert Gill.
Driver George Tolerton.

MISSING.

Pte. James Tolerton.
  "    Robert Tolerton.
  "    Thomas Hawthorne.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

ALL SAINTS', EGLANTINE.
(Rector, Rev. J. S. Taylor.)

FALLEN.

Pte. Alexander Boyd.
  "    William John Berry.
  "    Samuel Kane.
  "    John Smith.
  "    Joseph Thompson.
  "    Moses Thompson.
  "    James Andrews.
  "    Thomas Mercer.

PRISONER OF WAR.

Pte. Thomas Singleton.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

ST. ANDREW"S CHURCH, BROOMHEDGE.
(Rector, Rev. John Leslie.)

FALLEN.

Sergt. Robert Megarry.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

MAZE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH.
(Minister, Rev. Thomas Dunn.)

FALLEN.

Pte. Samuel Kane.
  "    Albert L. Neill.

MISSING.

Pte. William Nelson.
  "    John Faulkner

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

DRUMBEG PARISH CHURCH.
(Rector, Rev. Alexander R. Ryder.)

FALLEN.

Second-Lieut. John Alexander.

MISSING.

Pte. R. G. Alexander.

-- -- -- -- -- -- --

OTHER CHURCHES.

Rev. Pierce Martin, minister of Seymour Street Methodist Church, Lisburn, in reply to our request for copy of Roll of Honour, writes -- "With grateful heart I have to report that so far none of those who went out from our church has fallen in the war."

Rev. J. H. Lilburn, minister of Magheragall Presbyterian Church, who left for France on Tuesday night (whither he has gone to assist in the good work the Y.M.C.A. ids doing for our soldiers), called at our offices in the afternoon and verbally made a similar satisfactory report to that Rev. Mr. Martin was able to make.

 

^ top of page

Lisburn Standard - Friday, 29 December, 1916

Marriage

ARMSTRONG--FIELD -- On Monday, December 25th, at Hillhall Presbyterian Church, by the Rev. J. J. C. Breakey, Francis George Alexander Armstrong, second son of Mr. and Mrs. R. Armstrong, "Rockville," Lisburn, to Anna Jane Field, second daughter of Mr. and Mrs. T. H. Field, Bachelor's Walk.

Deaths

BEATTY -- December 23, 1916, at 6 Novara Terrace, Bray, Thomas Beatty, last surviving son of the late David Beatty, Esq., J.P., of Bow Street, Lisburn, aged 71.

GREENFIELD -- George, beloved husband of Margaret (nee Smyth), father of George, Jennie, Donald, Richard, Robert, William, and Bruce Greenfield. Masonic Service, Nov. 28th, at 2-30 p.m.from his late residence, 7210 Michigan Avenue, conducted by Hyde Park Lodge No. 989 A.F. and A.M., to Oakwood Cemetery.
From "Chicago Times."
Brother of SAMUEL and DAVID GREENFIELD.

RICHARDSON -- 18th December, at Springfield, Lisburn, Eliza Jane, wife of the late Joseph Richardson and daughter of the late George Fennell, of Cottage, Cahir, Co. Tipperary, in her 89th year.

Clippings

SOME EXTRACTS FROM THE

RECORDS OF OLD LISBURN

AND THE MANOR OF KILLULTAGH.

-- -- --

Edited by JAMES CARSON.

-- -- --

XI.

-- -- --

ANCIENT CHURCHES IN DOWN AND CONNOR.

From "Belfast News-Letter," 23rd July, 1886.

How stuck modern archaeologists and other lovers of bygone history owe to those writers who, in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, left behind them authentic records of the events that were passing in their own times could hardly be overestimated. This is especially the case with regard to ecclesiastical buildings, the stories connected with which read in many cases like the pages of romance. Our Scottish neighbours can boast of a long fine traditional and historic details connecting national and sectarian annals in almost uninterrupted sequence. And in remote ages England had collected together the scattered material of ecclesiastical history, all of which has been carefully preserved.

When Thomas Moore was writing his work on Ireland he had much difficulty in obtaining all the information he sought for in reference to sacred fanes and other buildings. Since his day an immense extent of light has been thrown on the subject by the genius and research of archaeologists.

Some years ago the learned Dr. Reeves, now Bishop or Down and Connor, published, in a handsome quarto, the most valuable collection of antiquarian lore that had ever appeared on the subject of diocesan history, and which as a book of reference seems to have been written for all time. And still more recently, the Rev. James O'Laverty, parish priest of Holywood, issued three volumes on the Church history of Down and Connor, which abound in information relating to the Reformed as well as the Roman Catholic Church. Thee labour and research which were brought into play in collecting material for these respective works must have been far beyond ordinary conception.

Respecting the priority of ages of ecclesiastical buildings, much difference of opinion may be found in the writings of men of high position in the literary world. When the church of Carrickfergus was being rebuilt is 1581, Lord Deputy Gray gave an order to the Mayor and Corporation of the town, which order was addressed to the provincial authority, desiring that gentleman to give the Corporation of Knockfergus whatever timber they required from "ye woods of Belfast." At that time the now capital of Ulster was a small fishing village that stood outside the English pale, and the order was, therefore, refused.

The parish of Shankill is frequently referred to in Dr. Reeves' history, and also in that of the Rev. J. O'Laverty. It's name signified old church, but at the tine of the erection in Carrickfergus not a vestige of the building remained.

Very soon after Sir Arthur Chichester was presented with the castle of Belfast and the lands that comprised the estate. It would appear that among the first of his acts as a landlord was that of providing a place of worship for the people. In October, 1615, the municipal authorities of the town issued a proclamation to the effect that on each Sabbath Day the burgesses and free commoners should assemble in their Town Hall, dressed in their official robes, and march in procession to the residence of the Sovereign, James Burr, and escort him to church. Penalties ranging from one to five shillings, according to the rank of the offenders, were recoverable for non-attendance at public worship. The church alluded to is supposed to have stood on the site now occupied by St. George's, High Street, and which in 1645 was pulled down and replaced by the erection of the building named the Corporation Church.

Lisburn.

Sir Fulke Conway, like Sir Arthur Chichester, enjoyed the patronage of Queen Elizabeth and her immediate successor. He too was sent to Ireland as commander of troops ordered there to aid in quelling the rebellion, and after partial peace had been made with several native chiefs, the gallant knight laid aside his weapons of war. and betook himself to the duties of landlordism. In addition to the Crown lands granted him, he became owner of the rectorial tithes of several parishes on the estate, and at once set about repairing such of the old churches as had been injured during the rebellion. He also erected new houses of worship.

The early history of Killultagh -- Church of the Wood -- has been lost in the mists of time, and that of Ballinderry is only partially known. In the middle of the sixteenth century, however, that old place of worship was put in thorough repair by Earl Conway, and to the present day there remain portions of the sacred walls that once re-echoed the sublime oratory of Jeremy Taylor.

Lisnagarvagh and Blayruss were separate parishes in the reign of James the First. Tradition has it that when Sir Fulke Conway took up his residence in the stronghold previously owned by the O'Neill known as captain of Killultagh there stood in the immediate vicinity a chapel in which the chief had mass celebrated when the fit of religious fervour came on, but as neither he himself nor his retainers paid much attention to such things sacred the house was left in decay. The new lord of the manor had the roof and walls partially repaired, but in 1623 the whole was taken down and the original of the present cathedral erected in its stead. The old warrior died the following year, and his brother Edward had arrived in Lisnagarvagh some months before the church was consecrated. That ceremonial was performed by Bishop Robert Echlin, the Rev. Alexander Forbeson, rector of Blaris, assisting.

The second owner of the estate in Warwickshire, as well as that in Down and Antrim, was in the same year raised to the peerage as Baron Conway of Ragley. This nobleman died in 1630. His son Edward, Viscount Killultagh, made many improvements in the Church, and about 1641 got a law passed, which was known as "Conway's Act," for the uniting of the parishes of Lisnagarvagh and Blaris.

Most schoolboys who have read about the rebellion of 1641 are aware that the Irish army in its retreat from Lisnagarvagh set fire to that town. Nearly all the thatched houses were burned, but except some damage to the roof the church had a fortunate escape, and was speedily repaired.

Another change of proprietorship took place in the Conway estate in 1655, and when the third viscount arrived at the capital of the property, then called Lisburn, he found the town garrisoned by Cromwell's troops, and on Sundays those soldiers occupied so many seats in the church, that only a few of the parishioners could be accommodated. The Rev. Alexander Wike, an Independent minister, had just settled in the town, and many of the Episcopal families attended his ministry.

Dr. Jeremy Taylor.

Lord Conway, finding that the great majority of the tenants on his estate were opposed to the Protectorate, induced the celebrated polemic Dr. Taylor to come over from England as a missionary to those Loyalists. His Lordship had a handsome cottage built and furnished at Portmara, near the borders of Lough Neagh, and a house in Lisburn, also furnished, for the future prelate, on whom he settled a handsome income. It was chiefly through Viscount Conway's influence at Court that Jeremy Taylor was elevated to the Episcopal Bench of Down and Connor. Very soon after the Restoration Charles the Second raised Lisburn Church to the dignity of cathedral of the diocese as a mark of respect to the people for their loyalty towards himself and his father.

A second fire took place in Lisburn in April, 1707, and did immense damage. Numbers of people were left homeless, but except the wooden tower that stood at the west end of the church that sacred building escaped serious injury. During that fire the splendid set of musical bells presented to the parishioners by the Countess Conway were melted into masses of metal.

Francis Seymour, the second member of the house of Somerset that inherited the Conway estates, and who resided in Lisburn several months of each year, had the church repaired and extended considerably. A stone tower was erected and a huge bell placed there. This gentleman had been raised to the peerage as Baron Seymour Conway of Ragley and Viscount Killultagh of Antrim. He repaired the churches of Lambeg and Derriaghy, and it was stated by Bishop Edward Smythe "that Lord Seymour Conway liberably supplemented the incomes of the smaller benefices on his estate."

The Cathedral Bells.

The baron died at his residence in Lisburn in February, 1732, and was succeeded by his eldest son, who became earl, and ultimately Marquis of Hertford. Like his predecessor, this nobleman was always ready to contribute towards the support of the churches connected with the different parishes on his estate. In 1752 he had the fused metal of Lady Conway's set of bells, and which had been preserved from the time of the great fire, sent to an eminent founder in Dublin, and, with a large increase of silver, the whole was recast, and when finished turned out one of the richest and soundest toned bells in the kingdom. In the course of the casting the words "Francis, Earl of Hertford!" were inscribed on the outside.

The old tower of the Lisburn Cathedral was taken down in 1804, and the second Marquis engaged the eminent architect, John M'Blain, to build the present spire Four pinnacles were raised on the basement, and as a work of art, viewed from foundation to the weathercock that swings on the topmost stone, the steeple is a great triumph of design and workmanship.

From 1796 to 1876 there were only two changes of rectors in the cathedrals of this diocese. The Rev. Dr. Cupples during his forty years of ministerial duty, effected many improvements in the sittings and galleries of the church, and it was in his day that the splendid organ, the gift of the third Marquis of Hertford, was set up in the eastern gallery.

Dean Stannus became rector in January, 1836, and he held office for forty years.

In the early months of 1847 the Ecclesiastical Commissioners had the steeple perfectly pointed with cement, the pinnacles, which had been blown down in a storm, were rebuilt and finished lower than before, and the vane and a ball regilt. The front entrance, which had been through the basement of the tower, was built up, a new door made in the side, and stone steps erected as an approach to the galleries. This added much to the sitting accommodation, and at the same time the pulpit and reading-desk were detached and remodelled, a new chancel was built, and the exceedingly handsome eastern window of satined glass, which gives its picturesque beauty to that end of the cathedral, was placed there. The cost, raised by private subscription, was said to have been considerably above £200.

Dean Stannus frequently alluded to the valuable assistance which, respecting design and finish of that eastern window, he had received from the late Mr. George Stephenson, a gentleman possessed of rare taste and judgement in the fine arts. It was afterwards a source of regret to the dean that when the chancel was being extended he did not go a little farther in the good work, and form a loft for the organ on one side the communion rails, and a range of seats for the choristers on the other. There is always something detractive from the effect of church music when it comes over the backs of the congregation.

The great bell of the cathedral set up in 1762 received some injury half a century afterwards, but which did not materially affect its tone. On the second Sunday of February, 1861, the breach made in the instrument sixty years before suddenly gave way, and all sound ceased. Richard, fourth Marquis of Hertford, immediately afterwards sent an order to the founder, Thomas Hodges, of Dublin, for a new bell of still greater dimensions, and more beautiful tone. The work was finished in January, 1862, and the grand tower of the cathedral once again resounded with the musical call to Divine worship.

-- -- -- -- -- --

"A RAMBLE THROUGH DROMORE."

By JOHN F. MULLIGAN, Solicitor, Belfast.

From "Belfast News-Letter," November 9, 1886.

The name Dromore was derived from two Irish words signifying "The great ridge," or "The great back of a hill." Dromore was, either from an antiquarian or an ecclesiastical point of view, one of the most interesting towns in Ireland. The See of Dromore was founded about the year 500 by Saint Colman, who established a monastery or abbey there, and presided over it in the joint capacity of bishop and abbot. This abbey had acquired extensive possessions early in the tenth century, and was frequently plundered by the Danes. They read that "this town (Dromore) was in the fourteenth century the place of exile of two corrupt English judges -- viz., Sir John Holt and Sir Robert Bechnap -- who, for delivering their opinion that King Richard II. was above the laws, were found guilty of high treason and condemned to die; but, at the intercession of the clergy and some temporal lords, their sentences were changed to banishment to the village of Dromore, in Ireland, and they were confined not to go out of the town above the space of two miles on pain of death."

On 14th March, 1688, a skirmish generally known as the "Rout," or "Break," took place near this town, between a party of Protestants and some of the adherents of James the Second, and it was there that the first Protestant blood was shed in that memorable year.

Mr. Mulligan refers to the various places and objects of interest to be seen in the course of a ramble through Dromore, and gives interesting particulars regarding the Bishop's Palace, the Parish Church, which is also the Cathedral of the Diocese of Dromore; Jeremy Taylor, Bishop Percy, "Hafiz " (the nom de plume of the late Mr. Thomas Stott), the Lagan, the Presbyterian churches of Dromore, the schools, the Rev. James Porter (author of "Billy Bluff"), who was at one time a school teacher in Dromore; the old castle, the Unitarian Church, the Rev. Alexander Colvill, M.D.; the old Cross, the Stocks, the Mount, Thomas Romney Robinson and William Cunningham, the boy-poets of Dromore; the Methodist Church, St. Colman's Roman Catholic Church, and the "Break of Dromore."

The remains of Bishops Jenny Taylor, George Rust, Essex Digby, Capel Wiseman (who was grand-uncle of the late Cardinal Wiseman), and Thomas Percy were interred within the cathedral, as were also the remains of Mrs. Percy, the "Nancy" of Dr. Percy's charming ballad, "O, Nancy, wilt thou go with me?"

The Lagan,

upon whose banks the town of Dromore is built, rises on the northern slope of Slieve Croob, and flowing past Dromara, Dromore, Moira, and Lisburn, falls into the sea at Belfast. The name Lagan was an Irish word signifying "a hollow or hollow district between hills or mountains." In early Irish authorities the river was called "Cassan Linne," but in the life of Saint Colman it was designated "The Locha." The mouth of the river, where it fell into the sea, is called Vinderius by Ptolemy, the geographer.

Belfast Lough was anciently called Loch Laogh, and Dr. Reeves had said that the name Locha seemed to be derived from a common origin with Loch Laogh. This loch was afterwards called Lough Bannchor, then the Bay of Knockfergus, and finally Belfast Lough.

In an old map of the lough and adjoining country, drawn in the reign of Queen Elizabeth, the river Lagan is called F. Leganda, and to the portion of the map representing the river are appended these words: "Alonge this river by ye space of twenty-six miles groweth much woodes as well as okes for tymber as hother woodde, wich maie be brought in the bale of Cragfargus with bote or by dragge."

The introduction of frogs in to County Down was said to have occurred at a place a few miles distant from Dromore, and it was stated that it was from County Down they had spread in such numbers through the rest of the country.

At one time there was a chalybeate spa in Dromore, but it had long since disappeared in consequence of the cutting of a drain. There were eight principal chalybeate spas in County Down. These were at Ardmillan, Killaghee, Gransha, Kirkdonnell, Magheralin, Dromore, Newry, and Turkelly. The waters of these spas differed from each other chiefly in the different degrees of strength of the mineral impregnation. The water of the Dromore spa was more brackish than the rest, curdled more with soap, and imparted some redness to beef boiled in it, having a greater proportion of calcareous nitre. The Dromore spa stood in the town, by the river side, with an exposure to the south, but being covered by an arch and trees the sun had no power over it. Some experiments were made in May, 1743, on the water of the spa; from which it appeared that its taste was strongly ferruginous, and it struck a very deep purple with galls and a light blue with logwood; a light purple with brandy and rectified spirits of wine; all evidences of an impregnating iron, and by the hydrometer it appeared to be nearly of the same specific gravity with the water of the Lagan. Its operation was purgative, and it was often drunk with success in some diseases of the kidneys.

The Cross and Stocks.

There was formerly a very fine sculptures granite cross sytanding in Dromore. The remains of it lay for many years at the south-west corner of the old Market-house, and the base of the cross was used as a stand for the town stocks. Both the stones of the cross and the stocks were removed to another part of the Market Square when the erection of the new Market-house was commenced.

Steps were being taken for the re-erection of the cross was originally erected by St. Colman at the time he founded the abbey in Dromore, and that it stood near the church. The late Mr. Welsh's theory regarding the origin of the Dromore Cross was to the following effect -- When Druidism was the prevailing religion there were throughout the country a great many holy wells or fountains at which religious ceremonies were performed. On the introduction of Christianity the missionaries erected crosses in the neighbourhood of these fountains, so that the early converts might be baptised at the foot of the cross, with the sacred water associated with their former religion, and in this way the ancient inhabitants were more easily persuaded to accept the new doctrines. Mr. Welsh's idea was that the Church Well (as it is now called), which is near the church, was a Druidical well or fountain, and that the Dromore Cross was originally erected near it for the purpose already indicated. Whatever uncertainty there may be as to the time of the original erection of the cross there was no doubt whatever of its having been a conspicuous object in Dromore in the beginning of the reign of James the First, as in the charter of 1609 that King granted a free market every Saturday, and two fairs yearly, to be held near the Church of Dromore, where a great stone cross then stood.

The cross afterwards either fell or was pulled down, and for many years it lay at that corner of the Market Square which was now known as Mr. Edgar's corner.

In 1803 company of the Donegal Militia being quartered in Dromore, a resident of the town proposed that these men should erect the cross in the Market Square, and offered to pay them half a guinea for their trouble. The militiamen accepted the offer, but, having accomplished their task in a very, short time, their employer would only give them five shillings. The men were so indignant at his conduct that they at once pulled the cross down again.

A short time afterwards the town stocks were erected at the south-west corner of the Market-house, upon the stone which formed the base of the cross, and at the corner of the Market-house the remaining stones of the cross lay on the ground beside the stocks from that period until the present year.

It was scarcely necessary to explain that the common stocks were an apparatus of wood or iron much used in former times for the punishment of petty offences. The culprit was placed on a seat with his ankles fastened in holes under a movable board of wood or bar of iron.

The period of the first introduction of the common stocks was uncertain, but in the 2nd statute of Labourers, 25th Edward III. (1350) provision was made for applying the stocks to unruly artificers; and in 1376 the Commons prayed Edward III. that stocks should be established in every village. The Dromore stocks, which were made of iron, were probably as good a specimen of this instrument of punishment as could be found in the United Kingdom. They were probably standing in Dromore previously to their being erected on the basement of the cross; but without doubt they stood on the south-west corner of the Market-house from 1805 till 1886, and, although exposed to all the changes of our variable climate for more than eighty years, they are now as complete as on the day they were first erected.

In the burial-ground in connection with the First Presbyterian Church (Dr. Strain's) lie the remains of John Morgan, whom Denis Holland pronounced "the intellectual Titan of the North." Unhappily, no stone marked the resting-place of this talented man in that burial-ground at Dromore which he himself described as the "pine-girt graveyard."

-- -- -- -- -- --

LOUGH NEAGH AND ITS CASTLE.

By Mrs. CRAIK in the "English Illustrated Magazine."

Scarcely a stone's throw from a gloomy graveyard we came out suddenly upon the glittering expanse of Lough Neagh, the largest lake in the three kingdoms, twenty miles long by fifteen broad, looking like an inland sea. Not a ship or boat of any sort dotted its vast smooth surface; its long level shores -- for there is not a mountain near -- added to the sense of silent, smiling, contented desolation.

"See how we Irish throw away our blessings," said my companion, as we stood looking at the lovely sight. "In England such a splendid sheet of water would have been utilised in many ways, and made a centre of both business and pleasure. Factories would have sprung up along its shores, yachts, steamers, fishing boats, would have covered it from end to end. Now, Moore's solitary fisherman, who is supposed to stray on its banks

      " 'At the clear, cold eve's declining'
(probably bent on catching pollan, the only fish attainable here) -- might easily imagine he saw

      " 'The round towers of other days
        In the wave beneath him shining!' "

"But did he?" I was foolish enough to ask, because most fiction has a grain of fact at its core. "Was there ever anything curious seen at the bottom of Lough Neagh?"

"I have dredged it from end to end and found many submarine curiosities, but never a round tower or a king's palace. Even the fossilising power which is said to be in its waters, I believe, lies not in the lake itself, but in one of its tributaries, the Crumlin river, which has probably the same petrifying and preserving qualities that exist in bog. At any rate, the fossil wood which is often found in the lough is extremely beautiful."

"And there is really no record of submerged cities?" said I, still craving after my pleasant fiction, "The waters must cover such an enormous surface, which was dry land once."

"Certainly. It is said that about A.D. 100 the river Bann overflowed, and drowned a prince of Ulster with all his kingdom. Or, if you prefer it, your own Caxton declared that the prince and his people, being 'men of evyle lyvinge,' opened a holy well, which was always kept closed. A woman went to draw water with her child, the child cried, she ran to it, leaving the well uncovered, when up welled the waters, destroying the whole country -- including the woman and child. This is said to have happened A.D. 65. So you can choose between two conflicting dates and traditions, and please yourself, as you mostly can in all histories. But here's an undeniable fact -- the Castle."

Not the original fortress, built by the first O'Neill on the shores of Lough Neagh, with the good right hand yet left to him, but the half-modern, half-mediæval one which was burned to the ground as late as 1816. Its ruins, picturesque and ivy-grown, showed what a fine building it must have been. I was shown "Lord O'Neill's safe" -- a sort of cupboard in the enormously thick wall -- still left standing in what had been an upper room. Also the black stone, once a carved head, fixed in the outer masonry, to which clings a tradition that when it falls the family of O'Neill will end.

Of course they have a banshee -- all real old Irish families have. Not the modern Anglo-Irish, who came over with Edmund Spencer, Oliver Cromwell, or King James, but the true Celts. A friend, whose uncle was present at the burning of Shane's Castle, told me the story of it. Lord O'Neill -- a bachelor -- has a party of gay bachelor friends dining with him. In the midst of their jollifications fire broke out in a different room. Nobody minded it much at first -- nobody does mind evil in Ireland till too late to mend it -- and then they inquired for the fire-engine. It had been carried off that very day a dozen miles to destroy a wasp's nest in a cottage roof! So their was nothing for it but to remove the pictures, furniture, and valuables -- or as much of them as they could -- and let the castle burn. Lord O'Neill and his companions, who must have been pretty sober now, sat on an old box and watched it burn. With the Lough and its waters only a few yards off, they yet could do nothing, unless it was to curse their own folly in letting go the only means of safety -- the fire engine. While they sat helplessly gazing, my friends uncle always declared he saw, and several of the other guests affirmed the same, a female figure, all in white, stand wringing her hands, and then pass and repass from window to window of the burning house, in which they were certain there was no living creature, Of course it was the Banshee of the O'Neills.

After this, no one attempted to rebuild the old castle.

Next week will commence a series of Articles on Local Literary Men.

=====================

LISBURN PETTY SESSIONS.

-- -- --

This Court was held yesterday, before Sir Hugh Mack, J.P. (presiding); Messrs. Robert Griffith, J.P.; W. J. M'Murray, J.P.; and G. V. Taylor, J.P.

District-Inspector Gregory, R.I.C., and Mr. T. J. English, C.P.S., were in attendance.

Police Cases.

Constable Turkington summoned Thos. Foreman for being drunk on the 25th inst. -- 5s and costs.

Constable Henry summoned John Gray for drunkenness while in charge of a horse and cart on the 5th inst. -- 2s 6d and costs.

Sergeant Regan summoned John Chapman for driving an unlighted van on the 22nd inst. -- 5s and costs.

Notification of Births Act Prosecution.

The first prosecution under the Notification of Births Act, which was made applicable to Ireland in 1915, was brought against Sarah Stewart, midwife, 6 Hill Street, Lisburn, by the Lisburn Urban Council. The formal charge against Mrs. Stewart was --

Whereas a complaint has been made to me for that you, being in attendance upon the mother of the child, Patrick M'Manus, at the time of birth of such child, did not within 36 hours after such birth give the necessary information of such birth to David C. Campbell, the Medical Officer of Health of the Lisburn Urban District Council, being the medical officer of health of the district in which such child was born, and you being in attendance at such birth did at Lisburn during the time aforesaid by such omission commit an offence against the statute.

Mr. Wellington Young, solicitor, who appeared for the Urban Council, said that that was a very important prosecution. It was the first in Lisburn, because the Act under which it was brought only came into effect in September of last year. The Act enacted that the father of the child, if he were actually residing in the house at the time of the birth, should notify the birth within the specified time, and, failing that, the midwife or person in attendance was bound by law to notify the birth. The penalty for failing to notify the birth was 20s. Mr. Young went on to say that the reason the midwife was summoned in that case was because the father of the child was on active service. In the circumstances he did not wish to press for a penalty, the prosecution being brought, more as a warning to the public. As Dr. Campbell, the principal witness, was not present, he wished their Worships to adjourn the case for a fortnight.

The case was accordingly adjourned until the next Court.

No Tail Light on Lorry.

Sergeant Rourke summoned Joseph Martin, Belfast, fee driving a motor lorry through Lisburn on the night of the 1st December without having a tail light. The Sergeant said that James Martin was the owner of the lorry. Defendant was fined 2s 6d and costs.

=====================

LISBURN TOWN COURT.

This Court was held yesterday, before Sir Hugh Mack, J.P. (in the chair); Messrs. Robert Griffith, J.P.; W. J. M'Murray, J.P.; and G. V. Taylor. J.P.

District-Inspector Gregory and Mr. T. J. English, C.P.S., were in attendance. Constable Hamilton v. Mary A. O'Hare, drunk and disorderly on 19th inst -- 10s and costs.

Same complainant v. Mary Gorman, drunk and disorderly on 19th inst. -- 10s and costs.

Sergeant Edgar v. Patrick Crossey, drunk and disorderly on 16th inst. -- Adjourned for three months.

Mr. Wellington Young, town solicitor, conducted the prosecutions.

=========================

DROWNED IN THE ISLAND MILL RACE.

Subsequent to the inquest on the man Dougherty a second one was held into the circumstances surrounding the death of a married woman named Mary Jane Dalzell, the Plantation, whose dead body was recovered, from the mill race that morning.

It appeared that on Tuesday afternoon she had seen her husband, a soldier on furlough, off at the train. That evening between five and six o'clock a dealer named Wm. M'Gonigal saw a woman answering to her description standing at the wall near the mill race at Back Lane. Hearing a splash, he ran over to the place, but could see nothing. He then raised an alarm, and a young man named David Pearson, after the water was lowered, searched for 100 yards under a low bridge, but could find no trace of a body. Early on Wednesday the body was found by Sergeant Regan about a quarter of a mile from the bridge.

The jury returned a verdict of accidental drowning, adding a rider that in their opinion the race should be better protected against accidents.

==================

MOTOR ACCIDENT IN BOW STREET.

A young lady named Miss Margaret Manwell of Dromore, Co. Down, was accidentally knocked down by a motor car in Bow Street, Lisburn, on Wednesday, sustaining injuries which necessitated her removal to the County Antrim Infirmary.

Miss Manwell is still detained in the Infirmary, but we learn as we go to press that "she is progressing very nicely, indeed."

==================

THE WAR.

-- -- -- --

British Front In France Extended

-- -- -- --

Bitter Struggle Continues in Roumania.

-- -- -- --

Fine Work By British Armoured Cars.

-- -- -- --

Two Lisburn Men Serving With This Detachment.

-- -- -- --

While real war news has bean scanty latterly "peace talk" floods the papers, and it is a task of great difficulty for the ordinary reader to separate the wheat from the chaff.

Things are not so very dreadful, however, and there are signs of real hope for the New Year, despite the stalemate on most of the theatres of war. As an evidence of our growing strength in France it is reported in the French newspapers that the British front has been extended, but the exact length of line taken over from our brave Ally must remain in more or less doubt pending the official announcement.

The internal condition in Germany is reported to be really serious.

The latest communique from Petrograd shows that the Germans are not a spent force as yet in the Eastern theatre, where the weather has not hampered operations so much as in the West. The communique records the fact that the British motor cars have taken part in beating back hostile attacks west of Vigirslavnoe, and tribute is paid to the bravery of the commander of the British detachment, who, although wounded on Boxing Day, directed the operations of the cars on Wednesday, and put the enemy to flight. Two Lisburn men -- Mr. Stanley Boyd, Greenwood, and Mr. W. Allen, late of Mayfield, are serving with this detachment. The German report claims a complete victory in Roumania, and announces the capture of 10,220 Russian prisoners.

Sir Douglas Haig reports that three parties of the enemy yesterday morning attempted to raid our trenches north-west of Gommecourt (north of Hebuterne), but were driven back. During the day there was considerable artillery activity in the Somme area and Ypres sector. Our airmen during fights in the air have destroyed three German machines and driven three others down damaged.

The French during Wednesday night repulsed a surprise attack directed against the eastern slopes of Hill 304 (north-west of Verdun). In Lorraine they have carried out a raid on a German trench north of Badonviller, and captured two mitrailleuses. A number of raids by Allied airmen on German industrial centres are also officially reported from Paris. Thirteen British naval aeroplanes bombarded the Dillingen blast furnaces, while French airmen have bombed the furnaces at Rombach and Hagondaoge, the ironworks at Neunkirchen, and the factories at Thionville and Joeuf.

-- -- -- -- -- --

LOCAL MEN ON OFFICIAL CASUALTY LISTS.

The official casualties (all privates unless otherwise stated) reported this week included:--

ROYAL IRISH RIFLES.
Wounded.
4635, J. Totten, Lisburn.

ROYAL INNISKILLING FUSILIERS.
Died of Wounds.
16533, H. M'Cullough, Lisburn.
25714, L.-Sergt, D. H. Finlay, Dunmurry.

Wounded.
2917, A. Moore, Lisburn.

-- -- -- -- -- --

PROMOTION OF LIEUT. N. RUSSELL.

Approval has been given for the promotion to the temporary rank of captain, without pay and allowances of that rank, of Lieut. N. Russell, only son of Mr. Nelson Russell, Lisburn, 3rd Royal Irish Fusiliers, whilst employed as bombing officer, Dublin Garrison.

-- -- -- -- -- --

RETIREMENT OF MAJOR CLARENCE CRAIG.

Wednesday evening's "Gazette" intimates that Major Clarence Craig, Royal Engineers, of Tyrella, County Down, has resigned his commission. Major Craig has commanded the first field company raised in connection with the Ulster Division since its formation, his appointment being dated, 1st October, 1914. He accompanied the Division overseas, and has seen a great deal of active service. Major Craig is a brother of Colonel James Craig, M.P.; Major C. C. Craig, M.P., 11th Royal Irish Rifles, who is a prisoner in Germany. He is a son of the late Mr. James Craig, J.P., of Craigavon and Tyrella.

-- -- -- -- -- --

INTERESTING WAR WEDDING.

The marriage arranged between Lieut.-Colonel Hugh W. Niven, Canadian Infantry, son of the late Dr. Niven, of Chrome Hill, Lambeg, and Miss Marie MacAndrew, daughter of the late F. G. MacAndrew and of Mrs. MacAndrew, Stewartlea, took place very quietly on Tuesday at Holy Trinity Church, Ayr. Owing to the exigencies of the service, no invitations could be sent. The bridegroom, who volunteered for active service on the outbreak of war, rapidly rose from the position of Lieutenant to his present rank. He won the Military Cross and the Distinguished Service Order, particulars of which have been given in our columns.

===================

XMAS MESSAGE FROM ULSTER DIVISION

WISHES AND SOME HARD TRUTHS.

Major-General O. S. W. Nugent, D.S.O. (A.D.C. to his Majesty the King), the General Officer Commanding the Ulster Division, sent the following Xmas message to the people of Ulster through the medium of the "Belfast News-Letter":--

You have done me the honour of asking me to contribute a message as representing the Ulster Division.

A message to the people of Ulster from Ulster's Division must contain, besides greetings and good wishes, some hard truths,

For this is the position as it stands to-day between the Ulster Division and those of its own kin at home.

When the people of Ulster in 1914 promised a Division to the service of King and country, no finer body of men than those who redeemed the promise were raised in any portion of the King's dominions.

Cheerful under all circumstances, self-respecting, steadfast in their bearing, most gallant in attack, Ulstermen in France and Belgium have earned a high reputation, even amongst the magnificent soldiers of the Empire, of which Ulster may legitimately be proud.

The morning of the 1st July will be one of the glories of the Province as long as men love to think of gallant deeds.

Will there be an element of shame in the memory amongst the thousands of lusty young Ulstermen at home?

They have no part as yet in the honour of the real manhood of Ulster. They will have no part in the future when the Ulster Division comes home to enjoy the respect and esteem earned by those who have seen the path of duty and have followed it even to the end.

But if they have no part now, they need not be without it. Every man can still redeem his birthright and take a man's share in the work of the deliverance of mankind from Prussian barbarism.

He need not fear being asked why he had tarried so long upon the road. He will be welcomed as an Ulsterman, and he will find himself a better and a happier man from the knowledge that he has done his duty.

Christmas is a time of memories, when families are reunited and friends meet again. Years hence Ulster will still be keeping green the memory of those whose work out here is not nearly finished yet.

Young men at home still have their chance. Do they not want to be able to look their countrymen in the face, here and at home?

Do they not realise that there will be tens of thousands of men throughout the Empire who have answered the call of duty, and that the terms on which all able-bodied young men will associate together after the war will largely turn on the answer which can be given to the question: "What did you do in the war?"

For Ireland's sake, all who love her must hope that the community at large will insist that the stain upon her national pride and self-respect shall he removed, and that the contempt which Ireland is heaping up for herself shall give place to the mutual esteem which is creating a daily stronger bond of fellowship between the soldiers of the Empire in France and Belgium. There is only one way to gain membership, and that is not by the road upon which Ireland is drifting leaderless to-day.

The Ulster Division is growing stronger day by day, but its ranks are being filled by Englishmen and Scotchmen -- men who have not shirked duty, and who have done for Ulster what she has, as yet, failed to do for herself.

The young men of Ulster are capable of great achievements. The whole of the history of the province is one of achievements. It is in the earnest hope that its young men will make yet another advance on the road of honour and duty that this message is written.

======================

DEATH OF MR. THOMAS BEATTY.

The death took place on Saturday, at his late residence, 6 Novara Terrace, Bray, of Mr. Thomas Beatty, C.E., youngest son of the late Mr. David Beatty, J.P., of Bow Street, Lisburn. The late Mr. Beatty occupied an important and responsible position in the Public Works Department, India, on retirement from which some years ago, after long and faithful service, he came with his family to reside at Bray, Co. Wicklow. He was an upright and honourable man -- to know him was to love him. He was a devoted Churchman, and nowhere will his kindly presence be more missed than at the meetings of the Diocesan and General Synods, in which he took an active and ardent interest. The late Mr. Beatty leaves to mourn the loss of a loving husband and a fond father a widow (a niece of the Rev. Canon W. D. Pounden, Lisburn), four daughters and one son, the last-mentioned being Lieut.- Colonel Beatty, Assistant Deputy Director of Aeronautics, London; and deep and sincere sympathy is felt for them in their bereavement.

The funeral, which was of a private character, took place on Tuesday to Deane's Grange Cemetery, Co. Dublin, where deceased's brother, General Robert Beatty is also laid.

=======================

DEATH OF MRS. RICHARDSON, SPRINGFIELD.

By the death in her eighty-ninth year of the above highly esteemed and very noble woman the poor of the district lose a particularly good friend, while many charitable and other benevolent institutions will miss her ever open hand. Mrs. Richardson, who was a daughter of the late. Mr. George Fennell, Cahir, Co. Tipperary, married in early life the late Mr. Joseph Richardson, and with her husband was renowned for her many acts of charity and mercy ever since they made their home at Springfield. Although she had lived well over the allotted span, her death is widely deplored by a large circle of friends.

===================

LISBURN MAN'S DEATH IN CHICAGO.

In a recent issue of the "Chicago Times" we notice the death of Mr. George Greenfield, brother of our esteemed towns-man, Mr. David Greenfield, boot and shoe merchant, and Mr Samuel Greenfield, draper. Mr. Greenfield emigrated to Chicago about thirty-six years ago, and began the business of builder and contractor, and his courtesy, attention to business and popularity enabled him to establish a very successful trade. He was an enthusiastic member of the Masonic Order. He leaves a widow and large family to mourn his loss, and the large circle of his friends in Lisburn will also regret his demise.

==================

REMEMBERED THE ORPHANS.

We deeply regret (says Rev. Canon Pounden in "Home Words") to have to chronicle the death of Mr. Moses Bullick, a man so well known in Lisburn during his residence of over 60 years, he having come to the town when a very young man, his age at death being 83 years. He was always willing to help in every good work. At the time of the Disestablishment of the Church he said to the clergyman: "I will give one shilling per week as long as I live," and he did, subscribing each year £2 12s, and the same for the local Orphan Society...

 

^ top of page