An Unfinished Community Project
By Coleen Mielke 2016
Valley is growing
and changing at an alarming pace.
It won't be long before the
can reach me at email@example.com
AHO, Toivo Alfred and Evelyn (Bowen): In 1940, lived at Lucky Shot Village in Hatcher Pass. Toivo was born 1918 in Anchorage; Evelyn was born about 1917 in Washington. In 1940, they had a 10 month old son named John L. Aho born in Alaska. Toivo was a bush pilot and was well known for flying rescue missions. He died in an airplane accident in Canada. (Toivo 1918-1949) (Evelyn 1917-1973)
ALDEMAN, Clifford F. “Buz” and Charlotte L. (Nelson): "Buz" was a WW II Navy veteran. Charlotte was the daughter of Otto and Verlie Nelson, and sister of "Wild Bill" Nelson. Children: Caleb, Charles and Charla. Homesteaded 156 acres, off of
ALEX, Eklutna and Matrona (Nicholi): Eklutna Alex was a nickname given to Alex Vasily (probably by early RR workers?); he was born in 1865 in the Bodenberg Butte area and was the last official shaman of the Athabascan village of
ALEX, Mike Maxim and Daria Nellie (Ephim): Mike was the son of Athabascan, Alex Vasily (Eklutna Alex)and Matrona Nicholi of Susitna Station. He was the last traditional Chief of
ALLEN, Phil H.: Life long bachelor, lived at Matanuska Junction where he owned a hotel, restaurant and liquor store. He was one of the unofficial "Mayors" of Matanuska Junction. (1865-1939)
ALLOWAN, Thomas S. "Tommy" and Olga (Chickalusion): Born 1916 at Susitna, son of Yagu (Jacko) Stephan and Alexandra _______; died 1996; lived at Tyonek. Married Olga Chickalusion. Children: Moses b.1936 (deaf) and Pauline b. 1939. Raised as Tommy Allowan after his mother married Robert Allowan. (see Chickalusion)
ALONGO, Reino J. "Curly"
and Ruby Mildred (McHenry): Received patent
to 80 acres in 1937. Eino and Ruby were
living on Archangel Creek and working for Fern
Gold Leasing Co., on the 1940 US Census.
Ruby was the daughter of Earl and Esther McHenry.
(Reino b.? died 1940) (Ruby 1912-1979) (see McHenry)
ANDERSON, Oscar Ernest: Oscar immigrated from
ANDERSON,Robert Calvin "Andy" and
"Andy" came to Alaska in 1940
with the Army. In 1945 he moved
to Jonesville and worked in the coal
mines. He and Irene owned the R.R. Avenue
Barbershop in Wasilla for many years.
Irene's children from first marriage to Glenn
Hubble were Tammy, Glenn and Tina. Andy's children
from his first marriage were Andrew Jr., Sandy and
AUREEN, Thomas: Lived in Wasilla starting
1920, did odd jobs
and worked as janitor at school.
Born in Sweden, came to America in
1868 (divorced). (1851-1931)
AXTEL, Allen Barber (1921-1986): Son of Samuel Axtell. Allen's mother died in 1936; and he and his father Samuel came to Alaska in the 1940s. He worked construction and drove a truck for Betts Bros. Trucking and he was a longshoreman at Seward. Married (divorced) Carol Wilson, daughter of Cecil and Wilma Wilson in 1947. Children Roxanna Jean b. 1948. His second wife was Ann Ruth Floyd. (see Carol Wilson) (see Jim Morris)(see Ed Carney)
AXTEL, Samuel Aaron: Born 1888
in Wisconsin. He and son
came to Alaska in the 1940s after
the death of his wife Ellen Vera
(Allen) in 1936.Sam and his son Allen
bought the Louis Loberg cabin from Otto
Langel in 1945. Sam was a WWI veteran, worked
construction and was a longshoreman
at Seward. He played many stringed instruments
and wrote a song called "Call of the North"
in 1945, as well as many other songs and poety.
Children: Allen Barber Axtell; granddaugher
Roxanna Jean Axtell. (see Carol Wilson)
BAILEY, Ferber and Ruth: Colonists from Lena,Wisconsin, came
BAIRD, Charles E.: Arrived in Alaska 1926 (widower) with son Rupert.
Rupert David and Gronia (Alex): Arrived in Alaska,
1926 Ship Creek. Homesteaded on Baird Lake,
received patent for 160 acres in
1932. Gronia was the daughter of Eklutna and Matrona Alex. Children: Alice
Debbie, Robert and Margaret June. (Rupert 1899-1968) (Gronia 1921-1988) (see
Warren and Mary "Renee"?:
BARRY, Earl Octave and Elizabeth Lee
(Cockrum): Earl was the son of Earl and Louise Barry. (Earl 1917-1970)
(Elizabeth Lee 1921-1988) Earl
was a WWII veteran. Both buried in Palmer.
BARRY, Earl William and Louise (Verboncoeur): Colonists from
BARRY, Francis William "Swede" and
Theresa (Watson): Theresa
was born in Nighmute, Alaska. "Swede"
was the son of Earl and Louise Barry.
("Swede" 1924-2004)(Theresa 1944-1994)
Both are buried in Palmer. Received
patent to 158 acres in 1949. Children: Gail,
Daisey, Theresa, David, Archie and Charles.
BARRY, Melvin Nelson: Son of Earl and Louise Barry, born 1922 in Oconto,
BARTELL, Johann "Red Jack": Born about 1864 in Germany, he was in the Cook Inlet area by 1904. He had several freight boats, including one called the "Sea Lion" which worked Cook Inlet for many years starting in 1913. Married at least twice: #1 Martha (of Tyonek) they had daughters Sophie and Anna; #2 Minnie (Hicks)b. 1899 (of Tyonek) their children were Johnny, Harry and Lee. Received patent to 80 acres in 1928. Minnie Hick's was the daughter of Harry Hicks (b. abouat 1866 Illinois) and his wife Annie (born about 1873 "Matanooski" according to census); Minnie had a brother named Harry Hicks.
BARTHOLF, Byron Sundlon:
Head of the Bartolf gold
mining family of the Willow
Creek Mining District, came to
BARTHOLF, Charles Andrew: Son of Byron S. Bartholf. Married Eva Frost. Children: Clarence 1900-1964; Walter Lee 1907-1955; Richard D. 1914-1967; Carroll richard 1915-1919; Stanley 1916-1956. Discovered Mabel Mine in 1921 with his brother John Taylor Bartholf. (Charles 1877-1948) (Eva 1882-1944)(see Byron Bartholf)
BARTHOLF, John Tylor: Son of Byron S. Bartholf. Married: Leora Lola Smith; children: Edith May 1899-1954; Chester Earl 1901-1999; Pearl Adean 1905-1977; Mabel Ruth 1907-1993; Marjory Lola 1909-1923. Discovered the Mabel Mine in 1921 along with his brother Charles Bartholf. (see Byron Bartholf)
BARTHOLF, Ralph Sundlon: Son of Byron S. Bartholf and Amelia Hohanshelt. Married Mary Kauzlarich. Children: Byron and Ralph. (see Byron S. Bartholf)
BARTHOLF, William Byron: Son of Byron S. Bartholf. Married Marie _______. Died in 1921 after his leg was cut off in an accident at Lucky Shot Mine.
BARTKO, Dr. Harold and Margaret Doreen
(Mathews): Married in 1942, came to Alaska
in 1961. The Bartko's
lived at Lazy Mountain and
Dr. Bartko made house calls
and flew his plane to attend sick or injured.
Mrs. Bartko taught school
in Fairbanks, Anchorage, Nome and
Palmer. Children: Douglas, Howard,
Harold, Ted and Amy. (Harold 1923-1990)
BAYER, Henry Mathias Franklin Fitch “Frank”: Born 1882 in
BENSON, Arlene: Daughter of Henning and Irene Josephine Benson, Mat-Su Colonists. Married James Lee Bragg in 1957; they had 1 son, James H. Bragg (Fox). Arlene married Charles Leroy Fox in 1963; they had one son, Charles Roger Fox. (see Fox)
BENSON, Richard Roy "Dick" and
Dick and Norma owned the Dick
Benson Amusement Co. and
operated amusement machines throughout
the valley. Norma Jean was the
daughter of Mat-Su Colonists Joseph
and Naomi Loyer. ("Dick" 1915-1990)
(Norma Jean 1931-2010) (see Loyer)
BENSON, Henning A. and Irene Josephine
from Minnesota 1935, lived on
Scott Road Tract 95. They both worked
at the Colony Co-op and Henning managed
the warehouse. They had
one daughter, Arlene. On the 1940 US Census
Irene's father, Louis Johnson of Sweden,
was living with the family. (Irene
1910-1997) (see Fox)
BENTTI, Toivo and Nora (Flamm):
Came to Alaska in 1947,
farmed in the valley. Children:
Larry, Bill and Elaine. (Toivo
1911-1982) (Nora 1915-1996)
BERGMAN, Oscar and Jenny (Lind): Oscar was from
BERGMAN, Raymond Harold and Mary (Cadwallader): Mary was the daughter (a twin) of Charles Cadwallader and Alexia L. Shaw Cadwallader. Ray worked for Teelands, worked at the mines & was a radio operator for the military during WWII. In 1943, Ray was in the Aleutian war zone. Children: Linda & Judith. Bought the Wasilla Bar from the Cadwallader's in 1946. Ray Bergman 1916-1958, Mary Cadwallader Bergman 1921-1998. (see Cadwallader) (see Johan Johnson)
BETTS,Clarence William "Bill" and Constance Marie “Micky” (Snider): Bill Bett's was the son of Clarence and Myrtle Betts. "Micky" was the daughter of Gerrit and Alice Snider. Children: Billy, Wiley and Wetzel. Bill worked for Gold Cord Mine, had a taxi cab in Wasilla and had a trucking business with Thurman Betts. (Clarence Betts 1909-1974)(Marie 1921-2014 in Alaska)(see Gerrit Snider)
BETTS, Martin C. and Margaret “Peggy” (Cronk): Martin was the son of Ralph and Sarah Betts of Colorado. "Peggy" was school teacher from
BETTS, Thurman G. and Jacqueline Mary "Jackie" (Slumburger): Thurman (1915-1976)(Jackie 1923-2012)Received patent to 20 acres in 1951 (along with partner James M. Bryant). Children: Sally, Judy and Glenda. Jackie divorced Thurman in 1956 and married David E. Grow in 1957. Thurman Bett’s second wife was Fanny _____ and his third wife was Betty Roth who owned the Green Acres Lounge on
BEYLUND, Oscar and Irene Mary: Oscar (1895-1970)(Irene 1908-1971) Colonists from Wisconsin, came to the valley in 1935; lived on
BINGLE, Rev. Bert Jennings and Mabel
Pearl (Morrison): Married 1923, Bert became minister
in 1925 and they
moved to Cordova in 1928. Ministered
in Alaska for 38 years along
the railroad, alcan highway, Matanuska
Valley as well as the coal and
gold mining areas. Children: Vella Irene
and James Douglas. (Bert 1896-1970) (Mabel
BJORN, Melvin K. and Lois L.: Lived in the house that Joe and Vi Redington eventually lived in. He had a mentally handicapped child. Received a patent to lot 19 and 20 (.2 acres) in the original townsite of Wasilla. His estate also received patent to 22 acres in 1970. Melvin was killed in a one car roll-over at the corner of
BLACK, Sydney Elkhorn and
BLACK, William Alfred and Ella (Higgins): William m
BLODGETT, Victor Voltaire and Martha "Mattie" Reid (Scott): Married 1895 and living in Alaska by 1920, children: Deedie born about 1897. Blodgett Lake named after this family. Received homestead patent to 134 acres in 1936. (Victor 1860-1941)(Mattie 1865-1948)(Deedie 1896-1970)
BODENBURG, John Henry: Born about 1873 in
BODIN, Sven R.: Immigrated from
BOGARD, William Jefferson “Jeff” III: (1865-1931)"Jeff" was born in Missouri and was a widower by 1910. Homesteaded in the Valley before 1915 and received patent to 301 acres in 1919. He raised cows, sheep, pigs, vegetables and hay which he sold to locals and Hatcher Pass gold miners. After he died, his ranch was purchased by A. J. Swanson in 1936. In 1938, the ranch was purchased by colonists Earl Barry Sr. and wife Louise (it became Barry's Resort). (see Barry)
BORDON, Clarence "Old Cannonball" and Anna: Elderly man who couldn’t see very well but owned a Kaiszer-Frazer car. His wife Anna was a school teacher who did not drive. He drove the car about 15 miles per hour and she would tell him where to turn, go slower and when to stop. They lived in a small house behind the school.
BOUCHER, Herb: Lived at intersection of
BOUWENS, Wayne: 8/10/1929-10/14/2014 came to Alaska with his parents (Mat-Su Colonists) William and Lulubelle Bouwens. Wayne worked on the railroad and at the coal mine in Sutton before he purchased his own farm. He later worked for the Experimental Farm and retired in 1996. Wayne served as the President of the Pioneer Cemetery Association and was a member of the Palmer Historical Society. He and wife Margrye raised 7 children: Christopher, nanette, Thomas, Roger, Mary Beth, Katy and Kenneth.
BOUWENS, William and LuluBelle Mary (Sorenson): (William 1895-1970)(LuluBelle 1896-1964). Colonists from Rhinelander,
BOZINOFF, John Vangle and Emma:
John 1923-2005, worked for the railroad.
Children: John Jr., Kenneth, Jim,
Richard, Carleen, Linda, Susan
BRADLEY, Ralph and Pat: Lived at mile
BRASSEL, Joseph C.: Born 1873.Mining on Willow Creek in 1918, later mined with
BRODHEAD, Thomas Arthur and Catherine
Thomas and Catherine
both came to Alaska in 1948 (although
they came seperately); Catherine
came to Alaska in 1948 with her first
husband Joe Redington and their three
children (Sheila Jo, Joee and Raymie).
Catherine went by the name of "Gerry"
while she was married to Joe Redington. When
they divorced, she married Frank Smith. After
Catherine and Frank divorced, she married
Thomas Brodhead who worked as a heavy equipment operator.
Thomas 1926-1999 Catherine 1923-2000 (see
Joe Redington)(see Frank Smith)
BROWNE, Esther: Daughter of Neil and
BROWNE, Neil A. Sr. and Pearl A.: Came to Wasilla in about 1937, he was the railroad agent for Wasilla for 10 years.
BROWNE, Neil A. “Bud” and Jane (Cadwallader): Son of Neil and
BROWNE, Neil A. III and Barbara Kelton:
Neil was the son of "Bud"
Browne and Jane Cadwallader Browne.
BROWNE, Mary Virginia: Daughter of Neil and
BRUCKBAUER, FRANK and ESTHER (HILL): Came to the valley in 1936 as replacement Colonists in Palmer. The lived in a house across from Snodgrass Hill. Frank worked for the Matanuska Co-op and died in 1956. Children: Agnes (married name Porhola), Leona (married named Shanks), Leonard, Theodore, Lyle (died young) and Jeremy (died young). Esther's 2nd husband was Ed Hatton. (Frank 1893-1956) Esther (1900-1990)
BRUNDAGE, Arthur Lain and Helen (Harvey): (Arthur 1927-2011)(Helen 1930-2002) Helen worked at the Palmer Library from its early days, when it was called "the chicken coop". Children: Willia, Richard and Rodney and Caroline.
BUCHANAN, Millie: Homesteaded on
BUGGE, John J.: Born 1870 Norway, came to
BURCHIK, John "Russian John":
in the Ukraine, veteran of WWI,
came to Alaska in 1930 and worked
in the Willow Creek gold mining
area until 1943 then he worked at Jonesville
Coal Mine. No known relatives.
BURTCHER, Louis "Jonsey": Married (first?) to __________ in lower 48 and had at least one daughter. Second marriage (in
BUSBEY, Harley Delbert: 1923-1973
Instrumental in constructing a softball field in Palmer. It is named
after him: Harley Busbey Memorial Field.
BYERS, Harold David: Married Agnes May Roulo in 1929. After Harold died, May married George Edlund. (Harold 1904-1958) (May1901-1970) (see George Edlund)
BYERS, Orlando L. and Margaret:
CADWALLADER, Charles Lee and Alexa Jane (Shaw): Charles was born (1885) in Teft, Indiana and came to
CADWALLADER, Jane S.: 1921-1987 Daughter (twin) of Charles and Alexa Cadwallader(lifelong resident of Wasilla). Jane graduated from Wasilla High School in 1938 and married Neil Browne Jr. "Bud". Jane worked at the Matanuska Valley Co-op in Palmer and Matanuska Telephone; she was also past-president of the Republican Womens Club. Children: Janeil, Loren and Neil Browne III (see Browne)
CADWALLADER, Mary S.:Born in Anchorage,daughter (twin) of Charles and Alexa Cadwallader. Graduated from Wasilla High School in 1938 and went to the University of Alaska Fairbanks; she was an elementary school teacher in Wasilla, Palmer and Talkeetna. First husband was Ray Bergman. Children:Linda and Judith. After Ray died Mary married Johann Johnson, children: Johan, Don and Maurice. (Mary 1921-1998) (see Bergman)(see Johann Johnson)
CANN, Ralph and Elizabeth "Betty"
"Betty" was the daughter of
John Henry and Hilda R. Hermon. Her first
husband was Matt Onkka (died 1969).
Second husband was Ralph Cann.
(see Onkka) (see Hermon)
CANNON, Frank B: (1863-1923)He was living in Knik by 1911. Built the Pioneer Hotel in Knik. Received patent to 159 acres in 1922. Appointed U.S. Commissioner and Postmaster of Wasilla in 1923. He died of natural causes later that same year (buried in Anchorage). His ranch was sold to George Zink. It had a small cemetery on the property.
CARLE, James S.: Manager of the Alaska Gold Quarz Mining Co. In 1909, his company donated $2,500 to get a wagon supply road built and the Bartholf brothers donated another $1,200; it was called the Carle Wagon Road and connected to a trail north of Knik called the "winter trail". The wagon road was 26 miles from Cottonwood to his companies property on Fishhook Creek. Other people chipped in as well: Gold Buillion Mining Co. built a horse bridge over the lower crossing of the Little Susitna River, Robert Hatcher built a bridge over the upper crossing of the Little Susitna. In 1912, the wagon road was improved and slightly re-routed by the ARC and renamed Fishhook Knik Road. By todays landmarks, it starts at Knik and turns into Wasila Fishhook Road.
CARNEY, Charlene: Daughter of
Charles and Margaret
Ron Pine. Children:Brian and Ron.
CARNEY, Charles Edward "Chuck" and Margaret Cecilia "Peg": Charles (1902-1986) Margaret Cecilia “Peg” _________ (1909-1997). Received patent to 40 acres in 1961 and another 120 acres in 1965. Chuck was a carpenter and Peg was a custodian at local schools. Children: Pat, Domonic, Doug, Dave, Ed, Linda, Nancy, Cynthia, Charlene, Shirley and Dan. Chuck and Peg are both are buried in the
CARNEY, Cynthia: Daughter of Charles and Margaret Carney. Maried Harry Buzby. Children: Anthony and Jesse.
CARNEY, Dan: Son of Charles and Margaret Carney. Married Lavina Ethyl "Lee" Smith, daughter of Floyd Smith and Ellen Fleckenstein (no children).
CARNEY, Dave: Son of Charles and Margaret Carney. Married __________________. Children:_______.
CARNEY, Domonic “Nick”: Son of Charles and Margaret Carney. Married Helen Kay Carter daughter of Thomas “Pat” and May Carter. Children: Katie, D.J., and Charles.
CARNEY, Doug: Son of Charles and Margaret Carney. Married Florene Neal. Children: Michelle, Lisa and Christopher.
CARNEY, Edward Eugene and Carol (Wilson): Edward was the son of Charles and Margaret Carney. Received patent to 160 acres in 1963. He married Carol Wilson, daughter of Cecil “Blackie”
CARNEY, Linda: Daughter of Charles and Margaret Carney. Married Neil Thomas. Children: Patricia, Theresa, Clint, Matthew, Alicia and Neil.
CARNEY, Patrick J. and Barbara Ann (Rae-Carter): Patrick "Pat" was the son of Charles and Margaret Carney. Barbara was the daughter of
CARNEY, Shirley: Daughter of
Charles and Margaret
Mike Washut. Children:
Debbie and Bethann.
CARPENTER, Earl: Homesteaded about mile
CARSON, Arnold Robert 1902-1983 and Hortense Branshaw(1906-1969): They were Colonists from Minnesota. Children: James (married Gloryjean Fritzler),Patricia Ann (married Harold Newcomb), Michael (married ____), Sally married Lee Karabellnikoff. Arnold's 2nd wife: Dorothy Nelson, widow of Peter Nelson. (see Fritzler) (see
CARSON, James H.: Son of Arnold and Hortense Carson. Married Gloryjean Fritzler, daughter of Carl and “Vicky” Edlund Fritzler. Jim worked at the Co-op and B&C; they divorced in 1958. Children: Candace “Kay”, Samuel, Joseph and Vicky. Second wife was Bunny Frolich, they had one daughter:
CARTER, Fred: Matanuska rancher by 1913, received patent to 320 acres in 1920. Worked on railroad. 1929 sold his ranch to ________Campbell. Married George W. Palmer’s sister, Elizabeth, she is listed on all official records, including her gravestone, as Mrs. Fred Carter (no first name), she died in 1928, Fred died in 1930.
CARTER, Thomas L. “Pat” and May C. Martin: "Pat" came to Alaska with the military. He was stationed at Whittier for a while and worked at the Army Post at Valdez.After the war, Pat worked as a heavy equipment operator, he managed the Alcantra Boys Home, he worked for MEA, the railroad and the ARC. May came to Alaska in 1940 with her 1st husband Sydney Rae and 2 children (Barnara and Don). After a divorce, she married Thomas "Pat" Carter in 1943 and moved into Nels Larson house (owned by Gus Swanson) in Wasilla. May was the U.S. Commissioner from 1944-1959 and the
CAVANAUGH, Thomas E. : In Knik 1911. Built restaurant-pool room in Wasilla (next to Wilmoth store). 1928 built a house on
CHASTAIN, _________: Lived off of
CHATWOOD, : Owned Chatwoods Notion Store on the corner of
CHIEF WASILLA: See Wasilla, Chief
CHICKALUSION, Maxim Sr. and Nellie (Stephan): Lived at Tyonek; Maxim was a hunting
guide and fisherman. He taught the Dena'ina
language, culture and dances. Children: Theodore
(Chad), Maxim Jr., Leonard Daniel, Kathrine, Norma,
Jimmy, Maniel and Larry Chickalusion; Doris Baker, Virginia
Hudson and Martha Chase and Step-children: Stan and William
Mishakof. (Maxim Sr. 1921-2013) (Nellie 1920-___).
CHICKALUSION, Simeon Pete and Annie: Simeon's WWII draft registration says he was born 4/10/1881 at Tyonek. He became Chief of Tyonek in 1931. He was the son of Peter Chickalusion of Kustatan. His siblings: Theodore and Agrafena. His wife Annie was from Polly Creek. Simeon had two boats and spoke Dena'ina, Russian and English. He mined for gold in Hope and Sunrise. Well respected by the people of Tyonek. When the Susitna Station villagers abandoned their village and moved to Tyonek, Simeon helped them build homes and buy a tractor and sawmill. Simeon was of the Tulchina Water Clan. Children: Katherine, Annie and Theodore. (Simeon 1881-1957)
CHILLIGAN: Native name was Tsilgi;
he was the
older brother of Yagu Stephan. Died about
1920 (see Shem Pete book page 164).
CHILDERS, James D.: Received patent to 140 acres in 1961.
CHILLIGAN, Harry and Matilda: Lived near
CHILLIGAN, Joe and Doris
John E. and Julia
Came to Alaska as Mat-Su Colonists
in 1935; they lived on tract
26 while John worked for the railroad.
Children: John ("Jack"), Donald,
William, Edwin, Lorraine, Rose and Alice.
CHURCHILL, Frank: Born
Nova Scotia in 1867,immigrated in 1890 and
came to Alaska in 1898 as a gold
prospector for the Klondike and Boston Gold
Mining and Manufacturing Co. By
1900, he was working at the Ladd's Station trading
post near Tyonek. In 1905, he was running a small
river boat on the Susitna River. In 1911,
he built a warehouse and in 1913 a new store building
(both for George W. Palmer at Knik). He had three children
with Mary (Stump) Yakashoff: William, Jeanne and Andrew.
He died in 1937 and was buried at the McGuire
Cemetery in Knik, many people attended his funeral.
(see Stump) (see Yakashoff)
CLARK, Frank and Jennie Adriana (Kalkman): (Frank 1899-1976) (Jennie 1899-1998)Homesteaded at the foot of Lazy Mt., above the
CLARK, ORA DEE: Born about 1876 in Nebraska. She was the first school teacher in Wasilla (1917) and Fairview School 1918-1920. Clark Middle School in Anchorage is named after her.
CLARKE, ROBERT ELTON and GERTRUDE
HARRIET (Garrett): Married 6/16/1943 in Bremerton, Washington;
arrived in Alaska 6/1/1951; bought 160 acres at mile 5, Wasilla
Fishhook Road in the spring of 1959 and built a home there. Home
burned down 1/17/1964 and they rebuilt in 1969. Robert was employed
by the Alaska Railroad from 1952-1975. Gertrude owned a small clothing
store on Main Street in Wasilla from 1961-1964. Robert and Gertrude
were active in the Morgan Horse Club and received local, state and
national awards for creating the handicapped youth riding program.
Children: Dale Hugh Clarke born 11/17/1939, Barbara Lynne Clarke (Taylor) born 12/20/1946, and Cheryl Lee Clarke (ZumBrunnen) born 9/21/1948. Robert Elton Clarke died 12/22/1999 and Gertrude Harriet (Garrett) Clarke died 5/27/2009.
CLESTER, Hal Ray and Ethel M.: Received patent to 59 acres in 1952.
CLOSE, Carroll Charles and Verna Beatice
(Baker): (Carroll 1906-1998) (Verna 1910-1987) Came to Alaska in 1928;
owned the Talkeetna Roadhouse which is now a registered historical building
COBB, Arthur Allen “Tex”: Born about 1875 in Texas, he was living at Knik by 1911. He received patent to 202 acres in 1921. In 1941 he was a watchman at Goose bay dock. Had a fishing site on
CODY, May: First school teacher at Knik 1912. Married name Woodhouse.
COLLINS, Stanley Richard and
Doris (Chilligan): Doris
was born at Knik in 1929, daughter
of Joe and Pauline Chilligan. Stanley
came to Alaska in 1948. This family
lived at Knik, Houston, Eklutna, Birchwood
and Flathorn Lake. Doris' sisters were
Irene and Laura Chilligan and brother Norman
Chilligan. (Stanley 1927-2009) (Doris
1929-2011) (see Chilligan)
COMBS, Aaron Earl and Mary: Came to the valley in about 1947. Started Combs Insurance in Palmer. Children: ______, John, Mike, Ron and Valarie.
COOK, Seth P.: Matanuska, received patent to 80 acres in 1936.
COOPER, Rev. Jack E. and Judith Ann
Jack (1933-1994) (Judith Ann 1934-2000)
Established the Immanuel
Baptist Church in Palmer and
preached there for 36 years. Children:
Timothy, Daniel, Steven, David,
Linda and Deborah.
COOPER, Walt and Gladys Mae (Mattingley): Came to the Valley in the early 1940s, ran Palmer Cold Storage and a cattle ranch on Montague Island, for the butcher shop. Lived on Springer System (later lived in Seward, but Gladys moved back to the old farm in Palmer after Walt died in 1973). Children: Harvey, Barbara (married Ralph Pelchat) and Duane. (Gladys 1909-1998)
COPE, Charles: Half brother of Worth W. Wade.
COPE, Glenn Dewey "
COPE, Jack and Thelma: Owned Copes Craft and Photo Shop. Jack ran the colony barber shop and Thelma (widow of Wade Worth) ran the colony beauty shop. Jack was the depot agent in Matanuska in the early years. Children: Leanne (Dodd) and Bill Cope. Jack Cope was half brother of Worth Wade.(see Worth Wade)
COREY, Jack and Olga (Nickolai): Jack born about 1900 in
CORNELIUS, Robert Francis: "Frank"
was the son of Roy Austin Cornelius and Mary
Olive Marsh Cornelius;
thought to be the first cuacasian
child born (1917) in the Matanuska
Valley. Worked for the railroad
and the Territorial
Police in the late 1940’s to early
1950’s. Married 4 times:
1st wife: Lillian M. ______ (listed on 1940 Census in Fairbanks)
2nd wife: Marlys or Marlis __________ (children:Norris, Frank, Roy Jr., Dianne and Jeweldeen)
3rd wife: Ester Brager
4th wife: Lyla Jean “Jinx”
CORNELIUS, Roy Austin and Mary Olive (Marsh): Born 1891
COTTINI, James: Son of Victor and Edith Cottini. Married Pia____________. Children: Mark and Pio. They also had a foster daughter named ____________.
COTTINI, Victor S. : Married Edith ___________. Owned the Little Susitna Lodge. Children: James. Edith’s 1st husband was Harold Gershmel. (see Gershmel)
COTTLE, Benjamin "Benny": Son of John and Della Ritchey (Cottle) (Smith). Married Marlene Jensen, daughter of Colonists Henry and Edna Jensen. Ben and younger brother Jerry built Texaco gas station in Wasilla. Children: Bert, Janet and Henry. (see Smith) (see Henry Jensen)
COTTLE, Betty Jane: Daughter of John and Ella Ritchey Cottle. Married Paul LePors (see LePors)(see Smith)
COTTLE, John and Della (Ritchey): Children: Gerald, Richard, Rodney, Benjamin, Mildred and Marjorie.(see Vincent Smith)(see LePors) (see Minnick) (see Teeland) (see Jensen) (see Gershmel)
COTTLE, Gerald, “Jerry”: Son of John and Della Ritchey Cottle (Smith). Married June Gershmel, daughter of Harold and Edith Gershmel. Children: Dean and Duane. (see Harold Gershmel) (see Smith) (see Gershmel)
COTTLE, Mildred: daughter of John Cottle and Della Ritchey Cottle-Smith. Married John Minnick.
Children: ______________________________ (see Smith) (see Minnick)
COTTLE, Richard: (see Smith)
COTTLE, Rodney: Married Colleen Teeland, daughter of Walter and Vivian Teeland. Children:____
(see Smith) (see Teeland)
COTTRELL, James: 1916-1997 Came
to Alaska in
1952; worked on the Eklutna Power
Project as a cement finisher
and at Jonesville Coal Mine. Owned
a Palmer dairy and was one of the first
realtors in the valley. Ran for
State Senate. First wife (37 years)
Harriette; children: James, Harry,
David and Karen. Second wife (21
years) Joanne; stepchildren: Doris,
Bonnie, Colleen and Gary.
COUGHLAN, Eugene and Violet: Worked for railroad and lived for a while in the "post office house" in downtown Wasilla, then moved to mile 2 Knik road and lived in the Sager house. Children: "Skippy", Kathy and Bonnie.
COURTNAY, Ralph Wallace: Son of Robert Marion Courtnay. Born in
CROCKER, Frederick M.: In Wasilla by 1919. Lived mile
CROTHERS, Ralph and Barbara: Came to Alaska in 1949 from Indiana; homesteaded on Knik Road. Ralph worked at Matanuska Maid in Palmer and was later a manager there. In the mid-1950's, they traded their homestead for Harold Newcomb's hardware store in Wasilla, and bought some property on the far east end of Wasilla Lake and built a home there. Ralph and Barbara operated the hardware store (which they re-named as Wasilla Building Center) until they retired in 1983. Ralph died in 2011 and Barbara died in 2007. They had an adopted daughter named Linda Crothers.
CUSTER, Ira: Lived on the hill behind Frank Smith's garage (?). Had a sister and was reclusive.
CUNNINGHAM, Daniel: (1870-1947)Early
partner with Jim Felton on
a fur farm on Fishhook Road, north
of Trunk Road.They had a famous falling
out and painted
a line down the middle of their two
story frame home. Felton later moved
to Palmer and bought out the White brothers
roadhouse and post office Felton and new
partner Ward, reopened the
post office under the name Warton.
The name Warton was a combination of the names
Ward and Felton. Ward and Felton moved the
Palmer section house from the east side of the railroad
tracks to the west side of the tracks in the late
1920s and opened the post office (with a store
in it ). (see
DAVID, Leopold and Annie (Karasek):
German born Leopold David was working as a military
trained medic in Knik by 1910. He married Annie Karasek, a school teacher
in Seward, in 1908. Although he never attended medical school or law
school, he worked as both doctor and U.S. Commissioner and finally was
elected Mayor of Anchorage. His U.S. Commissioners office was at Susitna
Station in 1909 and Knik 1910-1915 when he moved it to Ship Creek (Anchorage).
Children: Caroline and Leopold Jr. (Leopold David Sr. 1878-1924) (Annie
DAVIS, Floyd and : Namesake for
DeLAND, Helen Francis: 1906-2006
Came to Alaska
as a Colonist with husband Niles
DeLand. Niles didn't like
Alaska and left, Helen remained with
her 3 children and built a homestead
and raised her children: Don,
Ted, Evon, Lee and Leola. Helen's other
husbands were Lannah Zoell "L.Z." Scott
and Isaac "Ike" Palmer (see Dow) (see Scott)
DUFOUR, Horace "Frenchy": Homesteaded in the area that is (today) Bushes Bunches on the
DEHART, Charlotte Harris: 1883-1955
DEIGH, Vida: School teacher at Wasilla in the 1920’s.
DePRIEST, Lionel "Skeeter"and Louise: First wife was __________, one son named Ray. Second wife was Louise ___________.
He worked for ARRC or the Co-op.
DePRIEST, Ray and Rose Marie “Tiny” Vickaryous. Children: ____________________________________ (see Anthony Vickaryous)
DeVRIES, JOHN and Jessie: John (1917-1988) came to Alaska in 1945. He was a shop teacher and owned DeVries Enterprises. Children: David, Andrew, John Jr. and Marie.
DICKERSON, ASHLEY MAHALIA: (1912-2007)
First black attourney in Alaska; she homesteaded
on Hollywood Road and had a law office in Anchorage.
She had triplet sons born in 1939 (Chris, Alfred and John).
Alfred drowned in Goose Lake in 1960. Mahalia and her son
are both buried on the Dickerson homestead.
DINKEL, Gene and Allayne (Nelson): Son of Harold and Frances Dinkel. Married Allayne Nelson, daughter of Peter and Dorothy Nelson. Children: __________________ (see Peter Nelson)
DINKEL, Harold Charles and Francis Marion Cowen: They were in the second group of Mat-Su Colonists who came to
DODSON, William: Married: __________ Living in Aureen cabin in Wasilla 1930. Part owner in Hi-Grade Mine, Lucky Shot Mine and Alas-Pac Mine. Using a snowmobile in Wasilla in 1940.
DOHERTY, Dick: Herning diaries mention him coming to Knik from Chickaloon as early as 1917.
DOHERTY, Frank: Had a ranch near the Frank Cannon homestead in Wasilla in 1918, received patent to 40 acres in 1925. Worked at the Gold Cord Mine and working at the Bogard ranch in 1925. He died at age 72 (1932) in Wasilla. His cabin was 1/2 mile out of Wasilla on KGB Road.
DONOVAN, Daniel: Born in
DOW, Russell W. "Russ": Came to Alaska in 1933 with the Harvard Mountaineering Club and worked with Bradford Washburn doing geological surveys. He married Benzie Ola "Rusty" (Scott) in 1939; they homesteaded near the Butte in 1947. "Russ" was a photographer and local historian. He volunteered with the Transportation Museum, the library, the Knik-Wasilla Historical Soceity, the Mat-Su Historical Preservation Society and the Palmer Historical Society. His 2nd wife was Marilyn "Em" DeVine. (Russell 1915-1992) (see Benzie Ola "Rusty" Scott)
DOW, Benzie Ola "Rusty" (Scott):
Came to Alaska in 1934 to join
her brother Lannah Zoell Scott who
was living in the Matanuska Valley.
"Rusty" owned a trucking and transfer service that
ran from Anchorage to Independence Mine. She was also
a driver for the Ft. Rich Quartermaster Corps during WWII.
She was the first woman to drive the Alaska Military Highway
(Alcan) from Fairbanks to Dawson Creek and back with
a load of freight (1944). She was also the first woman to drive
through the Whittier Tunnel (1942). She married Russell
W. Dow in 1939.
DRAGSETH, Joe and Velma Lou (Hayes): Colonists from
DRYDEN, John: Pre-colony family. Married twice; first wife ____________, 2nd wife was Clarice (niece of Evan "Jack" Justin Tomlinson). One daughter Katie (with 1st wife). Brother of Vernon Dryden. John and Clarice were killed in an airplane accident in the Lake Clark area in 1959.
DUFF, Harry E. and Karla Dora:
family came to Alaska in 1930 and lived
in the Tri Lakes area on Duff's Pond.
Harry opened the first Texaco gas station in
Alaska and was a member of the Elks Club in Palmer.
Children: Bertram and Marguerite June (Bouwens).
Harry 1884-1973) (Karla 1895-1972)
DUNKLEE, Edward Albert: Homesteaded in the Matanuska Valley pre-1915, received patent to 319 acres in 1919. A 1916 issue of the
EATON, Eliza Jane "Jenny" (nee Morell): Born in England 1882, married John Eaton in 1901, had 6 children (4 lived). She left husband and children and came to alaska in 1918. Married John Marcus Loken in 1921 (he died in 1929), then married Edward Albert Duncklee (he died in 1943). Her daughter, Fanny Eaton joined her in the Matanuska Valley in 1929. Fanny married Adam Werner in 1930. Jenny went back to England in 1954 and married William Finlay that same year. She died in England in 1963.(see Loken) (see Duncklee) (see Werner)
EATON, Fanny: (1902-1992)
ECKERT, Virgil and Lillian: Original colonists from
EDGERTON, James and Janet (Moranz):
Namesakes of Edgerton Park Road, the area they homesteaded from
1958-1967. Children Jessie and Judd.
EDLUND, AMALIE “Malie”:(daughter of John Fredolph and Lillie Rosella Edlund). Married Hans Hugh. Came to
EDLUND, Arnold Anton: 1901-1974(son of John Fredolph and Lillie Rosella Edlund). Married Canadian born Hulda Lothrup (daughter of Robert Bloomfield Lothrop and Hilda Isabelle Gustafson). Children: Elsie & Maxine. Arnolds second wife was Mary Olive Marsh-Cornelius, widow of Roy A. Cornelius. Received patent to 159 acres in 1931. (see Roy Cornelius) (see Ralph Moore)
EDLUND, Edith “Dee Dee” Myrtle: 1903-1983(daughter of John Fredolph and Lillie Rosella Edlund). Married Merle David McCambridge. Children: Margery and Merle Corine. (see Merle McCambridge). Edith’s second husband was John D. Urban. Children: John D. Urban Jr. (see John D. Urban).
EDLUND, George Eric: 1906-1989 (son of John Fredolph and Lillie Rosella Edlund). Married Olga Finn who died in a car accident. Second wife, Edith Davenport; one daughter named
EDLUND, Hedvig Mabel “Vicky”: 1913-1996 (daughter of John Fredolph and Lillie Rosella Edlund). Married Gust’a Neilsson, a Swedish immigrant (nephew of Oscar Anderson) in 1930; they divorced after 3 years. Married Carl Fritzler in 1936. Children: Gloryjean and Carl Mark. (see Carl Fritzler)
EDLUND, Hilda Vern: 1915-2007(daughter of John Fredolph and Lillie Rosella Edlund). Married Harry Sears. Children: Donald, Verne Mae and Rosella. (see Harry Sears)
EDLUND, John Fredolph “Fred” and Lillie Rosella Mead: Fred came to Alaska in 1914. Homesteaded in Fairview Loop and
EDLUND, Lily May: 1917-1986(daughter of John Fredolph and Lillie Rosella Edlund). Married Ernest Ohlin, nephew of Oscar Anderson. Children: Ruby, Vonnie, Lois, Janet and Ernest Jr. (see Ernest Ohlin)
EDLUND, Rosalie Francis: (daughter of John Fredolph and Lillie Rosella Edlund). Married Herman Hugh. Children: Josephine “Lila” and George H. Hugh. Rosalie’s second husband was Asa “Jack” Wilkinson. Her third husband was Elmer Tucker. (see Herman Hugh)
EDLUND, August William "Willie": Son of Swan and Karin Edlund (NOT related to the John Fredoph Edlunds). He owned land on Wasilla Lake that he sold to Ernest and Olga Peck (but the Peck's had to return the land after a few years). Willie then built a beer hall on the Wasilla Lake property in 1938 (it was later called Green Acres). He was a commercial fisherman at Bristol bay in 1941 and 1943. Sold his Wasilla Lake property to Charles(?) Johnson in 1944 for $12,000. (Willie Edlund 1898-1965) For more information go to: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~coleen/edlund.html
EDMONS, Julius B.: Matanuska homesteader.
EHRHART, Rex Emery and Violet Lea (McVicker): (Rex 1915-1991)(Lea 1921-2003) Rex came to Alaska in 1938 and Lea came to Alaska in 1940; they were married in 1941. Rex worked for MTA and the Matanuska Valley Co-op Association. Lea had a dress shop in Palmer. Children: Jim Ehrhart.
EKLUTNA ALEX: (see
EKLUTNA JOHN: Born about 1875, possibly the older brother of Eklutna Alex.
ELLEXSON, Leon Devere "Lee" and Jessie Grace: Lee was born 1875 in Kansas, Jessie was born about 1884 in Oregon, they moved to Knik in 1919; before that they had a roadhouse at Happy River on the Iditarod Trail. Worked as engineer on the boat “Traveler”. Had Iditarod mail contract. Received patent to 129 acres in 1938. Raised pigs, chickens and berries. Bought one acre of land for a house in Palmer 1945, but I don't think they ever did (they always lived at Knik).
ELLIOTT, William D. “Bill”: Born 1882 died 1916. In Knik by 1906. He worked at the mines, piloted boats, hauled freight and had a roadhouse near present day Eklutna in 1912.
ELY, Jerry: Matanuska
ENGSTROM, Carl: Born in
ENNES, Max and Lila: Colonists from Tower,
ERICKSON, Allen: Lived on
ERICKSON, Earl: Married Edie Ann Olson, daughter of Martin and Edith Olson.
ERICKSON, Kenny: Lived on
ERICKSON, Waldo: Married Thelma ________. Children: Earl, Richard “Buckshot”, Prudence and Pricilla. Lived on Edlund Loop. Had two younger brothers, Allen and Kenny. Worked at the Experimental Farm on Trunk Road.
Franklin and Ruth Elizabeth (DeArmond): Palmer dairy farmers,
Ruth worked for the extension service and was
the 1st secretary for the Alaska State Fair, she was
a life long Alaskan and had 7 children, she was the daughter
of R.W. and Elizabeth DeArmond. (Howard 1909-1974) (Ruth
(1933-1989) Son of William
and Lucy Ezi, buried at Eklutna.
EZI (also ESI oe ESIA), Simeon and wife Olga Nicholai: Commonly referred to as “Old Man Ezi” or "Chief Ezi" he was the last officially recognized Chief of Upper Cook Inlet(Chief Basdut). Olga was from the
EZI, William "Bill":
Oldest son of Simeon and Olga Ezi.The 1930
EZI, Pete and Ruth (Stephan):
The son of
Chief Simeon (and Olga) Ezi,
he was named Pedro Esi at birth,
but his name later evolved
to Pete Ezi. Ruth was named Christina
Stephan at birth 6/10/1908, but the
people at the Eklutna Vocational School
changed her name to Ruth Ross.
Pete was deaf as an adult. He and Ruth
had the following children on the
1940 US Census: Alberta and Peter. Ruth died in a cabin
fire at Eklutna in 1967; Pete died in a cabin fire at Eklutna in
1968; they are both buried at Eklutna.
FABYAN, John “Jack”:
Born about 1886 in Illinois, living in Wasilla
by 1929. Driving cat for road commission.
Thorpe Mine. Was granted
a patent for an original
FALK, Victor Gerald and Gladys E. (Grow): Gladys was sister to David, Jim and Bill Grow.
FELTON, James W. "Jim": Early homesteader, partners with Dan Cunningham on a fur farm on
FERRIN, Ray Cyrus and Helen Mae
(Simpson) Leek: Ray and Helen
came to Alaska in 1935; he ran a bus
service up to the gold mines in the early years.
He also worked in construction and
for MEA. Children: Woody Ferrin and a step-son
Lester J. "Jack" Leek. (Ray 1900-1958) (Helen
FISHER, Grace: Teacher at Matanuska Junction.
FISHER, Henry: Old time Knik
resident, died of a stroke in 1929.
FLECKENSTEIN, Dan and Joni: Dan 1940-1996, son of Sharon and Florence (Edlund) Fleckenstein. Avid outdoorsman, huner and private pilot. Children: Dan, Jack, Amy and Camy.
Son of “Dan”
and Joan Fleckenstein. Fourth generation to live on
the original Fleckenstein
Married: __________ Children:_____________________________.
FLECKENSTEIN, Ellen Catherine: Born in Yreka, California, she was the daughter of Joseph and Marie Fleckenstein. Married Floyd Dewey Smith in 1926 at
FLECKENSTEIN, Eva Marie: Daughter of Joseph and Marie Fleckenstein. Married George Stanley Herning in 1926. Children: Marie Martha and George Stanley "Buddy". (see Herning)
FLECKENSTEIN, Frank Joseph: Born 1898 in California, son of Joseph and Marie Fleckenstein. Had a homestead on Cottonwood Creek. Elected to the school board of Wasilla’s 1st school in 1917. He did the concrete work under the original Herning (later Teeland) store in Wasilla as well as a lot of the carpentry work on the building. In 1918, he left to go to the Army. Frank Fleckenstein was killed by an escaped prisoner in Kanakanak, Alaska in 1925. His father was the U.S. Marshal and Frank was a guard. The man that killed him was an Eskimo man named Mike N. Eqwana.
FLECKENSTEIN, Joseph Bernard and Marie Antionette Doan: Filed homestead papers (Wasilla area) in 1914. Children: William Joseph, John Paul "Jack", Christopher, Frank Joseph, Sharon Daniel, Lawrence Edward, Ellen Catherine and Eva Marie. Mrs. Fleckenstein, born 1897, died in 1946. Joseph B. Fleckenstein born 1870 and died 1948. Census records say Joseph Bernard Fleckenstein was born in
FLECKENSTEIN, Sharon Daniel: 1899-1959. Son of Joseph Bernard and Marie Antionette "Nettie" Fleckenstein. First wife was Maxine Crocker (1906-1932), daughter of Wasilla rancher Fred Crocker. Theirs was the first wedding ever held in Wasilla. Maxine drowned in 1932 (age 26) after a car, she was riding in, crashed into Pinnacle Rock (coming out of Hatcher Pass) and rolled into the Little Susitna River. Maxine drowned and is buried in the
FLECKENSTEIN, Sharon Daniel “Dan”: Married Joan Nunley. Children: Dan, Amy and Jack. Lived on part of the original Fleckenstein homestead on
FLINT, Eunice Kathryn (Bouwens):(1920-1989)
Colonists William and LuluBelle
Bouwens. Eunice worked
as a cook in the gold mines and was
a teletype operator for the FAA. Children:
Jon, Mary Lou, Judy and Susan.
FONDAHN, Edmund A. Sr. and Maria Xenia
Cleghorn: Edmund (1882-1960) Maria (1900-1977) Maria was born at Old
Tyonek to James and Mary Cleghorn (Cleghorn's in Alaska since about 1892).
Maria served as
a translator in WWII for soviet vessels
docked at Seward. Children: Edmund, Karen
FORD, Bobby: Lived on Fairvew Loop. Young man recently out of the military when he died. His pistol fell out of its holster (while he was chopping wood) and it discharged, killing him.
FOSKET, Adin: Worked at the Experimental Station starting in the 1920s or earlier. Neighbor to Richard Hyer, John Johnson and Alex Thorsen. Lived in Matanuska house.
Leroy: Married and divorced
FOX, James H. "Jim": Son of Arlene Benson and James Lee Bragg.
Step-son of Charles Leroy Fox. Jim is the leading
authority on the history of the Matanuska Colonists (and south central
FOX, Waldo and Mabel: Colonists from Michigan. Children: Norman, Bertram "Bill" (wife's name Darlene). (see Kenser).
FRANCE, Grant Clarence and Iva Maude (Hendershot): Came to
Vernon Henry France (1920-1986) married * Lucille O'Donnel Ring in 1940
* Karen Bryant
Miles Grant France (1921-2008) married * Donna Jean Durand
June Delores France (1924-1981)married * Wilbur Lloyd Granger in 1944
* Al Withey
Norman Edward France(1928-1985)married * Lyla Jean Rapley
Laura Blanche France (1926-2012) * married Arthur W.Stenberg Jr. in 1948 (see Stenberg)
* married Lester "Murpy" Ellsworth in 2002
FRANK, Darrell M. and Anna Marie Holbrook:
Darrell (1909-1996)Came to the valley in 1935 as a Colonist with first wife
Lois V. He worked at farming and construction. Children: Darrell Jr., Randall,
David, Joanne and Nancy. Darrell Frank Sr. married Anna Marie Holbrook in
1956 and they were the original owners of D and A Supermarket in Palmer.
Children: Juanita and Leon. (see Hartley)
FRITZ, Bud and Doris June Hermon:
FRITZ, Harold and Lorraine McKechnie:
FRITZLER, Carl: Married Hedvig “Vicky” Edlund in 1936, daughter of John Fredolph and Lillie Rosella (Mead) Edlund. Children: Gloryjean and Carl Mark. Carl was a carpenter and farmer; he helped build Fort Richardson in the early 40s and on many buildings around the Valley, including the Walter and Vivian Teeland house on
For photos go to: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~coleen/fritzler_edlundphotoproject.html
FRITZLER, Gloryjean: Daughter
of Carl Fritzler and Hedvig "Vicky" Edlund.
First husband was James H. Carson, children: Kay,
Samuel, Joseph and Vicky. Gloryjean and James divorced
in 1958. Her 2nd husband was Cecil Vaughan Wilson, children:
David Vaughan and an adopted daughter Kellee. (see Carl Fritzler)
(see James Carson) (see Cecil Vaughan Wilson)
GAGNON, Frank E.: Married Wanda Soper, daughter of Carmen Soper. Children: Frank, Dottie and Glenn. (Frank 1902-1979) (see Soper)
GAIKEMA, Nicholas James: Born about 1879 in Michigan. Operated a mail (and freight) boat out of Knik as early as 1913. The 1940
GERSHMEL, Allen Earl: Son of Harold Earl and Edith (Liedorff) Gershmel. Married Wythel Jourine Heaven, adopted daughter of Foster and Daisy Heaven. Children: Brian, Bruce, Charlene, Marietta and Patty. (see Foster Heaven) (see Harold Gershmel)
GERSHMEL, Harold Earl and Edith (Liedorff): Replacement Colonists, arrived in 1936. Four children: Bob, June, Allen and Carol. They lived on
GISLASON, Johannes and Myrtle Irene: Children: Joyce,
and Mary Nickoli: Goodlataw was an Ahtna Indian born about 1870
in Chitina. He moved to Chickaloon about 1920 and married Mary in about 1925
(he was over 50 and Mary was only about 21). They had one son, Paul Joseph
born in 1926 at Chickaloon. John died in 1935. Mary married again (1938)
to John Shaginoff (children Bert, Donald, Eugene and Lloyd). (see Shaginoff)
GOODRICH, Duane L. and Elinor: Duane came to Alaska in 1940 (son of Ralph and Vivian Goodrich) and graduated from Palmer High School in 1951. He was a Korean War veteran and owned the Palmer Machine Shop from 1948-1989. Children: Mark, Monte and Kathryn.
GOODRICH, Ralph A. and Vivian (Mellein):
(Ralph 1903-1982) (Vivian 1904-1985)
Pedro and Polly (Chuitt): Pedro's WWII military draft registration
said he was born 6/17/1893 at Susitna
Station. He was the
son of Goozmer and Annie
he had a sister named
GORE, Robert and Lois: Children Patricia, Don, ________
GRAHAM, Robert Bruce: Lived near the
GRANGER, Lloyd and June Delores France Granger: Married in Palmer 1944. June was the daughter of Grant Clarence and Iva Maude France.
GRAU, Leonard John Sr.: Received patent to 120 acres in 1927, mined in the Talkeetna's and worked for the U.S.Engineers in Anchorage after son Leonard Jr. was born. In Wasilla by 1923. Trucking, blacksmith, prospector. Married twice: Mary Jane Vail and Thelma Lorraine Cook. (Leonard 1891-1972) (Mary Jane 1901-1984) (Thelma Lorraine Cook 1905-1998) (see Vail)
GRAY, Dan: In Valley by 1923. Worked at Fern Mine, Mabel Mine, worked at Thorpe’s Mine. Watchman at
GRIFFITH, R. A.:
In 1940 he lived at Fish Lake. Born
in Germany about 1874.
GROW, David Ernest: (1912-1987) son of James Alphas and Maud Grow. Jackie (Slumberger) Betts (1st wife of Thurman Betts)had 3 daughters when she married David Grow: Sally, Judy and Glenda. David and Jackie had three children together: David Jr., Gail "Murphy" and Michael. (see Thurman Betts)(see James Alphas Grow).
GROW, James Alphas and Maude Agnes(Hayes):
James, a resident of the Palmer
area since 1934, was a retired Union
Pacific Railroad worker. Children:
Lionel Edward, Gladys Emily (Falk),
James Carlos, William Hayes and David Ernest.
James Alphas (1871-1940)buried in Anchorage
and Maude (1874-1947)buried in Palmer.
GROW, James Carlos: Son of James Alphas anad Maud Grow.
GUSTAFSON, Gustav Emil “Shorty”: Born 1887 in Sweden. Living in Wasilla by 1916, homesteaded 320 acres. Married in 1924, divorced by 1930. Working at mines in 1940; working for Herning in 1945. Granted land patent for original
HAGEN, Alfred: Former mayor of Palmer. Built Playland on
HALLER, Gustav A. and Marie: Immigrated from
HALVORSEN, Hal and Lea: Built the Hallea Lodge about 1947; they sold the lodge to Herbert "Tuffy" and Mae Frederickson in 1951.
HANSON, Henry O. and Esther: Lived in a quonset hut on
HARBISON, George Sr. and Katherine "Katie": George Sr. came to Wasilla to teach english in 1954, replacing Louise Potter. He helped form the valleys first teacher association. They lived at Knik, near the Joe Redington homestead. Children: George Jr., Lee Anna, Richard, Becky and Peter. George Harbison Jr. wrote a book about growing up in Wasilla, called Homesteaders in the Headlights.
HARDISTY, Robert L. "Red": 1917-1994 Stationed at Fort Richardson then moved to Palmer in 1949. Married Rosie Tost, widow of Jack W. Tost. Owned Tost's Chevron Services in Palmer and worked for the City of Palmer. Rosie had a son from 1st marriage: John Gorc? (see Tost)
HARRIS, Ernest Andrew "Duke" and
Hazel Ethel (Wise): Worked
at Jonesville Coal
Mine 1965-1974 and on Ft. Richardson
1965-1974. Hazel worked for the Small
Business Administration and the Alaska State Fair. Children:
Robert and William, also had a brother
John "Rip" Harris. (Duke 1911-1981) (Ethel
HARRIS, Harold and Elaine: Lived and farmed on the corner of
HARRISON, Charles R. In Wasilla by 1916. Rancher, prospector, grew strawberries. Built a house next to pool hall in Wasilla 1927.
HARRISON, Lee and Annie (Stickman-Nickolai): Lee Harrison married Annie Nickolai, daughter of Frank Nickolai and Balasculya "Mary" Stickman, she was the widow of Jess Wickersham. Annie (born at Old Man Lake) had 3 children:(Katherine Mae, Helen and Jessica Belle "Jessie") when she married Lee Harrison (in about 1926). Lee was born in
HARRISON, Louis Raymond and Reta
(Hubbard): Son of Lee Harrison and Annie Nicolai. Louis Raymond and
Reta Harrison's children: Penny, Louis Raymond Jr., Tim, Gary, David and
Bruce. Raymond also had a son named Donald with Peggy Overstreet Smith, former
wife of Dave Smith. (Louis Raymond 1931-1969)(see Nickolai) (see Overstreet)(see
HARTER, Claud Harry "Unk" and Evelyn Elaine (Scheibl): Married 1943 in Palmer. Claud was a WW II veteran. (brother of Louis E. Harter)(see Scheibl) (Claud 1921-1987) (Evelyn 1926-1987)
HARTER, Louis Edward and Willa Faye
Louis and Willa Faye came to Alaska
in 1957 at the invitation
of his brother, Claud Harter. Louis and
Willa Faye received a patent to 149
acres in the Huston area in 1963. Children:
Louis, Mary Ann, Charles, Carolyn
and Belva. (Louis 1922-1981)
(Willa Faye 1927-2011) Children:
HARTLEY, James Neil: Son of Leon William Hartley and Ruth Marian English. Married: Eileen Venne daughter of Colonists George and Irene Venne. Children: James, Catherine, Joan and Karen. James married second wife: Joanne Lorene Frank in 1949, daughter of Colonists Darrel and Lois Frank. (see Frank)
HARTLEY, Lee William and Maralyn Jean (Vasanoja): Born 1918 in Anchorage, son of Leon William and Ruth Marion English. Married Maralyn Jean Vasanoja, daughter of Colonist Lawrence and Helen Vasanoja in 1940. With his brothers and father, he owned an auto dealership called Hartley Motors and a fuel and service station in Palmer called Hartley Bros. Lee and wife owned Hartley Honda in Wasilla. Children: Clare, Signe and Brenda. Lee died in 2010.
HARTLEY, Leon William: Born in Galesburg, Illinois, son of Kirk P. and Minnie Hartley. Came to
HARTLEY, Robert Dean and Inga Marcella (Vasanoja): Robert was born in Anchorage to Leon William Hartley and Ruth Marian English. Graduated from high school in Palmer; worked on the construction of Fort Richardson and Campbell Airstrip. Operated Hartley Brothers Garage (with his 3 brothers) in Palmer. Married Inga Marcella Vasanoja in 1947. Children: Kirk, Helen (married Ralph Hulbert), and Roberta (married Alvin Swick). (see Hulbert) (Robert 1923-2008)
HARTMAN, Earl E. and Nellie____________: Moved to their new hotel in Wasilla 1917 and built a 50’ x 50’ log barn. 1919 bought a Ford automobile to take passengers to the mines. 1923 ran the Fishhook Inn. 1928 leased their hotel to Chas Cadwallader.
HATCHER, Robert L.: 1867-1950, considered the first to file a lode gold claim on Skyscraper Mountaian in the
HAVEMEISTER, Annie Lorraine: (1937-2004)
Daughter of Arnold Henry and Emmy Havemeister. Annie was born in Palmer and
graduated from Palmer High School in 1954. She married Virgil Meehan in 1954
and Charles McCorkle in 1977. Children; James, Steven and Lenora.
HAVEMEISTER, Arnold Henry and Emmy Sophie (Hansen): (Arnold 1899-1942)(Emmy 1904-2002) Matanuska Colonists, arrived in 1935 from Michigan. Emmy worked as a farmer and did housekeeping for people. Children: Helen, Annie and Bob.
HAYES, Vera C.: (1906-1995) Came
to Alaska in
1949, was the 1st Avon lady to cover
the Matanuska Valley. Worked
at the Alaska State Fairgrounds
as head cashier from 1957-1970.
Husband Larel "Slim" Hayes died in
HEAVEN, Foster Charles and Daisy Marietta (Spiesike): 1890-1970. Foster came to
HEAVEN, Foster LeRoi and Margaret Ann (Johnson): LeRoi was the adopted son of Foster and Daisy Heaven. He married Margaret Ann Johnson. Children:(adopted)
HEAVEN, Wythle Jourine: Adopted daughter of Foster and Daisy Heaven. Married Allen Gershmel. Children: Brian Earl, Charlene,
HECKER, William Earl and Kathreen
(William Earl 1889-1947)
Earl and family came to the valley
in 1938 (as replacement colonists)
and farmed for several years.
William Earl then became the town barber,
but died in 1947. They had 6 children:
June, William Jr., Ferne, Alice, Barbara
and Joyce. Kathreen's 2nd husband was
Charles O. Huntley; her 3rd husband
was Ted Gladfelder.
HECKER, William Jr. and Bergie Belle
William, son of William and
Kathreen Hecker. Married
Bergie Belle Alexander who
came to the valley as a school teacher
for the Colonists. They married
in 1946 and had 3 children: Angela,
Patricia and Barbara. Bergie taught
26 years in the Palmer schools.
HEDBERG, John: In Knik by 1906.
Married a “Talkeetna
slave woman” named Anastasia
Nutnal'tna in 1907.
Ranching near Knik in
1917. Some people called
him “Moosemeat John”. Lived in Knik,
HEMMER, John Patrick and Cora: (John Patrick 1891-1959) (Cora 1890-1976) Colonists from
HENRY, Francis and Ella Roberta Black: Francis married Ella Roberta Black daughter of William and Ella Higgins Black. Ella was born in Council, Alaska in 1906 and her parents homesteaded in the valley in 1915. When her parents died in 1920 and 1921, Ella was sent back to Wisconsin where she married Francis Marion Henry. Francis and Ella applied to be included in the Matanuska Colonist project and their tract adjoined part of Ella's parents old homestead which Ella inherited. Children: Elaine, Ruth, Paul and Opal. (see Black)
HERMON, Harold "Fritz": (1912-2006) Son of
John and Hilda Hermon who came to Palmer
in 1935. Owned Fritz Hermon Dozer Service. First
wife was Ruth Moffit (daughter
of Archie and Sarah);they had 3 daughters:
Nancy, Connie and Sally. Fritz's
2nd wife was
HERMON, John Henry and Hilda Rose(Wiehr): John H. Hermon's 1st wife was Opal (Turner). They had 4 children:1.John Thomas 1912-2006, 2.Harold "Fritz" 1912-2006 (wife 1 Ruth Moffitt wife 2 Lorraine McKechnie Aklestad) 3.Elizabeth "Betty" 1915-1980 (husband 1 Matt Onkka husband 2 Ralph Cann) and 4.Doris June 1919-1993(married Bud Fritz). Opal (Turner) died in 1922 in Georgia. John Hermon's 2nd wife was Hilda Rose (Wiehr). They came to Alaska in 1935 as Colonists. They had 4 children: 1. Benjamin (married Eve_____), 2. James Steven 1928-2003(married Mary Ann Bryant),3. George (wife 1 Evelyn Mellen/Mellin) (wife 2 Donna McKechnie) and 4.Neil Hermon.
The brothers of this family
formed Hermon Brothers Construction.
Baseball field on the
HERNING, Orville George and Martha "Mattie" (Rogers): Herning was born 1868 in Minnesota, he married Martha Amelia "Mattie" Rogers in 1894. Herning came to Knik in 1898 as the head of the Boston and Klondike Gold Mining Company. He helped form the Willow Creek Mining District organization. Mattie and their first son Elmer (born 1895) came to Knik in 1901. A second son, George Stanley was born in 1904. Herning opened up a small trading post at Knik in 1906 called the Knik Trading Co. His oldest son, Elmer, died at Knik in 1906. In 1917, when the railroad tracks came through the valley, Herning bought the very first public lot sold in Wasilla (lot 1 block 1) and moved his store to the railroad construction camp called Wasilla. He and his family lived at Wasilla until Herning's death in 1947 when the store was sold to Walter and Vivian Teeland. Orville died in Anchorage in 1947 and Mattie died there in 1958. Herning kept a daily diary from his arrival at Knik in 1898 until his death in 1947. For more information try this link:
HYLAND,Myles Sr. and Joanne Byrne:
1898 in England, came to Alaska
with husband Myles in 1928.
They operated a sawmill at Girdwood
until 1935 when they moved to Palmer
and opened the Hiland Hotel which
they operated until 1960. Myles died in
1949 and Joanne remarried in 1950 to Jim
Smith (1897-1970). Joanne died in 2000
at the age of 103. Children: Myles Hiland Jr.
(see Jim Smith)
Eghart Bernard "Al" and Elizabeth
"Pat" (Snider): Pat Snider,
the daughter of Gerrit and Alice Snider. She was born in the Ship Creek tent
city (1916) before it became Anchorage.
She was a part of the first Wasilla
City Council and she was the first female
Mayor of Wasilla. "Pat" had three children
when she married Al Hjellen: Gilbert,
Garret "Gary" and Susan. Al and Pat had
three children together: Peter, Alice and Ida.
(Al Hjellen 1915-1986) ("Pat" 1916-2009) (see
HODSDON, Charles and Pansy: Children: Richard and Max.
HOELDT, Ida Ruth: (1898-1991) Came to Alaska in 1941. Children: Leslie, Shirley, Larry Wayne "Bud", Dorothy, Donna Lynn and Kenneth. Had a brother named Joe Petrie.
HOFFMAN, Frank A.: (1871-1937) Frank was a law officer between Valdez, Knik and Anchorage for 36 years. He was also the personal bodyguard for President Harding when he came to Alaska in 1923. He was in charge of the prison in Anchorage after 1915 and it was nicknamed the "Hoffman Hotel".
HOFFMAN, Milton Albert and Cora Elizabeth
(Frankenfield): Both buried
in Palmer, (Milton 1896-1975)
(Cora 1902-1991) Children: Violet
"Vi" (Hoffman)Redington, Thomas
Milton Hoffman and Myrtle Hazel Hoffman.
(see Violet Hoffman) (see Redington)
HOFFMAN, Violet Elizabeth "Vi": 1924-2006. "Vi" was the daughter of Milton and Cora Hoffman. She came to
HOLDEN, H.: Homesteader near Wasilla 1924. Sold strawberries. Killed himself because he had cancer; he is buried on his ranch.
HOLMBERG, Arthur Eugene "Gene": Lived on "Swamp Road" (Schrock Rd.). He was a lifelong bachelor, sometimes school teacher and farmer.
HOLT, George:He was the Alaska
Commercial Co. agent at Knik
and was shot to death (in front of
his store) by a Copper River Indian
in 1885. It's quite a story, if you'd
like to read more, try this link: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~coleen/holt
HORNING, William S. “Bill”: Married: _________________. In Knik by 1915 on his way to
HORNUNG, John J. and Verlie Inez Crouch: Vegetable and dairy farmers, married in 1948, Verlie was the widow of Otto Nelson (replacement colonists). The family lived on what is now the
HOSKINS, Bill and Mary: Lived near the experimental station. Lived in old Matanuska?
HUGH, Hans and Amalie (Edlund): Born in Switzerland 1891. Married Amalie “Malie” Elizabeth Edlund, daughter of John Fredolph Edlund. Homesteaded in the Valley before 1915. Children: Hans Raymond (called Danny") and Fredolph Oswald (called “Dolphy”). “Malie” died about 1915 and is buried on her parents homestead. Hans Hugh had a brother named Herman Hugh. (Hans 1891-1969) (Amalie 1897-1915) ("Dolphy" 1915-2003)("Danny" 1913-2004)(see Edlund)
HUGH, Herman: Born 1894 in Switzerland, married Rosalie “Rose” Francis Edlund, daughter of John Fredolph Edlund. Children: Josephine Mary(“Lila”) and George H. Hugh. Homesteaded in the Valley before 1915. Rosalie’s 2nd husband was Asa A. “Jack” Wilkinson and her 3rd husband was Elmer I. Tucker. (see Edlund) (Herman 1894-1951) (Rosalie 1898-1970)
HUGHES, Kenneth R. and Vivian Voss (Brockhoff): Came to Alaska in 1934, working with Salvation Army.They moved to Palmer in 1935 and worked as missionaries in the Matanuska Colonist tent city in Palmer. 1938-1947 they worked at El Nathan Childrens Home in Valdez. In 1947, they came back to Palmer and built the Lazy Mountain Childrens Home which they operated from 1947-1958. In 1958 they homesteaded at Big Lake and were flying missisonaries for remote Alaska. Vivian worked as a cook for the Victory Bible Camp. Children: Kenneth and Vosella. (Kenneth 1910-1980) (Vivian 1917-2001) Both are buried out at the Butte.
HULBERT, James Hacket and Francis R. Byrne: James mined in various parts of Alaska, mostly in Chicken and the Forty Mile area. Moved to Palmer in the 1945. Francis taught home economics for decades. James graduated from UAF in 1938 in mining engineering and worked for Matanuska Electric. Children: Ralph (married Helen Hartley), Kathy, Paul and Janet.
HULKE, Eldor T. and Laura Marie Smith: Eldor 1921-2005, came to Wasilla in 1953. Laura Marie was the daughter of Floyd Smith and Ellen Fleckenstein,(1929-1996) was born in Kanakanak, Alaska and spent many years in Dillingham. She worked at Teelands for over 20 years and was the Wasilla City election judge from 1974-1994. Children: Frieda, Floyd Ernest "Butch", Virginia, Faith and Jody and Hope. (see Floyd Smith)
HURD, Frederick M. and Edith: Fred 1896-1978. Married Edith Hazel Custer (1896-1990).Homesteaded on upper
HURLEY,Jim and Katherine "Katie" (Torkelson):
"Katie" Hurley (born 1921 in Juneau). Her first husband was Joseph Alexander
a Juneau photographer. Her 2nd husband was James Hurley an agricultural chemist,
sawmill owner and banker. Katie participated in the Alaska State Constitional
Convention in 1955 and was on the Alaska Judicial Council; she was an Alaska
State Representative and a long time aide to Governor Ernest Gruening. James
and Katie bought the Martin and Edith Olson homestead on Wasilla Lake. Children:
David, Susan and Mary.
HYER, Richard: Disabled WWI veteran, received patent to his homestead on the
INDIAN JIM: (see Jim Nikita)
and Amy Pearl (Gould): First
manager of the Rural Rehabilitation Corp.
in Palmer. Worked at Matanuska Experimental
Station in 1933/1934, then headed
the organization of the
ISAACS, Charles and Florine "Flo": Worked for Bartholf brothers in 1906. Worked at Gold Cord, Old Martin Mine, Fern Mine. Had a brother Ira. He was a watchman at the
JENSEN, Dick: Son of Henry and Edna Jensen. Married Linda LePors, daughter of Paul and Betty (Cottle) LePors. (see LePors) (see Cottle)
JENSEN, Fred and : Fred was a carpenter in Wasilla. He was married to ______ a Native woman and they had several children. Fred died in 1947.
JENSEN, Henry P. and Edna E.: Colonists from
JENSEN, Marlene: Daughter of Henry and Edna Jensen. Married Benny Cottle. Children: Bert, Janet and Henry. (see Benny Cottle)
JENSEN, Ray: Son of Henry and Edna Jensen. Married Claudia Jean Ann Wilson, daughter of Jim and Claudia Wilson. Children: __________________________
JENSEN, Ronald: Son of Henry and Edna Jensen. Married: ________ Children: ___________________.
JOHANSON, M. A.:
JOHNSON, Charles D.: In Knik by 1911. Later a rancher at
George W. "Ma":
(1907-1995)Came to Alaska
with the Army in 1943. Worked
at the Jonesville Coal Mine in
Sutton for 25 years. No known survivors.
JOHNSON, Johan and Irene: Colonists from
JOHNSON, Oscar and Rose __ : Lived on
JOHNSON, P. W.:
JOHNSTON, Mrs.: English woman. Taught school a
J. and Dorothy
Ann (Swanda): Fire Station
in Talkeetna named after R.
J. Jones. Dorothy was the daughter of Matanuska
Colonists, came to the Valley
in 1935. She was a Territorial U.S.
Commissioner and help establish the first
high school in Talkeetna. She
was a two term Mat-Su Mayor and owned
several businesses in Talkeetna.
Children: Gar Jordan, Dorothy "Dee",
Cynthia and Dawn. (J.R. 1929-1983) (Dorothy
1929-1993) (see Swanda)
JONES, Evan William: Born in Aberdare,
Irene: (1911-1997) Daughter
of Evan and Bronwen Jones; came
to Alaska in 1917. Graduated from
Anchorage high school in 1930, married
Walt Teeland in 1933, moved to Wasilla
in 1947. She was a very small woman (4'6") with
a huge heart and an even bigger smile. Vivian
and Walt owned a general store at the corner
of Knik Road and Main Street in Wasilla from
1947 until 1972. Children: Colleen (who
married Rod Cottle), Walter and Lawrence. (see
Teeland) (see Evan Jones)
Anna Marta: (Martin 1906-1980)
(Anna 1910-1989) Both
born in Germany, came to America in
1952. Purchased a dairy in Palmer
and operated it for 28 years. Children:
Hildegard, Anni, Gerda, Erika,
Helmut and Horst.
KATKUS, Henry and Joan: Came to the area right after WWII. Received patent to 160 acres by
KELLOGG, Venie "Louise": Came to
KELLY, Frank: In Knik by 1908.
In 1940 he and
wife Mary were living at Lucky
Shot Village (mining town
on Cragie Creek Hatcher Pass). Frank
was born about 1883 in Pennsylvania
and Mary was born about 1910 in
KELLY, Milo: Born about 1866 in Wisconsin. In Knik as early as 1911; owned the Milo Kelly Mine on Willow Creek in 1940. Wife Katherine H. Kelly born about 1893 in England.
KELLY, Samuel T. "Sam": In Knik and Wasilla area from 1917-1933; worked for ARC, worked in the mines, clerked for O.G. Herning and was a tinsmith. No family. (Sam 1860-1933)
KELTON, Claud and Lois: One daughter, Barbara who married Neil Browne III. (see Browne)
KENDRICK, Harry and Drusilla (Barnhardt): Farmed near the Butte in the 1950s, Also lived off of Scott Road near Palmer. Harry was an airplane mechanic in WWII and was a coal miner at Jonesville; he was in the Sutton Coal Miners Hall of Fame. Children: Susan, Kathy, Diane, Christine and Lois. (Harry 1920-2013)
KENNEDY, Jim and
Jesse: Jim trapped and mined. No
children. 1944 bought the Liebling
house near Town Hall for $500. 1946 bought Christopher
Fleckenstein homestead at Cottonwood
Creek 1946. Jim died in 1978 and Jessie
died in 1968.
KENSER, Grant and Gertie: Colonists. Grant (and the Koppenberg's) helped the Machetanz family build their cabin on High ridge. After Grant died, Gertie married ____ Burtcher. (see Burtcher)
KEPLER, David Chatfield: Son
of Jesse and Harriet Kepler, came
to Alaska in 1927. Married Lois Luan
Gallagher in 1953. Children:
Chris, Mark and Patti. Served on the aircraft
carrier U.S.S.Antietam and worked for ARC
during construction of the Glenn Highway. David
was a church elder at the Farm Loop Christian Center for 20 years
and was involved with the family owned Kepler Park that his father
started in 1952. (David 1925-2002) (Lois 1930-2005)
KEPLER, Enid Kathleen: Daughter
of Jesse and
Harriet Kepler. Kathleen (or
"Kitty") married John Jacon
Van Zanten who's family came to Alaska
in 1917. Children: David, Tom, Terry
Joe, Jackie, Marlyn and Celia Beth. "Beth"
was murdered by serial killer
Robert Hansen in 1971.
KEPLER, Jesse Townsend: 1896-1960 First wife was Mary Lenora Andrews (1894-1921). Second wife was Harriet Elizabeth Foster (1896-1993). Jesse, Harriet and children came to Alaska in 1927. Children: Eloise (married Norbert Swoboda), David Chatfield (married Lois Luan Gallaher), Rosemary (married Bill Carlow) and Enid Kathleen (married John Jacob "Jack" Van Zanten). Jesse and family lived in the town of Matanuska for a number of years. Later they moved to the Farm
KERTTULA, Elizabeth "Beth": Elected to the Alaska House of Representatives for 15 years, then was appointed (by the White House) as Director of Ocean Policy.
KERTTULA, Jalmar Martin "Jay": Married Joyce Campbell, former high ranking secretary on the
KERTTULA, Oscar Alexander and Elvi: Oscar -1902-1965 Matanuska Colonists. Oscar was an early member of the Wobblies and came to
KESSINGER, Arlo: Married to Esther Browne, daughter of Neil and
KIBBE, Rexford C. and Georgia Elliott: Bought the Harry and Hilda Sears homestead on
KING, Alvin O. and Ethel: (Alvin 1902-1975) (Ethel 1900-1957)
KING, AraBelle: (1916-1989) Daughter
of Clyde and Emma King. Married Sydney Eklhorn Black. (see
KING, Clyde Vernon and Mary (nee Amsbury):
Son of Clyde and Emma King, came to Kings Lake in 1931. Spent time at Independence
Mine while young. Clyde and wife Mary lived at the Kings Lake homestead for
a few years before moving to property on the airport in Palmer. Clyde and
cousin John King built a block plant in Wasilla in the 1940s and operated
it for about 10 years. Later worked for USGS. Children: Patrick King.
KING, John Provolt and Lucille Mary (Vinecore): (John 1918-2000) (Lucille 1926-2009)Son of Kent King and Clara Provolt King. Married Lucille Vinecore in 1945. John and couisn Clyde operated Palmer Concrete Products. Lived in the Butte area for 49 years and owned "Mamma's Wood Yard". Children: Sandi, Susan, Evelyn, Ellen, Kathy, Kent and Laura.
KING, June Marie: Born in Ketchikan
in 1921, she moved with her family to Kings Lake, Wasilla
in April of 1932. Attended Moore Lake School and Wasilla High
School and played basketball. Attended UAF and Seattle College
earning a BS in nursing and an RN degree. Nursed at palmer Presbyterian
Hospital, Palmer School System and as a Home Health Aide. Volunteered
for Camp Fire Girls leader, hospoital board and helped build the
United Protestant Church, Kings Lake Camp Board member, volunteer
ambulance attendant, taught first aid and EMT courses for the Red
Cross. Received the Dorothy Jones Volunteer of the Year award for the
Valley United Way in 1998.
KING, Kent McCoy and Clara Louise(Provolt):
Came to Alaska
in 1931 (with 2 children) and
homesteaded on Anderson Lake. Kent died in 1939.
Clara owned and operated Clara's Variety Store in Palmer. She
lived until the age of 103. Children: Clyde,
John Provolt and Louise (married Lyle Saxton).
KING, Samuel: Old time trapper,
committed suicide in 1933.
KIRCHER, Emil "Shorty": Brother of Joe Kircher; he ran a blacksmith shop for the Matanuska Maid Co-op.
KIRCHER, Joe and Elsie: Immigrated from
KIRSCH, Andrew A. and Dawn F.(Kirschner): Andrew was the oldest son of John Vernon and Rose Mae (Ryerson) Kirsch. Andrew and Dawn had 2 children: Andrew B. Kirsch and Cindy Kirsch. (Andrew 1929-2002) (Dawn 1937-1999)
KIRSCH, David: Youngest son of Colonists John Vernon and Rose Mae (Ryerson) Kirsch. David's first wife was Beverly LaPour. They had 2 children: Judy and Billy. David's second wife was Betty ____________. They had 1 daughter, Roberta.
KIRSCH, Ernest Vernon: Son of Colonist John Vernon and Rose Mae (Ryerson)Kirsch. Married Rose ______, they had 5 children: John, Kenneth, Kurt, Karn and Mitchell.
KIRSCH, James and Elizabeth (Grub): James was the son of John Vernon and Rose Mae (Ryerson) Kirsch. James and Elizabeth had two daughters: Bonnie and Barbara.
KIRSCH, John Vernon and Rose Mae (Ryerson):Colonists from
KLEM,Robert V. and Hazel E. (Webb): Lived on
KLOCKENTEGER, Bill: Principal of
KNUTSON, Jack: Son of Ted Knutson. Married __________________ Children: ____________________
KNUTSON, Ted and Mildred: Lived about mile 4
KNUTSON, Ted Jr.: Son of Ted Knutson Sr. Married ________. Children.__________________.Ted Sr. and Ted Jr. married a mother and daughter.
KOPPENBERG, Arthur Siverin and Lola Elizabeth (Sowers): Married 1925, came to Alaska in 1950; lived at Lazy Mt.until 1994, then Lola moved to Wasilla. In 1995, she moved to Big Lake. Children: Thelma, Jerome, Samuel and Laurie. (Arthur 1902-1966) (Lola 1906-2001)
and Claire (Lewis): Came
to Alaska in 1938 and married
Claire in 1940. She was the head
nurse at the Colony Hospital in
Palmer. Herbert bought his first
truck in 1941 established a trucking business
(later with his sons)called Kopperud
Transportation. Herbert also had financial
interests in gold mines, coal mines,
logging and Alaska's first ice cream factory.
Children: Leif, Noel, Ross and Karl. (Herbert 1912-1992)
KOSLOSKY, Janis M. "Jan" and Isabelle (Graf): "Jan" was the son of Isaac and
KORTILLA, Bill “Salmon
Belly”: Married Deliah_____________________.
Children: Billy. Bill Sr. worked at the coal mine.
KROGH, Oliver O. and Georgia A.: Oliver was born about 1861 in Norway, Georgia was born about 1879 in
KUOPPALA, Eino Leonard and Margaret Rissi: Eino came to Alaska in 1943 to work in the Eska underground coal mine. He left after WWII and came back in 1946 with one of his brothers, they worked at the Jonesville Coal Mine and lived in Sutton. Eino and Margaret were well known in Sutton for their friendly home. Children: Judy and Step-daughter Linda. (Eino 1917-2008)
LAMP, E. C.: Early settlers in the valley (about 1920). Children: Gerald, Donald, Leonard and a daughter.
LANDERS, J. Harry “Jess”: In Knik by 1911. Freighting to Gold Bullion Mine by 1914. Had a “mountain home” above Wasilla in 1919, sold it to Frydeland in 1929. He died in 1930 in
LANDERS, Richard "Dick": (son of J. Harry Landers). Came to Wasilla 1919 after overseas Army duty, worked for the railroad. Married ___________Nieminen (she was hired as a
LANGDON, Roger F. and Leota F. (Buckler): Roger was born in
LANGEL, Otto: In Knik by 1906. Worked at the mines for Bartholf and Herning. Built a cabin at the mouth of the Little
DONALD LARRIAN and Florence:
Son of Colonists Henry and
Clystia LaRose. Homesteaded in
Clark-Wolverine area. Was in the
U.S. Navy 1947-1949 and a railroad section
foreman 1951-1979. One daughter,
Norma Jean. (Donald 1928-2003) buried
at Ft. Richardson.
LaROSE, Garold "Gary" B. and Rosemary: Son of Colonists Henry and Clystia LaRose; after the military, Gary married Rosemary in 1946 after knowing her for only 2 weeks. They came back to Alaska and bought a 160 acre farm on Farm Loop where they had dairy cows. Later they sold the cows and opened a hunting guide service and Rosemary was a nurse. Children (all born in Alaska): Linda (1947), Gary R. (1948), Patty (1950), Judy (1955), Susan (1958) and Carol (1961). Garold "Gary" B. LaRose died 4/22/2016.
LaROSE, Henry Clixby "Hank" Jr. and Clystia Ella "Clysti" (Hill): Colonists from
LARSON, Eric W.: Immigrated from Sweden in 1887. His son Jacko died in Knik in 1913. Had a family with a Native wife named Mary, his children were attending
LARSON, Fred and Laura: Colonists from Minnesota, farmed west of the Experimental Station. Children. Children: Leonard G., Esther (Haakenson), Gladys (
LARSON, Jack Eric and Helen (Wickersham): Lived and worked at the
LARSON, Nels: In Wasilla by 1924, freighted in the early days and later worked for the ARC. Built a 12' x 14' cabin on
LaVALLEY, Edward and
LAWRENCE, Charles S.: Rancher mile
and Leva "Pat" (Graham):
Came to Alaska in 1947, worked
at the Evan Jones Coal Mine
until 1968. Worked at Matanuska
Maid Co-op. Children: Joe, Jeff
and Ginger. (Lloyd Joseph 1914-1991)
LECKWOLD, Martin and Mattie (Gilbertson): Martin born 1872 in
LEMON, John and : Lived near the hayflats off of
LENTZ, Joseph "Joe" and Zuleika (Morrell):
Came to the valley in 1935
as Colonists. Joseph was brother
of William "Bill" Lentz and Uncle of
Dewey and Arthur Welch. Joe and Zuleika's
children: Jane D., Donavan A., Edwin
A., JoeAnn Z., Ramona M. and Joseph A.
Jr. (see Welch)
LENTZ,William "Bill" J. and Viola E. (Splettstoezer): William (1905-1987) Viola (1913-1997) Matanuska Colonists, were married in 1932 and came to Alaska in 1935; owned a dairy farm (today it is the Musk Ox Farm)until 1970 then moved to Reed Lake. Children: William Jr., Robert, Dolores, Barbara, Caroline and Dorothy. William "Bill" and Joseph "Joe" Lentz (brothers) were the uncles of Dewey and Arthur Welch. (see Welch)
LePORS, Paul Y. and Betty Jane
1917-1992 and Betty 1923-1995.
Paul came to Alaska
in 1948 and worked at Jonesville Coal
Mine as well as for the State of
Alaska. Betty was the daughter of
John and Della Cottle (and Step-father
Vincent Smith) Children: Linda and Beverly.
(see Cottle) (see Dick Jensen)
LEVAN, Jay Leroy and Deloris:
LIDDELL, Chauncey: In Knik by 1906 from Susitna Station. Hauled freight for Gold Bullion Mine 1916 and for Robert Hatcher in 1920. Worked at Lucky Shot Mine in 1929.
LIEBING, Aaron Grover "Bud" and June Marie King: Aaron came to
LIEBING, Charles Frederick "Charley
Fred" and Lydia Katherine (Senske): Moved to Independence
Mine in 1940 where Charley was a cook at the mine and Lydia
did various jobs. They lived there until WWII closed the mines.
Their son Aaron used his mustering out money from the Army air
Corp to purchase a farm on Outer Springer Loop where they lived until
Charley died in 1964. Lydia moved to Washington. Children: Chester
"Chet", Ruth (married Robrt Peterson), Lilas (married Robrt Alexander,
Henry and Aaron"Bud", Margie, Vesta, Dorothy and Mike.
LINN, Frank B, and Vera Lucille: Recruited by M.D. Snodgrass, Frank Linn came to
sold their land to the ARRC for the Colony. Lived on the Thuma farm, south of Palmer, for several years and then bought part of his homestead back from ARRC. Children: Allan and Mary Ann. (Frank 1900-1954) (Vera 1906-1997) are buried in the Palmer Pioneer Cemetery.
LINE, Ernest “Ernie”: Married Mavis ________________________ . Teacher in Wasilla by 1946, replaced Mrs. Fisher. Later principal in Wasilla and Fairbanks. Several children.
LOBERG, Johan Anton Loberg and Torborg Torkelson Loberg: He came (alone) to
LOBERG, Loritz Konrad Moeller “Louie”: Louie was born(1903) in
Lauritz John “Sonny” Loberg m
Lillian Thordis Loberg m
Louise Swanhild Loberg married Joseph Bidondo
Lief Leroy Loberg married Judy Laubenstein
The Loberg family lived on
LOKEN, John Marcus: (1878-1929) He staked a homestead NE of Palmer in 1914 and was a very successful vegetable farmer. Married Eliza Jane "Jenny" (nee Morrell) Eaton in 1921. In January of 1929, while cutting wood with his wife, his clothes got caught in the long belt of a gasoline powered wood saw. He remained entangled for two full revolutions before he was slammed violently against the ground; he died the next day. (see Eaton)(see Duncklee)
Carl and Phyllis M. Erickson:
Merritt came to Palmer
LOSSING, B. J.: Owned Louise Kellogg's farm.
LOTHROP, Hulda: Canadian born daughter of Robert Bloomfield Lothrop and Hilda Isabelle Gustafson. Married
LOTHROP, Robert Bloomfield: Married Hilda Isabelle Gustafson. Children: Hulda and Ivy. Lived south of Edlunds’ on the ridge above the hay flats in 1935. (see Hulda Lothrop)
LONG SHORTY: See McConahay
LOWE, Fritz: Married Jeannie Thomas, first wife
of Clinton Thomas (see Thomas)
LOYER, Joseph A. and Naomi C,: Colonists from Michigan. Children: James,
Norma Jean, Victor, Kenneth, Gary, Fredrick, Rick, Dennis
("Butch"), Dorothy, Jan and Rita. Joseph (1907-1985) Naomi
LUCAS, Leo and Margaret: Partners in Shamrock Bakery in Palmer. Children: Moyene, Leona, Larry, Elaine and Dan.
LUTHER, Howard: Lived on a Falk Lake near the
MACHETANZ, Fred and Sara: Fred was a famous Alaskan artis and Sara was an author. They had one son, Traeger Machetanz.
MACHETANZ, Traeger: Only son of Fred and Sara Machetanz. He married Carolyn Barry, daughter of Robert Barry. (see Barry)
MARINO, Benjamin: 1874-1951 Homestead at
MARINO, Charles: Rancher at
MARION, Patrick Albert “Paddy”: Born about 1875; his parents were from Ireland. He served in the Spanish American War as a watertender. He was in Knik by 1906. Cook at Wasilla Hotel in 1922. Mined in the Willow Creek Mining District for 50 years. Worked at Consolidated Mine, Lucky Shot Mine and Gold Mint Mine.(Owned Marion Twin Mine along with his twin sister Ida)and a variety of odd jobs. Built a house on
MARSH, Clarence: Son of Samuel and Mary Marsh, born in
MARSH, Mary Olive: 1897-1989, daughter of Samuel A. and Mary (Emmirson); came to Alaska in 1914. Married Roy Cornelius. Children: Frank Robert, Kathleen Edith (
MARSH, Samuel A. and Mary (Emmirson): Born 1874
MARTIN, Carl E. and Lucille (Black): Carl came to Knik to look for gold in 1909. He carried the first mail from Seward to Iditarod by dog team in 1910. Lucille came to
MARTIN, John: Owner of Johnny's Surplus in Palmer? Owned land on Trunk road near the college. Had a sister named
MARTIN, May: Came to
MARTIN, Paul: First Wife was Winnifred Granger. Children:Phoebe 1943, David 1945 (family came to Alaska in 1946)and a son Peter born in 1954 in Alaska.Paul and Winnifred bought the Kindgren colonist farm house and land which was part of a farm on the SE Springer System near John Springer's. After 1948, Paul started working for the Alaska Agricultural Experiment Station as a Soil Scientist, first at the Farm Location near the old town of Matanuska, then mved with the job to Palmer when the Laboratory and Research Section was built in the mid 1950s. He worked there until he retired in 1970. Paul and Winnifred divorced in 1964 and he married Fanny Wirtanen,an original colonist and widow of Eino Wallace Wirtanen in 1967.Paul and Fanny lived in Fanny's Palmer home and their winter home in
MAYFIELD, Benjamin H. and Jennie L.:Benjamin was the U.S. Commissioner in Talkeetna. He was born about 1892 in Washington and Jennie was born about 1898 in North Dakota. They had a daughter named Jean born about 1931 in Alaska.
McCAMBRIDGE, Merle David: Son of David McCambridge
and Louise E. Mills-Dumas.
Myrtle Edlund, daughter
of John Fredolph Edlund.
Children: MargeryLouise and Merle Mercedes.
as a baggage handler for the
McCLARITY, Bert: In Knik by 1911. Bought candy store at Knik from ___
McCARTNEY, Ray "Mac" and Margaret
Married in "Maggie" Snodgrass
in 1936; she was the youngest child
of M.D. and Margaret Snodgrass. Ray and
"Maggie'owned Mac's Plumbing
and Heating store from 1948-1985.
Children: Robert "Bugs",
Sharon, Karen, Jackie and Michael. Ray
(1909-1985) Maggie (1915-1993)
McCOMBS, Robert Leon and Merlie Ingaborg (Eliason): Came to the Valley in 1950. Owned Fairview Dairies with friend Myrtle Gislason. After retiring, opened the Health Food Shoppe in Wasilla. Children: Linda and LuAnn. (Robert 1925-1998) (Merlie 1923-2000)
McCONAHAY, Arthur R.: Also known as "Long Shorty", came to Alaska in 1886. He was born in Iowa about 1858. Married a Knik woman named Martha. On the 1900 US Census for Susitna Station, they had 4 children: Mary born about 1893, James born about 1895, Martha born about 1897 and Katie born about 1899. Arthur was listed as a widower on the 1910 US Census for Tyonek. His children were sent to the Wood Island orphanage at Kodiak.
McCORD, Nick T. and Matrona
: Worked at a Native owned
co-op store at Tyonek. WWII draft registration
gave date of birth as 4/13/1896 Tyonek. Children:
Kathryn, Lloyd, Everett, Willard, Ray, Lawrence, Emil,
William and Nancy; all born at Tyonek.
McDONALD, John W.
McDONALD, P. J. “Black McDonald” or “Paddy”: In Knik by 1911. Had a movie house in Knik in 1914. Married Miss ______________Longmire, a teacher. Rented the Zink house in Wasilla in 1921. Had a fox ranch near
McDOUGAL, Thomas S. and Margaret E.: Working at
McHENRY, Earl Clifton and Esther (Lanegan): This family came to Alaska in 1931 from Idaho. Homesteaded in Fairview Loop area. Missing his right eye. Esther did not stay in Alaska. Ester (1884-1977). Children: James (Darley), Jewel Beth and Ruby Mildred (see Holstein) (see Church)
McHENRY, Jewel Beth: Daughter of Earl and Esther McHenry.
Married Herbert Holstein(see
Holstein) (see Church)
McHENRY,Ruby Mildred: (1912-1979)
Daughter of Earl and
Esther McHenry. Married Eino "Curly"
Alongo. (see Alongo)
McKECHNIE, Donald Loren and Juanita
Son of Loren and Peggy McKechnie.
Mayor of Palmer in
the early 1950s. Worked on the construction
of Elmendorf. Children:
Donna and Bill. (Donald Loren 1915-2001)
(Juanita 1918-2000) (see
McKECHNIE, Lorraine Lillian: (1922-2011)
Daughter of Loren and Edna "Peggy" McKechnie. She worked at the Valley Co-op
Store, Matanuska Maid Dairy, she was also a postal clerk and telephone operator.
Her 1st husband was Paul A. Aklestad, 2nd husband was Harold "Fritz" Hermon.
(see Aklestad) (see Hermon)
McKECHNIE, Loren and Edna Gertrude "Peggy": Loren 1888-1970 Edna 1888-1977 The McKechnie's were part of a group of 8 Colonist families from Carlton County, Minnesota (Henning Benson's, Leonard Bergan's, Pat Hemmer's, Otto Peterson's, I. M. Sandvik's, Lauren Smith's and Lawrence Vasanoja's). The McKechnie's farmed south of Bodenburg Butte. Received patent to 80 acres in 1944. Children:
McKECHNIE, Raymond Everton and Diana
Salama(Santii): Son of Colonists
Loren and Edna McKechnie.
Diana was a charter member of the Palmer
Historical Society. Children:
Gerald, Jack, Russell and Dennis.
(Ray 1913-1993) (Diana 1913-1998)
McMAHAN, Charles "Slim" and Gladys (nee
McNEESE, George and : Lived on the corner of
McNEIL, Alec (Alex) Slivers:
Known as "Capt. Sliver's"
he was a raised by his step-father,
Malcolm J. McNeil and his Dena'ina
mother Anne. His WWII draft registration
gave his birth date as 12/10/1886 at Matanuska.
He was a VERY small man, but quite rugged
and capable. He froze to death in 1942 while
walking back to a moose kill from
Wasilla. Buried on a small hill behind
Blind Nick's (his brothers) cabin at mile 1 Wasilla
Fishhook Road. (see Malcolm McNeil)
For more information go to: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~coleen/blind nick.html
McNEIL, Malcolm James: He married an Indian woman named Annie (pre-1900). Worked at mines, cut wood and was a rancher. Children: Tommy. Wife Annie McNeil had other children previous to her marriage to Malcolm McNeil. Their names were Nick, Alec, Matrona, Nicholai, Stephan and Mary. Annie also had two children with Frank Crabb: Myrtle and Victor. Malcolm McNeil died in 1945 and Anne died in 1938. Son Tommy committed suicide in 1944 and son William died before 1945. Son Victor had a ranch one mile up Willow road, but was in the hospital with tuberculosis in 1943.
Daughter of Anne McNeil and Frank Crabb;(adopted)
daughter of Malcolm
James McNeil. Married John Wells
in 1927 and Cliford L. Strickler in 1940.
McNEIL, Nick “Blind Nick”: Dena’ina. In the 1940s, he lived on Upper Rabbit
For more information go to: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~coleen/blind nick.html
MEARS, Lester "Les" and Betty: Came to the valley in the early 1950s? Lived on Bailey Hill in Palmer. He worked at
lived just across the
MEEHAN, O. J.: Built the Wilmoth store in Wasilla in 1917. Baby died in 1917, first death in the new town of
MEIER, Alvin L. and
MEIER, Carl and Edith: Colonists from Duluth,
MEIER, Edwin L. and Bertha L.:
MEIER, Robert W.:
: Their house on Main Street in Wasilla was purchased for
a Post Office.
MICHALEK, Leo and Lillie: Partners in Shamrock Bakery in Palmer. Children: Mary Ann (married Barney Anderson)
MILLER, Ira V.: Received patent to 157 acres in 1920.
MILLER, Neil and Margaret: Colonists. Lived on
MILLER, Oliver Cromwell “Forty Mile Miller”: In Knik by 1906, received patent to 320 acres in 1918. Prospector, carpenter, saw mill, built metal stoves, mining. Had a cabin and sawmill at mile
MINNICK, John: Married Mildred Cottle. Children:____ (see Cottle)
MOFFAT, William G. "Bill": Received patent to 320 acres in 1920. Commercially sold hay and strawberries in 1920. Killed himself in 1923. First person to be buried at
MOFFITT, Archie Rufus and Sarah Elizabeth Hecker: (Archie 1891-1970) (Sarah 1891-1967)Children: Owen, Leonard, Wallace, Betty, Ann, Clema, alice, Tom and Ruth. (see Hermon)
MOFFITT, Leonard Earl and Betty S.:
Came to Alaska
in 1937, graduated from Palmer
High School in 1939.
In the Army during WWII and was with
the military police on Ft. Richardson
and on the Aleutian Chain. He
and wife were dairy farmers from 1946-1986.
Children: Lisa, Linda, Dianne, Wendy,
Steven and Tracy.
MOMMSEN, Ted and Laura: Lived in Wasilla townsite. Railroad agent and former employee of
MONAGHAN, C. R.:
MOORE, Harold Wright and Dorothy Mae (Likewise): Children: Bonnie (Bettine), Doris Mae, Roger and Karola.
MOORE, Ralph and Edith Kathleen (Cornelius): Ralph came to Alaska in 1935 to help clear land for the arrival of the Matanuska Colonists. He married Edith Kathleen Cornelius,daughter of Roy Cornelius and Mary Olive Marsh in 1937. Ralph went to work for M.E.A. in 1941. Children: Mary, Ruth, Frank and Gene. (see Cornelius)
MOOREHOUSE, Harry: Lived on Lazy Mt.
MORRIS, Jim: Married (divorced) Carol Wilson-Axtell (later Carney), daughter of Cecil “Blackie”
MORRISON, Roy and Mary Virginia ("MV") Browne: Married in 1946, to "MV", the daughter of Neil Browne Sr. Roy and "MV" lived in George Zink house in Wasilla. Mary Virginia's 1st husband (1939) was Jack Storm and they had one son named Floyd "Butch" Storm. Mary Virginia died in 1956 or 1957.The Morrison's owned the Wasilla Bar on Main Street, which was later sold to John & Jean Polis. Mary's son Floyd "Butch" (who later took the last name of Morrison) married Judy Betts, daughter of Thurman and Jackie Betts. (see Browne)(see Storm)
MOSIER, George S.: Received patent to 260 acres in 1922, south of the Experimental Station?
MRACK, William "Willy" and Eleanor
(Sagar): The family came to
Alaska in 1948 and owned Mrack Coal
Co. in Sutton. Willy also was the manager
of Red Devil Cinnebar Mine in the 1970s
and operated a gold claim in Hatcher Pass. Eleanor
owned a shop called "Ellie's Gold Nugget
Jewelry". Children: Judy, Karen, Kim and Bill.
(Willy 1920-2005) (Eleanor 1922-2002)
MURRAY, PETER: Born about 1863 in Ireland, came to
USA 1880. In Knik by 1912. Homesteaded next to August
Swanson on what is today Gersmel Loop. Farmer/rancher.
MUTH, Albert Peter and Mildred Marguerite
Albert came to Alaska in 1934
and Mildred came in 1947. They had dairy
farms in several parts of Alaska
and one on Palmer Fishhook Road. Mildred
was a nurse and x-ray technician. Children:
Joseph, George Henry, John, Jim,
David, Catherine, Dorothy and foster
son James Cadden. (Albert 1914-1982)
(Mildred 1912-2001) are both buried
NAGLEY, Horace Willard and Jessamine (Millikan): Had a store at Susitna Station by 1908, also had a store at Lake Creek by 1917 and a store at Talkeetna by 1918, appointed postmaster of Talkeetna in 1927, retired 1946. Moved to Wasilla, 1928, so their son, Horace Willard Nagley Jr.could attend school. The family moved to Talkeetna in 1929. Horace Nagley Jr. became Postmaster of Talkeetna when his father retired in 1946. (Horace Willard Sr. 1875-1966) (Jessamine 1877-1955) (Horace Willard Jr. 1918-2007) All three are buried in Anchorage.
For more information go to: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~coleen/nagley.html
NEKLASON BROTHERS: Necolaus Hjalmer Neklason and John Richard Neklason were in the Matanuska Valley pre-1915. "N. Neklason" is listed among early homesteaders in a Knik News article dated 1915. The brothers are also listed as farming in Matanuska during the WWI draft (they asked for a military exemption because there would be no one to care for their stock if they had to serve). John Neklason (born 1889) was granted a patent to 295 acres in 1920. Necolaus Neklason (born 1886) was granted a patent to 320 acres in 1922. I assume their homesteads patents included Neklason Lake. The Neklason brothers were born in Kalmar, Småland, Sweden.
NELSON, Erling Peter: Son of
Peter and Dorothy (Hill) Nelson; he was a lifelong Wasilla resident, a UAF
graduate and an Army Veteran. He worked as a Wasilla City Finance Director
for 24 years and was a member of the Wasilla-Knik Historical Society. Children:
Michelle, Robert, Steven, Judy, Pamela and Naomi. (Erling Nelson 1942-2012)
NELSON, Fred: 1887-1963.
Living in Knik
as early as 1911. Worked
for the Road Commission & Ft.
NELSON, Otto and Verlie Inez Crouch:(Otto 1892-1947) (Verlie 1911-1991) Came to Alaska in 1931 and lived in Seldovia for a while before becoming replacement colonists in Palmer. Children: John (died 1941),Lavon (Reeder), Charlotte (Voek? and Aldeman), William (aka "Wild Bill) and Carolyn (Barager). when Otto died, Verlie married John Hornung. (see Hornung) (see Reeder) (see Aldeman).
NELSON, Peter and Dorothy (Hill): 1892-1967 WW I veteran,
came to Alaska married Dorothy
Hill in 1937. Dorothy came to Alaska
as a school teacher for the
Jesse Lee Childrens Home in Seward
in 1927; in 1937; she had a small
sewing supply shop in the front
entry to their house and taught school; she
was also the 1st secretary-treasurer of the
Wasilla Library Association (1938). Peter worked for the
Road Commission. Two children:
Allayne and Erling Nelson. Peter
was brother of Fred Nelson. Allayne Nelson
won a contest to name the Wasilla Cemetery, her
winning name was the "Aurora Cemetery".(Peter
1892-1967) (Dorothy 1904-1997)After
Peter died in 1967, Dorothy married
NELSON, William: Born in Palmer in 1937 to Otto Nelson and Verlie Inez Crouch. Well known in the Valley as "Wild Bill". He was quite vocal about his distaste for lawyers and the courts and he painted huge plywood signs (to that effect) that he attached to his many vehicles. Bill was a pilot, inventor, contractor and jack of all trades. His obituary said that he was married twice; his first wife died and he and his second wife divorced. Children: Verlie Michell, John Travis, Valerie, Jason, Samuel Moses and Michael. Bill died 12/25/2004.
NEWCOMB, Harold Sherwood and Patricia Carson: Harold came to Alaska with the Army in 1948; he came to the Valley in 1952; he was Mayor of Wasilla for two terms and served in the first Mat-Su Borough Assembly in 1964.Pat was the daughter of Arnold and Hortense Carson. Pat came to Alaska in 1935 at the age of 7 days. The Newcombs were foster parents, and Pat worked for the ACCA Treasure Loft in Wasilla. Their first home was a Quonset hut (owned by Bill Betts) which was next to the Bordon family. Harold and Pat had a hardware store for a while and a real estate company. They donated the land at the corner of Parks Highway and Crusey Street that became Newcomb Park and helped establish Wasilla Wonderpark. Their Children: Kurt, Michael, Randall, Nicola and Robin.(see
NICKALASKEY: Four children, that
of (from the blended family of Little Nikita
and his wife Delia, and Delia's 2nd husband
Nick Stephan) had the last name of Nickalaskey:
David (born about 1921), Phillip (born about
1923), Thelma (born about 1929) and Matrona (born
about 1931). (see Nikita) (see Stephan)
NICKOLAI, Mary: 1902-1983 Daughter
of Frank Nickolai and
Balasculya "Mary" Stickman. Some records say
she was born at Old Man Lake. Married John
Goodlataw of Chitna in 1925; they had
1 son Paul Joseph Goodlataw. John died
in 1936. Mary then married Johnny Shaginoff
in 1938. She lived at Moose Creek
in the summers and Eska and Chickaloon in
the winters. She was an expert in the Ahtna language
and history. (see Frank Nickolai) (see
NICKOLAI, Olga: 1903-1954 Daughter
of Frank Nickolai and
Balasculya "Mary" Stickman. Married
Jack Corey. (Frank Nickolai)(see
NICOLI, Talkeetna and Christiana (Stephan): Talkeetna Nicoli was born about 1860 near Copper River (his mother's name was Ch'anqet)and he died in 1918 at Susitna. His wife, Christina Stephan was born about 1876 in the Matanuska Hills and died in 1951 at Montana Creek. Children: Alexan, Joseph, Tooch, Mytiome, Alexander and Katherine. Alexander married Nina Stephan and had children: Billy, Steve, and Nick. Katherine Nicoli (1915-1990) married Mike Nicoli (1912-1956) who was born at Point Possession.
NIEMI, Rica L.: Born in
NIKITA, Jim: Also known as Eklutna Jim, also known as Indian Jim. Born at Knik in 1870, he worked as a guide for an Army exploration expedition at the turn of the century. He killed Tom Stephan in 1914 and spent 3 years at McNeil Island prison for it. He died in 1938 and was buried at Eklutna.
NORBO, Jon and Violet Werner:
NUNLEY, Leo M. and June ____ : Came to the area, from Arizona, in about 1947. Homesteaded on
NYLEN, George: Owned a homestead near Matanuska, just NW toward the Experimental Station. He had a large glass greenhouse in 1918/1919 which was very unusual.
OBERG, Gilbert “Gib” and Pearl (Edlund): Gas engineer on boats. Worked for the
OBERG, Helmer and Elizabeth Ann "Liza" Hubley: Moved to Wasilla in 1927 (from Unga). Worked in the Lucky Shot Mine. His wife worked as a cook for several of the mines in the Willow Creek Mining District. Children:
Mrs.Elizabeth Oberg and Father Paul Shadura's wife Katherine were sisters.
O'BRIEN, John J. : Early homesteader, NE of the Black and Edlund family, granted patent to 330 acres in 1922.
OHLIN, Ernest and Lily Edlund: Lily was the daughter of John Fredolph Edlund. Cooked at Lucky Shot Mine and other places and was the nephew of Oscar Anderson. Children: Ruby Ann, Vonnie, Lois,
OHNSTAD, Henry and Anna (Staxrud): The family came to Alaska in 1931 and lived (according to 1940 Census) on the Palmer Wasilla Road. Henry worked for Army Engineers on Ft. Richardson. Children:Thorvald "Smokey" Ohnstad 1911-1977 and Elizabeth Ohnstad(married Richard Lynch) 1912-2009. Henry died in the Sitka Pioneer Home (1884-1965) Anna died in Palmer 1887-1953. World War II draft registration (in Anchorage) gave Henry's full name as Henrik Nitter Ohnstad born 9/6/1884.
OLSON, Axel Capt. and Mary(Emmirson):
Axel married Mary (Emmirson)Marsh,
1st wife of Samuel A. Marsh.
to 320 acres south of 4-Corners in 1919.
NOTE: According to information
provided by Jim
Fox, Mary Olive(Marsh)Cornelius-Edlund
said the family loaded all their
supplies from Capt. Olson's boat
at Knik onto a smaller one which they could
take up Rabbit
OLSON, Martin and Edith: Lived on the south side of
O'MALLEY, John R. "Jack": 1910-2000
Came to Alaska
in 1934, surveyed all over the
Matanuska Valley. No known family.
ONDOLA, John and Olga (Alex): John (1896-1944) (Olga 1911-1965).John was born in the Ahtna village of Tyone in the Copper River Basin. Olga (Athabascan) was the daughter of Eklutna Alex(Alex Vasily)and his wife Matrona. John Ondola's military draft registration listed his birth information as: born 4/28/1896 at Copper River. Children: George, Elsie, Marie (married name Rosenberg), Ellen, Carl, Sophie (married name Gutierrez), Dorothy (married name Cook), Roy and Gina. After John Ondola died, Ogla had two more children: Sally and Jerry. (see Alex)
ONKKA, David and Saina : Colonists from
ONKKA, Karl Melvin: 1922-1997
He came to Alaska in 1935,son of
Colonists Carl and Saima Onkka. He
was in the Navy Seabee's in WWI (wounded).
Children: Nancy, Karla, Jacque, Toni,
Jack and step-son John Drasher.
ONKKA, Matt and Elizabeth "Betty"(Hermon): First Matanuska Colonists to marry in Palmer, children: Anna. Matt died in 1969 and Betty married Ralph Cann. Children: Matt Arvid Onkka (1941-1942) (see Hermon) (see Cann)
ONKKA, Oliver Reino and Dorothy (Bouwens) : Oliver was born on
OSBORNE, Ronald and Thelma Wade: Had a farm on the edge of
Adah (more children?). Thelma was the daughter of Worth W. Wade and his 2nd wife Julia. (see Wade).
OSBORNE, Wilbur and Myrtle: Lived on
OSKOLKOFF, Alice: Graduated from
Wasilla High School in 1942
(only 2 graduated).
OTCHECK, Bill and May: Lived near Fairview Loop, south of Edlund Road, came to the area about 1947. Children: Shirley, John,
OVERSTREET, Peggy: Married David
Smith, had children: Mike, Steve
and Teddy Ray. Also had a son named Donald
with Louis Raymond Harrison. (see Smith) (see
PAGE, Vondolee Sheppard and Dorothy: Vondolee was the Superintendent of
the Matanuska Borough Schools and taught for many years. He helped create
the Wasilla-Knik Historical Society and Mushers Hall of Fame. He and his
2nd wife Dorothy helped establish the Iditarod Dog race and Dorothy was known
as the "Mother
of the Iditarod". She served
4 terms in the Wasilla City
Council and 2 terms as Wasilla Mayor.
The Wasilla Museum is named after
Dorothy Page. (Vondolee 1910-2001) (Dorothy
PALMER, George W.: Came to
PALMER, Isaac "Ike" and Helen (Cain):
was first wife of Niles DeLand
(see Scott) (see DeLand)
PALMER, Julius B. “Joe”: Came to
PATCHELL, James and Annie: James came to Alaska in the spring of 1896; he was living at Cottonwood in 1900 and was in Knik by 1901; he was a trapper, prospector and rancher. He married Native woman named Annie or Anna; they had two daughters by 1910 (Bessie and Grace). James was a widower by 1920, his children were sent to an orphanage on Wood Island. James received patent to 159 acres in 1927 and left for
PATTEN, Vernon Clair and Joyce Margaret
Came to Alaska in 1935 as Colonists.
Homesteaded at mile 40
Glenn Hiway; had a dairy farm. One
daughter Kathleen "Kit" Lorain who
married James Stewart in 1952.
PATZACK, A.: In Knik by 1917. Built a house at
PAULSON, Carl: From Sweden, lived
on Knik Road near Edlund Road. Batchelor
and cabinet maker.
PAYNE, Earl Edward and Jane Evelyn:
Earl came to
Alaska in 1952 to work on the Eklutna
Power Project, Jane came
to Alaska as a nurse in 1953. Children:
Donald, Ronald, David, Daniel
and Richard. (Earl 1922-2000)
PECK, Ernest Leroy and Olga Marie (Tallekpalek): Ernest 1890-1982, Olga Marie (1901-1993)she was born at Pilot Station and lived in Wasilla for 63 years. On the 1920 US Census for Fort St. Michael, Ernest & Olga were married and living at a military radio station; Ernest was a Prvt. 1st Class with the Signal Corp. They met at
PECK, Rose: 1915-2004 Rose was born at Pilot Station and lived in Wasilla with Ernest and Olga Peck her whole life. She graduated from Wasilla High School and was a member of the Cathrolic Church. Rose was part of the homemakers group that started the Wasilla Library. She had a brother named John Tellekpalak and a sister named Olga Marie (Peck).
PEDERSON, Everett John
and Wilhelmina "Willie" (Luebke): Partners in Shamrock
bakery in 1949.Willy
came to Alaska from Wisconsin,
to teach in Hoonah, then to palmer in
1948. Pete worked one job at
PENDELTON, ______________: Principal of
PERKINS, Mathew R. "Matt": Came to the Palmer area in 1944 as a member of the Army Reserves to mine coal at the Evan Jones Mine. First wife was Genevieve "Jenny", who he married in Palmer in 1947; one daughter (born outside of
PERSSON, C. E.: In Wasilla 1921 working for road commission. Had a ranch and sold potatoes. Fired from Marion Mine, called “crazy”. In the hospital with scurvy in 1937. His mine workings are visible in the hills just south of the
PETE, Shem: Athabascan, born
about 1900 at Susitna Station, was of the Nulchina or Sky Clan.He was well
known as an Dena'ina historian, story teller, traditional dancer, geographer
and a preserver of all things Athabascan. He married Inga (her Dena'ina name
was Tulaten) in a double wedding ceremony (1919) in Talkeetna (other couple
was Anderson Stephan and ____); Shem and Inga had two children: Billy Pete
in about 1920 and Mary Pete in about 1922. Inga died of tuberculosis in 1925
at an Anchorage
hospital, Shem died in 1989 at the age
PETERSON, Fred C. J.: Foreman at Fern Mine. Sold his mink ranch in 1942 for $20,000.
PHELPS, A. F.: Married Mary Vail, daughter of Silas Westley Vail.
Children: _________________________________ In the valley by 1916, working at the Yago Mine.
PIPPEL, Robert W. and Kathlyn Ruth
Robert was son of Matanuska Colonists
Walter and Melva Pipple.
After the Army, he homesteaded
80 acres next to his parents in
Eagle River. In 1949, he married Kathlyn
Ruth (Smith) Hamby, widow of Lamont
Hamby. Kathlyn "Kay" opened the first
insurance agency in Palmer and was assistant
to the director of the ARRC for the Colonists.
Robert eventually took over the insurance
business (Pipple Insurance).
Children: William, Anthony and Robert
Michael. (Robert "Bob" 1924-2003) (Kathlyn
PIPPEL, Walter George and Melva Ann (Snider): Colonists from
PLACK, and Francis: Francis was a nurse. Children: Patricia and Phillip. (see Joe Smith)
PLUMLEY, George H. and Eva Edith:
to Alaska in 1941 and homesteaded
out in the Bodenburg
Butte area (today road called
Plumley Road). Children: Ralph, Lloyd,
Robert, Leo, Mary Ann, Irene,
Dorothy, Orfa and Patricia. (George
1898-1992) (Eva 1902-1986)
POLIS, John and Gladys Jean (nee Sanderson): John, born in
: Came to the valley in
1960, owned Poppert's Mill (his grandson and great
grandson run the mill today).
POTTER, Louise: Originally from Vermont, Louise came to
POULSON, Carl: Swedish bachelor, good carpenter, liked to dance.
PUHL, Joseph and Blanche: Original colonists from
PURCHES, George and "Rampart Nell": In Knik by 1906. Owned the Knik Roadhouse. Nell (who's real name was Eileen) used to be a dance hall girl during the gold rush days in Nome. George was shot to death in his roadhouse by a man named Johnny. Johnny claimed self defense and was acquitted of all charges; he later married "Rampart Nell".
PYLE, J.A. “
RAE, Don S.: In Knik by 1912, built a house there in 1913. Working at the Rae -Wallace Mine near head of Sydney Creek in 1916. Family joined him in 1918. Worked at Jonesville Coal Mine 1922. Had tuberculosis in 1923. Children: Sydney Rae (see Sydney Rae)
REEDER, Albert "Bill" and Lavon (nee Nelson): Lived on
REEDY, David: Received patent to his homestead
REMPEL, Aron A. and Susanna (Krause):
Both born in South Russia
(they were Germans). They had 12 children
(4 died in Russia). They came to America in 1923
aboard the SS Washington; in 1944, they moved to Alaska
and purchased a farm in the Springer
System area. Children: Maria, Aron, Agatha,
Susanna, William, Herman, Ann and Dietrich
(known as "Dick"). After Aron died in 1953
(buried in Palmer),the family left Alaska.
Grandson, Mark Rempel, returned to Alaska
and has had a thriving organic vegetable
farm (Rempel Family Farm)out in the Butte area
since 1962. (Aron 1882-1953) (Susanna 1891-1996).
ROSS, Curtis: Homesteaded in the valley pre-1915, off of today’s Farm
RICE, Harry ___________: Partners in Shamrock Bakery in Palmer.
ROCK, Duane M.: Rocky
Lu: Homesteaded on Knik
Road near Carl Paulson. Had a son named Corky.
SAINDON, Edward and Margaret: Came to Alaska just after 1910 with sons Edward, George, Harry and William. They built a two story, poured concrete house near Palmer on a road that is now called
SAINDON, GEORGE Henry and Mildred: Born in 1890, George was the son of Edward and Margaret Saindon. He was granted a patent on 160 acres in 1921. His wife's name was Mildred, she was born in 1903 and died at the age of 21 (in 1924), leaving Geoerge to raise their children (all born in
SANDVIK, Chester Arthur and Lula Alvina
(Thorstenson): Came to Alaska in 1944 (brother of Ingolf Sandvik). Musical
family. Children: Neola and Elden. (Chester 1902-1987) (Lula 1903-1998)
SANDVIK, Ingolf and Agnes (Johnson): Colonists from Minnesota, arrived in 1935. Children: Jean Mae, Kent, Mark, Lynn and Peter. (Ingolf Sandvik is brother of Chester Sandvik)
SCHEELE, August F. "Gus": (1914-1996) Gus worked on the construction of the Alcan Highway in the 1940s and moved to Alaska in 1945. In 1960, he built the first laundromat in Wasilla and owned an excavation business. He and friend Bert Johnson built the Airport Mall in Wasilla and he owned a business called The Electronics Cache. The family lived at Blodgett Lake. Gus' 1st wife was Idellar _____ (died). His 2nd wife was June _____; children: Cherry, David and Kathy; his step-children were Nola and Jervis.
SCHEIBL, Allan Gustave and Rosella:
Son of Colonists
Gustave and Aletha Scheibl.
Children: Daniel, Carl, Steven,
Gary and David.
SCHEIBL, Gustave and Alethea M.: Colonists from
C. and : Seventh Day
Adventist family, homesteaded off of Wasilla
When the family lived in the valley, the road they lived on was known Swamp Lake Road. In the 1960s(?) it was renamed Schrock Road (and Swamp Lake was renamed Memory Lake). The family purchased 50# bags of shelled peanuts and substituted them for meat. Children: Daniel, _____.
SCHROCK, James Harvey:
Homesteaded 160 acres
SCOTT, Lannah Zoell "L.Z.": (1902-1955) Homesteaded at the end of
SEARS, HARRY and Hilda Vern Edlund:
Hilda was the
daughter of John Fredolph
Donald, Verna Mae and Rosella. When
Harry and Hilda were married,
Hilda’s father Fred Edlund gave
them a section of the original
Edlund homestead. Farmer in
SELK, Lyle D. and Rosie Josephine(Peck):
Lyle came to Alaska in 1945 and
Rosie was born in Kwiguk, Alaska; the
daughter of Ernest and Olga Peck of Wasilla.
Lyle was a mechanic at Ft. Richardson.
Children: Kenneth, Carol Marie, and Kathleen.
(Lyle 1923-1985) (Rosie 1921-2013)
SENSKE, William Michael
"Bill": Bill's first wife, before coming
SEXTON, Allan and Minnie: Children: Elmer, Alvin, Frank, Clifford, Agnes, Joyce. Colonist family from
SEXTON, Alvin J. and Roxanne: Alvin (1928-1978)son of Colonists Allan and Minnie Sexton. Worked as a farmer most his life. Children: Danny, Bruce, Sharon, Rebecca and Cathy.
SEXTON, Clifford J. "Skip" and Salley: (Skip 1931-1985) Son of Colonists Allan and Minnie Sexton. Heavy equipment operator in Palmer.
SEXTON, Frank William: 1930-1987 Son of Colonists Allan and Minnie Sexton. Heavy equipment operator. Children: Anne, Andy, Theresa and Frank Jr.
SHAGINOFF, James Louis and Ingrid:
Born 1942 in Chickaloon,
son of John and Mary (Nickolai) Shaginoff.
Grew up in the Lazy Mountain Children's Home
(1948-1960) and graduated from Palmer High
School in 1960. He was an Elder of Chickaloon Village
and served on the tribal council. Children: Timothy,
Sondra, Kari, Cindy and John Corey. (James
SHAGINOFF, John and Mary (Nickolai) Goodlataw: John born in 1909 at Hughes Creek and died in Palmer in 2001. Mary born 1900, daughter of Frank Nickolai and Balasculya "Mary" Stickman. They married in 1938 at Palmer (Mary's 2nd marriage). Children: Bert born 1937, Donald born 1942, Eugene born 1942 and Lloyd born 1944. Mary had a son named Paul Joseph Goodlataw (b. 1926) from her first marraige to John Goodlataw. (see Goodlataw) (see Nickolai) Lived near Chickaloon.
SHELDON, Donald Edward "Don" and Roberta
(Reeve): Don came to Alaska in 1938 at the age of 17. He
married Roberta Reeve and they lived in Talkeetna. On the 1940 US
Census for Talkeetna, it listed Don's employer as the Civil Aeronautics Authority.During
WWII he flew 26 air missions and was given the Distinguished Flying Cross.
He was also a legendary bush pilot, famous for making rescue landings
on the glaciers of Mt. McKinley and opened the Talkeetna Air Service in 1948
with parter Stub Morrison. Don Sheldon died of cancer in 1975. Children:
Joyce: Born 1932,
she was the daughter of Max and Dorothy
Wendell Lewis. Children:
SHERROD, Max Hiram, and Dorothy Alice Brant: Both registered nurses from
SHORT, Lloyd and Ann Snider: Ann was the daughter of Gerrit and Alice Snider, she had 2 children when she married Lloyd Short (Jo Ann and James). They had a chicken farm next to the Henry Jensen family. Lloyd and Ann had two children together (Lyle and Laurie). (see Snider)
SHOUGH, Harry C.
SIMPSON, Jim and Gloria: High school teacher. Had the 1st Henry J. automobile in Wasilla (made by Ford).
SHAGINOFF, Johnny: 1909-2001
Born in Knik to John Shaginoff and Mary Tyone. Married Mary Nickolai (1938)
daughter of Frank and Balasculya "Mary" Nickolai of Chickaloon. Children:
Burt, Don, Jim and Lloyd. (see Nickolai)
SITZE, Clara Margaret: (1918-2000) Clara moved to Wasilla in 1956; she
owned Top of
the World Realty, the Snack Shack,
Green Acres Resort, Clara's
Cafe and the Donut Shop. Children:
Kenneth, Cindy Betts, Michael Fitzgibbon,
Edward Fitzgibbon, Shirley
Beldon, Janet Hunter, Clarence
Michaelson and Carol Bragg.
SLIVERS, Capt. Alex: (see Alex
SLUMBERGER, Jackie: Jackie
and Cicil Bryant owned Hilltop
Cafe on Main Street in Wasilla. Her first
husband was Thurman Betts, her second husband was David
Grow. (see Betts) (see Grow)
SMALL, Frank A.: (1924-1987) Born in Anchorage to Georg and Ora Small. Graduted from Palmer High School in 1942. Highway road maintenance worker for 38 years.
SMALL, George: Ran a roadhouse at mile 19 Wasilla Fishhook in 1916 and a roadhouse at mile 15 in 1917. Married Ora C. _____ in 1921. Children: Frank and Georgia.
SMITH, David Floyd: Born in Kanakanek, Alaska to Floyd Smith and Ellen Fleckenstein. First wife was Peggy Overstreet (children Mike,Steve and Teddy Ray), second wife was Maryann Larson (Maryann's children from previous marriage: Darrell, Lori, Tim). David and wife Maryann started Wasilla Aggregate in 1969. David fished commercially. (David 1933-2013). (see Overstreet)
SMITH, Floyd Dewey and Ellen Catherine Fleckenstein: Married 1926 in Chena. Ellen was the daughter of Joseph B. Fleckenstein. Floyd to
SMITH, Floyd: Son of Joe Smith and Patty Plack. Changed his name to Peter Wilson. (see Peter Wilson)
SMITH, Frank Marion: Frank is the son of Floyd Smith and Ellen Fleckenstein. His first wife was Catherine Lucille "Cathy"(Sullivan) Redington. She was the first wife of (dog musher)Joe Redington. Frank and "Cathy" had no children. Frank built a house on the east side of
SMITH, Jim: (1898-1970) Married Joanne Byrne Hiland in 1950, then helped her operate the Hiland Hotel until 1966.
SMITH, Joe: Son of Floyd
Smith and Ellen
Fleckenstein. Married (divorced)
of Francis Plack; they had one son
named Floyd. After their divorce,
Patty married Dick Wilson and
adopted Floyd. Floyd's name was
changed to Peter Wilson. (see
SMITH, Laura Marie: Daughter of Floyd Smith and Ellen Fleckenstein. Married Eldor Hulke. Children: Frieda
SMITH, Lauren Foy and Hollis M.: Colonists from Minnesota. Lauren known for carving diamond willow. (Lauren 1905-1991)(Hollis 1908-1985) Children: Gloria M., Charlene C., Kenneth, Keith M., Duane L. and Douglas.SMITH, Lavina Ethel "Lee": Daughter of Floyd Smith and Ellen Fleckenstein. Married Dan Carney, son of Charles and Margaret Carney, they had no children. Lavina's 2nd husband was Gerald Skinner, their children were Laura and Patti. Lavina's 3rd husband was Dale Cooper, their children were Renee Lee and Bernard "Bernie" Kieth (twins). Dale Cooper had 2 children from a previous marriage (Angela Marie and Dale Ray).
SMITH, Theron A. and Martha: Received patent to 160 acres in 1925, farm became north Palmer. Theron came from
SMITH, Vincent and Della (Ritchey)
Cottle: Step children:
(all Cottle's) Gerald, Richard,
Rodney, Benjamin Mildred and
Marjorie Cottle. Lived at Goose Bay? (see
SNIDER, Anna "Ann" T: (1919-2011) Daughter of Gerrit and Alice Snider. Married Claude
SNIDER, Gerrit “Heine” and Alice (Aldenberg): Gerrit was born in
SNIDER, Constance Marie “Micky”: Daughter of Gerrit Snider. Married Bill Betts. Three sons, Billy, Wiley and Wetzel Betts. (see Gerrit Snider) (see Bill Betts)
SNODGRASS, Milton David and Margaret
to Alaska 1907, Milton was in
Wasilla by 1917 mapping ranches
for the government.Founded the Matanuska
Station on Trunk
Road and was instrumental in
organizing the ARR's Farming
Colony effort in 1929 and the
For more information go to: http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~coleen/snodgrass.html
SNODGRASS, John Roland "Rollie" and
(Mikami): (Rollie 1909-1983)
(Alice 1913-2008) Rollie
was the son of Milton and Margaret
Snodgrass. He was a dairy
farmer and the State Director of Agriculture.
Alice came to Alaska in 1915,
graduated from Anchorage High School
in 1931. Worked for the ARRC and
USDA Experimental Station, was on the
board of directors for MTA, Territorial
Department of Agriculture and committee's
for the Matanuska Federal Credit Union,
Mat-Su Community College and Palmer
Senior Citizens. Children: Jack Snodgrass.
SOPER, Carmen A.: Married Laura Corbin. Came to
Pearl Soper born 1912; married Louie Loberg
Velma Soper born 1914; married #1 Slim Whinery #2 Mel Gehemen
Glen Soper born 1917 died 1919
Kenneth Soper born 1918; married #1 Virginia Lillian Grantham #2 Hazel Shell
Wanda Soper born 1921; married #1 Frank Gagnon #2 Dwane Rock
Richard Eugene Soper born 1923 or 1924; never married
Ione Soper born 1930; married Lewis Shell
James Dale Soper born 1933; died in 1937 or 1938
Carmen trapped and worked for the road commission. (see Louie Loberg) (see Gagnon)
SORENSON, Frank “Swede”: One son named Jerry. Swede badly injured in WWII, periodically had to wear a neck collar to support his head. Built home at
SPARLING, E. B. “Buck”: Homesteaded in Valley before 1915. Worked at Lucky Shot. Died in 1945.
SPAULDING, CHARLES S. Living at Chickaloon by 1919.
SPAULDING, Edward and Eva: Doctor in Wasilla before 1920.
SPRINGER, John August: Homesteaded on the southeast corner of the Springer system pre-1915, received patent in 1920. The Springer System is named after him, his cabin is still there. Had one of the first cars in the valley, which sat up on blocks because the roads were no good. Noted for shooting when unexpected guests arrived, so people had to yell out their name as they approached his homestead, so they wouldn't get shot (info from Jim Fox)
SPRINGSTEEN, Flora: Fired from her teaching job at
STADEM, Peter and Nikoline: Peter came to Alaska in 1928 and settled in Palmer in 1952. He was a commercial fisherman. Children: Norman, Louis and Sonja. (Peter 1901-1989)
ST.CLAIR, James and Nellie:
Homesteaded in the
Valley before 1915. Born 1888 to
STENBERG, Arthur Waldemar:
Died in 1954 (age 68) buried in Palmer
STENBERG, Arthur W. Jr. and Laura Blanche (France): "Art" came to Alaska in 1946 (son of Arthur W. Stenberg Sr. 1891-1954) and married Laura Blanche France in Palmer in 1948. "Art" was a carpenter by trade. Laura worked at Koslosky's and for the Alaska State Troopers. Children: Sam, Arthur and Peter Ann. Art died in 1992 and Laura married Lester "Murphy" Ellsworth in 2002. (Arthur 1923-1992) (Laura 1926-2012) (see France)